Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Includes a travel lid. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.758 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
22 of 33(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mo55
,Santa Monica
,CA
June 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buyer Beware -Technivorm gives no customer support
June 13, 2013
The bummer is, this coffeemaker makes really great coffee, but if you have any problems with it or if you need a carafe replacement, etc. it's next to impossible to get parts. Additionally, Technivorm does not reply back to customers when you email them on their website, nor do they supply an phone number at which you can contact them. I have needed a glass carafe replacement (the glass on this carafe is particularly fragile) and I've been waiting almost a month now and still don't have one. And since this unit is over $300, you would expect better service from a company like this. It's really unfortunate, because the product makes great coffee, but when you have a manufacturer who doesn't care about customer service, it makes it tough to recommend it.
Cons: Fragile, no customer support
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cammilla
,jarrettsville
,md
December 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
expensive, but worth it
December 26, 2011
Received this as a Christmas gift (asked for) and am happy to report that it is everything it promises. The coffee tastes great, the set up was easy, the directions were understandable. It's fast, quiet and the coffee stays hot in the carafe for hours and hours. The plate under the pot is a little strange, but other than that, I'm very happy with everything about this coffee maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefSFBAY
,San Francisco
,CA
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee
November 24, 2011
Fast brew
Great tasting coffee
Stays hot in the carafe
Small footprint
Hand Made in the Netherlands
Sounds really cool while brewing
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefwannabetoo
,New Orleans
,LA
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Truly Makes the Golden Cup
November 24, 2011
I fretted over the purchase of a new coffeemaker for my husband and I. We are not coffee snobs, but we LOVE a great cup of coffee. After much research and reading of customer reviews both on William-Sonoma and other resources, I bought this coffeemaker for my husband. After the first cup of coffee, he and I are both THRILLED.
The Thermal Carafe keeps the coffee piping hot, even without pre-warming the carafe.
Some reviews said that there were too many parts. This coffeemaker has a very simple design. I think cheap coffeemakers have dumbed things down to the point that no one wants to have a kitchen device that isn't stupidity-proof and isn't one molded piece of plastic.
For the WONDERFUL cup of coffee this machine makes, there are no true faults worth being an issue.
I wouldn't trade this coffeemaker for anything. For a QUALITY machine, it IS well worth the money, unlike a few of the negative reviews would have you believe.
I don't regret the purchase of this coffeemaker one bit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: no auto power off button
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
vjvtm
,Evergreen
,CO
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't like it
October 10, 2011
This coffee maker was not worth the money. Although it brews quickly I find the brew basket cumbersome and tempermental. Too often the coffee grinds overflow the basket and I have a mess. I don't like having to replace the top of the carafe and the fact that there is no timer.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ROGERG
,Los Altos
,Ca
September 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the $ or effort
September 17, 2011
After one week of use I have found the taste of the coffee not better Mr.Coffee at work. I also found the design cumbersome and not user friendly. The search continues for a good and simple cup of coffee. I would tell anyone who asks to skip the MoccaMaster.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Fragile, price
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melgonza
Indianapolis, IN
August 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee Maker!
August 25, 2011
I've had this coffee pot for over a year and I absolutely love it. It makes a great pot of coffee all while looking great doing it!
I love coffee and I will not stray from this coffee maker.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Speed, Design
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
javahead
midwest
April 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great coffee maker!
April 24, 2011
We've gone through numerous coffee makers, many with integrated grinders, and none of them seem to last. While we've only had the Moccamaster for about 5 months, it seems exceptionally well built and, it makes very consistant, great hot coffee (we now either grind our coffeee ourselves or at the store a couple of times a week). We typically brew 1-4 pots/day 7 days/week with it. Of note the handle was a bit loose on the carafe (purchased on a trip while in Albuquerque) and the local Williams-Sonoma store staff in Kansas City kindlly provided us with a new one when we dropped the store, thanks for the great service and great product (finally something not made in China!!)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coppercook
Baltimore, MD
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Coffee Maker
April 8, 2011
This is the first coffee maker I have ever had that doesn't disappoint in some way. It is very fast, simple to operate, and produces the best tasting (and hottest, due to its vastly superior heating system) coffee of any maker I've ever tried. The unusual design makes for very simple cleanup. No coffee stained machine to clean, as the hot water drips over the detached filter basket. It is only necessary to clean the removable basket and the carafe. The carafe must be manually closed with the twist stopper after brewing, but it is not an inconvenience, due to the very short brew time. A full pot is ready to drink in about two minutes. Coffee stays hot for a few hours. No timer or clock on this coffee maker--just perfectly brewed coffee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanD
Maryland
April 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It really works!
April 3, 2011
It works. Simple and effective. It does brew a great cup of coffee. Still not sure if it's worth the price tag, but we are keeping it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
musicman
West Palm Beach, FL
February 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Worth It
February 22, 2011
Returned product. Not well constructed for the money and too many moving parts. Most important is that my 10 year old Capresso thermal tastes better, and is easier to operate. Doesn't live up to all of the hype at the price point.
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JFRIEND
Hawaii
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I must be on another planet
February 19, 2011
My husband and I make great coffee and the secret is very hot water, high quality properly ground coffee, the best quality filter, and a thermos of the highest quality. We have all of the above. I thought the Mockamaster would be great and simpler, too. Preparing hot water is the kicker and all if the coffee makers I have used, including the Cuisinsart, do not make the coffee hot enough to extract the flavor of the coffee. Coffee that
is reheated by any means is unsatisfactory. Coffee that sits longer than 30 minutes or on a warmer, should be thrown out. I can't believe I bought this $300 machine with a gazillon pieces of plastic that makes me want to go back to boiling water when I am half asleep. Don't waste your money. A friend of mine also gave this machine to her husband for Christmas, as did I. We would like to return it, but the hype was so convincing that we thew out the boxes.
4
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ROGERG
Los Altos,Ca
Posted September 17, 2011
Right on
I totally agree with your observations after using it for a week. Fortunately I kept the box and it's going back today. I too have trouble understanding all the positive reviews. Either their prior experience is instant coffee or their family is getting a royalty from MoccaMaster.
Keep up the good work.
-1point
0of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nisquick
Los Angeles
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great equipment really matters
January 18, 2011
We drank the coffee from our old machine suspecting that it was inferior, but not totally convinced that it was the problem. Then we splurged and got the Moccamaster and lo and behold, it was the machine after all. Now we are enjoying great coffee provided by a simple and foolproof coffeemaker. We added a burr grinder to our method and that has made the coffee even better.
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
toomuchcoffee
Needham
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
coffee done right!
January 18, 2011
I have tried 6-9 different coffee makers in the past. By and large, they all suffered from producing an unexciting cup of coffee that was weak yet bitter. The coffee was not hot in the cup and there was little depth of flavor. The Technivorm, however, is the best! It is very simple in its operation........one on/off button. No timer, grinder, hard water indicator, it doesn't make toast nor will it make you better looking or more intelligent. It simply makes the best cup of joe you can get from a drip coffee maker. In fact, I prefer the taste over a french press and the insulated carafe will keep the coffee hot for three hours. That's correct.....hot for three hours. When you're old enough to finally appreciate a real cup of coffee, the Technivorm is the one to buy. Everything else is a step back in quality!
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CindyWV
WV
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Thermal Carafe Coffeemaker on the Market
January 13, 2011
I purchased one of these after owning a succession of leaky thermal carafe coffeemakers that made terrible coffee. I must admit it took a leap of faith to give up the convenience of a timer, but this coffeemaker makes such TERRIFIC tasting coffee VERY quickly that it wasn't a sacrifice. This is definitely a low-tech machine, but it makes great tasting coffee. I loved it so much that I purchased a second one for my vacation home.
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fe22
Bay Area
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Wonderful Machine That Lasts Decades
December 29, 2010
My boyfriend grew up with a Moccamaster in his European home - these are very common machines in Europe. His mother's Moccamaster is more than 30 years old, and works perfectly. When we moved into together, he immediately wanted a Moccamaster, so we purchased one. We've already had ours for about a year now, and we've never had any issues. Because we're environmentally conscious, we use a Swiss Gold filter inside the basket instead of paper. This gives you a French-press-type rich taste with the ease and convenience of the automatic drip. The mid-century design has its quirks - like the carafe that takes a minute to learn to pour from. I have no problems with the temperature of the coffee in it at all. The Moccamaster makes excellent, rich coffee, is easy to use, cleans easily with any bottle brush just as you'd use for any milk or juice pitcher, and brews a cup a minute. Speedy!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Achoo79
Honolulu, Hawaii
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievably, Incredibly Great Coffee
December 28, 2010
I purchased my Moccamaster (thermal) in August and waited for a while to give a review. I drink coffee everyday, and when my coffeemaker broke, I purchased the Moccamaster for my birthday. At first, I didn't see what the big deal was. Okay, the coffee was pretty good, the minimalist design suited my taste, but was it 5 to 6 times better than standard coffeemakers? I wasn't so sure. I drink my coffee black, so my idea of a great cup of coffee is a piping hot, strong but smooth brew, much like that of a fine dining restaurant. The Moccamaster delivers! But I didn't really appreciate how good the coffee it brewed until this holiday season, when I visited friends and relatives at their homes and had a cup of their coffee. I am so spoiled by the Moccamaster that it pains me to drink coffee made by other coffeemakers. Keurig? I wanted to spit it out. Autodrip? I have to force it down. Expensive, but worth every penny!
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chinablue
Albuquerque, NM
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Home Coffee
December 26, 2010
We got our Moccamaster after visiting relatives and tasting just about the best coffee we'd ever had. Was it their Moccamaster or their coffee? We were already using excellent coffee but it sure didn't taste like this! When we got home, our old, cheapy coffeemaker broke so we took the plunge. This thing makes excellent coffee and our machine has given us no problems. I find it ridiculously easy to brew a pot and don't understand the difficulties others have had. It's seamless, quick, and the coffee is awesome. Pricey, but then a great cup in the morning just helps make for a great day. Would buy again.
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JSP1994
midwest
December 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm Moccamaster
December 22, 2010
I have owned the Moccamaster for about 2 years. It makes great coffee and is probably the last one I will ever buy. I did have to upgrade to another Thermos as the one it came with seemed to just not hold the heat. I also bought another version of the lid which seemed to work better. So it takes some tinkering, at least for me, to get it the way you want. But it makes coffee fast, hot, and flavorful.
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HuskerRDH
Nebraska
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cup of Coffee
November 28, 2010
At first I was skeptical. Could the Moccamaster Coffee Maker really make a difference in taste? Plus the price point caused me to hesitate. But after some research and discussion with WS personnel I took the plunge. The Technivorm is easy to use and clean. (Especially when you put your husband in charge of it) We opted for the glass pot which keeps the coffee nice and hot without scorching. There is a "warm" setting on the hot plate as well that we rarely use, but nice to have the option. Quality construction. After six months of continuous use it's holding up well. We are really pleased with this purchase.
page1 2 next