Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An independently powered, energy-efficient hot plate keeps coffee at the ideal serving temperature. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
33 of 38(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheJamesTrenda
,Johnson City
,TN
TN
February 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tested - the claims check out!
February 23, 2015
Great coffee...SUPER fast!
The water is heated as it passes through the copper heating element, rather heating all the water at once. The water travels up a clear glass cylinder only when it reaches the proper temp. The water physically cannot travel up the cylinder until it is near full boil (200 degrees F). The force of the bubbles carry the water up the tube and through the shower head.
The size of the machine is perfect for smaller spaces (see images).
Some reviews complain about "cheap" loose fitting plastic parts (see video). IMO it doesn't feel cheap at all. The fact that the parts aren't so tightly fitting makes it less likely to break when disassembling/operating.
Comes with 5-year warranty!
Read my YouTube video description for a full review with temperature readings and other insights about this machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ET72
,Disputanta
,VA
January 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well worth the price.
January 30, 2015
I replaced a Kitchen Aid Proline with this machine. Was shocked by the difference in taste. Would highly recommend this coffee maker. Very easy to use and clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deejay1107
,Laurinburg
,NC
January 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great coffee maker
January 30, 2015
I am looking forward to the mornings again. This machine makes a fantastic cup of coffee and I cannot remember our having other brands that equals the quickness, richness and drinking pleasure this machine achieves. It was worth every dollar and my wife is happy as a clam. It does sound like a jet when it starts up but the noise is short lived.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dripdridrip25
,methuen
,ma
January 6, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my very favorite coffee maker ever.
January 6, 2015
i purchased this item for my son for Christmas because i own the same one and i absolutely love it. The coffee is hot and it brews very quickly, doesn't take much space too on my counter and it looks great. My son fell in love with it, therefore, yes i do recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: none
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarcK
,Roseville
,Ca
January 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Perfect Cup Every Time
January 4, 2015
After many coffeemakers, this one takes my counter space. It is easy to use, clean, and most importantly brews a great cup of coffee. I would highly recommend for coffee lovers. I chose the glass carafe over the thermos since I like the design better and I don't think the burner changes the taste of the coffee.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
salnewc
,Corrales
,NM
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker Ever!
December 31, 2014
This coffee maker brews the best coffee. At first look, it's this wacky science experiment. Then you brew that first cup, and you are hooked. You can never enjoy any other cup of coffee again, unless it is brewed by a Technivorm. And it brews so quickly too.
Pros: Time-saver, Speed, Quiet, Design, best coffee
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
albstl
,Boston
,MA
December 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ah-mazing, but a couple of need to knows...
December 30, 2014
A few thoughts for the non-believers: The brew basket does run small. This maker's wheelhouse is in the 6-8 cup range, but you can make to full capacity. Watch the grind, the amount you use and play with the basket options, partial/full, or even close for a couple extra minutes to allow for a longer brew time. For the coffee snobs out there, to get truly even coverage of the water sprayer over the grounds, especially for larger pots, simply agitate the basket, swivel back/forth a few times, and voila! If you are burning your coffee, this must be user error, sorry. You have two options for the temp, just gauge it based on how much coffee is in the carafe. Simple to make, use and clean, a couple of quirks and plastic parts, but makes one of the best cups outside of a coffee house in just a few minutes. Hope this helps!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doheny3
,CA
December 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Coffee
December 10, 2014
I like a great cup of coffee and this coffee maker definitely makes one, the one and ONLY negative comment I have to say is this machine comes with a giant black industrial strength cord… and this beast of a cord doesn't daintily coil behind this coffee maker to sit on your kitchen counter. I have a very white (marble) clean kitchen and this thing had such an ugly huge unwavering cord, I had to hide it in my pantry. She makes great coffee though!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Assembly
Cons: giant ugly cord
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
afoodiejones
,Studio City
,CA
November 24, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why the Moccamaster is sexier than the Wilfa
November 24, 2014
I had originally purchased the Wilfa and the blessing in disguise was, that on day 31 of owning the product, it simply would not turn on one morning. I I rushed it back and traded it in for the Moccamaster and now I know that that should have been the choice from the beginning! The Moccamaster makes the BEST cup of coffee! The full flavor of my top of the line coffee beans is realized with this coffee maker and the coffee is piping hot, just how I like it! I don't miss the Wilfa....not one little bit! I'll take quality over sexiness any day...and believe me, my Moccamaster is quality to the max, and THAT is sexy!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, makes hot coffee
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zeester
,Lewis
,In
October 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffee
October 8, 2014
We read many reviews about this coffee pot and this is the first product review we have ever given, this coffee pot deserves it. It makes hot and fast and delicious coffee We now look forward to our mornings and our first cups. We bought the 10 cup and now drink two pots. I like the glass carafe. Left over coffee still tasted good several hours later having been warmed in microwave We love it and worth the money!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MarkM1
,Somerville
,MA
September 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coffee Part is great, the Maker part needs work
September 13, 2014
The Coffee Part -
It makes a great cup of coffee.
The Maker Part-
Making a pot of coffee in this is similar to play the board game "Mousetrap." All the parts feel cheap (carafe included) and they fit loose in the machine. The brewing toggle is on the loose basket, and you have to use both hands to open or close it. You have to close it after you're done brewing a pot, or you will get drips of coffee on your hot plate. None of the parts are dishwasher safe - isn't this 2014? This may seem nit-picky, but physically play with any other coffee maker, and you'll see what I mean. Last, we tried to make a full pot of coffee this morning, and the grounds boiled over the edge, clogging the basket. How? Why? We got the equivalent of 6 cups out of 10 made. Great coffee, but it still may be going back.
Pros: Quality, great coffee
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jciociola
TX, PA, FL, GA
Posted December 6, 2014
Coffee filter over flows
If you coffee filter over flows...... This is quite simple. Your grinds are too fine. this will happen to any coffee machine. you can NOT grind your grinds finer than required for coffee. This is the BEST coffee system you can get. the temp is really hard to find, the pieces are simple because they do not require complexity. As for the dishwasher safe.... This will change the taste of your coffee when you brew. dishwasher detergent is very harsh. it penetrates all plastic while cold plastic is ok, it is not ok for plastic that gets hot. EVEN the brevel automatic grinder coffee maker can not produce a 199 -205 cup of coffee, and then it burns on the hot plate. also, you shoiuld know that metal pieces will taint the taste of the coffee. that is why a glass carafe is always better. best of luck
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GigiBarlow1971
,Point Venture
,tx
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST!!
August 30, 2014
I had an unfortunate experience with the Breville, having to return 2 of them. After some persistence on my part I was able to exchange for the Technivorm.Honestly, I do not know why anyone who loves good coffee would not opt for this coffeemaker. Starbucks rivals the cup I have each morning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DanMLA
,Los Altos
,CA
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brewing temperature not quite hot enough
August 21, 2014
I purchased this coffee maker hoping to replace my older Cuisinart unit. I grind Starbucks French Roast beans with a burr grinder (Kitchenaid Pro) and use the recommended water to grounds ratio. The coffee from this machine was good but not any better than from my Cuisinart. I used a Bonjour thermometer to measure the drip chamber and found the temp to be about 175 degrees at the surface of the grounds, just 5 degrees more than my Cuisinart. Perhaps the water is heated to the stated temperature internally but loses some of the heat by the time it get to the grounds. There must be a better way to keep the temperature correct through the brewing process. Interestingly, the coffee in the carafe soured quicker than it does in my Cuisinart. I ended up returning this unit and am still looking for something better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: only 10 cups
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hyend67
,burlington
,VT
April 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This one is a keeper!
April 30, 2014
I've used (and returned) several different types of coffeemakers so you can assume I'm pretty critical. But with this one there's no denying that it makes a superb and hot cup of coffee (and keeps it hot.) This system offers more flavor and body in a regular brew (espresso excepted) than any other system I've tried.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TJan
,Saratoga Springs
,NY
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot coffee
February 8, 2014
This coffee maker is small by American Standards. I love the simplicity of the design. As others stated you cannot program, but that is a feature I never use. The pot is smaller, which is perfect for me as I generally drink two cups. The taste and temperature are superior to my Cuisanart Grind and brew. I now have a delicious HOT cup even after adding half and half. I believe the coffee tastes better also.Easy to clean. I Love, love this coffee maker! It's worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, hot coffee
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RodmanC
,Los Angeles
,CA
January 22, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I would recommend, but be careful
January 22, 2014
First, I want to say that this coffee maker is fantastic! My wife loves the coffee that I make with this and her old favorites have taken on a whole new life. I think it's definitely worth the money. The reason I say be careful is because the W-S product number and the pictures shown do not match. U're not buying what's in the picture. I received the product number that I ordered, but what I received doesn't have the scale indicator, like in the picture. I returned it for a second one and it still did not include the indicator. Yet, you see the indicator on the picture. If you order this product, you'll receive Technivorm model KBG 741 AO but the picture shows model KBC 741 AO. KBG does not have the scale indicator. KBC does. W-S does not let you see the man model number. Just the W-S number. So be careful. W-S does not sell KBC 741 AO, despite the picture. If the indicator is not important, then ignore the picture and order. This coffee maker makes great coffee!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
niikkii
,Redding
,CT
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot Hot Hot!
December 19, 2013
I have been on a quest, for many months now, to find a coffee maker that would make a good hot cup of coffee. The french press I have produced a very bitter tasting cup of coffee. So I went into William Sonoma and purchased the Moccamaster with glass carafe, brushed silver...and met with a customer who said her husband loved the machine, that and the wonderful staff in Stamford CT convinced me to
buy it. Also, the online reviews were 5 stars across the board. - I love the tempature this machine produces it is perfect, and that is key for me... it does not burn the coffee. I am very happy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DERH
,Indiana
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sooo Smooth & Hot
December 8, 2013
Tried our new Moccamaster this morning and I was not disappointed! Coffe was unbelievable. Sooo smooth and hot, yes I appreciate a Hot cup of coffee in the morning, not warm.....hot! We had a Capresso Team GS, very good coffee, not hot & we had the thermal carafe. I think I was most surprised by the taste. Honestly did not know coffee could taste this smooth. If I would have known I would have ordered the Moccamaster a year ago! Our Capresso is only three years old. Had a Cuisinart before that & a Bunn before the Cuisinart. None of these compare as far as taste. As others have mentioned, these are European cups, much smaller than American. Do not expect a massive coffee maker. It is very low profile.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sea4evr
,Modesto
,Ca
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Coffee!
November 29, 2013
This coffee maker is absolutely fantastic! Yes the price was a big issue for me and my friends thought I was crazy spending that much. But, after reading the reviews I bit the bullet & I am so glad I did. You will not be sorry spending the money, if you like coffee and want the best tasting brew ever! It was also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Javakid
,Los Angeles
,CA
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Only Coffee Maker Worthy of my Kona
September 24, 2013
I've been on a quest, for years, to find a coffee maker that would bring out the subtle notes and clean taste of a quality Kona roast. The prefered French Press method produced too much acidity; fully automatic machines delivered tepid coffee with anemic froth. Finally after reading the reviews, I decided to splurge on a Technivorn and after my very first pot, I realized I should have done this years ago. After reading the instructions and watching a You Tube video, I was amazed at how easy it was to operate and clean. I got a perfect cup of Kona on my very first attempt. By perfect, I mean, HOT, sweet, subtle and clean tasting. Yea!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Quiet, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations
 
page1 2 next