Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An independently powered, energy-efficient hot plate keeps coffee at the ideal serving temperature. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
23 of 28(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MarkM1
,Somerville
,MA
September 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coffee Part is great, the Maker part needs work
September 13, 2014
The Coffee Part -
It makes a great cup of coffee.
The Maker Part-
Making a pot of coffee in this is similar to play the board game "Mousetrap." All the parts feel cheap (carafe included) and they fit loose in the machine. The brewing toggle is on the loose basket, and you have to use both hands to open or close it. You have to close it after you're done brewing a pot, or you will get drips of coffee on your hot plate. None of the parts are dishwasher safe - isn't this 2014? This may seem nit-picky, but physically play with any other coffee maker, and you'll see what I mean. Last, we tried to make a full pot of coffee this morning, and the grounds boiled over the edge, clogging the basket. How? Why? We got the equivalent of 6 cups out of 10 made. Great coffee, but it still may be going back.
Pros: Quality, great coffee
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GigiBarlow1971
,Point Venture
,tx
August 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST!!
August 30, 2014
I had an unfortunate experience with the Breville, having to return 2 of them. After some persistence on my part I was able to exchange for the Technivorm.Honestly, I do not know why anyone who loves good coffee would not opt for this coffeemaker. Starbucks rivals the cup I have each morning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Size
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DanMLA
,Los Altos
,CA
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brewing temperature not quite hot enough
August 21, 2014
I purchased this coffee maker hoping to replace my older Cuisinart unit. I grind Starbucks French Roast beans with a burr grinder (Kitchenaid Pro) and use the recommended water to grounds ratio. The coffee from this machine was good but not any better than from my Cuisinart. I used a Bonjour thermometer to measure the drip chamber and found the temp to be about 175 degrees at the surface of the grounds, just 5 degrees more than my Cuisinart. Perhaps the water is heated to the stated temperature internally but loses some of the heat by the time it get to the grounds. There must be a better way to keep the temperature correct through the brewing process. Interestingly, the coffee in the carafe soured quicker than it does in my Cuisinart. I ended up returning this unit and am still looking for something better.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: only 10 cups
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hyend67
,burlington
,VT
April 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This one is a keeper!
April 30, 2014
I've used (and returned) several different types of coffeemakers so you can assume I'm pretty critical. But with this one there's no denying that it makes a superb and hot cup of coffee (and keeps it hot.) This system offers more flavor and body in a regular brew (espresso excepted) than any other system I've tried.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TJan
,Saratoga Springs
,NY
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot coffee
February 8, 2014
This coffee maker is small by American Standards. I love the simplicity of the design. As others stated you cannot program, but that is a feature I never use. The pot is smaller, which is perfect for me as I generally drink two cups. The taste and temperature are superior to my Cuisanart Grind and brew. I now have a delicious HOT cup even after adding half and half. I believe the coffee tastes better also.Easy to clean. I Love, love this coffee maker! It's worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, hot coffee
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RodmanC
,Los Angeles
,CA
January 22, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I would recommend, but be careful
January 22, 2014
First, I want to say that this coffee maker is fantastic! My wife loves the coffee that I make with this and her old favorites have taken on a whole new life. I think it's definitely worth the money. The reason I say be careful is because the W-S product number and the pictures shown do not match. U're not buying what's in the picture. I received the product number that I ordered, but what I received doesn't have the scale indicator, like in the picture. I returned it for a second one and it still did not include the indicator. Yet, you see the indicator on the picture. If you order this product, you'll receive Technivorm model KBG 741 AO but the picture shows model KBC 741 AO. KBG does not have the scale indicator. KBC does. W-S does not let you see the man model number. Just the W-S number. So be careful. W-S does not sell KBC 741 AO, despite the picture. If the indicator is not important, then ignore the picture and order. This coffee maker makes great coffee!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
niikkii
,Redding
,CT
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot Hot Hot!
December 19, 2013
I have been on a quest, for many months now, to find a coffee maker that would make a good hot cup of coffee. The french press I have produced a very bitter tasting cup of coffee. So I went into William Sonoma and purchased the Moccamaster with glass carafe, brushed silver...and met with a customer who said her husband loved the machine, that and the wonderful staff in Stamford CT convinced me to
buy it. Also, the online reviews were 5 stars across the board. - I love the tempature this machine produces it is perfect, and that is key for me... it does not burn the coffee. I am very happy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DERH
,Indiana
December 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sooo Smooth & Hot
December 8, 2013
Tried our new Moccamaster this morning and I was not disappointed! Coffe was unbelievable. Sooo smooth and hot, yes I appreciate a Hot cup of coffee in the morning, not warm.....hot! We had a Capresso Team GS, very good coffee, not hot & we had the thermal carafe. I think I was most surprised by the taste. Honestly did not know coffee could taste this smooth. If I would have known I would have ordered the Moccamaster a year ago! Our Capresso is only three years old. Had a Cuisinart before that & a Bunn before the Cuisinart. None of these compare as far as taste. As others have mentioned, these are European cups, much smaller than American. Do not expect a massive coffee maker. It is very low profile.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sea4evr
,Modesto
,Ca
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Coffee!
November 29, 2013
This coffee maker is absolutely fantastic! Yes the price was a big issue for me and my friends thought I was crazy spending that much. But, after reading the reviews I bit the bullet & I am so glad I did. You will not be sorry spending the money, if you like coffee and want the best tasting brew ever! It was also a breeze to assemble.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Javakid
,Los Angeles
,CA
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Only Coffee Maker Worthy of my Kona
September 24, 2013
I've been on a quest, for years, to find a coffee maker that would bring out the subtle notes and clean taste of a quality Kona roast. The prefered French Press method produced too much acidity; fully automatic machines delivered tepid coffee with anemic froth. Finally after reading the reviews, I decided to splurge on a Technivorn and after my very first pot, I realized I should have done this years ago. After reading the instructions and watching a You Tube video, I was amazed at how easy it was to operate and clean. I got a perfect cup of Kona on my very first attempt. By perfect, I mean, HOT, sweet, subtle and clean tasting. Yea!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Quiet, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sbms
,Miami
,Fl
Miami Fl
August 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Consistent excellent coffee
August 24, 2013
This machine consistently makes a "full bodied", hot cup of coffee. Trying different coffees, we are finding that fresh ground from beans delivers the best "flavor". The price is scary but I don't regret the purchase. We are getting exactly what we were looking for- a good cup of coffee every time, thus very satified.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: no auto shut off
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gabe2006
,Santa Fe
,NM
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple, Powerful, and Elegant
August 23, 2013
As an admirer of the simple and practical this coffee maker is ideal. In the morning as I am getting ready for work I can easily fill the water reservoir without spilling any water. You don’t have to worry about pouring the water into an awkwardly shaped opening because the whole water reservoir lid comes off. The detachable brew-basket allows the user to easily place the white paper filters and coffee grounds. I like how after brewing my morning pot of coffee, I can wash the basket and allow it air dry. The basket also features a setting to close it off, which is ideal to avoid spilling coffee into the hot plate element. The plastic brew basket, glass carafe, and destratification tube are replaceable. This makes it easy when they become worn and it is time to order some new one from Technivorm. I can picture myself using this product for a very long time. I can brew my much needed four cups of morning coffee in three minutes or less.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikeThousandOaks
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
August 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffee maker
August 9, 2013
Friends had bought this and raved about it. And we tasted the coffee while visiting, and were thoroughly impressed. We had a drip unit and the coffee was just not tasting very good.
This unit likes paper filters versus metal, so we went back to paper. First thing you notice is how fast it brews. A whole pot in about five minutes. And the coffee is hot! I am a believer now that hot, fast brewing produces a better cup of coffee. My wife does not like dark coffees, but we have been using french roast and she loves it - full of flavor with no bitterness. The unit comes with a coffee scoop so you put the correct amount each time. We have the glass carafe, and our unit is auto-off.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: not dishwasher safe
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShoTzii
,Chandler
,AZ
June 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Technivorm Adventure
June 9, 2013
I began researching drip coffee makers after my previous device failed. The results pointed directly to the Technivorm Moccamaster.
Fortunately, W.S. carried the device, which was moments away from my home. The staff was nice enough to demonstrate the brewing process from start to finish. The design has a very modern appeal and I appreciated aspects such as the the shower head dispersing the water more evenly over the grounds.
The following morning we were expecting to enjoy our first cup of coffee, however, the device would not power on. I returned to the store to exchange the device immediately. The staff was more than happy to exchange and test the exchange before I left. Their customer service is superb
The Technivorm earned five stars because:
1. The machine produces a smooth cup of coffee
2. The afore mentioned design attributes of the machine
3. WS customer service.
Despite receiving a "lemon" at first does not influence my decision to highly recommend this machine to all!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yarnmaven
,Brigantine
,NJ
May 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How do I love thee?
May 6, 2013
Let me count the ways I love my new Moccamaster. First and foremost, I love the way my coffee tastes -full of flavor without so much as a hint anything acidic. That fact that it brews in 6 minutes works great for us and the sleek design is just plain fun and so easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barleysnack
,Raleigh
,NC
April 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Goodbye Kitchenaid
April 11, 2013
I've been eying this coffee maker for a year, and trying to figure out how to get my wife to go along with this product. I got her to go with me to W.S. this past weekend. The bad news: they didn't have a demo model because an employee had taken it home to learn about it, worse news they didn't have any in stock. My wife to my surprise said order one; so I did. UPS delivered it yesterday. Today we made our first pot; the coffee was so much better then any I've ever made or bought at high end coffee shops. I got one, and a half cups out of the pot (as I gave my wife one cup as our morning routine, and a travel mug for work). After she left for work I made a second pot which I'm drinking now as i write this review. I never make a second pot; so that should tell you something.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tocsog
Fort Lauderdale, FL
January 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You Get What You Pay For
January 30, 2013
The negative reviews appear to be opinions, as opposed to fact. It brews HOT coffee quickly. If my pot gets low, I am able to brew more coffee on top of what is in the pot very easily. I followed descaling instruction from Technivorm, with no problems.
My regular coffee tastes fantastic, as compared to my Krups before
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, hot coffee
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimW
,West Chester
,PA
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee
January 2, 2013
I've read the negative reviews here and really do not agree. My Cuisinart grinder/maker finally died and I purchased this machine on the recommendations of the sales folks.
At first I thought it was my high expectations, but when my wife and son raved (unsolicited) about the brew from this machine I'm convenience that it’s produces a superior coffee.
Pros: works, great coffee
Cons: only 10 cups
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FromCT
,Wilton
,CT
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice coffee....
January 1, 2013
This makes very nice coffee. And keeps it nice and hot. However, I must say that the plastic bits give the maker such a cheap feel. For the price I expected something totally different. Overall we are happy with the quality of the coffee. However the plastic and cheap appearance prevents me from giving this 5 stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed
Cons: cheap
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adorable
,NC
November 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Retains water after brewing
November 19, 2012
My concern is mold developing over time. I noticed moisture & cloudiness in the tube that sends water to the bar after brewing. When I remove the bar to clean, it holds water also. I turned the pot upside down to see if water was still in the tube and a half cup of water poured out of the base. I should not have to invert my $300 pot after each use. Is this the norm for drip pots & I just didn't know it?
page1 2 next