Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only six minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. Perfectly synchronizing brew time, grind and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces one of the best cups of coffee in just 5 to 6 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An independently powered, energy-efficient hot plate keeps coffee at the ideal serving temperature. Adjustable brew basket features a manually operated drip-stop which allows you to adjust for brewing a half pot, a full pot, or a full drip-stop for a quick cup before the brew cycle completes. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
18 of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TJan
,Saratoga Springs
,NY
February 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot coffee
February 8, 2014
This coffee maker is small by American Standards. I love the simplicity of the design. As others stated you cannot program, but that is a feature I never use. The pot is smaller, which is perfect for me as I generally drink two cups. The taste and temperature are superior to my Cuisanart Grind and brew. I now have a delicious HOT cup even after adding half and half. I believe the coffee tastes better also.Easy to clean. I Love, love this coffee maker! It's worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly, hot coffee
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zekiesmom
,Media
,PA
media, pa
September 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
happily surprised
September 12, 2012
I love coffee makers and am always trying new ones. I think I have found my last one.
I marvel at how delicious the coffee tastes. Easy to use, easy to clean. You can't program it or grind automatically but I have a grinder and never use programming.
The machine does seem to hold onto quite a bit of water so you may want to turn it sideways while you are cleaning the pot. I do also own a Nespresso which I also love.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IUHoosier
,Westfield
,NJ
May 4, 2012
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT coffee maker
May 4, 2012
We've always been Cuisinart coffee-maker people, but after the last model w/ the grinder busted yet again, we were ready for a change. So we took a chance with Technivorm, never had bought the brand before. Initial assembly is easy and we were up and running in no time. It makes a beautiful cup of coffee - The science behind this Technivorm Moccamaster is incredible and we are SO happy we made the switch. It makes a clean, smooth, balanced brew. Definitely worth the investment! We are major Italian coffee-loving people and recommend this everyone!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Assembly
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mom2snk
,Jacksonville
,FL
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker Ever
January 11, 2012
Was a little skeptical of paying this much for a coffee maker but it has been worth every penny. Compared to our old Cuisinart Grind & Brew, this coffee maker is miles above. It is easy to prepare coffee (less than 5 minutes), it cleans quickly and makes excellent coffee, even half a pot. It is not leaky, coffee is nice and hot. LOVE it.
The only (minor) complaints i have are:
-wish it had an auto turn on/off
-wish the plug wasn't so big & industrial
-wish the carafe was a little bigger (we use standard coffee mugs and can each have about 2 1/2 cups each). at least it's easy to make another pot!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Assembly
Cons: Size
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steamy
,Anaheim
,CA
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best home brewed coffee ever!
October 18, 2011
I grew tired of microwaving my first cup of coffee from my expensive American coffee pot, so I searched "Hottest home coffee maker" and found this machine. I love it, love it, love it. I'm not concerned with the moving parts, yes, this pot is low tech on the outside, but brews really hot, hot coffee, my only requirement. Makes less expensive brands of coffee taste fantastic due to the temp.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, truly hot
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mj1967
Milwaukee
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
coffeemaker
June 13, 2011
Our KitchenAid Pro Line coffee maker died, so we decided to try the Moccamaster. The design is neat and the quality is just Okay. I would have preferred to see some metal parts to it. there are two many plastic parts you have to juggle with when cleaning or brewing coffee. After using it for 3 weeks, we decided to return it. For the money ($300) it just was not worth it. After playing with the unit, I could not justify the cost to the quality of the coffee brew.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile, cost vs brew quality, plastic parts, small container
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Portland, OR
March 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
4of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Drip-stop worthless
March 15, 2011
When you pay $280 for a coffee maker you tend to expect a lot. While most of this coffee maker is well-constructed, one of the most basic features that a person uses every single day - the drip stop - is completely worthless. The device that sits above the carafe (which hold the filter and coffee) is made of cheap plastic and and has a mechanical switch that you have to move down to (supposedly) stop the flow when you remove the carafe. It simply does not work. Coffee continues to drip out. So if you want to grab a cup before the thing is finished, be sure to have a rag handy to quickly put underneath on the burner plate. Also - it's easy to forget to move the switch back up (it is not automatic) so the next time you brew, the coffee apparatus overflows. Unbelievable cheap design for a coffeemaker in this price range.
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tocsog
Fort Lauderdale, FL
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a Difference
October 6, 2010
I was skeptical at first. What a difference!! Not only is the machine a beutiful design, but the coffee I have been drinking takes on a whole new dimension using this machine. If you are satisfied with your regular coffee, try this machine. It takes it to a whole new level!
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PenguinSkates66
Cleveland, ohio
October 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Machine! But.....
October 5, 2010
Great coffee maker and worth every penny but the metal collar around the glass carafe starts to rust after a few washes....obviously not stainless steel
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScottRM
Arlington, VA
September 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent coffee, period
September 26, 2010
I've been through a lot of coffee makers over the years, but there's nothing quite like this one. It makes the best cup of coffee we've ever had at home, by far. More layers of flavor, perfectly smooth and at just the right temperature.
How does it work? I hate to gush, but it's amazing. Extremely quiet and incredibly fast. Yes, it's a simple machine without auto anything. But that's part of what I love about it. There's no big, plastic box surrounding the inner workings so you never have trapped condensation accumulating in hard-to-reach places. It all comes apart for easy cleaning.
I skipped the thermal carafe (they never work) and chose glass. The machine is so fast and quiet it's easy to whip up a fresh pot rather than have one pot around for hours.
Complaints? Just one. It's a little disappointing that a coffee maker sold at this price doesn't include a reusable, mesh filter. But that's it. Everything else about it is terrific.
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
abacus01
long island
September 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good tasting coffee - but some cons
September 19, 2010
I was skeptical at first but most of the time, depending on the coffee I can taste a difference between coffee brewed in this machine and cheapo mr. coffees. I dont like that this is no auto shutoff, The other thing I noticed on this model, is the water seeping down doesnt go directly thru the hole in the carafe...not sure if thats by design. This of course dampens the noise..but if you want it to go directly you have to move the glass pot. Kind of annoying.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted December 13, 2010
Instruction pamphlet is your friend.
The instruction pamphlet that comes with this machine explains why the lid to the glass carafe is designed the way it is (see step 7 in the directions). It's called a "mixing lid". The carafe itself doesn't have a hole in it. Coffee goes directly through the hole (actually a long tube) in the plastic "mixing lid" of the glass carafe; this ensures that as the brewed coffee is deposited into the carafe, all of it first goes to the very bottom of the carafe. This is their special design and its actually a selling point. The benefit is that instead of the finished pot of coffee having layers of strong then progressively weaker coffee being dripped on top as the brewing cycle finishes, the Technivorm will give you a consistent pot of coffee without layers of strong and weak coffee, and so it doesn't need to be stirred before you pour the first cup. There are so many cool features to this coffee maker that if you don't really study the instructions you may miss out understanding how and why it is designed the way it is. It has another very cool feature that Technivorm doesn't really tout for the right reason. I'm talking about the shut-off valve to the filter basket. The pamphlet says to use the shutoff valve when you want to pour a cup of coffee before the entire pot has finished brewing. Grabbing a cup "early" is actually a bad idea because that cup will not taste as good as it would if you waited the entire pot to finish, and it also throws off the flavor balance ratio (coffee/water) to the rest of the pot of coffee. Regardless of how you feel about "grabbing an early cup", the shut-off feature to the filter basket actually has another function that they don't even tell you about: you can use it to shut off the flow of coffee out the basket during the first minute(s) to allow the ground coffee to fully saturate, float, and "bloom" before it starts emptying into the glass carafe. And you can even stir the grounds, something coffee perfectionists often like to do---its easy with the Technivorm because the removable lid to the filter basket gives you access even as it fills with hot water, and all this can be done before the coffee starts emptying into the carafe below. There are other "pour over" (non electric) pots that allow you to stir the coffee (eg. Chemex and Hario) but no other automatic electric drip coffee pot I have ever owned has this feature. Cool!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WestieMom
Shreveport, LA
September 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Love
September 16, 2010
Living in Louisiana, we are true coffee phenatics. We have used Bodum products for the last 20 years. Finally, we decided to try this Moccamaster. We bought it in store because we wanted to see what all the hoopla was based on other reviews about how cheaply it was made. Besides the hesitation of drinking coffee brewed through heated plastic, we opted to take the plunge, buying the glass carafe instead of the SS thermal version. THIS MAKES THE BEST CUP OF COFFEE you can taste. It is the perfect temperature, and despite staying on the warming plate for up to an hour, it does NOT take on a bitterness that coffee can get even in an Alfi thermos. Clean up is a dream compared to the stove top Santos we also own. We will keep both pots (Santos and Technivorm) handy, as when company comes we can brew both; one on the counter, one on the stove. BUY THIS WITHOUT HESITATION if you love excellent, exceptional coffee. Coffee snobs don't mind a little plastic.
Review 13 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nilla
Minneapolis, MN
September 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Ever!
September 4, 2010
Went to Williams-Sonoma two weeks ago to purchase a coffee maker with a glass carafe & specific features like auto shut off & a timer....wound up coming out of the store with this Technivorm. Really thought I was crazy for purchasing a coffee maker that costs $300.00 (w/ tax) until I tasted the coffee!! WOW What a difference!! I buy fresh whole bean coffee & grind it right before it's brewed. It doesn't take that long at all to brew & it tastes FABULOUS!! Previously, I had a coffee maker with a thermal carafe & the coffee tasted "metallic" plus it was NEVER more than warm not even immediately after brewing. Not the case with this Technivorm.....it's hot until you shut it off. The coffee is so good, I have even re-warmed it & it still tastes great! I do miss the auto-shut off function but absolutely love this coffee maker! I can honestly say that I have not tasted better homemade coffee EVER!!
Review 14 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unhappycoffeedrinker
Raleigh, NC
August 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too many compromises
August 19, 2010
This coffee maker does provide good coffee quickly. But so do others that don't have the compromises. First, it takes three cups by this coffee maker's measurement to make one cup of coffee. Since it holds a max of 10 "cups" you cannot make a pot that can serve four people, only three.
Plus there is no automatic timer, which I've been spoiled in having on my past two Cuisinart coffee makers. Which I might add, lasted many years.So on top of it being expensive, I had to buy a timer to have the same features as one for half the price.
So, it's nice if you want a small amount quickly, but not worth it if you want anything more.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted December 12, 2010
OVERSIZED MUGS MIGHT BE THE REASON
In my experience, I get six nice servings from the Technivorm. If you serve your coffee in regular size cups, then you can serve 4 people and still have enough left over for 2 people to have a second cup.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rpjhkeys
Jacksonville, Florida
July 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product!!
July 6, 2010
My wife is a coffee nut. The only coffee maker that produced the flavor she liked was an older model by Braun. We've had difficulty finding any Braun product since it malfunctioned a year ago. We have tried ever other manufacturer with no success until this product. It produces an exceptionally cup of coffee. The only negative is no automatic shut off option.
Review 16 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caffeinequeen
Glendora, CA
June 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Coffee Bar owner loves this!
June 28, 2010
I have owned a coffee bar for over 6 years and have been searching ever since for a home coffee machine that would replicate the features of our commercial brewers. This Moccamaster heats the water to the proper brewing temperature and creates enough turbulence to extract the full flavor of the coffee. It does it quickly, too! I would highly recommend this. It is worth the price to those who really love coffee.
Review 17 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
midwestcowboys
Kansas City
June 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the connoisseur's coffee maker
June 12, 2010
Bought this model after two coffeemakers died on the trail and were sent to coffee maker heaven. So, that left us to search for THE coffee maker to replace. The Technivorm is that coffee maker, allows you to control how long your grounds soak in the hot water (which allows you more control over flavor), a hot plate that really keeps your coffee hot, and the best tasting coffee you will probably brew from a drip machine. Cons , if you have a large gang of cowboys wanting coffee you will brew a few pots, this holds about 40 oz of coffee. Dusty and Rusty get about 2 1/2 8 oz cups a piece when brewing a full pot.
Review 18 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hotcoffee
New York, Ny
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-17points
8of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Be careful!
June 8, 2010
This is the best coffee maker I have ever used! It makes the best and hottest coffee and it is totally worth every penny I paid for it. BUT... the company only offers a 1 year limited warranty on this product. And in light of Williams-Sonoma's new, unforgiving return policy, I can't say that buying this product is a good idea. What if it breaks? Do I only have 90 days? This is bogus!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
spiceinlife
Suburbia, Illinois
Posted February 8, 2011
I have found that although Williams Sonoma's return policy has changed to 90 days, they will still exchange merchandise that is defective. I had an All Clad saute pan that recently broke (a rivet fell off in the dishwasher) and they exchanged it with no problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hotcoffeefan
Dallas, TX
June 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pot I've bought
June 5, 2010
We have not found another drip coffee pot that makes good strong, hot coffee like this one. I start the coffee early and my husband finishes it off several hours later and it is still good.
Review 20 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffeemaker with Glass Carafe, Black Metallic
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
maple hts.ohio
June 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
technivorm moccamaster
June 1, 2010
i have had this coffee maker for 6 years now and i love it.i roast my own coffee and when i use my technivorm it deliveres all the flavor from the coffee.i have had other coffee makers befor,but this is the very best,worth every penny it cost.
page1 2 next