Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder

The key to brewing a great cup of coffee is a consistently uniform grind achieved with minimal heat. Technivorm's ingenious machine represents a breakthrough in blade-grinding technology. Its upside-down configuration grinds the beans to the perfect size and allows the ground coffee to drop immediately into a collection container below, away from the heat of the blades. The result is rich, full flavor with no burnt aftertaste. This grinding system has earned the European Coffee Brewing Center (ECBC) Seal of Approval, awarded only to products that pass the extensive quality control and laboratory testing of the Norwegian Coffee Association. Creates the ideal grind for the Technivorm Moccamaster coffeemaker. Revolutionary design keeps grind safe from the heat generated by the blades, which can damage the beans' flavorful essential oils. Achieve perfectly consistent grind for even extraction and full, intense flavor. One grind size for all drip-coffee brewers-no more guessing which grind is correct. Fast and simple push-button operation. Hand made in the Netherlands using only the finest materials available and individually tested. Technivorm Moccamaster is the only manufacturer with ECBC approval for all its household coffee brewing and grinding machines. ABS plastic construction with sleek, durable aluminum hopper. 14-oz. cap. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in the Netherlands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
6 of 12(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doubletrouble
,Atlanta
,GA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
don't buy it
December 26, 2013
Does a nice job for grinding coffee for the Technivorm coffee maker.
BUT: Expensive for a blade grinder. Worked for just over a year and quit. No customer support to try to repair: no schematic, etc.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Temperamental
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EdinVA
,Tidewater
,VA
August 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ground Coffee Fits the Technivorm machine
August 31, 2012
Grinder seems to grind coffee well for the Technivorm KB 741 brewer. Output is good coffee. I was at first put off ( non burr), but so far it grinds good coffee. Makes sense that their grinder works well with their machine. Now, if you want selectable grinds--not an option. It takes some getting used to, but I have to rate by the result--good coffee, so it gets decent marks. As with most stand-alone grinders it has some quirks but nothing that bothers me really. Much quieter than my old burr grinder. Tad pricey but their whole line is. Works for me!
Pros: good grd coffee for technivorm brewer
Cons: finer ground coffee build up on basin
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
msirach
Harrisburg, IL
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm BLADE Grinder
August 3, 2011
The Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder was received as a surprise birthday gift in the mail. I expected quality of the grinder to meet or exceed the reputation that has been built by the Moccamaster Coffee Maker line.
The GOOD: It is a very stylish cylindrical grinder style that matches the shape and design of my Technivorm CDT Moccamaster Coffee Maker. They looked great sitting side by side on the counter.
The BAD: As other reviews have stated, it is a simple blade grinder. A single blade chops the beans while they flop around in the chop area. This style of grinder is adequate for someone who is making the transition from store bought ground coffee to whole bean. The style of grind is similar to what you would get from a grinder in the $20 to $40 range.I buy and receive fresh bean that is roasted and shipped immediately as well as roasting bean myself.
My grinder of choice for 15 years has been a conical burr grinder that can be set to 21 different grind settings.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meeba
June 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a good product
June 24, 2011
I used it once, took it apart b/c dust was flying everywhere, looked at the inside only to learn it's the same as a basic blade grinder. So I returned it, and went to buy another brand's blade grinder for $19.99. Sorry Williams-Sonoma, but this Technivorm is an awful product.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Size, outrageous price
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Randi4
akron, OH
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a burr grinder
February 20, 2011
This is just a fancy upside down blade grinder.
It makes a ton of coffee dust.
If fancy looking grinder that makes a mudpot is your wish buy this.
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mocaweb
Florida
January 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite grinder
January 14, 2011
If you own a Technivorm coffee maker,this blade grinder is for you!
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kasell
Rowayton, CT
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinder
January 2, 2011
We are really pleased with the grinder and would recommend it for someone who considers themselves a serious coffee drinker and can taste the difference between a blade vs grinder
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mochajava
Hawaii
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bubble deflated
December 26, 2010
I was so very excited to receive this grinder but to my disappointment, the machine is not all that it puts out to be. As with another review which came in subsequent to my online purchase, I discovered that it is not a burr grinder. I needed to use much more beans to make the same brew strength that I am accustomed to. It is necessary to do the first grind, empty it out, then do a couple of more spins to get the rest of the grinds out. It is on these spins that the qualtiy of the grinds get coarser and coarser. I expected an end product that matched the price of the machine. What a disappointment. I have returned the machine and am sticking to my ye ole faithful Capresso burr grinder.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ILikeMyCoffeeHot
Chapel Hill, NC
Posted November 10, 2012
Caveat emptor
I am hard-pressed to fathom how someone could purchase this grinder and then be deflated to find that it isn't a burr grinder.
It is sold as a unique--upside down blade grinder that allows the coffee, as soon as it ground to the right size, to fall away from the spinning blade and avoid being overheated by excess grinding.
Who on earth would shell out $200 bucks for a coffee grinder and not bother finding out how the things works before they say "I'll take it"?
0points
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted January 28, 2011
That's the whole point of this grinder.
Because all the coffee ground in this appliance is sifted through a screen before it is deposited into its receptacle, it cannot turn out too coarse. Ground coffee doesn't get thru the screen if its too coarse. Maybe you're talking about the residual negligible bits that are left in the hopper after you stop grinding. Even burr grinders leave tiny bits of residual partially ground beans around the grinding mechanism. That's just the way it is, and its not a problem. Those last few little coarse bits don't get thru the screen until you grind again for your next pot of coffee. Bottom line, with the Technivorm grinder, only perfectly ground coffee winds up in the receptacle. This grinder was designed to produce a slightly coarse grind, and this is why the coffee ground in it is superior in conjunction with filter drip machines. A common mistake people make is grinding coffee too finely for the filter drip method. Also, Technivorm instructions say not to run the grinder until its completely empty. That can cause the motor to overheat. The beauty of this machine is that it takes all the guesswork out of selecting the proper grind. It does it automatically for you (it doesn't have any settings for fine/coarse). The blade mechanism on this machine has also been shown to generate less heat than a burr grinder (contrary to popular opinion). more info, is on the specialty coffee association web site. Remember this machine is designed for the Technivorm coffee maker which uses the paper filter drip method and that's the only consistency of grind it will produce. Is not designed for espresso or French press because the grind size wouldn't match the brew method. If you have an electric automatic filter drip pot or something manual like a Chemex, the Technivorm grinder is unbeatable. And unlike burr grinders, the Technivorm grinder will never stall out or clog on you, no matter how oily or dark the bean is roasted. Once you understand the genius behind the design, it is GREAT.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meinersoak
Ca.
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth the money
December 25, 2010
Very expensive product but the coffee is clearly better!
Review 10 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DaddyO
Washington, DC
December 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Beautiful! But.....
December 20, 2010
This is one gorgeous machine. It stands almost level with my Technivorm MoccaMaster coffee maker...which I believe is the best coffee machine in the world. Together, they look like a team - ready to do their jobs with perfection. That's how they look...but...three things took my rating down to three stars. One, it's wobbly. The upright base is too thin for the heavy top...and it wobbles. Two, you can not clean the inside of the hopper, without tearing your cloth, sponge or fingers on two sharp, exposed screws inside it. Three, it's a blade - not a burr- grinder. My fault for not realizing that when I bought it. I might return it...but darn, it's just so beautiful!
Review 11 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
UNIQUE SURPRISING CONCEPT, AND IT WORKS GREAT.
December 11, 2010
I'm glad I selected this cleverly designed blade grinder. The Technivorm was engineered to produce one and only one grind consistency, and it does it perfectly. There are no fine/coarse settings. No bells & whistles. But it turns out a perfect grind. Here's how: Whole coffee beans feed down from the main storage chamber into a smaller sieve hopper (unique to Technivorm) that houses the spinning blade which simultaneously grinds and then instantly blows ground coffee through the sieve into the receptacle. The screen size of the hopper sieve ensures perfect consistency. When you remove the receptable of freshly ground coffee, there's no static and bean powder blowing around to make a mess. And it never stalls or jams. Its great. For regular filter drip coffee, this is all you need. Simple. Perfect. I also like their coffee maker. But that's another review. Hint: To measure, use 10 grams coffee for each 6 oz. water as your starting point. This is the SCAA's recommended ratio.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KonaLover
Alexandria, VA
Posted December 19, 2010
Grinding straight into the filter basket???
Has anyone noticed that the filter basket of the Technivorm coffee maker (I have the glass carafe style but this probably applies to the themal carafe unit as well) fits like a glove over the Technivorm grinder if you remove the receptacle that comes with the grinder? This makes me wonder if it was designed so you can grind coffee directly into the basket loaded with a filter. But whenever I try to do this, some coffee grounds escape out the basket, so I wonder if anyone out there has figured out how to grind right into the filter without making a mess. I think I will try Chemex filters which are larger and have overhang that might contain the coffee with any loss due to spray.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Technivorm Moccamaster Coffee Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jeanice
Hopedale, MA
November 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommended with Reservations
November 13, 2010
I was very excited to try the Technivorm Coffee Grinder as I own one of their coffee makers. This product however, is some-what of a disappointment. The base of the grinder is rather wobbly. I was surprised that the plastic is so pliable as it has to be able to hold-up the actual grinder assembly. That being said, it does grind the beans perfectly for brewing. Not a lot of bells and whistles on this model, but I like the fact it is easy to use and no static. Hopefully, their engineers will go back to the drawing board and work on using a stronger base/plastic.