Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

The award-winning Moccamaster coffeemaker perfectly synchronizes brew time, grind and temperature to brew world-class coffee in about six minutes. And thanks to an automatic drip-stop feature, it's easy to grab a quick cup before the cycle completes. Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, this legendary European machine brews directly into an insulated steel carafe, so coffee stays fresh and piping hot. This precision machine quietly brews one of the world's finest pots of coffee in just 4 to 6 minutes. Operation couldn't be simpler-just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. Automatic drip-stop temporarily stops the machine so you can pour a cup before the brewing cycle is finished. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at a consistent 200deg.F throughout brewing for optimal flavor and less bitterness. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a cone-shaped brew basket funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Insulated stainless-steel carafe has a Brew-Thru lid that's scientifically designed to minimize heat loss and maintain perfect temperature during brewing. The thermal carafe also includes a convenient travel lid for superb coffee on the go. To avoid oil and residue build up, several parts are removable for cleaning, ensuring great-tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easy to see in the dark. BPA free.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Pittsford
,NY
September 8, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor design and poor quality
September 8, 2016
This coffee maker is very badly designed with too many separate parts that are cheaply made and a pain to fit together every time you want to use it. Then once the coffee is made and you want to pour it in a cup, it spills everywhere because it doesn't even have a spout for pouring. The coffee tastes good, but it uses a lot more ground coffee than my older coffee maker to make an equal amount of brewed coffee and keeps it hot for a far shorter period of time. It is poorly designed with flimsy lightweight material. It is such a disappointment that I am throwing it out and replacing it with another brand after having it for a relatively short time.
Cons: Assembly, Difficult to Store, Difficult to Use, Fragile, High-Maintenance, Quality, Design
Review 2 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Sarasota
,FL
November 26, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warmer but not hot
November 26, 2015
Purchased this coffeemaker to get a hotter cup of coffee. Technivorm (with thermal carafe) does brew a somewhat hotter cup, but not significantly so. Coffee is hotter, overall experience marginally better, but at cost of about 5 times what a replacement would cost.
Summary, brews fast and hot(er), but a bit pricey for the additional value delivered.
Review 3 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
July 6, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best coffee ever - but flimsy build
July 6, 2015
Without doubt - this machine made the very best coffee I've had at home. Hot, not bitter and just great tasting. BUT
This is a flimsily built machine - I had two that I returned. The first would not work properly because the two little plastic pins that hold the brew basket down were broken when it arrived they were floating in the bottom of the box. I was able to make great coffee while I waited for the WS replacement using a meat macerator to hold the basket down. The new machine arrived - it was ultra carefully unpacked - and one of the tabs was broken off - straight out of the box and the piece was nowhere in the box. Enough already. And the design issues - the space between the brew basket and carafe which apppears to be designed for maximal heat loss and the "base" to align the carafe - flimsy plastic - the box the machine came in was sturdier. Great concept, poor design and lousy build and QC. $10 to install stronger tabs and a proper support for the carafe?
Pros: Quiet, Speed, best coffee ever
Cons: Difficult to Use, Fragile, High-Maintenance, Quality, pour qc and manufacture
Review 4 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Alexandria
,VA
March 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For serious coffee drinkers
March 25, 2015
After extensive research, pondering and assistance from a WS salesperson who owns a Technivorm I took the leap to purchase this coffee maker. It was the best decision. But it did require my purchasing a better coffee grinder after 3 days using my old Cuisinart. (bought the Breville Pro) Without perfectly ground beans, this machine's value is lost. Now my coffee is hot and brewed to perfection. My husband and I love the coffee from his pot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great coffeemaker, bad thermal carafe
March 20, 2015
This makes really good coffee. Unfortunately it doesn't do the very thing I bought it for--keep coffee hot. The thermal carafe just isn't insulated properly. In fact, when I rinse it with hot water prior to pouring hot coffee into it, I can feel the heat on the outside of the carafe. So the husband who wakes up an hour later than I do is treated to warm coffee and has to microwave it or make more himself. Disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Quiet
Cons: poor insulating properties
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Merseyside
Posted June 3, 2015
I hope it isn't too late to tell you that your carafe should be under warranty. I read that if you feel heat on the outside of the carafe, the seal is broken and the carafe should be replaced.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hugo
,MN
September 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee, Finally!
September 4, 2014
I love this coffee maker! It makes a consistently great cup of coffee. Optimal temperature and water disburses evenly over grounds.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Quiet, Design
Review 7 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Washington
,MI
January 26, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best coffee pot ever
January 26, 2014
This is the absolute best coffee maker we have ever used. The brew is always delicious and smooth-and in a few minutes!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 8 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Top drawer product
January 12, 2014
Without a doubt, this is the best coffeemaker that I have ever owned. Is is well designed and built. The bottom line though is that the coffee it produces is absolutely outstanding.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 9 for Technivorm Moccamaster Automatic Drip Stop Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Saint Paul
,MN
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-22points
8of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Zero Stars
January 5, 2014
I poured water into the reservoir and it came right out the bottom of the machine, all over the counter and the floor. So much for the finest drip coffee maker in the world.
Cons: poorly made