Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only eight minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. The ample 64-oz.-cap. thermal carafe on this machine makes this model perfect for large households and frequent entertainers. Perfectly synchronizing brew time and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces a perfect pot of coffee in just 8 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a basket-shaped filter funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Includes a travel lid. All parts that come into contact with water or coffee are BPA free. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. 11" x 6 3/4" x 15" high; 64 fl. oz. cap. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in the Netherlands.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
15 of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
heather21
,San Rafael
,Ca
March 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
taller than advertised
March 26, 2014
the actual height of this coffee maker is just shy of 18" when fully assembled with the lid on. If i want this to fit under my standard height cabinets, i have to lean it so it will slide under. This is not a good user experience. I don't know how it works and won't find out because I got shut down before I started.
The two stars are because it looks very nice and the parts are very solid. Nothing flimsy. If you have an open countertop or more space between your countertop and the overhead cabinets, then you'll have better luck than me!
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 2 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
skater
,Mi
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An okay but expensive coffee maker
December 25, 2013
Christmas Day, 2013: We used the Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe for the first time, this morning. It's a decent machine but makes coffee that seems no better and no worse than other, much cheaper units. For the price, we expected much improved flavor. We didn't recommend it due to the excessively high price for a coffee maker that isn't much better, if at all, from our old Cuisinart.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Size, excessively high cost
Review 3 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LB8542
,Columbia
,SC
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
December 10, 2013
We were hesitant to purchase a coffee machine because we had only used French Press in the past. However, we needed a machine that brewed a lot of coffee quickly. This coffee machine is great and we love it. It is not quite as good as a french press, but is the best coffee I have had from a machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 4 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dvharter1953
,Northbrook
,Il
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best coffee ever!
November 23, 2013
The excellence of design is proven through the way the coffee tastes. Very clean, no grounds at all. The only criticism is that the electrical switch is manual, you have to turn the heating unit off after the brew cycle is over.
Review 5 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHAGA420
,Santa Rosa
,CA
October 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GRAND COFFEE
October 30, 2013
When this coffeemaker came out I loved it but it only came in 10 cup. Too small for us. Now in the 12 cup I went for it. I love it. Wonderful coffee and so simple to use and clean. I would not change a thing. I did not get the grinder as I wanted a Burr, I got the Breville Burr which is wonderful as well. Thank you William Sonoma.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Review 6 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NoDecaf
,Mt Angel
,OR
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No drips from my Technivorm
October 27, 2013
I love that in a coffee pot! Nice handle, easy to pour from. I understand, and don't mind, the simple design that excludes bells and whistles. Preground coffee does loose it's best potential. Also, I find, for piping hot coffee, that I need to preheat this thermal carafe, rendering preset function ability useless( if it had any).
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet
Review 7 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DPJW
,Colorado Springs
,CO
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Defective design
October 26, 2013
We wanted the greater capacity of this one, but the coffee brewed was of lesser quality than its smaller model which is excellent. In addition the misalignnment of the parts on top caused the coffee coming through the filter to drip outside the funnel going into the carafe. The carafe was missing the plastic/rubber ring that you would screw the lid down into and so was never secure. In addition the filters are nonstandard. When the supply was gone at Williams Sonoma, there was no other place in town that carried this size filter. Williams Sonoma was great in handling the return. Kudos to them for their service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Assembly
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, poor design, can't get filters
Review 8 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CJHH
,NV
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
defective design in the coffee basket!
October 15, 2013
We have returned 4 Technivorm Grand Coffee makers for the same continuing problem. The stopper that stops the coffee while brewing breaks so you can not stop the flow. William Sonoma has been great to deal with, offering us a new coffee maker every time. The coffee maker does make GREAT coffee but the flaw is keeping us from giving 4 or 5 stars. Can Technivorm solve this problem?
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, great coffee
Cons: design flaw
Review 9 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AddingComment
,Longmeadow
,MA
Longmeadow, MASS
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice tasting coffee
September 17, 2013
I have only owned the Grand for a week. It really does make a great cup of coffee. I do agree with others that it could have more bells such as a timer so the coffee is ready in the morning first thing. Product material claims oxygen is released from the water if you let it sit overnight in the machine ... really??!!?? Did a lot of research to understand the engineering behind what makes a good cup of coffee, from what I understand its a combo of the right temp [200 F] and getting close to 7 minutes or so brew time for a 12 cup maker. This machine hits the 200 F but takes closer to 8 minutes brew time..... again that s my understanding. Now I wait to see how long the machine lasts and that it continues to perform well, hopefully for many years as it s expensive.
Pros: Design, good tasting coffee
Cons: wish had more features like auto timer
Review 10 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Igor
,Irvine
,CA
Solana Beach, CA
May 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Coffee Maker
May 24, 2013
I previously owned a K-741 smaller Technivorm machine. I purchased the larger one for more coffee volume for dinners with many guests.
The taste of the coffee is superior to other coffee makers by far. I use reverse-osmosis water and it enhances the coffee's flavors even more so.
This is an engineering marvel and worth the price paid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: none
Review 11 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suzy111
,Seattle
,WA
May 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Purchase
May 3, 2013
Overall we are pleased with our purchase. The coffee maker is well made and very easy to disassemble and clean. This makes far better coffee than our 10 yo coffee maker. If this one lasts 10 years, it will be well worth the price, only time will tell. Be sure to measure your counter to cabinet height, as this barely fits in our kitchen. Finding filters proved to be challenging, but we found 9.5" commercial filters work great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Size
Review 12 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the coffee; could use more bells & whistles
February 5, 2013
The Technivorm has been highly rated by all of the people at Cooks Magazine for a long time. I wanted one but waited until I had the extra scratch. It's true, the coffee is delicious and rivals some of the vacuum brews I've experienced. I got the model with the thermal carafe as I like to brew my coffee and bring it back with me in the bedroom in the mornings.
The downsides are these: The water reservoir is not marked for different amounts (I made a mark on it with a Sharpie because I usually only brew 6 cups). The basket takes a speciality sized filter, which I ended up ordering from W-S because I had a heck of a time finding them elsewhere. And it lacks a timer. If you can work around those elements, you will be pleased with the quality of the brew.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Speed
Cons: Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lmoon
Frisco, TX
Posted February 12, 2013
Lack of Timer
An easily solved problem. Go to a Lowe's type store and purchase a heavy duty timer you can preset brewing time on. Ours stores the settings because it is rechargeable. Plug the coffee maker into the timer. Turn it on and leave it on! If you need to brew at a different time then unplug it from the timer and brew.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Walla Walla
,WA
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Product - Long Wait
January 30, 2013
This coffee maker is everything its said to be plus more. It fast, hot and easy to clean. We splurged to find the best coffee and this is it. We ordered this product in early November, there were repeated delays to obtain product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: william sonoma's web ordering system undependable
Review 14 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
toddboat
,Austin
,TX
Austin, TX
December 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm Never Fails
December 29, 2012
Received the Grand for Christmas. Love the styling and "golden" cup the machine produces! Nothing beats a Technivorm! Wish there were cup markings on the water reservoir.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: no cup size markings on water reservoir
Review 15 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorthCarolinian
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent coffee
November 12, 2012
This is absolutely the best coffee maker ever and worth the price and a little more trouble (we had a grind and brew before). We could not be happier.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Power
Review 16 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SteveP2001
,Fairhaven
,MA
November 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Improvement Over The Original
November 10, 2012
After using this machine daily for months, I can report that the Grand is a distinct improvement over what was already the best drip coffee maker. First, the flat basket is an improved design over the cone and encourages better, more even saturation/extraction of the grounds. With the cone of the 40oz, I would have to close the drip and redistribute a couple of times during the process. On the Grand, I'll keep the drip closed for the initial bloom, agitate once, then open the flow and let the machine do the rest. The grounds stay saturated through the rest of the brew cycle leaving me with coffee as close to my vacuum brewer as I can get with a drip. The grand is not effortless, but it's close and produces excellent results.
For electric coffeemaker over 8-10cup capacity, the TechV Grand is the hands-down choice if you favor fully developed coffee flavor over automation.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SteveP2000
Massachusetts
Posted February 4, 2013
Filter Frustration
Update: Have been using the Grand daily for over six months and still love the machine and consistent, phenomenal coffee results. I would NOT give this machine up! The ONLY issue has been that WS has not been able to reliably stock the Technivorm filters. I even ordered my second set of filters a month early but they were backordered and pushed out past my supply. These use large commercial sized basket filters that I can not find in stores. I ended up ordering Bunn 9-3/4" in diameter x 4-1/4 commercial filters. They use an elemental chlorine-free (ECF) bleaching method to ensure there is no detectable level of dioxin - something the Tech filters do not indicate. I actually prefer the Bunn because they maintain the basket shape and drop in the filter basket without having to reshape it like the Tech brand.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Drumstarstan
,Olney
,MD
September 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful disappointment
September 12, 2012
I was hoping that the new Technivorm would be the answer to my home brewing quest for a servicable coffee maker. Sadly, after receiving my second unit, I realize that there are three design flaws which make the purchase unwise. The smallest issue is that the lovely water shower does not spray all of the water into the the brew basket; but, there are extra holes for that water to fill in.
Next, the eight minute brew cycle does not come close to emptying all of the water into the carafe.
Lastly, there is a manual sliding switch that shuts off the water flow from the brew basket to the carafe (in case you can't wait for the coffe to finish brewing). The design is horribly flawed. The rubber gasket occasionally sticks or gets off-center, causing the brew basket to over-flow, even when you have the switch in the correct position. This design element was the death nell for me. I tried to re-orient the rubber gasket and it broke quite easily.
Pros: makes a great cup of coffee
Cons: too many flaws to seriously consider owning
Review 18 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KitchenGecko
August 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incorrect Height Specification
August 4, 2012
The height of this coffee maker is listed incorrectly. Including the tab handle on the cold water reservoir cover, it stands 17 ¾ inches high (August 4, 2012).
William Sonoma did a good job of handling the return and I did not get charged. Excellent customer service.
The coffee maker has an unusual manual drip stop. The drip stop (not evident in the photo) is a little flat metal tab that extends from the base of the coffee basket. In my opinion, the design is not very intuitive. To activate the drip stop (to close the hole at the bottom of the coffee basket), one pulls the tab out. To deactivate the drip stop (to open the hole), one pushes the tab in.
One other pertinent point is that the “9-hole outlet arm” on top of a Technivorm coffee maker gets very hot when one is brewing coffee. Do exercise care with that.
Technivorm coffee makers are the Cadillac of coffee makers and they make great coffee—you will not be disappointed with the results.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SteveP2001
MAssachusetts
Posted January 4, 2013
Too Tall For No Reason
Fantastic machine but I do want to agree that the machine is just slightly too tall to slide under our cabinets. What drives me crazy is that there is NO good reason for it - it is only the tab on the top of the cover that makes it too tall and there is little particle reason for it. If the tab were half the height or better yet, inset dents on the sides of where the arm crosses, then this would slide under with ease. Now I realize that different kitchens have different cabinet heights, but it still could be an inch shorter with no consequence. If Technivorum ever starts selling parts for this machine I'll buy an extra cover and lop off the tab.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
lmoon
Frisco, TX
Posted September 6, 2012
Incorrect Height Specification
Thanks so much for clarifying the true height. Even the local Williams Sonoma did not have it.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
usarmy2010
,juno beach
,fl
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm
August 1, 2012
I am not a coffee drinker. Although on occasion I may drink a little of my wife's coffee. However, after trying coffee from this machine, I could become a regular coffee drinker. My wife has bought a lot of machines over the years (ones that were supposed to be top notch and that were expensive) and none of the coffee produced from those machines compared to what was produced from this machine. Yes, it is pricey. But, if you want a great (or should I say) outstanding cup of coffee, buy this machine
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Power, Size