Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe

Hand made and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a perfect cup of coffee in only eight minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. The ample 64-oz.-cap. thermal carafe on this machine makes this model perfect for large households and frequent entertainers. Perfectly synchronizing brew time and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces a perfect pot of coffee in just 8 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. To ensure a precise coffee/water contact time, a basket-shaped filter funnels the grind to the perfect bed depth. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. An insulated steel carafe keeps coffee hot. Includes a travel lid. All parts that come into contact with water or coffee are BPA free. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. 11" x 6 3/4" x 15" high; 64 fl. oz. cap. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in the Netherlands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.957 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
17 of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,PA
March 9, 2016
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely poor customer support
March 9, 2016
Technivorm advertises a 5 year warranty. Don't believe it. The thermal carafes have a serious defect and Technivorm will not honor the warranty. We bought a Technivorm Grand coffee model in 7 months ago. Now the carafe is leaking old coffee from under the handle support band. Believing the carafe was covered by a 5 year warranty, we contacted Technivorm and requested repair or replacement. To our great surprise, the replied with the following quote: "As stated in the owners guide on page 16, the carafe is not covered under the warranty."

Technivorm pictures the coffee maker with the thermal carafe and state that the coffee maker has a 5 year warranty. They do not state that the carafe is not included in the warranty.
This carafe problem is not new: 3 out of 4 carafes that we've owned have developed the same problem. Old black coffee leaking from under the handle band and dripping into the cup. Disgusting situation & extraordinarily poor customer support.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Hayward
,WI
November 24, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee But Disappointed in Quality
November 24, 2015
Have been using the Grand Coffee Maker for just a little over a year and I have to admit, it makes great tasting coffee. Unfortunately there's already a problem with the brew basket - the gasket underneath has come loose so that the coffee can't drain into the carafe. Thankfully I was making just a half pot, or there would have been coffee all over the place. In searching the web for a replacement basket, it seems this is a fairly common problem. Very disappointed. Considering the price paid, I expected much better quality than this.
Cons: Quality
Review 3 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Trabuco Canyon
,CA
September 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Home Drip Coffee Maker Made
September 11, 2015
The new Kitchen Aid drip maker here on Williams Sonoma is a close second, but it doesn't have the copper heating element.
This is the ONLY home drip coffee maker with a COPPER HEATING ELEMENT! Enough said! Heats coffee fast to the right Temperature. I suggest that that you use 32oz's of water and 4 scoops of coffee beans grinded. Heat the water in the microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds to take the chill of the water. This helps create a warmer brew.
Well made with a quality Stainless steel carafe . Everything described about this maker in the profile is correct.
Here is the paper filter to buy for this machine at the best price
Bunn 1000 Paper Regular Coffee Filter for 12-Cup Commercial Brewers (Case of 1,000)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quiet, Speed, Size
Review 4 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Palm Springs
,CA
October 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Coffee Maker we've ever had
October 22, 2014
this is the 2nd Technivorm I bought in 3 months. The first one was the smaller one but was not big enough. It says 10 cups, but 10 cups European is only like 5-6 cups U.S. I always have to make a 2nd batch of coffee. So we decided to get this Grand one. These are the best best coffee makers we've had. However, the size is wrong in the description. It is 17 1/2 inches tall, not 15. I have to take out the cover of the water reservoir in order for it to fit under my cabinet, I just pull it back out when I brew and put the cover back. I Love the way these coffee makers look. Very neat and contemporary looking and yet uses basic technology when it comes to brewing. Excellent tasting coffee and it is hot!
Review 5 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,San Rafael
,Ca
March 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
-6points
5of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
taller than advertised
March 26, 2014
the actual height of this coffee maker is just shy of 18" when fully assembled with the lid on. If i want this to fit under my standard height cabinets, i have to lean it so it will slide under. This is not a good user experience. I don't know how it works and won't find out because I got shut down before I started.
The two stars are because it looks very nice and the parts are very solid. Nothing flimsy. If you have an open countertop or more space between your countertop and the overhead cabinets, then you'll have better luck than me!
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 6 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Mi
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
7of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An okay but expensive coffee maker
December 25, 2013
Christmas Day, 2013: We used the Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe for the first time, this morning. It's a decent machine but makes coffee that seems no better and no worse than other, much cheaper units. For the price, we expected much improved flavor. We didn't recommend it due to the excessively high price for a coffee maker that isn't much better, if at all, from our old Cuisinart.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Size, excessively high cost
Review 7 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbia
,SC
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
December 10, 2013
We were hesitant to purchase a coffee machine because we had only used French Press in the past. However, we needed a machine that brewed a lot of coffee quickly. This coffee machine is great and we love it. It is not quite as good as a french press, but is the best coffee I have had from a machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 8 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Northbrook
,Il
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best coffee ever!
November 23, 2013
The excellence of design is proven through the way the coffee tastes. Very clean, no grounds at all. The only criticism is that the electrical switch is manual, you have to turn the heating unit off after the brew cycle is over.
Review 9 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Rosa
,CA
October 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GRAND COFFEE
October 30, 2013
When this coffeemaker came out I loved it but it only came in 10 cup. Too small for us. Now in the 12 cup I went for it. I love it. Wonderful coffee and so simple to use and clean. I would not change a thing. I did not get the grinder as I wanted a Burr, I got the Breville Burr which is wonderful as well. Thank you William Sonoma.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CHAGA420
Santa Rosa, CA
Posted June 11, 2015
Coffeemaker almost 2yrs old
I can only say that after almost 2 yrs still love this coffee maker. Never fails and the best coffee ever. Used at least one time daily.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mt Angel
,OR
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No drips from my Technivorm
October 27, 2013
I love that in a coffee pot! Nice handle, easy to pour from. I understand, and don't mind, the simple design that excludes bells and whistles. Preground coffee does loose it's best potential. Also, I find, for piping hot coffee, that I need to preheat this thermal carafe, rendering preset function ability useless( if it had any).
Pros: Easy to Use, Quiet
Review 11 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Colorado Springs
,CO
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Defective design
October 26, 2013
We wanted the greater capacity of this one, but the coffee brewed was of lesser quality than its smaller model which is excellent. In addition the misalignnment of the parts on top caused the coffee coming through the filter to drip outside the funnel going into the carafe. The carafe was missing the plastic/rubber ring that you would screw the lid down into and so was never secure. In addition the filters are nonstandard. When the supply was gone at Williams Sonoma, there was no other place in town that carried this size filter. Williams Sonoma was great in handling the return. Kudos to them for their service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Assembly
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, poor design, can't get filters
Review 12 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,NV
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
defective design in the coffee basket!
October 15, 2013
We have returned 4 Technivorm Grand Coffee makers for the same continuing problem. The stopper that stops the coffee while brewing breaks so you can not stop the flow. William Sonoma has been great to deal with, offering us a new coffee maker every time. The coffee maker does make GREAT coffee but the flaw is keeping us from giving 4 or 5 stars. Can Technivorm solve this problem?
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, great coffee
Cons: design flaw
Review 13 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Longmeadow
,MA
Longmeadow, MASS
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice tasting coffee
September 17, 2013
I have only owned the Grand for a week. It really does make a great cup of coffee. I do agree with others that it could have more bells such as a timer so the coffee is ready in the morning first thing. Product material claims oxygen is released from the water if you let it sit overnight in the machine ... really??!!?? Did a lot of research to understand the engineering behind what makes a good cup of coffee, from what I understand its a combo of the right temp [200 F] and getting close to 7 minutes or so brew time for a 12 cup maker. This machine hits the 200 F but takes closer to 8 minutes brew time..... again that s my understanding. Now I wait to see how long the machine lasts and that it continues to perform well, hopefully for many years as it s expensive.
Pros: Design, good tasting coffee
Cons: wish had more features like auto timer
Review 14 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Irvine
,CA
Solana Beach, CA
May 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Coffee Maker
May 24, 2013
I previously owned a K-741 smaller Technivorm machine. I purchased the larger one for more coffee volume for dinners with many guests.
The taste of the coffee is superior to other coffee makers by far. I use reverse-osmosis water and it enhances the coffee's flavors even more so.
This is an engineering marvel and worth the price paid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: none
Review 15 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
May 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Purchase
May 3, 2013
Overall we are pleased with our purchase. The coffee maker is well made and very easy to disassemble and clean. This makes far better coffee than our 10 yo coffee maker. If this one lasts 10 years, it will be well worth the price, only time will tell. Be sure to measure your counter to cabinet height, as this barely fits in our kitchen. Finding filters proved to be challenging, but we found 9.5" commercial filters work great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Size
Review 16 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the coffee; could use more bells & whistles
February 5, 2013
The Technivorm has been highly rated by all of the people at Cooks Magazine for a long time. I wanted one but waited until I had the extra scratch. It's true, the coffee is delicious and rivals some of the vacuum brews I've experienced. I got the model with the thermal carafe as I like to brew my coffee and bring it back with me in the bedroom in the mornings.
The downsides are these: The water reservoir is not marked for different amounts (I made a mark on it with a Sharpie because I usually only brew 6 cups). The basket takes a speciality sized filter, which I ended up ordering from W-S because I had a heck of a time finding them elsewhere. And it lacks a timer. If you can work around those elements, you will be pleased with the quality of the brew.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Speed
Cons: Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lmoon
Frisco, TX
Posted February 12, 2013
Lack of Timer
An easily solved problem. Go to a Lowe's type store and purchase a heavy duty timer you can preset brewing time on. Ours stores the settings because it is rechargeable. Plug the coffee maker into the timer. Turn it on and leave it on! If you need to brew at a different time then unplug it from the timer and brew.
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Walla Walla
,WA
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Product - Long Wait
January 30, 2013
This coffee maker is everything its said to be plus more. It fast, hot and easy to clean. We splurged to find the best coffee and this is it. We ordered this product in early November, there were repeated delays to obtain product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: william sonoma's web ordering system undependable
Review 18 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
Austin, TX
December 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Technivorm Never Fails
December 29, 2012
Received the Grand for Christmas. Love the styling and "golden" cup the machine produces! Nothing beats a Technivorm! Wish there were cup markings on the water reservoir.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: no cup size markings on water reservoir
Review 19 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent coffee
November 12, 2012
This is absolutely the best coffee maker ever and worth the price and a little more trouble (we had a grind and brew before). We could not be happier.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Power
Review 20 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Thermal Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fairhaven
,MA
November 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Improvement Over The Original
November 10, 2012
After using this machine daily for months, I can report that the Grand is a distinct improvement over what was already the best drip coffee maker. First, the flat basket is an improved design over the cone and encourages better, more even saturation/extraction of the grounds. With the cone of the 40oz, I would have to close the drip and redistribute a couple of times during the process. On the Grand, I'll keep the drip closed for the initial bloom, agitate once, then open the flow and let the machine do the rest. The grounds stay saturated through the rest of the brew cycle leaving me with coffee as close to my vacuum brewer as I can get with a drip. The grand is not effortless, but it's close and produces excellent results.
For electric coffeemaker over 8-10cup capacity, the TechV Grand is the hands-down choice if you favor fully developed coffee flavor over automation.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SteveP2000
Massachusetts
Posted February 4, 2013
Filter Frustration
Update: Have been using the Grand daily for over six months and still love the machine and consistent, phenomenal coffee results. I would NOT give this machine up! The ONLY issue has been that WS has not been able to reliably stock the Technivorm filters. I even ordered my second set of filters a month early but they were backordered and pushed out past my supply. These use large commercial sized basket filters that I can not find in stores. I ended up ordering Bunn 9-3/4" in diameter x 4-1/4 commercial filters. They use an elemental chlorine-free (ECF) bleaching method to ensure there is no detectable level of dioxin - something the Tech filters do not indicate. I actually prefer the Bunn because they maintain the basket shape and drop in the filter basket without having to reshape it like the Tech brand.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 next