Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe

Handmade and individually tested in the Netherlands, the Moccamaster coffeemaker brews a Gold Cup Standard pot of coffee in only eight minutes. A copper heating element ensures water stays at the perfect temperature from the brew cycle's beginning to its end. The ample 64-oz.-cap. glass carafe on this machine makes this model perfect for large households and frequent entertainers. Perfectly synchronizing brew time and temperature, this fast, consistent machine quietly produces a perfect pot of coffee in just 8 minutes. Special copper heating element keeps water temperature at 195deg.-205deg.F throughout brewing for optimum flavor and less bitterness. An independently powered, energy-efficient hot plate with two heat settings keeps coffee at the ideal serving temperature, preventing scorching of partial pots. An innovative 9-hole spray arm disperses the water over the entire grind for a remarkably even soak prior to extraction. Copper lining along the spray arm keeps the water temperature consistent throughout the wetting stage. Operation is simple - just fill the brew basket, add water and press the power switch. All parts that come into contact with water or coffee are BPA free. Several removable parts for cleaning to avoid oil and residue build up, ensuring a great tasting coffee every time. Illuminated power button is easily seen in the dark. 12 3/4" x 6 3/4" x 15" high; 64 fl. oz. cap. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to United States electrical standards. Made in the Netherlands.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
Review 1 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JSS1
,Dallas
,OR
April 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big disappointment
April 4, 2015
The build quality on this machine is cheap and, at the end of today, we can't tell the difference between coffee made in it and an old $100 Bunn Phase Brew that we have hanging around.
The water storage container and the shaft that delivers hot water are both plastic.
The grounds basket is terrible. Instead of the normal cone shaped basket and filter, there is a cheap Mr Coffee type flat bottom basket. The hot water entering the basket passes through a small shower head type opening that is gravity fed and basically useless. Despite this gadget, water basically all hits one spot in the center of the basket so there is very uneven extraction. You can't see into the basket to agitate the grounds if you wish.
The bottom of the basket has a really silly tin flow shut-off device that is sure to gum up and fail over time.
At the very end of the brewing cycle, water in the pot is 174 degrees compared to 186 in the Bunn.
We sent it back.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, bad extraction, cheap components
Review 2 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Notworthit
,Huntersville
,NC
March 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too many problems!
March 26, 2015
This coffee maker does make excellent coffee which is why I gave it 2 stars, HOWEVER we are on our second machine in just under three years for the same problem... the on/off switch died after only a couple of years. The machine was shipped back to the company and they repaired the switch but it just died again. Yes, you do have to ship it yourself back to the company but it was repaired at no charge.
Also, heartily agree with other comments regarding no measurement indicators on the glass carafe and a very cheap, tricky lever to stop the coffee from flowing from the basket to the carafe.
Had Capresso's before for many, many years and loved them!
We love a great cup of coffee!
Pros: Speed, great coffee
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, mechanical failure
Review 3 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twain
,New York
,NY
June 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best coffee maker
June 20, 2014
This is the best, highest quality coffee maker we have ever owned. It heats the water pretty quickly and brews evenly which makes a very good cup. Easy to use. Highly recommended. PS: no timer but this has not been problem as a quick brew.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 4 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radtech51
,Burbank
,CA
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect cup of coffee better than Chemex!
December 19, 2013
First I don't know what experience the other guy had but it sounded like he had a defective unit as I've had zero problems with shut-off lever. I've also make one cup at a time and have never had an issue.
I've been a big Chemex Person and have used my Chemix for a long time now. I swore I'd never try anything else because I've never found any thing to ever come close except for this machine. I was very skeptical at first but went in with an open mind and came out with the better cup of coffee! I encourage anyone in fact I dare anyone to take this challenge you will thank me for it. I've saved so much time and this machine just brews the perfect cup every time. Ask any good barista and the first thing they will tell you is consistency is key. I'll never go back now I just love the consistently good cups of coffee it makes every time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ThomasHalways
Santa Clara, CA
Posted February 17, 2015
What is Chemex?? This here is about Coffee!
What is this Chemix/Chemex mentioned by the reviewer? We are here not in a chemical installation, its about food in a kitchen.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coffeemark1
,Olean
,NY
June 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Coffee Maker
June 20, 2013
Have gone through numerous other brand coffee makers, all while drinking so,so coffee. The Technivorm is amazing, easy to use, easy to clean and provides a perfect cup of coffee every time. The water is hot, we can use less grinds to get the same strength as with other makers, and it is consistent.
The flow stop in the basket is the only weak point in the maker, as it does not always stay shut, and is hard to get the flow started again.
Otherwise....Amazing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 6 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamarino
April 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee
April 17, 2013
We have been through a multitude of coffee makers such as kitchen-aid, Cuisinart, Mr. coffee and have had really bad luck with reliability. Many of those died or starting leaking within a few months. Decided to splurge on this pricey Technivorm Grande monster, and so far we are very pleased. Coffee is very hot and has a great taste. We think it has a retro industrial look, aesthetically pleasing on the counter. Don't have issue with the manual stop flow on the basket - looking underneath it looks well made and replaceable. We were looking at the Bonavita as a less expensive option, but decided on this one due to the copper element, as the Bonavita has aluminum. Overall everything looks well made on this beast, and we are hoping it will last a long time.
Pros: Durable, Power, Design, copper element
Review 7 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noerg
,Watertown
,Ma
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious hot coffee
January 1, 2013
Received as a gift from my children. Love it! Easy to use and makes superior coffee. Has a very good warrenty which is important as my previous coffee makers all died after 2 years of use. Expensive but so worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: filters not readily available due to large size
Review 8 for Technivorm Grand Coffee Maker with Glass Carafe
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
maich
,Manvel
,TX
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
7of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too many minor bads
December 27, 2012
No marking on either the coffee pot or water bin to determine anything other than making a full pot. Cheap shut-off lever sticks too often when you try to steal a cup before the brewing cycle is finished. Overflow the third day, 7th pot when open lever stuck. Look somewhere else, maybe the older model because this one is not it despite looking better!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: Temperamental, bad design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Casereccio
Parkland, Florida
Posted March 20, 2015
I couldn't disagree more. Amazing Coffee Maker
I just purchased this coffee maker t last weekend so I haven't had time to write a review yet, but after extensively researching coffee pots/systems this coffee maker by far makes the best tasting coffee and is the only one that actually keeps the coffee as warm as it says it does. Let's see if we can help you & address your issues. Regarding the lack of marking on the water bin this can be remedied by purchasing the Flex-It Silicon measuring cup set available at Williams-Sonoma. This will resolve your issue and they are so useful for so many things. And while I too am accustomed to stealing a cup before the brewing cycle is finished, as this coffee maker brews so quickly, not being able to do this is a minor price to pay. Try to look at your cup as being half full rather than half empty. Exceptionally tasting coffee at the right temperature made in a well constructed pot with a 5 year warranty is amazing. Please reconsider your position. Trust me you can do far worse. This is one amazing machine. Well done Mr. Smit (Technivorm founder) & Williams-Sonoma!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)