Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque

Use our innovative pan to create an irresistible assortment of 30 desserts, all at once. Thanks to a premium nonstick finish, the pan releases the cakelets easily, with their details intact. Bakes 30 festive mini cakes for brunch, tea or dessert. Embellish cakes with colored icings, glazes or a dusting of confectioners' sugar. Durable cast-aluminum construction ensures sharp detail and uniform baking. Premium nonstick finish guarantees foolproof release and easy cleanup. See 'Use and Care' tab for best results. Made in the USA by Nordic Ware, a family-owned company famous for its fine bakeware since 1946.
Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
8 of 13(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
Review 1 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Blasdell
,NY
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cake pan
June 18, 2013
Super easy to use, great for little personal cakes. Not too much not too little, moist and tasty. Would recommend in an instant
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
iggypals3
Posted September 8, 2013
baking time for these teacakes
I received one of these pans as a gift a while back. I have had trouble with under- or over- baking the teacakes. Since you appear to bake in this pan once a week or so, perhaps you could tell me how long you leave yours in the oven or what you suggest for a standard cake mix used for these teacakes at 350 degrees? maybe you know of a good recipe that is mostly foolproof?? thanks for any help you can give me! the little cakes are so cute that I'd like to get some good use out of this pan.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefJean
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Teacake Pan
November 28, 2012
Have been using this pan for years and the cakes come out perfect every time. I don't recommend the recipe that comes with it.
Decorating the cakes takes time and patience but is to be expected with these type of cakes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ChefAndrew
San Diego Ca.
Posted July 9, 2013
Problem with Sticking
Chef Jean
I just started using the TeaCake plaque pan. I love the idea of all the tiny cakes. I have a problem with sticking. What do you use to coat the pan to prevent sticking, and ensure release to see the pattern perfectly. We have tried Bakers Joy, but that does not seem to work well.
We have ordered some other pans with great detail, and will need to use the same for each other them.
Thank you for your time and advice.
Andrew
0points
Customer avatar
123NoviceBaker
Sunnyvale, CA
Posted March 2, 2013
Good Recipe for Teacake Plaque Pan
A friend gave me this pan as a birthday gift a few years ago. Just like the other reviewers, I too, had tried following the recipe that comes with it, and got awful results. Your review, however, was very encouraging to read.
Therefore, I was wondering if you could share the link to the food blog you mentioned in your review, or (better yet) the recipe you use with this pan along with some additional tips.
Thanks, Irit
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eagu
November 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tweaking teacake technique
November 17, 2012
I didn't get great results first time with this pan.
However following tip of recipe I found on a food blog, I didn't grease or flour the pan at all next time. After putting batter in (and less is more!) I tapped the pan very vigorously on the counter several times and let it sit a few minutes before putting in the oven. It worked perfectly with far fewer bubbles, even when I filled the pan for a second batch while it was still hot and without washing in between. Very good definition. Great on two counts, gets results but also saves a lot of time, 30 cavities is a lot to use pan goo on!
Review 4 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wittgirl1
,Bakersfield
,CA
Bakersfield, CA
April 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Teacake Pan
April 10, 2012
I too followed the directions to a "T" and they stuck had holes, etc. and I am no amateur baker. Not trusting the pan fully in the first place or any when they say non-stick I used a non-stick spray which did not appear to help at all. Needless to say I am very disappointed. I will try the other suggestions to see if it helps and another recipe. I love all my W&S finds but this one did NOT pass muster.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, not non-stick, recipe provided
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BungalowHostess
,San Diego
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great idea but....
February 4, 2012
...just followed the recipe with the pan to a "t" and was quite disappointed with the flavor of the tea cake and the air pockets in each tiny one, despite following all directions. The design is very hard to see so they look like little cake lumps. I will try with a different batter because I love the idea of these pretty little cakes for tea.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChezMJ
Boston
Posted July 12, 2012
Tap, Tap, Tap!
If you have holes, you must not be tapping! My Mom taught me to give cake pans a few quick taps on the counter before putting them in the oven to cause any bubbles to rise to the surface. Works every time. Try it!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darina
,Boston
,MA
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love it!
January 9, 2012
I LOVE this pan! I don't know why people say that they cannot take cakes out. I always spray a drop of oil into the pan before putting dough itself - no problems! Never!!!
Here is another my little secret: try to add a nut inside every cake :) absolutely delicious! I am going to buy one more to make more cakes at a time. My family adores them! )))
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 7 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dreamylassie
,Campbell
,CA
September 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
dainty little gems!
September 30, 2011
I am amazed at how good the non-stick is for these molds - if you spray and flour them first, nothing seems to stick.. You can see the details much better by skipping the glaze and opting for powdered sugar or a dallop of jam or whipped cream in the tiny well at the top. I was disappointed the time I tried to glaze, since it just lost all the details and they looked like lumps instead of the pretty shapes they are.
They are perfect for tea parties and everyone oohed and aaahed over the little cakes.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 8 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MimiG
Carroll, Oh
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Teacake Plaque Pan
September 6, 2011
Not sure about this pan. Altho, it does make nice little teacakes, they are very labor intensive. They did come out of the pan as stated, no problem there. I am going to work on a different cake recipe, this one without the glaze is pretty bland. With the glaze they are VERY sweet. I thought the design would have been more pronounced. After they were glazed they pretty much lost their design. I will keep trying until I get the recipe I'm looking for.
I only gave it 4 points because I'm not sure I would recommend it to a friend. Maybe yes, maybe no.
Review 9 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quarteracrefarm
Wilsonville, OR
August 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful little cakes
August 17, 2011
I used this cake pan this summer to make dainty little lemon cakes that turned out beautifully.
I did not use the recipe on the package, but just a lemon cake recipe from a recipe book. I also used white whole wheat flour and they turned out well.
You do need to spray each mold thoroughly AND flour the pan (put a tiny bit of flour in each hole and then shake it around to coat all sides and dump out the excess). I agree that you do have to clean the pan between batches, but it worked wonderfully for me. As with any cupcake, remember to only fill 2/3-3/4 of the way full.
I also mixed a thin glaze with lemon juice and confectioners sugar and dipped each cake in that. Yum, but remember if you glaze, the cakes don't store well.
Pros: Design, fun
Review 10 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GranGran57
Patterson, Ga.
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most fun when baking
August 4, 2011
Got one pan, loved it so much, I bought another to have more cakes faster. My grand daughters and I have so much fun making these! Just follow the directions. They are simply beautiful. Every time I take the cakes to a shower or other event, everyone thinks they are bakery-made.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Design, cute shapes
Review 11 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
foody
montreal, qc
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not what i was hoping for!!
August 3, 2011
the little cakes that come out are cute, but you have to be sure not to put too much batter in the wells. they are impossible to decorate, the glaze that is recommended doesn't make the cakes look fancy. they are just sort of sad. cute, but sad.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, not detailed the way i expected them to be
Review 12 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DivaDlxe
Seattle, WA
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
August 3, 2011
I was so excited to use this cake pan! The designs were attractive and I thought the cakes would be fun to serve to my guests.
HOWEVER, the cakes do not come out every time. The whole pan has to be meticulously cleaned between batches, and no amount of spray, oil and / or flour fixes the issue.
I too, bought it, used it a couple of times and have stored it. I'm so sad, and haven't bought another "design" pan since. Now I see the others have fantastic reviews, so I may try again.
Pros: Durable, Size, Weight, looks lovely
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, cake removal
Review 13 for Nordic Ware Teacake Plaque
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ABumbleyBee
Redlands, CA
July 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
15of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impossible
July 24, 2011
The cakes are absolutely impossible to get out of the pan. It doesn't matter how much shortening, vegetable oil, spray, or flour you put in there. They do NOT come out. You end up with little lumps of cake.
I was really excited to buy this with a gift card I received for my birthday. I was very disappointed after about 8 tries I just gave up and put it in storage.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, impossible to use
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
busyb13
Portland, OR
Posted December 13, 2011
bake spray!
Please try a certain cake decorating company's baking spray before giving up on this pan completely! I own this one, and several other shaped pans, and I have never had a problem getting the cakes to release with that product. For cleaning, I let the pan soak in warm, soapy water for a little while and then use a dedicated nylon dish brush to clean it out. PS - I am in no way affiliated with that company.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)