This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer

A multitasking cook often has time for only a quick glance at a dish. This digital thermometer's large numerals afford a precise reading instantly, ensuring that your meats and poultry are cooked to a safe internal temperature and the desired doneness. Easy-to-read digital temperature reading in Fahrenheit or Celsius. Instantly measures temperatures from -40deg.F to 446deg.F. Fitted with a handy pocket clip. Hold button to hold temperature on screen for quick readings. Thermometer stem crafted of easy-clean brushed stainless steel. Uses one LR44 battery (included). For instant temperature readings only, not for in-oven use.
Average Customer Rating:
2.606 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
13 of 33(39%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
Review 1 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sus15
,Arvada
July 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best thermometer
July 6, 2012
Best instant read thermometer I have ever used. I use it when grilling meat on my outside grill.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 2 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EllieB
,Pittsburgh
,PA
May 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Dependable thermometer
May 4, 2012
This thermometer has been a consistently good one. I like it more now that I can replace the battery. Each one has lasted about a year of hard use-which also includes dropping on the floor. I have given it as a gift to friends, who also think they are great thermometers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
m2violin
,Tulsa
,OK
Tulsa, OK
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Instant Read that's Easy to Read
January 1, 2012
I purchased this thermometer because I wanted an instant read thermometer that was easy to read. I had a dial-type thermometer that was useful enough, but difficult to read. This thermometer registers very quickly, and the display is very easy to read. I liked it so much I got one for my elderly mother.
The only caution is never submerge this thermometer in water. Clean it by wiping it with a dish rag.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, easy to read
Cons: do not submerge in water
Review 4 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Klifford
,Brooklyn
,NY
October 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Broken right out of the package
October 1, 2011
Didn't turn on right out of the package. Was able to open it up and get the screen to turn on when pressing on the back of the inside just right, but this made it extremely frustrating to use. Would stick to analog next time. Shouldve returned it immediately. I was a bit surprised a company like Williams-Sonoma actually stocks it.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 5 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chipster
June 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
What a piece of junk....
June 25, 2011
What a waste of money. This thing worked twice for some steaks I cooked and for a pork tenderloin, both on the grill. After that, nothing-nada-zip- broken and wouldn't come back on. Changed battery and still didn't work correctly. It came back on reading some crazy numbers then readout would fade away after a couple of seconds. Could never get the unit to actually "turn on" for any length of time. Never got wet and certainly never put in oven. So those of you who still have a working unit, good luck with it and hope it last more than the month that mine did!
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 6 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LoveHomeCooking
Northville MI
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Don't buy this product
April 28, 2011
First time using this the back of the thermometer melted, popping it free of the stainless steel front cover. I put it in a pork roast that was on a weber grill, MOM heat, lid up on the grill, never closed it, had thermometer in for about 2-3 minutes waiting for it to get up to temp. Returned to WS and got the meat thermometer instead that has a ss back (not plastic). Wanted to give this 0 stars, but site wouldn't let me.
Cons: Quality
Review 7 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Borderphile
West Chester, PA
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Short life
April 4, 2011
Accurate when it worked--for about 6 months. Difficult to properly seat battery.
Pros: Accuracy
Cons: Fragile
Review 8 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msk1953
Port Huron, MI
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great tool for any kitchen!
February 19, 2011
This is great! I got tired of having to replace the old meat thermometers (that stay in the meat while it cooks) every couple years. This is so simple!
Review 9 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Killian
Waegwan South Korea
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Broke after two months
February 7, 2011
Didn't use that often and it broke after only 2 months. Didn't seem extremely accurate when it did work. Seems to be better options on the site now.
Review 10 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
silliness
Gurnee, IL
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Can't figure out this thermometer
January 31, 2011
I can't figure this out. I take it out of its cover and insert it into turkey breast. It reads: "888 Hold" and then goes blank. I leave it in the turkey for 2 minutes - nothing happens. I remove it from the turkey and come back 20 minutes later and it's sitting on the counter recording the room temp accurately! I put it in the turkey again and it reads 162 degrees and then goes blank. .
Review 11 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TaterSalad
Phoenix, AZ
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Worthless - Display seems broken
January 18, 2011
Received this as a gift off our wedding registry. With excitement I used for first time to check steak on a new grill. However, it seemed broken from the get-go. The LED read is faint and seems to flash on and off even when no button is pressed. I used it as instructed, did not get wet at all, and only for instant read.
It did work occasionally - temperature reads seemed accurate but inconsistent LED projections causes frustration.
Spend your money on a different, more reliable thermometer.
Hopefully Williams-Sonoma will exchange...
Review 12 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DBKAUAI
Hawaii
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Unit Quit Working
January 12, 2011
Unit quit working after the 8th time used... then died... changed battery to no avail.....
Review 13 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
shiny
Italy
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
doesn't work well
January 7, 2011
It only worked twice, but I'm still not sure it gave the correct temperature, as it seemed way off from what the meat should have been by that amount of time in the oven. Then the battery went dead and trying to replace it, the whole thing came apart. I would not recommend this item to anyone
Review 14 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jillybean9882
Norfolk, VA
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Stopped Working After 2 Uses :(
January 1, 2011
I bought this a few months ago and loved it when it actually worked. For some reason it just stopped working. I am very cautious about not getting the top part wet so I don't know what else could have caused it. I am going to try to replace the battery but it seems that I pretty much have to take the whole thing apart to do so. I wish they made a compartment for easy battery changing. I personally do not encourage people to buy this. Just go by the old Pyrex standby.
Review 15 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ivorymoon
California
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent when used as should be
January 1, 2011
I have had this thermometer for 7 months and it works famously for everything I have used it for from bread baking, sauce temperatures, meat cooking and making sure the water temp. was correct to bathe my grandson!!! I love it and when used as an instant read thermometer (not meant to be put in oven and left there while baking) it does everything it is said to do. My battery still works and it is the one it came with. I can't be more happy. I bought one for my cullinary arts professors as well and they love theirs too. (I take baking classes)
Review 16 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lovetogarden
Belmont
November 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
taylor elite digital instant read thermometer
November 30, 2010
This device is so fragil to handle, and so difficult to read the digits on the little screen. I definitely wouldn't recommend this to anyone. The meat came out dried and ruined my dinner party. I wouldn't want this to happen to anyone else.
Review 17 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
loulou1970
South Carolina
October 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Used once...never worked again
October 25, 2010
I used this thermometer the very day I got it...it worked great. A couple of months later the battery was dead. Replaced it and it has not worked since. Have tried other batteries as well with no luck. Piece of junk or just a lot of lemons out there!
Review 18 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tulip001
SLC, UT
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Great Thermometer
October 12, 2010
It surprises me to read some bad reviews on this product. I have owned this thermometer for a while and love it. You DO NOT leave it in the meat while cooking. When you feel like your meat is close to being done, insert into the thickest part of the meat for a reading. It takes about 5-10 sec. If you want a thermometer to leave int the food while cooking, you need a roasting thermometer or thermometer designed to be left in. I love, love, love this thermometer and have cooked perfect roast chicken, steak, etc. using it!
Review 19 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NickWI
Wisconsin
September 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Waste of Money
September 30, 2010
Not accurate, you can't change the battery, and died after 3 months.
They should really stop selling this product.
Review 20 for Taylor Elite Digital Instant Read Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SammyJean
Fort Myers, FL
September 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Do Not Purchase
September 26, 2010
Never worked - save your money. Should have gone for a different model.
page1 2 next