Tartlet Baking Set

It's simple to turn out pre-baked crusts or filled tartlets with this three-piece set. First, use the cutter to cut the dough into rounds with fluted edges, use the tamper to press the dough into the wells, and then bake the crusts to a perfect golden brown. Set includes a 12-well mini-tart pan, cutter and tamper. Ideal for preparing sweet or savory tartlets with classic fluted sides. Heavy-gauge carbon steel efficiently conducts heat. Tamper and cutter are made of durable polypropylene. Promotes uniformly baked crusts. Nonstick interior ensures easy release and cleanup. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
23 of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tartlet Baking Set
Review 1 for Tartlet Baking Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
fineartoftarts
,Butler
,PA
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good and bad
January 24, 2014
I am eagerly branching out my pie-making skills to include tarts.
*The pan is wonderful.
* The cutter is too small. One does need to practice with the thickness of the dough and the amount of pressure exerted on the press. Press too hard and you pack down and/or thin out the dough which results in a somewhat hard, thin bottom crust. Press too lightly and dough does not rise up high enough and filling may bubble over. Even in the hands of this experienced baker, the cutter is too small.
* The press is hollow. :( What's worse, it fills with water if tossed into sinkful of water. Next time I will be mindful of this, but the fact that it is hollow cheapens the entire set.
*The recipie on the back is good, but next time I will omit the second tsp of salt.
*I used American Test Kitchen recipe for lemon pie filling. Simply the best.
Cons: Quality, Size
Review 2 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keenfoodie
,League City
,TX
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tartlet Baking Set
January 15, 2014
I've used this item several times and really like it. There is no way to get such regular and therefore professional looking tarts without the kit. I liked it so much I bought a second one because I make large batches for parties. The pastry recipe they give on the back of the box is very good too, tastes good and easy to work with. I'd leave out the second teaspoon of salt though.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 3 for Tartlet Baking Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VHLCHEF
,Huntersville
,NC
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Concept, but poor execution of design
January 12, 2014
My husband gave this to me for Christmas. I was so excited to make my 1st. batch of tartlets. I used premade pie crust dough. Using the cutter, I cut out the shapes. I agree with all the past reviews stating that the cutter is too small. When the dough shrinks, the tartlets become almost flat. Also, the press sticks too much to the dough. I wonder if silicone may be a better choice. I ended up having to grease the press. I do have to admit, that you almost need 2 pans, because if you have only 1, you have to wait to let the pan cool between batches or decrease cooking time. I did dock the dough, but still some of my tartlets came out flat.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Cons: cutter too small. wells too shallow
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ncmormor
NC
Posted March 17, 2014
I agree with this review. cutter is too small and I had to find a different cutter to make this work. Not as pretty as the photo. very disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thatwinsomegirl
,Lexington
,KY
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes the perfect mini tart!
December 1, 2013
I'm really impressed with this Tartlet Baking Set! I've used mine three times now and it's been a pleasure working with it. The first time I used it, I blind baked homemade graham cracker dough. This worked pretty well! I did notice a TINY bit of shrinkage with the dough, not having lined and filled each mini tart to prevent such as one would with a large tart/pie crust. However, they still looked lovely and had ample room for filling. The second and third times I used the tart to make mini pumpkin pies, using store bought pie crust and baking the filling right in the pan. This worked beautifully (see photo). I've been really impressed with how easy and full-proof this set is to use. It's well designed, the pan bakes things beautifully, and everything is easy to clean and store. I'm thinking about buying a second and I think this would be a great gift for the baker in your life!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TMak
,Milwaukee
,WI
November 9, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product
November 9, 2013
This Tartlet Baking Set is a dream to use.
The pan is great quality and easy to clean.
I highly recommend this product!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 6 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MotherLYearth
,South Jersey
,NJ
South Jersey
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very fun set
November 5, 2013
This pan takes some figuring out but once you do, its so much fun. Use any pie dough recipe you like, I make a special tart dough, and any filling you like. Roll the dough out to 1/8" thickness and tamp down firmly. The dough fills up the cup and I can put a gravy ladle of filling in the pie shell. The tarts easily separate from the mold once baked and hand wash the pan. A one crust recipe makes 30 pie shells. People love the individual servings and it looks like you went to a lot more trouble than what it actually takes. Very easy to use and fun to make. I highly recommend this pan.
Review 7 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mika350DegreeeOven
,San Diego
,Ca
September 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite tart pan!
September 12, 2013
I've been making little mini tarts all week long with this pan - it makes it so easy to make tartlet shells, which were more of a chore before. For the people finding the shell is not "tall" enough, you need to press the tamper into the dough with a fair amount of pressure - this will make the edges of the dough rise up to be level with the edge of the pan. Yes, the tarts are shallow - but since these are mini (appetizer-sized) tarts... that is normal.
I've been making mini quiches in the microwave using the pre-baked shells. Put a small amount of filling (like 1/2 tsp chopped cooked bacon + 1 tsp grated cheddar) into each well, then add about 2 tsp. of quiche custard (1/2 c. half and half + 1 egg + 1/4 tsp. salt). Then microwave for 90 seconds for perfect little quiche appetizer tarts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Tartlet Baking Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
designerista
,Beacon Falls
,CT
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Some Practice Required
August 16, 2013
I am normally very kitchen literate. I was so excited to try this out last night, but I think I am going to have to have another practice night with it.
I filled the tart pan with the crust, but even using the tools to cut the crust and place them over the wells, when pressed, they did not reach the top of the well. I filled them with some home made fruit pie filling, which bubbled over so needless to say, they were stuck in the pan.
But like i said, I will have another practice night with it and improve the outcome. Maybe these are for only baking the shell?
I am not pleased nor displeased with it at this point. Normally I bake a lot of pies and things - but I think I am just going to have to have either a thicker crust to press into the well so it has more to allow to the top like in the picture.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MotherLYearth
South Jersey
Posted November 4, 2013
It takes practice
I agree with this reviewer but don't use thicker dough. The dough I made ended up baking and filling the tart and didn't allow for enough filling so they turned out to be dough tarts. Stick with rolling the dough to 1/8" thick and tamp down firmly. The dough will seem thin and may not reach the top of the well but it does bake up and fill it allowing more filling than pie dough.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Americangirl
,Spokane
,WA
Spokane WA
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and easy to Use
August 12, 2013
I just love this set. It is very easy to make many types of food from desserts to little meat tartlets. I am branching out to gluten free dough so I am excited to try it out. I am glad WS has some excellent gluten free flours. This is a great fun gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goldysgal
,Dallas
,TX
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for my needs
August 5, 2013
Great purchase and perfect for my needs. Tarts come out about 2" across and hold enough filling to give several perfect bites.
No Cons here. Used prepared pie crusts and they popped right out of pan after baking. Looked like picture. Great purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Review 11 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LondonbornMom
,Stow
,OH
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect tart maker
June 11, 2013
Have made tarts for over fifty years. This Tartlet Baking Set makes the process foolproof! Our daughter fell in love with this set so have purchased another one for her to use. We make at least 60 tarts for holidays and this baking set has made it a more joyful process.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnaIsa
,Morgantown
,WV
May 13, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful pan
May 13, 2013
I bought this pan to make dessert tarts and mini quiches. When I opened the box I was very pleased to see it seemed to be a very heavy plan of great quality.
I made mocha tarts with a chocolate covered coffee bean on top first. They turned out great. The tamper and the cutter made it very easy to use the pan.
Next I made mini quiches, that also turned out well.
I would recommend buying 2 of this pan because it would make the whole process faster. A great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 13 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Khariel
,Madison
,WI
May 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sweet Tarts!
May 6, 2013
Little pricey, yet LOVE this item. Really do pop out easily. I made Trisha Yearwood pecan tassies in them & worked perfect, even without chilling the dough, OR rolling/cutting it. Just made into 1" balls & pressed firmly into the "un-greased" tartlet cups. I did initially dip the little press in powdered sugar, then found it didn't even need it. Would order again & HIGHLY recommend. Much better than anticipated. May order a 2nd one. ULTRA CUTE
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: pricey
Review 14 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SheilaAZ
,Phoenix
,AZ
April 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive results!
April 8, 2013
Quite a few of the reviews state the tart shells are too shallow, when really this is an appetizer or dessert 'canvas' to hold a small amount of topping or filling. I agree with others that tamping firmly pushes the dough to a nice thiness and makes the well deeper. These were fun and easy to create an impressive treat!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 15 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchyqueen
,Tucson
,AZ
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect little petite tarts
January 2, 2013
This pan works well and turns out very pretty, well shaped fluted tarts with a little practice. Made my own pastry recipe and found I needed to press the shaper quite firmly. The thinner the dough the better. Tarts released beautifully - didn't even need greasing or flouring. Filled with ~1 tsp poached pear with a cinnamon sugar reduction and piped marscapone custard on top. Very well received - lots of fun to work with too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Redjamie
,Dublin
,CA
Dublin, CA
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really easy and fun to use
December 2, 2012
This mini tart pan is very easy to clean up and is very easy to use. I read all the reviews before purchasing and noted the comments on the cutter being too small. I found that the cutter did its job and cut the rounds just right. The trick I found that worked best for me was after pressing in the tamper straight down, I then pressed the tamper into each of the fluted edges. This pressed the dough up towards the top and made the tart bigger. I used a spray non stick and nudged the tarts out with a chop stick. Very nice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 17 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LittleGrandma
,Maple Valley
,WA
July 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Star of the tea party!
July 17, 2012
I used this pan to make tartlets for a tea party fundraiser. The tartlets were just the right size to go with the other miniature food. The cutter did seem a little small, but I found that I needed to roll the dough a little thicker and then do a first press into the pan, following up in a couple of minutes with another firm press. I also used pie weights for part of the cooking time when I baked them without filling (just like I would when baking an emply pie crust). Yummy and fun!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 18 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jewls
,Orlando
,FL
March 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tartlet Baking Set
March 14, 2012
I love to make my own tarts as they usually taste better and are much cheaper to make then purchasing. This tartlet pan set makes making small tarts easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 19 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
danamagica
,Buenos Aires
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this cute thing!!
January 26, 2012
I´m super happy with my Tartlet Baking Set. The little tartlets looks beautiful in the plate and it´s very easy to use. The secret is to press the dough hard!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 20 for Tartlet Baking Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoniVB
,SLC
,UT
November 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Tartlet Pan!
November 14, 2011
I love the tartlet pan, haven't had a problem with it. The cutting tools are great as well, they make the baking and fitting in the pan so much easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
page1 2 next