Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice

At the heart of Moroccan cooking are tagines, a family of savory stews characterized by their rich, complex sauces. Showcasing a quartet of traditional Moroccan spices, our premium seasoning blend makes it simple to prepare authentic tagines in your own kitchen. Our traditional blend enhances tagines with the rich, spicy flavors of paprika, ginger, turmeric and black pepper. An authentic addition to any tagine recipe, including chicken, fish, lamb or vegetable tagines. Add distinctive flavor to roasted or grilled meats, poultry or seafood by using these fragrant spices as a savory rub. A pinch of this aromatic spice blend can also be used to enrich couscous, salad dressings or marinades. To ensure the most vibrant flavor and aroma, the seasonings are individually ground and blended. The premium, all-natural spices for our tagine seasoning are sourced from around the world and expertly blended by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. 1.5 oz.Made in USA from imported ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Williezmom
,Cape Charles
,VA
October 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Old W/S tagine spice much better
October 20, 2013
If it's not broken, don't fix it. Why change to this dull, kind of homogenized mix of spices when, for several years, you sold some terrific tagine spices that came in a tin. It was delicious--came with tagine recipes taped to the sides. Oh, how I wish I had stocked up on that product. I wonder if anyone else carries that old kind...
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sienna
September 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Like The Old Days
September 13, 2013
I treasured this product once upon a time, when Williams-Sonoma made it much more generously and authentically with ginger, paprika, cinnamon, cumin, cayenne pepper, and SAFFRON, a spice indispensible to Moroccan cooking. Sadly, it's now a pedestrian mix of paprika, black pepper, ginger and turmeric. I've made some tasty food (chicken) with this spice mix (turmeric is a fair substitute for the more delicate and more expensive saffron), but for authentic Moroccan tagine dishes, real saffron is a must. Williams-Sonoma saffron is excellent and you can find it on this site.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful results.
July 31, 2013
I make chicken by mixing this spice, garlic and onion powders and cumin. Rub it on the chicken and roast it, then add plain yogurt to the pan juices and serve on the side. Crazy good!
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassi
,Aiken
,SC
August 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tagine Cooking
August 30, 2012
When preparing Moroccan dishes for my family or guests, I always use Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice. The spice balance is perfect for whatever chicken or lamb dish I prepare. Depending upon the dish and the guests, I only need to determine the quantity to be used. How easy is that!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max1
Outer Banks of NC in Manteo
July 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The design and color struck me first!
July 2, 2011
I loved the blue and white motif when I saw this lovely new design and thought I would check it out. I have been to Morocco and loved the food, but my visit was 40 years ago! I purchased the Tagine spices and downloaded the recipes. My first delivery was cracked, so I called and was sent a new, perfect one in about 3 days. What a hit! I made my own preserved lemons earlier and they turned out great, as well. The flavors in the chicken recipe were sublte and rich. I served it with couscous and a salad. The intriging exotic aroma wafted through the house as the dish was cooking and my guests were delighted. I highly recommend this wonderful addition to anyone's kitchen. M
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
helenc
Summerville SC
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good stuff
March 14, 2011
I love my new tagine and all of the spices that I purchased at the WS store in Charlesotn
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrPepperHead
March 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so great - old W-S Tagine spice much better
March 8, 2011
It's not too often W-S disappointments, but they really missed the mark on this spice mix. It's a poor facsimile of their old Tagine spice and very poor at best. It lacks excitement and flavor complexity as a good Tagine spice should contain. Sorry for the negative review, but seriously, pass on this one...
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Christy2u
Chicago IL
Posted July 16, 2011
agree old W-S Tagine spice way better
I agree, the old spice blend which is listed as Australian ginger, Turkish paprika, Saigon Cinnamon, Turkish cumin and Spanish saffron is way better. Please bring this back. If anyone finds a spice blend with those ingredients, please post. I have a little bit of the old blend left and am going to get these spices and see what I can do to make my own blend.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Tagine Spice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StealthMaestro
Broomall, PA
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Spices for Tajine!
January 12, 2011
I received this at my bridal shower, and it's been a wonderful addition to my spice cabinet. I am an avid cook, love trying new things and making delicious meals for my new husband and this combination of spices really makes me look good! Add to a chicken in your crock pot, dutch oven, or a tajine if you have one and let simmer with some veggies for an hour and voila! amazing. just amazing. I've also used it in soups and other adventures, adds wonderful flavor. Highly highly recommend.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo