This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Apricot Tagine Sauce

Among the best-loved of Moroccan dishes are tagines, a family of fragrantly spiced stews that often combine sweet and savory flavors. We've based our tagine sauce on traditional North African recipes, blending rich chicken and beef stocks, plump apricots and ripe tomato puree with aromatic Moroccan spices. To make authentic tagines at home, just simmer the sauce with chicken, lamb or beef. 15.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apricot Tagine Sauce
Review 1 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMahoney
October 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Interesting & easy
October 28, 2012
Not as sweet as I expected, more of a spiced Indian-curry flavor and aroma. Took tips fom other reviewers and added 3 chopped carrots, 1/2 cup chopped dried apricots, and 1/2 medium sliced red onion. I put them in my dutch oven before baking, and they blended into the sauce, which didn't need thickening. Used half chicken thighs, half tenderloins (all boneless) and it came out nicely. Great on basmati rice with sliced almonds. Not as time-consuming as some other roasts/ simmer sauces.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Review 2 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaroleL
,New York
,NY
New York City
October 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
DELICIOUS AND EASY
October 6, 2012
This sauce was so delicious, it was like eating a meal from an expensive restaurant that took hours to prepare. But worked up quickly in my own kitchen. I intend to get more and use it for dinner for company. Adding chopped dried apricots made it even more special and have more texture.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aabb
,DE
DE
April 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good, super easy, fast
April 28, 2012
This sauce was super easy, fast, and tasty. The best thing about it is the convenience on a weeknight when one has less time, but one can still feel like one is having a good meal.
I do still miss the Moroccan chicken slow cooking sauce, which I thought so, so, so yummy and infused the flavors in the meat so much better, but that did take 4-6 hours, unlike this one where you will have a good meal in as little as an hour.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kelleykw
,NE
,PA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Kids loved it!
January 12, 2012
Received this sauce with a beautiful tagine for Christmas... couldn't wait to try it! I combined the sauce with chicken, dried apricots, baby bella mushrooms and carrots, and served it over couscous with golden raisins and cardamom. The only thing I did with the sauce was add about 1/4 cup of honey - it's really wonderful on it's own, but since I was feeding it to a 6, 5 & 2 year old, I wanted to 'ease' them into these wonderful new flavors - they devoured it! Please don't discontinue this sauce!!!
Pros: Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thingsgoneby
,reedsville
,wv
WV
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
delicious but somewhat too sweet
January 1, 2012
I used this with lamb, added onions, carrots and the juice of half a lemon. Next time, I'd add balsamic vinegar as well as lemon juice to cut the sweetness.
It would be nice if this were made with Dates in place of the sugar.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: too sweet
Review 6 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barbana
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago
October 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Easy -great dinner
October 22, 2011
Had friends stop by last night and whipped this up in no time --made it with chicken, dried apricots and almonds. It was fabulous and tasted like I had been cooking for hours. From start to finish it was all of 20 minutes.
Yum --will be buying more.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 7 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WendyNYC
New York, NY
July 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Best Sauce!
July 8, 2011
This is the absolute best Tagine Sauce and my favorite of all the Williams-Sonoma sauces (I've tried a lot). I add carrots, pitted prunes, and dried apricots and it is a perfect combination.
I like it so much that I check the website every so often just to make sure it hasn't become discontinued....
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 8 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosieglow
Moline, IL
June 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
My son loves it!!!
June 10, 2011
I bought the tagine sauce in the fall for my son who is almost a gourmet cook. He absolutely LOVED it. In fact, he told me he is addicted to it and recently took advantage of the free shipping on this product and ordered several more jars. You have a winner with this sauce!!! Please do not discontinue it.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 9 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
veevee
May 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
we were back in morocco!
May 12, 2011
Not sure what happened to that last reviewer! I can assure you that this tagine sauce is terrific! It reminded us of the tagines we enjoyed while visiting Morocco. I have purchased numerous jars and haven't had a single problem....except, of course, that there weren't any leftovers.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sugar1
Maryland
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Not what I expected
April 19, 2011
I have bought other sauces from Williams-Sonoma and have enjoyed them. However, the Apricot Tagine Sauce was not what I expected in taste. Although it sounded 'good,' neither my husband nor myself liked the taste. It's hard to describe..too fruity, too much cinnamon-flavor? Oh and the sauce smelled funky when cooking. I did follow the directions on the bottle and even added the optional nuts to the dish. The chicken was nothing to write home about, and we did not finish it. Any leftover chicken was given to our 5 cats, but only after we washed the sauce off. Our cats enjoyed the chicken. Save your money. Buy another sauce.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
oscar1999
Greenwood, IN
Posted August 11, 2011
Ever had tagines?
Just wondering about your comment. Had you ever had apricot tagine before you purchased this? In other words were you comparing it to an apricot taste you had before? If not, was your basis of it not tasting so great just based on opinion of what you thought it should taste like. Just wanting to buy it and would appreciate your commenting further.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alexia04
Houston
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
This is fantastic!
February 28, 2011
I bought this on a whim and loved it! I shredded a rotisserie chicken, poured the sauce over it and simmered on low for 10 minutes, then served it over brown rice.