This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Apricot Tagine Sauce

Among the best-loved of Moroccan dishes are tagines, a family of fragrantly spiced stews that often combine sweet and savory flavors. We've based our tagine sauce on traditional North African recipes, blending rich chicken and beef stocks, plump apricots and ripe tomato puree with aromatic Moroccan spices. To make authentic tagines at home, just simmer the sauce with chicken, lamb or beef. 15.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Apricot Tagine Sauce
Review 1 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMahoney
October 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Interesting & easy
October 28, 2012
Not as sweet as I expected, more of a spiced Indian-curry flavor and aroma. Took tips fom other reviewers and added 3 chopped carrots, 1/2 cup chopped dried apricots, and 1/2 medium sliced red onion. I put them in my dutch oven before baking, and they blended into the sauce, which didn't need thickening. Used half chicken thighs, half tenderloins (all boneless) and it came out nicely. Great on basmati rice with sliced almonds. Not as time-consuming as some other roasts/ simmer sauces.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Review 2 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaroleL
,New York
,NY
New York City
October 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
DELICIOUS AND EASY
October 6, 2012
This sauce was so delicious, it was like eating a meal from an expensive restaurant that took hours to prepare. But worked up quickly in my own kitchen. I intend to get more and use it for dinner for company. Adding chopped dried apricots made it even more special and have more texture.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aabb
,DE
DE
April 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Good, super easy, fast
April 28, 2012
This sauce was super easy, fast, and tasty. The best thing about it is the convenience on a weeknight when one has less time, but one can still feel like one is having a good meal.
I do still miss the Moroccan chicken slow cooking sauce, which I thought so, so, so yummy and infused the flavors in the meat so much better, but that did take 4-6 hours, unlike this one where you will have a good meal in as little as an hour.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kelleykw
,NE
,PA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Kids loved it!
January 12, 2012
Received this sauce with a beautiful tagine for Christmas... couldn't wait to try it! I combined the sauce with chicken, dried apricots, baby bella mushrooms and carrots, and served it over couscous with golden raisins and cardamom. The only thing I did with the sauce was add about 1/4 cup of honey - it's really wonderful on it's own, but since I was feeding it to a 6, 5 & 2 year old, I wanted to 'ease' them into these wonderful new flavors - they devoured it! Please don't discontinue this sauce!!!
Pros: Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Apricot Tagine Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thingsgoneby
,reedsville
,wv
WV
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
delicious but somewhat too sweet
January 1, 2012
I used this with lamb, added onions, carrots and the juice of half a lemon. Next time, I'd add balsamic vinegar as well as lemon juice to cut the sweetness.
It would be nice if this were made with Dates in place of the sugar.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: too sweet