Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate

Enjoy this fast-melting chocolate stirred into hot milk, whipped cream or espresso. The premium cocoa powder begins with Guittard chocolate, ground using a century-old grindstone to ensure perfect consistency. The traditional Dutch process neutralizes a portion of the chocolates's acidity, which enables the cocoa to dissolve more readily. Finally, it is sweetened with sugar and flavored with natural vanilla in perfect proportions. 11.5 oz. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
23 of 30(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tklovesws
,Olympia
,WA
Lacey, WA. 98503
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sweet Ground Chocolate..
April 16, 2013
Sent to my daughter and grandaughter as part of their Easter basket and they both loved the hot chocolate along with their chocolate pancakes..
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mardo
,Bridgeport
,CT
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Mistake
January 2, 2012
I imagine the chocolate quality is ok, but I ordered the wrong product for my daughter. She loves the peppermint cocoa mix and was disappointed in this plain chocolate. It does not mix well with the hot milk, leaving globs of chocolate at the bottom of the cup. We've been trying to get the peppermint mix, but apparently it's been out of stock for a while.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Difficult to Prepare
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
louisemay
,CHEYENNE
,WY
November 1, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OLD PRODUCT I ASSUME - DISAPPOINTING
November 1, 2011
The chocolate MAY be good - we'll see. I received a 1/2 full container because the contents had settled and were very, very hard. Even the shipping that actually damaged another product's packaging didn't disturb the chunk of powdered chocolate in the bottom of this can. Using a knife to break it up ended in chunky results. When added and whisked (for a long time) to hot milk I still ended up with undissolved chunks of chocolate in the bottom of the pan.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Difficult to Prepare, hard
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WVSquirrel
,Davis
,WV
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It Rates 2nd Place
October 12, 2011
It's almost asgood as the shaved Belgian Chocolate that you said would not be available until the holidays? Why is this?
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: not as good as the shaved
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maria44
Tucson, AZ
May 15, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Chocolate Martini's too!
May 15, 2011
great for Chocolate Martini's, simply disolve in a little soy creamer on the stove first, then add your vodka to the mixture in a large decanter. I add extra vanilla or vanilla vodka to taste, if you like a litte heat...add1/4 tsp of chili powder such as "Hatch" smoked chili powder 1/4 tsp or so, to taste, and a bit of cinnamon if desired, then - shake well! Allow mixture to sit overnight for best results, or several hours in refrigerator, Then serve to your friends for a great treat in martini glasses!
Let the party begin! Also great during the Holidays with the Wms- Sonoma Choco-Mint flavor!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chocolate48
Chicago, IL
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chocolate Oatmeal!!!
April 14, 2011
Cook 1/2 C. Quaker old fashioned oats and 1 C water in the microwave, then add a giant spoonful of this, a packet of Splenda, a handful of chopped walnuts, and a half a banana. Best. Oatmeal. Ever!!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
London
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Mochas
February 7, 2011
While I use this for hot chocolate as well, as others have mentioned, I normally add a wee bit of sugar to sweeten it up. On the other hand, this is perfect for Mochas which is the main reason I bought it.
Mochas are the only 'sweet' coffee I can manage. Normally sugary flavoured syrups completely ruin the taste of the coffee itself for me. This cocoa powder, however, offers the perfect chocolate injection without ruining the taste of the espresso I add it to. I recommend two shots of espresso, 1-2 teaspoons of this (depending on your tastes) and then top of the mug with warm milk and you've got a mocha better than anything you'll get in any mainstream coffee house chain. Mmmmmm!
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dotmc
Rhode Island
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Stuff
January 11, 2011
Add the whole can in a food processor with 3 cups non fat dry milk, 2 cups confectioners sugar, 1 and 1/2 cups (good quality) white chocolate chips and 1/4 tsp of salt. Grind down and store in airtight container. Use 1/3 cup in hot milk. I used boiling water and it is the best!!! (Cooks Country recipe)
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrostyMomma
Las Vegas, NV
November 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Greatest Hot Chocolate Found
November 15, 2010
Rich & Creamy. So good as just hot chocolate, but if you put a teaspoon in a hot cup of coffee with a dash of cinnamon makes a nice holiday treat.
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kgirl
Palm Bay, FL
October 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Rich Chocolate
October 8, 2010
This is a great powder used for Hot Chocolate or Mochas but it isn't very sweet. You might need to add a little more sweetness to it. :)
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pickyme
georgia
September 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
how can anything be this awful and this expensive?
September 29, 2010
I prefer homemade hot chocolate, and that is the standard I hold all mixes up to. This one falls far, far short of the mark. The Ghiradelli powder that is available in most grocery stores is much, much better than this stuff. This stuff doesn't mix well, it's bitter, not creamy. Just a huge disappointment, especially for the price.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mistymarie
Minneapolis, MN
March 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hot Chocolate Fan
March 24, 2010
Had wished to purchase the hot chocolate mix previously purchased, however it was not available. This mix does not have the same rich flavor or texture and was very disappointing. Does not retain mixture consistency well at all.
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pab10tmj
Oakland, CA
February 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Hot Chocolate
February 20, 2010
This is wonderful hot chocolate mix. It makes a rich drink. I make it using the hot chocolate pot w/the whisk that I purchased last year.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
13044
Keller, TX
February 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste Doesn't Warrant Cost
February 17, 2010
Was hoping this product would be as tasty and economical as the 14.5 oz. Chocolate Shavings I used to purchase from WS. Sorry to say, it isn't. This 11.5 oz tin does not dissolve as well and from a money perspective, not worth the cost in my opinion.
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LVB10
RYE BROOK, NEW YORK
February 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HOT CHOCOLATE HEAVEN
February 4, 2010
THIS SWEET GROUND CHOCOLATE IS PERFECT FOR A DELICIOUS CUP OF HOT CHOCOLATE IN A RUSH WHEN YOU OR THE FAMILY ARE COLD.
JUST PLACE THE HOT CHOCOLATE IN A CUP WITH YOUR FAVORITE MILK- I USED LACTOSE FREE-FAT FREE MILK AND HEATED IT UP IN THE MICROWAVE...THE PERFECT CUP!
DELICIOUS, SMOOTH SWEET CHOCOLATE, YOU CAN ADD FRESH MARSHMALLOWS OR HOME MADE WHIPPED CREAM FOR A MORE DECADENT CUP.
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CurlyBlue
Cambridge, MA
February 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best with marshmallows added!
February 1, 2010
I am new to this powdered chocolate and have found that it is definitely enhanced by the Williams Sonoma Marshmallows.
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IOWAPORKFAT
RIVERSIDE, CA.
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
MOST DISAPPOINTING
January 6, 2010
I purchased this to go with the Keurig machine that I got my daughter for her 50th birthday to use in the K-cup feature.
It did not dissolve and was just a huge
blob in the cup, plus it tasted terrible.
We threw it out. What a waste of money.
Please put a note on this product, NOT
GOOD FOR KEURIG MACHINES.
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nana250
MN
December 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Contents
December 29, 2009
Really like this product but if you want it sweet then you have to add more sugar. I was quite dismayed by the amount that was in the container, it was less than half full and the pictures all show the container heaping so the size of the container is very misleading. Did tend to leave a bit of an after taste but not bad.
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wfudeacon
Winston Salem, NC
October 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My mother's favorite
October 30, 2009
This chocolate is my mother's favorite and she refuses to make her hot chocolate with anything else. Depending on how sweet you like it, you may want to add a little sugar but I love this and so does my mom.
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Sweet Ground Chocolate
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim11d
Cedar Park, TX
October 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE BEST MOCHA EVER
October 29, 2009
OMG...I had bought this last year because I had a gift card for William's Sonoma. I am addicted to Mocha's and have been a Starbuck's Mocha addict for a while. When Starbucks recently increased their prices 20 cents per Grande Mocha was a little much for me. I pulled out my espresso machine and this Sweet Ground Chocolate from the back of the pantry...YUMMY!!! BETTER THAN STARBUCKS!!! So glad it's back now!
page1 2 next