Swedish Wood Shelving

The stability, durability and strength of our Swedish shelving set the standard for modular wood shelving - a standard that many other systems cannot match. Easy to expand, the shelving is a versatile addition to the pantry, kitchen or laundry/utility room.Top-quality modular storage that's easy to assemble and expand.Configures in numerous combinations to accommodate changing needs.Units can be joined side by side for a complete wall-and-corner system.Smoothly milled wood can be painted, stained or left unfinished (will age to a golden patina).Shelves are 11 1/2" deep and adjust up or down in 4 1/2" increments.Shelves are reinforced with concealed steel rods and each supports up to 400 lb.Solid white pine, sustainably forested in Sweden.Simple assembly required.Additional uprights and shelves are sold separately.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.137 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
43 of 51(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Swedish Wood Shelving
Review 1 for Swedish Wood Shelving
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SavvyWoman
,La Grange
,KY
March 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for pantry, not pretty, very poor packaging
March 12, 2015
The construction is fair but appears sufficient for pantry use. I don't think someone would want to have it out and showing unless it was painted. It did come with a chip in the wood due to shipping but it was in a place that didn't matter much and I was putting it inside a pantry closet.
I had no problems with warping but the packaging was very poor. There was no cushioning at all. The only thing protecting the shelving is the box which in itself is very thin.
I like that the shelving was adjustable but I should add that you would have to take the shelf apart to adjust it once you have the whole item put together. In other words, it is not an easy adjustment. Though being adjustable to 4-1/2" increments is better than most units I would have liked to seen it adjustable to perhaps 2-1/2" units.
I purchased the wide unit and nearly bought extra shelving but am now glad I didn't. Unless the items you plan to store are very thin then any extra shelves would be a waste.
Pros: Size, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 2 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrassmannCA
,Oklahoma City
,OK
March 5, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT PRODUCT FOR ORGANIZING!
March 5, 2015
I ordered several of these units for my quilting/sewing room which is in a room with no closets or storage. They were fairly easy to assemble and once I got the hang of it went together quickly. They were versatile enough I added a hanging bar for quilting projects in place of a shelf. They are attractive and very efficient. Love them!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Scent, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Swedish Wood Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KickingMyself
,Orlando
,Fl
March 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very poor quality
March 4, 2015
I hope I can save someone some disappointment here.
If you don't count the fact that they're damaged, the wooden boards are pretty nice for the cost. Very smooth ( the wood itself - not rough), nice style, pretty enough. :)
However, it arrived all cracked and splintered and that cannot be ignored. The planks (the shelves) are fine, but the tall upright boards arrived cracked in many places, especially around holes to insert shelving tubes.
Took me over two hours to assemble. Those rods are SO short. Another 1/8 or (God forbid) 1/4 of an inch would've made accord of difference in assembly time. I actually swore out loud. What a mess. "Tap" the shelving in - ha!
It's all put together, but I can move the entire unit around with one finger's gentle pressure finger. It sways that easily. It's rickety. I have to buy new shelves to replace my new shelves.
Please don't waste your money. Better quality can be found for less money.
Pros: Design, smooth
Cons: Quality, durability, Assembly, Unreliable, so disappointing
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PamelaMalouf
Bakersfield, CA
Posted April 26, 2015
you didn't return them?
We have purchased many sets of these over the years, as we keep finding new uses for them. Once or twice, a damaged piece would arrive, but they shipped replacements right away, without hesitation.
Our experience was different than yours, I'm sure. I love the shelves.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Swedish Wood Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
indianachick
,Bedford
,IN
March 3, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not up to WS standards
March 3, 2015
I ordered a complete pantry full of the shelving. It is not up to WS standard of quality. It is completely warped and would not even stand upright without serious bracing. Completely disappointed.
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability, Assembly, Unreliable
Review 5 for Swedish Wood Shelving
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MsJules
,Caldwell
,ID
February 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great shelving BUT.....
February 22, 2015
I ordered over $1000 of this shelving. The corner unit was high quality. The extensions, and the wide stand alone unit had 50% warped stand up boards. One of the shelves had poorly applied nailing. I really like the look but was disappointed in the precision of the product. These were for a pantry, but still would have appreciated better workmanship.
Pros: Strength, Assembly, Weight
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Swedish Wood Shelving
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VeraKay
,Grand Blanc
,MI
February 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Looking Storage Option
February 4, 2015
The Swedish Shelving looks good, is sturdy enough to hold an extra large size Cuisinart Food Processor, a Kitchen Aid mixer, a George Foreman grill and lots of pots, pans, cast iron Dutch ovens and chicken fryers, mixing bowls, slow cookers -- and does it with style. My small condo kitchen doesn't have much room, but the Swedish shelving extended my storage space and made it look good. Both very easy and a pain to assemble. One person can do it by themselves easily. But Do NOT tighten all the bolts or put shelves in place until you get all of them together first.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OneGirlTrucking
,Southwestern Minnesota
,MN
February 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Pleased!
February 4, 2015
We just remodeled our kitchen using a big name cabinet company. The shelving units (pictured below) they made for my pantry was awful and a huge waste of space, to say the least. I gave them back and ordered this whole set (2 towers, a corner unit and wide unit) and I am beyond thrilled. I put the system together myself which was quite easy with a bit of patients for the corner unit! My only complaint would be the listed measurement for the corner unit did not explain what they were measuring and the unit was larger than expected. Other than that I highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: better measurments for corner unit
Review 8 for Swedish Wood Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gkamps
,Tulsa
,OK
January 29, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Swedish Shelving Utility Cart
January 29, 2015
I regret to say that the quality of the Swedish Shelving-Utility cart is abysmal.
I have two tall Swedish shelving units and those are excellent. I purchased them in August-September 2014. But the quality of the workmanship and the wood in the shelving cart is terrible by comparison. The wood shelves came chipped and were tackily stapled together. There were none of the advertised metal reinforcements in the shelves that are advertised.
I intend returning this item of course. And I don't think I will ever have the confidence to buy another shelving unit from Williams Sonoma again.
Pros: Assembly
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability
Review 9 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TMF1
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
25 years and going strong
December 31, 2014
I bought several of these units about 25 years ago; they have never not been in use, and are still going strong. Very flexible in terms of use and set-up. Money well spent!
Review 10 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Floridana
November 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Swedish wood shelving
November 25, 2014
I have had these units in my pantry for years. Today I am ordering additional shelves. Don't know how anyone can not like these. Just wish I had room to add more. They hold everything and look good too.
Review 11 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissJanuary
,Jacksonville
,OR
October 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Glad I bought these!
October 8, 2014
We left these natural. Assembly isn't difficult. My husband built the corner shelf & I put two tower units together with no problem. Still waiting for the wide shelves & uprights to arrive to add to the corner unit. (All pieces were on back order when I ordered) I'm glad I went ahead and ordered these in spite of the negative reviews. They are exactly what I was looking for to add storage to our new mudroom.
Pros: Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 12 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
missmona1951
,New Orleans
,LA
September 14, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Swedish Shelves are Great
September 14, 2014
These shelves are wonderful. I have a room lined with them which I use as my pantry. They are strong, sturdy and well made. The adjustable shelves supply room for even the tallest of items.
They are good looking and can be used in any room.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight, look good enough to use in any room
Review 13 for Swedish Wood Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LAJAX
,Columbia
,Mo
July 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
UNABLE TO USE AS INTENDED
July 30, 2014
We took the shelves out of the box to paint prior to putting it together and found 3 of the shelves too warped to use. Immediately called Williams-Sonoma and made arrangements for me to receive replacements. (As always, good service). So we went ahead and painted everything, put it together and moved it to the kitchen. We were not going to attach it to the wall, as suggested, until the replacement shelves arrived and could be added. Good thing. And I guess the reason why it was suggested we attach it to the wall was because it wasn't stable without being attached. We tried everything to stabilize it and nothing worked. I finally called and cancelled the replacement shelves and moved the whole thing down to a basement bathroom. It still leans but at least doesn't wobble.
Cons: Quality
Review 14 for Swedish Wood Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stephyse
,moosic
,pa
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hate it wish I could have returned it
July 20, 2014
This has got to be the worse product I have ever put together, and I have put some difficult things together. I wanted to buy the rest of the shelves for the kitchen but I will not now. I am so disappointing in my purchase and I would have returned it hadn't my husband already ripped the box up and threw it out with the trash. I think this was a waste of money and time. Its not has big as I hoped. I am looking else were for another shelf for the rest of my stuff.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Assembly, Unreliable, Size, difficult to put together & its still not correct, i was going to buy the rest but not worth it
Review 15 for Swedish Wood Shelving
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HollyLiz
,Houston
,TX
June 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sturdy, good looking shelves
June 17, 2014
These are really good, sturdy shelves that I expect to last for years. I've had the large wine rack in this line for about 5 years and I think it will last for 50.
This review would be 5 stars but the assembly instructions were a little unclear on how to deal with the center corner supports for the shelves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 16 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueBeeHoney
,Annapolis
,MD
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sturdy and Easy to assemble
November 26, 2013
I had purchased three shelving units a few years ago and found the need to add to my storage area. I purchased another unit and it arrived very quickly (less than estimated delivery time). The shelves are very easy to assemble and very sturdy. I would definitely recommend them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 17 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agard
November 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality storage shelves
November 16, 2013
The unit comes in two boxes so don't panic if the legs aren't in the box with the shelves. Assembly was simple once I figured out it's easier to make sure the nut heads are on the metal rods correctly by hand. I didn’t make all the nut heads fit snuggly in the drilled hole on the support legs until I was adding the shelve for its level. I would recommend two people when installing the shelves onto the support legs as it can be a bit tricky with one person. I like how the shelves can be attached to each other for strong support, this way there aren’t two legs creating a dead space. You don't have to worry about something falling between the shelves either. The shelves are not too deep that the small cans or bags will get lost in the back. They are big enough to hold most everything else without extending over the edge. My roaster is the only thing that the shelves are a bit too small for.
Pros: Quality, Size, Strength, Weight
Review 18 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent shelving!
October 26, 2013
WOW is this shelving sturdy! Heavy duty and gorgeous, what more could you ask for in a shelf!?
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 19 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tammiem
,Kelseyville
,CA
October 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice shelving unit
October 18, 2013
We are using this in our pantry. We like it, but it requires two people to put together. It is a little narrow, so we went ahead and bought the wide shelf unit too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Assembly
Review 20 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curules
,Guilderland
,NY
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Swedish Wood Shelving
August 18, 2013
Excellent product and extremely easy to assemble. It made a great difference to my kitchen! I wish I bought it earlier.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design, Weight
page1 2 3 next