Swedish Wood Shelving

The stability, durability and strength of our Swedish shelving set the standard for modular wood shelving - a standard that many other systems cannot match. Easy to expand, the shelving is a versatile addition to the pantry, kitchen or laundry/utility room.Top-quality modular storage that's easy to assemble and expand.Configures in numerous combinations to accommodate changing needs.Units can be joined side by side for a complete wall-and-corner system.Smoothly milled wood can be painted, stained or left unfinished (will age to a golden patina).Shelves are 11 1/2" deep and adjust up or down in 4 1/2" increments.Shelves are reinforced with concealed steel rods and each supports up to 400 lb.Solid white pine, sustainably forested in Sweden.Simple assembly required.Additional uprights and shelves are sold separately.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
34 of 38(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Swedish Wood Shelving
Review 1 for Swedish Wood Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stephyse
,moosic
,pa
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hate it wish I could have returned it
July 20, 2014
This has got to be the worse product I have ever put together, and I have put some difficult things together. I wanted to buy the rest of the shelves for the kitchen but I will not now. I am so disappointing in my purchase and I would have returned it hadn't my husband already ripped the box up and threw it out with the trash. I think this was a waste of money and time. Its not has big as I hoped. I am looking else were for another shelf for the rest of my stuff.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Assembly, Unreliable, Size, difficult to put together & its still not correct, i was going to buy the rest but not worth it
Review 2 for Swedish Wood Shelving
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HollyLiz
,Houston
,TX
June 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sturdy, good looking shelves
June 17, 2014
These are really good, sturdy shelves that I expect to last for years. I've had the large wine rack in this line for about 5 years and I think it will last for 50.
This review would be 5 stars but the assembly instructions were a little unclear on how to deal with the center corner supports for the shelves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Review 3 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueBeeHoney
,Annapolis
,MD
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sturdy and Easy to assemble
November 26, 2013
I had purchased three shelving units a few years ago and found the need to add to my storage area. I purchased another unit and it arrived very quickly (less than estimated delivery time). The shelves are very easy to assemble and very sturdy. I would definitely recommend them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 4 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agard
November 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality storage shelves
November 16, 2013
The unit comes in two boxes so don't panic if the legs aren't in the box with the shelves. Assembly was simple once I figured out it's easier to make sure the nut heads are on the metal rods correctly by hand. I didn’t make all the nut heads fit snuggly in the drilled hole on the support legs until I was adding the shelve for its level. I would recommend two people when installing the shelves onto the support legs as it can be a bit tricky with one person. I like how the shelves can be attached to each other for strong support, this way there aren’t two legs creating a dead space. You don't have to worry about something falling between the shelves either. The shelves are not too deep that the small cans or bags will get lost in the back. They are big enough to hold most everything else without extending over the edge. My roaster is the only thing that the shelves are a bit too small for.
Pros: Quality, Size, Strength, Weight
Review 5 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent shelving!
October 26, 2013
WOW is this shelving sturdy! Heavy duty and gorgeous, what more could you ask for in a shelf!?
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 6 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tammiem
,Kelseyville
,CA
October 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice shelving unit
October 18, 2013
We are using this in our pantry. We like it, but it requires two people to put together. It is a little narrow, so we went ahead and bought the wide shelf unit too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Assembly
Review 7 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curules
,Guilderland
,NY
August 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Swedish Wood Shelving
August 18, 2013
Excellent product and extremely easy to assemble. It made a great difference to my kitchen! I wish I bought it earlier.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauriM
,Acton
,CA
July 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love These Shelves!
July 11, 2013
Bought these shelves years ago for my laundry room, never stained or finished them and they are still like new. We bought a vacation home and I again bought these shelves for my entry! I stained and sealed them and they look wonderful. It is a log home and the openness of the shelving accents the log walls. I love the versatility of the shelves and added the stemware units. Well worth every penny!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
befes
,IL
June 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
storage shelves
June 17, 2013
These shelves are an attractive addition to my small kitchen and a welcomed added storage. A little challenging to put together by myself but easy instructions and doable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoastBeef
,New Orleans
,LA
May 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product - attractive and functional
May 3, 2013
I was very pleased with the shelving. Only offer one caution, i.e. the corner unit took 2 people to put together. The other shelves were super easy to do by myself, and I am not particularly handy with tools.
The only possible improvement I could suggest would be that they provide a piece of wood to stabilize the shelving in the event that you are installing them (like I was) in an area that has baseboards..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: assembly of corner unit took 2 people
Review 11 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
celticlassie
,Las Cruces
,NM
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just What I Was Looking For
April 5, 2013
The shelves were just what I was looking for. I could see them setting in the my home. When I got them put up, they looked just like I had imagined. As usual, the product assembled quickly and the quality is excellent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: could be a little more stable
Review 12 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bonniesgrandma
,Atlanta
,GA
April 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Extra Storage
April 2, 2013
I recently downsized to a smaller home and lost my nice spacious pantry. I purchased these shelves and love them! The adustable shelves allow for storage of both appliances and cookware all of which are now within easy reach. Even my plumber - who was do some repair work on the day I was assembling the shelves - raved about the quality of the wood and the design.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Swedish Wood Shelving
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
swisherspiers
,New York
,NY
April 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
difficult to put together, but worth it
April 1, 2013
The instructions were really difficult to understand and you definitely needed at least two people to put this together. Some of the pieces didn't seem to fit together, which required a little creativity on our part, but I am happy with the finished product! Also, the wood smells like fresh pine for at least two weeks after assembly.
Pros: Durable, Size
Cons: Assembly, smell
Review 14 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MiamiMom13
,Miami
,FL
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the look and the extra space
March 26, 2013
It looks great in the kitchen and provides so much storage!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Cons: Assembly
Review 15 for Swedish Wood Shelving
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MomFromJersey
,Pittstown
,NJ
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommend, But with warnings
March 5, 2013
Ultimately, my shelving looks great in my pantry closet. I ordered two corners, a wide and extra shelving. HOWEVER, my would be 5 star rating is only 3 because of a few hassles. First, you should know that the wood comes "wet" or very fresh cut, not kiln dried. So, put your shelving together right away, or the boards will cup and twist. We had to return our wide set because of this. Our corners were very fresh cut wood as well, but we put the units together right away. The shelving boards still are cupped. Next, I waited three months due to back order. Not happy there. I felt this was ridiculously long for an expensive product. Williams Sonoma, excellent customer service during the return process. Lastly, you must have two people to put this together. It is possible to do it alone, but much better with a partner.
Pros: Durable, Strength, Design
Cons: Assembly, warp, fresh/wet, backorder time
Review 16 for Swedish Wood Shelving
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JustAnotherGuy1
,Napa
,ca
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sort of Oversold as Amazing
February 26, 2013
I bought this a while back and it's a wooden shelf, not that incredible.
It comes with some rather oblique instuctions for assembly. I finally got it together. They would make life a lot easier if they included an allen key for a screwdriver instead of those "L" shaped wrenches.
For $170, it should come with the metal braces for safety reasons, of nothing else.
My biggest complaint? The "White Glove" delivery you have to pay $70 for. What was the "White Glove" delivery? UPS. That's right, dropped on my porch when I wasn't home.
Like I say above, it's a wooden shelf. Not that exciting.
Review 17 for Swedish Wood Shelving
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JEVANA
February 21, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lacquered brass fittings?
February 21, 2013
I bought these shelves a few years ago and really liked them. I just received a new set and am disappointed with the exposed nut fittings. Originally they were a solid brass which aged beautifully. These arrives with some kind of lacquer over a gold metal, very cheap looking. Now I will go to the hardware store to see what I can find to replace these nuts. Not a good deal, Swedish or not!
Cons: Quality
Review 18 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seam
,Wichita
,KS
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
repeat purchase
December 31, 2012
excellent system, added again with little difficulty and planned effect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Assembly
Review 19 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeanutButterGoddess
,Key West
,FL
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Shelves for Everything
December 25, 2012
We have a small apartment and needed shelves to store stuff on. These are perfect for everything. Kitchen equipment, books, tools, electronics. It all flows together beautifully on these shelves. They are incredibly sturdy, and the shelves are easily adjustable to various heights. We love them!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly
Review 20 for Swedish Wood Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garden0421
,Corpus Christi
,TX
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally found what I was looking for
December 24, 2012
I have been looking all year for a shelving/storage unit for the kitchen. So glad I came across the Swedish Wood Shelving units at Williams-Sonoma!
I ordered the corner and also the large unit. They were easy to put together and look beautiful once assembled. I love the natural wood but wonder if I should stain or paint to help with keeping it clean.
These were exactly what I was looking for and it was even better that WS was having a site-wide sale!
Pros: Durable, Scent, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
page1 2 next