Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks

The stability, durability and strength of our Swedish wine shelving set the standard for modular wood shelving - a standard that many other systems cannot match. Easy to expand, it's ideal for organizing a growing collection of wine and Champagne. Top-quality modular shelving for wine storage that's easy to assemble and expand. Configures in numerous combinations to accommodate changing needs. Smoothly milled wood can be painted, stained or left unfinished (will age to a golden patina). Shelves are 11 1/2" deep and adjust up or down in 4 1/2" increments. Shelves are reinforced with concealed steel rods and each supports up to 100 lb. 54-bottle rack includes 6 shelves holding 9 bottles each, 4 uprights, steel support rods and brass-plated fasteners. 126-bottle rack includes 14 shelves holding 9 bottles each, 4 uprights, steel support rods and brass-plated fasteners. Solid white pine, sustainably forested in Sweden. Simple assembly required; includes Allen wrench, the only tool needed for assembly. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
21 of 25(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
Review 1 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nso4th
,Beaverton
,OR
Beaverton, Or
July 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good wine rack but buy with caution.
July 14, 2013
We recently purchased a second 120 bottle rack to go along with the one we had purchased a number of years ago. I could accept with some difficulty that the price was twice what we had paid but I was certainly disappointed by the decrease in the quality of the product. Each upright and shelve was fully 20% thinner than our older rack and the uprights arrived warped almost beyond use. It was quite the feat to stretch the wood to fit the shelves. Time will tell if the thinner, warped wood will hold up.
Those criticisms of poorer quality product aside, I would say this is still an above average storage system but I would not necessarily say it is a good value any longer. For safety's sake we added cross bracing to the rack and anchored it to a stud. I would strongly recommend that to anyone purchasing.
Pros: Durable, Size
Cons: Quality
Review 2 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
robinemcd
,Waitsfield
,VT
April 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Basic Wine Rack
April 23, 2013
We had one of these racks from a few years back and purchased a second one recently. They are solid, hold wine steady and fit most size bottles and fit the space that we have for them.
Review 3 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scottw50
,Omaha
,NE
April 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a great Wine Rack!
April 14, 2013
In typical Scandinavian fashion, this wine rack goes together simple as pie. Took me 20 minutes to assemble and it is steady as a rock. Couple of things to pay attention to...make sure the notched side of the long rack ends are facing each other. The shelve then lock in to the notches. Assemble the four end pieces first and then add the bottom rack. If you make sure you only put a single turn on the rod ends, you can put the top piece in and then insert the rest of the shelves between the ends and slide them in until they lock on the other side. Tighten the nuts, and you are done. Looks great out of the box and is made of European pine so you can stain it any color you want to match your decor.
Pros: looks good and easy to assemble.
Review 4 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BabyTooth
,NY
December 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice if you can manage the assembly
December 26, 2012
There can be no question: this thing is extremely difficult to assemble. If I had it to do over again I would know that the reviewers who said it was a challenge to put together were correct and would have ordered a different product. Now that I have it, if I needed to expand I'd order the same thing, in part because I invested so much time figuring it out. The instructions are largely to blame. If you don't follow them you will save yourself time and frustration. My advice is to assembly just enough to install the top shelf and the bottom shelf--put in the next rods only for shelf you are working on--and start at the top and work your way down. This requires two people to assemble.
Pros: looks nice, solid, smells good, good value for money
Cons: difficult assembly, lame instructions
Review 5 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DAL70
,St Louis
,MO
October 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wanted a half height Shelving unit
October 25, 2012
I purchased this to get a half height unit. Did not see any other way to do it. So in the end I used only two of the shelves that came with it and used solid shelves for the rest of the unit.
Review 6 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jimmydreams
,Oceanside
,Ca
November 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great addition, lots of possibilities!
November 17, 2011
The wine rack arrived and was very easy to set up (although a second pair of hands will help in the initial stages of assembly.)
The unit itself arrives as blank pine wood, a nice blond color, but a very suitable canvas for any kind of stain or paint. I spent the better part of a day staining the unit twice....once with a very dark stain, almost black, and then again with a red-toned stain to help it match my furniture and wood flooring. It came out FANTASTIC, although with all the nooks and crannies, plan on spending a little bit of time with the stain.
The ONLY complaint I have about the unit is that some of my wine bottles are the slightly fatter bottles and they tend to crowd each other on the shelf and not sit exactly flat. You really can't tell unless you're looking at the necks and corks very closely, but when you put in or take out a bottle, if it's a larger one, it'll rub against the sides of the bottle next to it. I'm not a wine snob, so I really don't care. ;)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: made for regular sized bottles. other fit though
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Macurtis99
,Castle Rock
,CO
October 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really disappointing
October 20, 2011
I ordered these shelves to expand our wine storage. The quality was far below what I have come to expect from Williams Sonoma. The first shipment arrived without the necessary assembly hardware. Williams Sonoma was great about resending the hardware, but when assembled (which was tough using what my wife and I refer to as the unstructions for these), the racks seem flimsy at best. I am hesitant to fully stock for fear they will collapse. The assembly was a pain, and now I'm left with a questionable rack. I wouldn't recommend these on any level. One of the rack pieces broke before even using the rack (at least I had a spare since it was already shipped with the replacement hardware).
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability, Assembly, Fragile
Review 8 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
winedoc
,Walla Walla
,WA
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Missing many parts
October 19, 2011
The product came missing multiple pieces required for assembly. The packing was done very poorly, and in addition to missing parts, one box of small pieces broke apart and were scattered throughout the larger box. Very poor quality!
Cons: Quality, Assembly
Review 9 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LoveMyGadgets
Long Grove, IA
August 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Much cheaper than expected
August 16, 2011
Putting aside how difficult this was to put together, my main complaint is with the actual quality and construction of this product. While I was putting this together many of the wooden supports (that hold the wine bottles in place) came off in my hand. The only place on the entire shelf that you can hold it to assemble it are the ends - if you hold anywhere in the middle, these bars come off. They are simply held in place with a couple of small cheap staples. After paying so much for this I expected better craftsmanship.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, visually attractive
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability, Assembly
Review 10 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Citydweller
Chicago
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Wine storage
March 1, 2011
Worked great for current and future storage. Straight forward assempbly.
Review 11 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeffS58
Carlisle, PA
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great way to store your wine
January 11, 2011
This is a very high quality wine rack for the price. It is extremely sturdy and it holds a great deal of wine in a small amount of space. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
Review 12 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robin123
Boston, MA
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This one has it all
December 28, 2010
This is a great wine rack and it has everything that I was looking for when searching for the right rack. It is very easy to assemble, it's functional and it looks great! Thank you for carrying great products and for getting this to me in just a matter of days, even at the height of the holiday shipping rush.
Review 13 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LeNYC
NYC
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Difficult to assemble
December 28, 2010
Looks great but it tested my relationship with my wife.
Review 14 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LornaH
Michigan
August 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wine rack works for me
August 27, 2010
The wine rack was not hard to put together, looks nice, and is well designed for the job. The one detail which you should be aware of is that the spaces for bottles are for the average size bottle only; a slightly larger bottle, such as champagne, will not fit next to another bottle, so you have to leave the space next to it empty.
Review 15 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave13601
Watertown, NY
August 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Swedish Wine Rack
August 24, 2010
Easy to assemble, very sturdy, and as always, one of Williams-Sonoma's great products.
Review 16 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ProvWine
Providence, RI
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Functional Wine Rack
August 5, 2010
Packaging of the rack was poor. Box arrived damaged resulting in cracked shelf. Not surprising since there was nothing to protect the material in the way it was packed. Moderately difficult to assemble based on the instructions provided. Recommend assembling lower 2 shelves first. Then slide each additional shelf in from above. That means you should not attach all the metal crossbars. You can insert the crossbars every 5th row for stability and still have enough room to drop in the shelves.
Review 17 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alpineparty
Colorado
August 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, but description not accurate
August 4, 2010
Love the rack, hate the catalog description. In the catalog, it says that it is 32" wide. If you build the rack they way the directions state, it is 35.5" wide. That did not work for me, so I reversed the sides, making it about 33" wide. That worked, but barely. And, by reversing the sides, I lost two columns of wine storage. Also, not a deal breaker for me, but could be for some.
Aside from that, I love it!
Review 18 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stella
Philadelphia, PA
August 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best wine racks ever!
August 3, 2010
I love the Swedish wine racks! I wish I had more room for more. They were a little challenging to assemble but once assembled they were sturdy and attractive. I have shown them to my friends and they really liked them.
Review 19 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HollyLiz
Houston, TX
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extra Sturdy Shelves Make Confident Storage
June 8, 2010
These shelves are very strong and sturdy. I have no fears for the wine. The shelves are also roomy so no scratched labels or storing larger bottles elsewhere.
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that the shelf was difficult to assemble; the holes for the shelves didn't quite align.
Review 20 for Swedish Wood Shelving, Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MSeg
Warrenton, VA
June 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wine shelves are very functional
June 5, 2010
I really do appreciate the sturdy construction and the ease of building them--I have 6, but still wonder about the design. Cases of wine come in 12 bottles, so having 9 slots per shelf is somewhat of a pain. Kind of like hot dog buns coming in packs of 10 with buns sold in packs of 8.
Some traditional bottles of Champagne, Burgundy and Syrah are wider than the spacers and do not allow 9 per shelf.
If you are putting the shelves end-to-end, you wind up with an extra set of supports. It would be great if they offered a kit with the shelves and metal hardware to take advantage of that.
Guess I'll have to open a bottle of something and contemplate it all.
page1 2 next