Stoneware Chicken Waterer

Our two-piece chicken waterer is modeled on a vintage design used on farms across America in the first half of the 20th century. An opening near the bottom of the crock allows continuous refilling of water from the upper crock as it depletes from the rim of the saucer below. The thick stoneware helps moderate water temperature, keeping it cool in the summer and from freezing in winter. To fill the "fountain," simply invert the upper crock, fill with water, cover with the upside-downs saucer, and then swiftly invert both pieces. Handmade and glazed by artisans in Ohio. Two-piece design allows for easy filling and cleaning Provides room for up to four hens at a time. Hand-wash. 10" diam., 9" high with bottom saucer; 1-gal. cap. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stoneware Chicken Waterer
Review 1 for Stoneware Chicken Waterer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rela
,Central Texas
,TX
August 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works, but could be better
August 25, 2014
This is a good, heavyweight waterer. However, it is difficult to turn over without spilling water, either on yourself or on the ground. Also, it would be a more effective waterer if more water flowed into the saucer section. Despite these issues, I like these water devices. The ceramic is easy to clean and the jugs are good quality and made in the U.S.
Pros: Durable, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Use, hard not to spill
Review 2 for Stoneware Chicken Waterer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nique
August 15, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointing - Doesn't Do the Job
August 15, 2014
When the chickens drink the few ounces of water that are in the tray, the water does not flow out of the reservoir, aside from the fact that the hens have to turn their heads sideways to drink, since there is such a small area to access the water. Poorly designed and made. It can't be that hard to make a waterer that flows properly since the plastic manufacturers do it consistently. I was so disappointed with this product as I wanted to stop using plastics, but I can't leave the chickens all day with an ineffective waterer that doesn't provide a consistent water supply. I wanted to support an American ceramics manufacturer, but the quality is poor. I tried two of these waterers, both with the same problem. Considering the cost, these should work perfectly. I thought Williams Sonoma sold quality goods, but that's not the case here. AVOID and save yourself the grief.
Pros: material
Cons: Quality, Design, doesn"t do the job of providing water, doesn't refill
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jam32
Northeastern Indiana
Posted August 27, 2014
Doesn't refill
I saw two 5 star reviews, and ordered this waterer for my four hens. I was excited to stop using metal, and I want to use ACV in the water. However, the reservoir went dry several times in spite of the gallon of water still inside. Each time I put in fresh water, but always the same outcome: this waterer does not work! I have used an old- time chick waterer/ mason jar for years without problems. I also wish the drinking tray were wider as it only holds a shallow amount of water to begin with. W-S is now checking current quality of waterers; I will call w/ in 48 hrs. to find if all products are the same as mine. I also think the drinking well in the photo appears wider than what I received.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Stoneware Chicken Waterer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PamelaMK
,San Diego
,CA
February 25, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very pleased
February 25, 2014
I am really happy with this waterer. It is a nice light cream, almost white color and is very smooth and easy to clean. I don't like plastic and my metal waterer started rusting so I decided to try this. Very happy that I did. The best thing is that my hens absolutely love it! Made me happy to see their excitement and how easily they can drink from this waterer. Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, material, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 4 for Stoneware Chicken Waterer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sobie
,VA
August 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful stoneware waterer.
August 9, 2013
This is exactly what I wanted. It is beautiful and made from a natural material. Based on the two different pictures of this waterer on the website, I was not sure what it would look like. One photo shows a dark cream color with a pitted appearance. The other photo shows what looks like a brighter white with a smooth exterior. The one I received is a gorgeous light cream with a smooth finish. It is a little awkward at first to turn it over while holding the dish onto it. A little of the water did spill out. That is to be expected with this design at first, but you get better with practice. It is similar to a chick waterer that uses a Mason jar. The major advantage of this waterer is the stoneware material. I do not like to use plastic or galvanized metal for health reasons. Another big advantage that lead me to choose this one over another stoneware waterer on the market is the two-piece design that will be very easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Quality, material, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Design