This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Stilton Cheese

In England, Stilton isn't just a cheese-it's an institution, displayed with pride on sideboards in pubs and restaurants throughout Britain. Our aged Stilton from the Long Clawson Dairy in Melton Mowbray lives up to its reputation as the king of English cheeses. Aged for three months, the cow's milk cheese has the variety's characteristic blue veining, rich, complex flavors and a moist, firm, yet crumbly texture. Stilton is traditionally served after dinner with a fine port or Sauterne, fruit and nuts-a perfect ending to a holiday meal. Weighs 2 lb. minimum. Made in England. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.637 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
83 of 91(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stilton Cheese
Review 1 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Josephine2
,Portland
,OR
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Spectacular
January 15, 2013
I nearly had a heart attack when I could not find the wonderful round 2-lb. stilton in the catalog this year. Fortunately it occurred to me to look online before it was too late.
For several years we have given these cheeses to whichever households were hosting Christmas family gatherings, and this year we finally got one for ourselves. It is marvelous to the last crumb.
Some people cut it into wedges, but we just dug into the middle, and now we are finally eating the thin walls and the bottom. Still delicious.
Of course if you don't like blue-veined cheeses in the first place then it's not for you, but it's not too strong for dedicated cheese lovers.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: pricey
Review 2 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
theuff
,CLRKSVILLE
,TN
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Grest cheese
January 6, 2013
This is some of the best cheese I have ever eaten, When it arrive I ate most of it right then and did not leave my wife much and it was part of the Christmas I had bought fpr her. I wS IN BIG TROUBLE BUT i DIDN'T CARE THE CHEESE WAS WORTH IT, SO i ATE MOST OF IT
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jccwc
,San Diego
,CA
April 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful cheese
April 25, 2012
This cheese was smooth, tangy, and creamy. I wrapped it up just like the picture and my guests thought it was elegant and opulent.
Pros: looks expensive
Cons: only lasts a short time
Review 4 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurieL
,Belton
,TX
December 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing cheese!
December 31, 2011
This is such good cheese. I served it with slices of green apple and the pistachios in honey on crackers. Everyone loved it! Highly recommend,
Review 5 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairfaxion
,Fairfax
,CA
Fairfax, CA
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious ! ! !
December 21, 2011
Once again everything went as expected in your delivery of the cheese. Wonderful ! ! ! & thank you.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wendy15
,Whigham
,GA
October 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome "scratched" onto salads!
October 26, 2011
I hesitated last year to "pay the price" for this Stilton in a Crock. However, it is absolutely fabulous!!! I very highly recommend to use a fork and scratch out the cheese onto your best salads! I got it for my husband, knowing he is hard to shop for...we are really looking forward to your holiday offering of it! He "carried on" about it! Thanks for offering it!
Pros: crock keeps it from drying out!
Review 7 for Stilton Cheese
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cigardude
Hummelstown, PA
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Very disappointing
December 12, 2010
I have purchased this cheese from Williams-Sonoma in past years and thoroughly enjoyed it. This year's shipment, however, was thoroughly disappointing. The cheese was extremely dry and crumbly, not moist as it should be.
Review 8 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnG
Choctaw, OK
November 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best cheese ever
November 30, 2010
Coming from England I've not been able to find a good stilton here in the States, the quality was lacking or the way it was package. After reading the reviews I thought I would try it and I am glad I did.
The stilton was excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed it, will look forward to buying this again next holiday season
Review 9 for Stilton Cheese
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tango
Saint Paul, MN
January 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Taste and flavor of the Stilton Cheese
January 16, 2010
We were very disappointed in this product. In our opinion, it lacked the rich flavor and moist texture which we have experienced in many past years in rounds from other sources.
Review 10 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grannydoc
Kotzebue AK
January 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Holiday Tradition
January 15, 2010
Stilton is a beautiful blue cheese with a strong aroma and tangy flavor. Wrapped in its white cloth, this cheese is lovely in the center of the holiday cheese board.
Leftover Stilton makes impressive encore appearances in salads, dips and sauces.
This is the third year that I have purchased a Stilton for the winter holidays. Last year, a Stilton made its way to the South Pole for Christmas. I suspect that a Stilton will grace our family's winter table for many years to come.
Review 11 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joyfull
Westwood MA
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
copper pot with insert
January 14, 2010
always the best, our family loves it and with a granny smith apple on a Bremner wafer heaven!!
Review 12 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
qualitynotquantity
Jamestown, North Carolina
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
exquisite taste
January 13, 2010
I order this every Christmas and love it with fig preserves. Strong, rich. A little bit goes a long way in flavor. You will know it is a quality item, unlike some
"Christmas food items" only availlable at the holidays.
Review 13 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sisibu
Alexandria, VA
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Stilton Cheese
January 13, 2010
I bought this for my son and his wife for Xmas as a gift. They are cheese lovers. They told me they enjoyed it thoroughly.
Review 14 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rojo21
Macon, Ga
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Tradition of Stilton Cheese
January 12, 2010
A great tradition. I love ordering it every year. It lasts just about two weeks opened.
Review 15 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schneid
Darien, WI
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Classic Cheese
January 11, 2010
This is one of my husband's favorite things at Christmas. We lived in England for four years and developed this as one of our Christmas traditions. It is tradition to have this cheese in a crock. This is difficult to obtain outside of England. Our only recommendation is to make the crock's seal airtight. We lost the last bit of the cheese for this reason.
Review 16 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CrnrOffice
Boston, MA
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Stilton--royal blue elegance
January 11, 2010
Blue cheeses are divisive for many, even cheese lovers like me. Broadly speaking, the smell can be a bit off-putting for the uninitiated, and the taste is sometimes not much better. However, we gave Stilton a try, and it's excellent.
The smell is milder, and the taste is creamy, balanced and elegant. Slice a fresh baguette thinly on a bias, coat liberally with Stilton, and enjoy alongside a small glass of vintage port. We make it a point to partake only at Christmas so it's a flavor worth looking forward to all year. Superb.
Review 17 for Stilton Cheese
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PoliticallyIncorrect
Atlanta, GA
January 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Inconsistent quality
January 10, 2010
I ordered 2 crocks of the Stilton Cheese. One crock was acceptable but the other crock was not.
In one crock, the wax seal had an air pocket between the wax and cheese that allowed a thick layer of green mold to fill the pocket, and the color of the cheese was pale green instead of the yellow-white color expected. However, I was very pleased with Williams-Sonoma customer service. They were as good as their word, giving me credit for that particular crock.
The second crock was absolutely delicious and we all thoroughly enjoyed the cheese. We spread it on sliced pears and apples, on crackers, and between butterflied meats.
I will buy the Stilton Cheese again, but wrapped with transparent wrap where the quality is visible, not hidden in a crock.
Review 18 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheDivineMissM
Boonton, NJ
January 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Divine
January 8, 2010
If you like Stilton, you'll love this. Well-balanced blue veining. Perfect appetizer.
Review 19 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrussell
Toledo, OH
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent cheese
January 7, 2010
First time to try this cheese. It was very, very good. Best at room temp. Great with port, walnuts, etc.
Review 20 for Stilton Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kafhy
Ellicott City, MD
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Blue Cheese
January 7, 2010
My husband loved this Stilton! The crock made it easy to serve and to keep in the refrigerator.
page1 2 3 4 5 next