This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Stewsday Stew Starters

Cooks take pride in their family recipes for rich, hearty stews. With our starters, it's easy to create your own classic. We start with hearty, all-natural blends of vegetables and spices. Simply combine the starter with your favorite meats or fresh vegetables, then simmer in a slow cooker or Dutch oven. The ingredients are simmered for hours, so you can create a rich, savory meal on even the busiest weeknights. Slow-cook for hours for deep, complex flavor. Lemongrass Chicken: An all-natural blend of coconut cream, spicy ginger, fresh lemongrass, vegetables and spices simmered it for hours to achieve deep, complex flavor.Simply combine the starter with your favorite meats or fresh vegetables, then simmer in a slow cooker or Dutch oven. Chicken Paprika Stew Starter: A savory stew of tomatoes, red peppers, porcini mushrooms and paprika. Simply combine with chicken, then simmer in a slow cooker or Dutch oven. Serve over buttered noodles, topped with a generous dollop of fresh sour cream. 1 lb. 8 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stewsday Stew Starters
Review 1 for Stewsday Stew Starters
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sherann
,madison
,wi
madison,wi
August 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
easy but one dimensional
August 19, 2013
Lemongrass stew. The flavor had a predominant lime overtone. Not balanced but easy to use
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Flavor
Review 2 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NJHoneybee
,Long Valley
,NJ
July 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great starter
July 9, 2013
Got the Lemongrass one sale and what a great flavor! I always add extra garlic and onion when I do these sort o f premade stews and also added boneless thighs and lots of veggies. 1 jar with all the additions is enough for about 6 people easily. I also added some chicken broth in addition to the garlic and onions. Highly recommend. Paprikash is very easy to make yourself, plus it needs sourcream at the end.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver
Review 3 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trakrgal
,Kennewick
,WA
February 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Pozole Stew Excellent
February 15, 2013
The Pozole Stew Starter is incredible. We have purchased and used over seven bottles -- the spices and seasonings are complex and excellent ; so much simpler than starting from scratch. This item is no longer available -- BRING IT BACK!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Paulalfs
Odessa, FL
Posted September 3, 2013
We second the motion! Bring it back!
The Pozole Stewsday was my husband's FAVORITE meal in the world! Please bring it back and make him a happy man!
0points
Customer avatar
Tilda
Peoria, AZ
Posted August 8, 2013
Pozole Stewsday Stew Starters
Previous review is spot on. This is incredibly delicious, please bring it back!!!!!!! It is one of the easiest meals and beyond tasty!!!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
starkrost
,Dearborn Heights
,MI
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Aced a special dinner with ease
February 14, 2013
For an early Valentine's Day dinner, I wanted something simple yet complex. I used the Lemongrass Stew over chicken breasts in the crock pot. WOW!! I served it over rice with a simple green salad. It was so easy and really fantastic!! Definitely worth the cost and didn't have to fight the crowd at a restaurant.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Stewsday Stew Starters
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Disappointed~ Tastes like Water
January 15, 2013
I purchased the Paprika Stewday, but found the resulting dish needed LOTS of work. The first two ingrediants in this product are Tomatos and Filtered Water. These are the dominate flavors of the resulting "stew". Watery tomatoes. My family likes complex flavors and exotic spices, so this bland, flavorless, thin and watery sauce didn't please our pallets. Not a favorite!
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 6 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzyA
,Chicago
,IL
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Stewsday Lemongrass a winner!
October 20, 2012
I made Stewsday Lemongrass with boneless chicken thighs for dinner tonight and it was fantastic. We have spent time in SE Asia and this transported us back there!
The coconut cream, lemongrass and ginger
flavors mingled with the chicken to give us a flavorful, special meal which reminded us of Malaysian Lemak sauce We would have liked the flavors to have been even stronger. We will serve this to guests. A
winner!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 7 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bmer53
,Midland
,MI
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pumpkin Stewsday Starter
October 18, 2012
All I did was add cooked chicken breast pieces to the stew starter and heat for about 15 minutes. It was delicious and easy to do. i would recommend this to anyone who wants a quick tasty meal! I I believe it made 3-4 servings.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 8 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joyeannie
,Salinas
,CA
May 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy and Delicious
May 5, 2012
I browned a pound of chicken breast with a chopped onion. Then just added the Stewsday Posole and a can of chicken broth. Baked in the oven about two hours and voila....a tasty stew with just the right amount of spice and heat.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
quiltinghairdresser
,Liberal
,Ks
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
just delicious
April 11, 2012
I picked this up at a Williams Sanoma store. It is just wonderful. I made it in my slow cooker with the pork. It was so delicious that I have ordered 2 more of the starters. Don't let this one get by you.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
quiltinghairdresser
liberal, ks
Posted May 7, 2012
just delicious
sorry, i didn't tell you which starter I used---it was the pasole. It caught my eye because it had hominy, which I really like.
0points
Customer avatar
karenville
Naperville, IL
Posted May 5, 2012
Which one?
Please tell us which flavor you purchased.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wubu
,Los Gatos
,CA
March 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Chicken Paprika stew Rocks
March 4, 2012
I sauted 8 chicken thighs with my fav non salt spice..5 min per side,threw in slow cooker with jar for 3 hours high.
Added 1 c. low fat sour cream and 1/2 bag wide curly egg noodles . Yum. ORDERED TWO MORE!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Stewsday Stew Starters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Crewmom05
,CT
Connecticut
March 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Pumpkin stew starter not worth it
March 1, 2012
I'm a big fan of many of WS's cooking sauces, so when I saw the Pumpkin Stew Starter, I thought it would be awesome. Unfortunately, it was very disappointing. The flavor was unappetizing and my family of enthusiastic eaters picked through their meals.
Cons: smell, Flavor
Review 12 for Stewsday Stew Starters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kumasmom
February 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Pozole starter! BEST EVER !!!
February 9, 2012
I used the pozole starter with boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of pork. I added an entire white onion, thinly sliced and cooked eveything in WS's All Clad Slow cooker. When it was done, I served it over a bowl of white rice and topped it with a squirt of fresh lime juice, slices avacado and black cracked pepper. The BEST Ever!! You won't be dissappointed.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Great Gift
Review 13 for Stewsday Stew Starters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MoefromNY
,MD
January 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Chicken Paprika Stew Starter was Good
January 15, 2012
I didn't use a whole chicken cut up. I used three boneless chicken breasts and that was MORE than enough to add to this sauce. If anything I could have used less chicken to make it more stew like. With that much chicken, it was more like a really good flavored chicken. I could have served it over rice. My husband liked it. It makes a great easy meal for a cold winter day. I'm on Weight Watchers and the sauce is extremely low in points. I'd make it again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 14 for Stewsday Stew Starters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WildOlive
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Really disappointing
January 8, 2012
We tried the pumpkin and posole starters. I am an avid cook and particularly like spicy, flavorful "ethnic" cuisines, so I expected to enjoy both of these. I bought one large pork shoulder roast to make both stews at once. The posole was okay, but we thought way too salty. The pumpkin starter was awful. It smelled so unappetizing I couldn't even eat it, and my husband picked at it after pronouncing that "it smells like dog food." I'm sorry I wasted a beautiful pork roast and a ridiculous amount of $. Even if these were delicious, they are in no way worth $16.
Pros: none
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor, high cost
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
annjb
Hamilton Square, NJ
Posted March 22, 2012
Definitely agree
Your comments coincide with mine. I bought the pumpkin stew starter and cooked some of it with park cutlets. It smelled terrible! The taste was unappetizing. I threw out the remainder of the jar's contents. Very disappointed.
0points
Customer avatar
kumasmom
Posted February 9, 2012
try chicken thighs w/ the Pozole Starter
I would agree that a pork shoulder and the cost of the starter makes this a costly dish. Catching this product on sale and using low cost yet flavorful thighs made this dish a hit in our home. I can't speak to the pumpkin starter but fresh pumpkin is always better. Perhaps WS's return policy would be helpful.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)