Steel Grill Griddle

Meet the next generation of outdoor cookware and fire up the flavor. Our innovative griddle pan lets you cook a sizzling variety of foods right on the backyard grill, from flatbreads and sandwiches to sliced meats, chicken, seafood and veggies. Perforated stainless steel brings foods in contact with the flame to impart a delicious, smoky flavor-without the risk of losing them to the fire. Low-sided stainless-steel griddle sears and browns beautifully, and its smooth surface guarantees easy flipping and turning. Removable handle allows for closed-grill cooking (and easier cleaning). Recipe included. Dishwasher safe. 14" x 12". 2 lb. Made in China. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
21 of 26(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Steel Grill Griddle
Review 1 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MadameLapin
,Cape Cod
,MA
July 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well
July 15, 2014
I have used this product twice to grill fish and was very happy. It fit on my Weber grill, could close the lid (without the handle on it), cleaned up easily. It did discolor after the first use but as long as you can clean the food off who cares? I don't display my grill ware! The handle attaches and detaches easily but does get hot so use a mitt or potholder. I used my grill brush to clean off the heavy residue then a Dobie sponge with Dawn to get the rest. I think if either the food or the grill pan is oiled there should be no problem. I like that it keeps food from falling through the grill grates. It will be great for grilling veggies. It is on the larger size so may not fit in kitchen cabinets. I have a large storage area in the basement for cookie sheets, lobster pots, etc so that is where I store this item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 2 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Qeisha68
,Philadelphia
,PA
June 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Steel Griddle
June 30, 2014
I love my new griddle, it cooks my food evenly, especially fish and veggies. The reason why I am giving it a rating of 4 stars instead of 5, unfortunately, it is really hard to clean. I made the mistake of spraying on a cooking spray before I used it, and boy o boy, it just baked right on; Making it really really difficult to clean. I scrubbed and scrubbed, but it only came partially clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lovetocook14
Posted July 2, 2014
Have you tried barkeepers friend? It typically will clean stainless steal very well. I am interested in purchasing the griddle but worried about keeping it clean. Please let me know if you have tried anything other than soap and water.
Thanks so much!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Steel Grill Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GOODCOOKING84
,Redwood City
,CA
June 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GOOD FOR BBQ
June 15, 2014
NOT EASY TO CLEAN,
HANDLE GET HOT WHEN TRYING TO ATTACHED
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 4 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knyghtmare
,Murfreesboro
,AR
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent substitute roaster
February 22, 2014
I have most of the other W-S steel grill cookware, but my grill is round so decided to try this square grill pan instead of the roaster which would not fit my grill. It works just like the rest of my W-S grill cookware- easy to use/clean. It barely fits my grill and is big enough to load up a small ham and the handle allows me to pull it enough that I can grab the sides.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmz5g8
,Saint Louis
,MO
St. Louis, MO
October 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill Pan
October 3, 2013
This grill pan is great. It's durable - can't argue with steel. Heat transfers through the pan well so you can still get nice grill marks on whatever you're grilling. The holes are small enough so that you can easily move food around on the pan without worrying about it falling through. I also love that it has a detachable handle - makes it easy to fit on the grill and you don't have to worry about grabbing a hot handle when you're done grilling.
To those who have commented about the pan darkening and being difficult to clean...Most, if not all pans, are going to discolor some when you have direct flame hitting grease/proteins/starch on the pan. It's not the steel discoloring though...just residue from your cooking. I have had no issues cleaning my pan back to its shiny self in less than 5 minutes. Some steel wool and elbow grease go a long way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ahdah
,Aiken
,SC
August 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite steel grill product
August 11, 2013
I own three steel grill products, the Steel Grill Perforated Meat Loaf pan, Steel Grill Fry Pan and the Steel Grill Griddle. I love all of them, but this is my favorite! I use it for vegetables, fish and kabobs. It doesn't look like it did before I used it, but It is stored where no one sees it. It does the job so I don't care how it looks. I am buying another for a gift. I wonder how I got along without my griddle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: can't think of any
Review 7 for Steel Grill Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Badger55
,Long Beach
,CA
Long Beach, ca
August 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to Clean
August 10, 2013
I used this griddle for the first time this evening. Even with cooking spray it ended up black when I finished. I soaked and scrubbed but most of that stuff is there to stay. I wish WS would offer this type of griddle with a high quality non-stick finish.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
aheist
Juneau, Alaska
Posted May 29, 2014
Blackening should be expected for grilling basket
There's no non-stick finish that can (safely) perform in the temperatures produced by grilling. A nice, grilled patina is a sign of a well-used product. As that builds up, I imagine it will actually gain some non-stick properties.
It's OK to have some items that don't get spotlessly clean....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CherbearPittsburgh
,Hermitage
,PA
August 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Convenient
August 10, 2013
I have tried many less expensive kinds of steel grills, but none compare. This is a great product. I like how all 4 sides are turned up. I love the detachable handle. This item is sturdy, great for grilling out veggies or fish or really anything that you don't want falling in between the grates of the grill. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: bottom tends to get grill marks on the bottom
Review 9 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MNHAPPYCAMPER
,Minneapolis
,MN
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will be purchasing another griddle
August 7, 2013
We have a gas grill and this griddle works great for veggies cut up in large pieces with olive oil. We have also cooked grass feed beef burgers on it. Clean up is easy as I use a sos pad. Almost as good as new. We use the griddle 2-3 times a week.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Steel Grill Griddle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ChefDeJour
,Southern Cal
,CA
Ventura County, CA
July 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I TOTALLY Understand the Appearance Issue
July 3, 2013
Love the size, removable handle, the side lip is beneficial and the holes are perfect. Asparagus does fit perfectly. This griddle is great for veggies. None-the-less, after cooking fish, ribs, lamb - the griddle is a total nightmare to clean. If you are using it for veggies only, fine. If you plan to cook seasoned fish and meats, be prepared for the black spots as other reviewers claim. Its true! Steel brush, barkeepers helper, and alike work but you will be scrubbing for 30 minutes and still won't get it totally clean. S If appearance and cleanliness is important to you, you will be among us that complain about cleaning this item.
Pros: good for veggies
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 11 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorthwoodsCook
,Land O' Lakes
,WI
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stainless Grill Griddle
June 22, 2013
I was excited to receive this griddle. I had some grill baskets, but continually lost chunks of expensive veggies through them so I decided to order this griddle. I'm so glad I did! The holes are big enough to caramelize my veggies, but small enough that I don't lose them.
The griddle was larger than I expected. (I didn't pay attention to the dimensions listed.) Whole asparagus spears fit perfectly. I love the size and how the handle comes off and on easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProudTexan
,League City
,TX
League City, TX
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceeded my expectation
May 22, 2013
Love, love, love this griddle. I don't really understand the negative reviews about appearance of the cookware after using it -- maybe because I don't display my cookware, but appearance is the least of my concerns -- performance is what matters. And this griddle performs!
This is the 3rd piece of WS's outdoor steel cookware I have bought -- and love every one of them! I could not wait to use this griddle. I've cooked everything from vegetables, shrimp, salmon, and chicken on it.
I love the fact that you can detach the handle. Clean-up was no problem for me. All of the food particles came off without a problem -- and without heavy scrubbing.
The only con I can come up with.... ummm... well, I can't!
Pros: Durable, Quality
Review 13 for Steel Grill Griddle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fede
May 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dissapointment
May 16, 2013
A total waste of money. After only one use in a gas BBQ the griddle was impossible to clean and the nice stainless steel color was replace by a dark big spot. Do not buy this product under any circumstance. I am surprised that a store with the reputation of WS sells this low quality product.
Pros: none
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, durability, Unreliable
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Valkyrie
Seattle WA
Posted June 17, 2013
An unreasonable review.
If you think that a stainless steel griddle is going to look exactly as it did when you first received it, after you have used it on the grill, you really must be a bit unreasonable. That is simply not possible. Performance is everything, appearance is secondary. Rubbing vegetable oil on the griddle, or spraying Pam on it before every use makes cleaning ever so much easier.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Steel Grill Griddle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
outdoorgirl
,Naples
,FL
February 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Difficult Clean Up
February 20, 2013
We purchased this grill pan and the food cooked fine, and evenly. However, clean up is not at all easy. The holes are so tiny that food gets caught in them - especially fish. It was such a pain that we threw the pan out. Plus, after the first use it was so discolored that we wonder, why not produce the pan in a darker finish in the first place, so that it doesn't look so bad after one use? This is the only disappointing product we've ever purchased from W-S.
Pros: Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 15 for Steel Grill Griddle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
moof
February 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Be careful about the stated dimensions
February 12, 2013
I excitedly purchased this griddle thinking it was going to cover the expanse of my grill: however, upon opening I saw it was quite small. The dimensions given are misleading as they measure to the tip of the handle which is detachable by the way, making for a cumbersome piece of equipment. It also would be difficult to clean. I returned it.
Review 16 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mchichic
,Chicago
,IL
July 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for grilling veges
July 30, 2012
Really like the results with the grill. The only issue I have is that it is a little difficult to clean. Still, we use it almost every grill night.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 17 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yelkrab
,Cambridge
,NY
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very workable
July 13, 2012
Easy to use and works very well. Kind of disappointed that the "looks" changed after the first use and the shiny exterior became discolored, but the pan works well and the removable handle is easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strength, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 18 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jerseyjenny
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grillpan......Cleaning it, another story....
June 26, 2012
this is a great grillpan, cooks food evenly and protects the food from falling through the cracks on the grill......however, the cleanup of the pan is to be desired. regular brillo pads work, but you need more than one to finish the job and even then, some of the areas are difficult to clean, for instance, the bottom of the grillpan there are some hard to reach spots. i'm a bit of a neat-freak, and i like to put my cooking tools away when they are spotless, so this is a challenge for me. other than that, we use it all the time, i'm glad we have it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Strength, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 19 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hubbyinthekitchen
,Dallas
,Or
Dallas, Oregon
June 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for grilling veggies/small potatoes
June 25, 2012
The small perforations in the pan make it much easier to do things like asparagas and other small items. No fall through. Also, the size makes it very easy to do multiple items without having to mix them together but still leaves plenty of room on the grill for the main course.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design
Review 20 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Johnnyfly41
,Freeport
,IL
June 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
stainless grill pan
June 25, 2012
I expected the pan to be a very solid quality piece coming from Williams Sonoma and it did not disappoint. it's a excellent grill tool that will last a lifetime.
I have stainless grates on my grill, therefore, I never let iron touch them because this can cause transfer and cause the grates to corrode. This pan is all stainless and so, no issue.
Besides, I love to tell my friends it's a terrible pan and I cannot even make gravy in it. :)
highly recommend, great design, great construction.
Pros: Durable, Versatile
page1 2 next