This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Steel Grill Griddle

Meet the next generation of outdoor cookware and fire up the flavor. Our innovative griddle pan lets you cook a sizzling variety of foods right on the backyard grill, from flatbreads and sandwiches to sliced meats, chicken, seafood and veggies. Perforated stainless steel brings foods in contact with the flame to impart a delicious, smoky flavor-without the risk of losing them to the fire. Low-sided stainless-steel griddle sears and browns beautifully, and its smooth surface guarantees easy flipping and turning. Removable handle allows for closed-grill cooking (and easier cleaning). Recipe included. Dishwasher safe. 14" x 12". 2 lb. Made in China. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.097 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
26 of 31(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Steel Grill Griddle
Review 1 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
August 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy grilled veggies!
August 25, 2014
We had a non-WS pan that broke almost immediately, so we ponied up the bucks for this version and it's a significant improvement! It's fits a lot of vegetables, the holes are small enough that even corn kernels stay in the pan, and the surface is roomy enough to cook a side dish for 8 while still leaving room on the grates to cook something else. It is not the easiest thing to clean, but when something is used on the grill, expecting it to return to like-new condition doesn't seem likely to me. After many, many uses, the pan is blackened, but it still works like a charm. I'd take this over a chemical-laden non-stick surface any day. My only small quibble with this pan it that reattaching the handle when the pan is hot is a struggle.
Review 2 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjv1
,San Jose
,CA
August 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It works well!
August 24, 2014
I tried the steel grill griddle with scallops using a Viking gas BBQ.
Very happy with the way the scallops turned out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TnMomOf3
,Oliver Springs
,Tn
August 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Steele Griddle
August 17, 2014
Love this! Perfect for green beans, asparagus etc. For those nights we grill on the patio (which is often). I cover it in foil, so the clean up is easy. Place the griddle on the grill, detach the handle and shut grill lid. Then reattach the handle to take your perfectly cooked veggies off the grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zeeva
,Pinecrest
,FL
August 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
good BBQ tool
August 4, 2014
The grill pan is substantial, removable handle is a plus and its easy to clean
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rockdaisykay
,Rancho Cucamonga
,CA
July 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Perfect for veggies
July 22, 2014
I love this grill pan. Use it for veggies. I used Bar Keepers Friend to clean it up and it's sparkly and new. So easy to clean with that stuff. I just put a small amount of olive oil on the veggies and nothing stuck to the pan either. Nice to move around as it's grilling.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MadameLapin
,Cape Cod
,MA
July 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Works well
July 15, 2014
I have used this product twice to grill fish and was very happy. It fit on my Weber grill, could close the lid (without the handle on it), cleaned up easily. It did discolor after the first use but as long as you can clean the food off who cares? I don't display my grill ware! The handle attaches and detaches easily but does get hot so use a mitt or potholder. I used my grill brush to clean off the heavy residue then a Dobie sponge with Dawn to get the rest. I think if either the food or the grill pan is oiled there should be no problem. I like that it keeps food from falling through the grill grates. It will be great for grilling veggies. It is on the larger size so may not fit in kitchen cabinets. I have a large storage area in the basement for cookie sheets, lobster pots, etc so that is where I store this item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 7 for Steel Grill Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Qeisha68
,Philadelphia
,PA
June 30, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love my Steel Griddle
June 30, 2014
I love my new griddle, it cooks my food evenly, especially fish and veggies. The reason why I am giving it a rating of 4 stars instead of 5, unfortunately, it is really hard to clean. I made the mistake of spraying on a cooking spray before I used it, and boy o boy, it just baked right on; Making it really really difficult to clean. I scrubbed and scrubbed, but it only came partially clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Judylovesraleigh
Raleigh, NC
Posted August 14, 2014
Cleaning Steel Griddle
I love this idea for grilling, especially for fish and veggies. I have found that the best, and least aggrivating, way to clean hard to remove, baked on grease is to put the griddle in your self-cleaning oven and just turn it on. It should come out clean and ready to use. The next time you use cooking spray, make sure the surface of your pan is hot before you apply the spray.
0points
Customer avatar
lovetocook14
Posted July 2, 2014
Have you tried barkeepers friend? It typically will clean stainless steal very well. I am interested in purchasing the griddle but worried about keeping it clean. Please let me know if you have tried anything other than soap and water.
Thanks so much!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Steel Grill Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GOODCOOKING84
,Redwood City
,CA
June 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
GOOD FOR BBQ
June 15, 2014
NOT EASY TO CLEAN,
HANDLE GET HOT WHEN TRYING TO ATTACHED
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 9 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knyghtmare
,Murfreesboro
,AR
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Excellent substitute roaster
February 22, 2014
I have most of the other W-S steel grill cookware, but my grill is round so decided to try this square grill pan instead of the roaster which would not fit my grill. It works just like the rest of my W-S grill cookware- easy to use/clean. It barely fits my grill and is big enough to load up a small ham and the handle allows me to pull it enough that I can grab the sides.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmz5g8
,Saint Louis
,MO
St. Louis, MO
October 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
Great Grill Pan
October 3, 2013
This grill pan is great. It's durable - can't argue with steel. Heat transfers through the pan well so you can still get nice grill marks on whatever you're grilling. The holes are small enough so that you can easily move food around on the pan without worrying about it falling through. I also love that it has a detachable handle - makes it easy to fit on the grill and you don't have to worry about grabbing a hot handle when you're done grilling.
To those who have commented about the pan darkening and being difficult to clean...Most, if not all pans, are going to discolor some when you have direct flame hitting grease/proteins/starch on the pan. It's not the steel discoloring though...just residue from your cooking. I have had no issues cleaning my pan back to its shiny self in less than 5 minutes. Some steel wool and elbow grease go a long way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ahdah
,Aiken
,SC
August 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
My favorite steel grill product
August 11, 2013
I own three steel grill products, the Steel Grill Perforated Meat Loaf pan, Steel Grill Fry Pan and the Steel Grill Griddle. I love all of them, but this is my favorite! I use it for vegetables, fish and kabobs. It doesn't look like it did before I used it, but It is stored where no one sees it. It does the job so I don't care how it looks. I am buying another for a gift. I wonder how I got along without my griddle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: can't think of any
Review 12 for Steel Grill Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Badger55
,Long Beach
,CA
Long Beach, ca
August 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
3of 10found this review helpful.
Hard to Clean
August 10, 2013
I used this griddle for the first time this evening. Even with cooking spray it ended up black when I finished. I soaked and scrubbed but most of that stuff is there to stay. I wish WS would offer this type of griddle with a high quality non-stick finish.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
aheist
Juneau, Alaska
Posted May 29, 2014
Blackening should be expected for grilling basket
There's no non-stick finish that can (safely) perform in the temperatures produced by grilling. A nice, grilled patina is a sign of a well-used product. As that builds up, I imagine it will actually gain some non-stick properties.
It's OK to have some items that don't get spotlessly clean....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CherbearPittsburgh
,Hermitage
,PA
August 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Convenient
August 10, 2013
I have tried many less expensive kinds of steel grills, but none compare. This is a great product. I like how all 4 sides are turned up. I love the detachable handle. This item is sturdy, great for grilling out veggies or fish or really anything that you don't want falling in between the grates of the grill. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: bottom tends to get grill marks on the bottom
Review 14 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MNHAPPYCAMPER
,Minneapolis
,MN
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Will be purchasing another griddle
August 7, 2013
We have a gas grill and this griddle works great for veggies cut up in large pieces with olive oil. We have also cooked grass feed beef burgers on it. Clean up is easy as I use a sos pad. Almost as good as new. We use the griddle 2-3 times a week.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Steel Grill Griddle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ChefDeJour
,Southern Cal
,CA
Ventura County, CA
July 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
I TOTALLY Understand the Appearance Issue
July 3, 2013
Love the size, removable handle, the side lip is beneficial and the holes are perfect. Asparagus does fit perfectly. This griddle is great for veggies. None-the-less, after cooking fish, ribs, lamb - the griddle is a total nightmare to clean. If you are using it for veggies only, fine. If you plan to cook seasoned fish and meats, be prepared for the black spots as other reviewers claim. Its true! Steel brush, barkeepers helper, and alike work but you will be scrubbing for 30 minutes and still won't get it totally clean. S If appearance and cleanliness is important to you, you will be among us that complain about cleaning this item.
Pros: good for veggies
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 16 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NorthwoodsCook
,Land O' Lakes
,WI
June 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Stainless Grill Griddle
June 22, 2013
I was excited to receive this griddle. I had some grill baskets, but continually lost chunks of expensive veggies through them so I decided to order this griddle. I'm so glad I did! The holes are big enough to caramelize my veggies, but small enough that I don't lose them.
The griddle was larger than I expected. (I didn't pay attention to the dimensions listed.) Whole asparagus spears fit perfectly. I love the size and how the handle comes off and on easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Steel Grill Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ProudTexan
,League City
,TX
League City, TX
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Exceeded my expectation
May 22, 2013
Love, love, love this griddle. I don't really understand the negative reviews about appearance of the cookware after using it -- maybe because I don't display my cookware, but appearance is the least of my concerns -- performance is what matters. And this griddle performs!
This is the 3rd piece of WS's outdoor steel cookware I have bought -- and love every one of them! I could not wait to use this griddle. I've cooked everything from vegetables, shrimp, salmon, and chicken on it.
I love the fact that you can detach the handle. Clean-up was no problem for me. All of the food particles came off without a problem -- and without heavy scrubbing.
The only con I can come up with.... ummm... well, I can't!
Pros: Durable, Quality
Review 18 for Steel Grill Griddle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fede
May 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
2of 10found this review helpful.
Dissapointment
May 16, 2013
A total waste of money. After only one use in a gas BBQ the griddle was impossible to clean and the nice stainless steel color was replace by a dark big spot. Do not buy this product under any circumstance. I am surprised that a store with the reputation of WS sells this low quality product.
Pros: none
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, durability, Unreliable
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Valkyrie
Seattle WA
Posted June 17, 2013
An unreasonable review.
If you think that a stainless steel griddle is going to look exactly as it did when you first received it, after you have used it on the grill, you really must be a bit unreasonable. That is simply not possible. Performance is everything, appearance is secondary. Rubbing vegetable oil on the griddle, or spraying Pam on it before every use makes cleaning ever so much easier.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Steel Grill Griddle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
outdoorgirl
,Naples
,FL
February 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Difficult Clean Up
February 20, 2013
We purchased this grill pan and the food cooked fine, and evenly. However, clean up is not at all easy. The holes are so tiny that food gets caught in them - especially fish. It was such a pain that we threw the pan out. Plus, after the first use it was so discolored that we wonder, why not produce the pan in a darker finish in the first place, so that it doesn't look so bad after one use? This is the only disappointing product we've ever purchased from W-S.
Pros: Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 20 for Steel Grill Griddle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
moof
February 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Be careful about the stated dimensions
February 12, 2013
I excitedly purchased this griddle thinking it was going to cover the expanse of my grill: however, upon opening I saw it was quite small. The dimensions given are misleading as they measure to the tip of the handle which is detachable by the way, making for a cumbersome piece of equipment. It also would be difficult to clean. I returned it.
page1 2 next