This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Steamed Whole Chestnuts

Savor the sweet flavors and delicate texture of whole roasted chestnuts, ready to use in your favorite recipes. They're grown and hand harvested in Portugal, where the mild climate is ideal for cultivating the large and flavorful nut known as a marron. The chestnuts are prepared for us in France, where culinary artisans carefully sort, peel and roast them entirely by hand. 12.7-oz. jar. Grown in Portugal; prepared in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
31 of 35(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
Review 1 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmericanItaliangirl
,Shrewsbury
,MA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Memories of Childhood
December 26, 2013
My mom would cut the X and bake our chestnuts during the holiday meal. We ate the chestnuts after dinner, a special after dinner treat. Now my own family eats your wonderful steamed whole chestnuts in my Thanksgiving and Christmas turkey stuffing. The flavor is perfect and not one bad chestnut in the jar. I just wish they were available all year long.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goodcooknana
,CA
December 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Chestnuts
December 31, 2011
I have used 2 of Williams-Sonoma recipes for cornbread stuffing's, that I use every Thanksgiving and/or Christmas. I make it a bit different by combining the 2 recipes and the compliments are Raves! Thank you for the recipes and the chestnuts that make it spectacular.
Pros: Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
edgscott
,st petersburg
,FL
December 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
my favorite item for my stuffing
December 31, 2011
they were great just perfect and tender. I couldn't be more happy and stisfyed with the product. I'll definetly buy at sonoma again.
Thanks Sonoma,
ES
Pros: Authentic, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 4 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neathery
,St. Louis
,MO
December 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful Chestnuts
December 16, 2011
Fantastic! The Chestnuts had a wonderful flavor and were delicious. Unlike some other chestnuts I have ordered these were not slimy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 5 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elvira
,Laurel Highlands
,PA
November 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful!!
November 12, 2011
These are the best chestnuts I have ever eaten. Moist, flavorful, buttery, and delicious. A wonderful time saver-rather than steaming and baking--and so much bettter tasting.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sugarbaby0309
,Danvers
,MA
November 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful Chestnuts
November 10, 2011
I make chestnut stuffing every year for Thanksgiving for my wonderful daughter in law . I would buy the chestnuts whole, then peel them and then chop them. These are so much easier and taste exactly the same. Yum!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MariP
Alexandria, VA
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good chestnuts
January 16, 2011
Chestnuts are well steamed and tasty. I will certainly order them again.
Review 8 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teacher5
Naperville, Illinois
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best for stuffing
January 6, 2011
I buy these every year for use in my Thanksgiving and Christmas stuffing. They are wonderful, and hard to find anywhere else.
Review 9 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy2Bme
Florida
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
wonderful product
January 4, 2011
I made chestnut stuffing for Thanksgiving for the 1st time ever and oh my. DELICIOUS! No left overs for sure. Everyone was full of praises of how wonderful the stuffing was. I have a very big family and I cook Thanksgiving every year. Will definitly be making chestnut stuffing every yr with the Steamed Whole Chestnuts from Williams-Sonoma.
Review 10 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twink
Okeechobee, Florida
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Quick, Easy, Delicious
December 19, 2010
My family loves my chestnut stuffing and for years it was a tradition the night before Thanksgiving to roast and peel the chestnuts until our fingers were raw. Now, I just open the jar! No mess, no fuss and they are delicious.
Review 11 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NapaGirl
San Antonio, TX
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Maple Bacon Wrapped Chestnut Appetizer
November 26, 2010
I made Maple Bacon Wrapped Chestnuts as an appetizer this past Thanksgiving as I learned it from a techniques class. Skewer about a 2-1/2" slice of bacon onto each chestnut & secure w/a toothpick. Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes or until browned to your liking. The maple bacon adds a little sweetness to the firm yet tender chesnut. I'm bringing it to my next holiday potluck event as it's been a hit!
For a quick carrot side dish, add a few tablespoons of Pecan Pumpkin Butter to crinkled-cut carrots, saute for a few minutes adding a little butter/margarine to the pan. Voila, tasty side dish any time of the year!
Review 12 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SGCC
Atlanta
November 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
THE BEST CHESTNUTS EVER!
November 5, 2010
These are wonderful for snacking and makes the best turkey dressing in the world!!!
Review 13 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy123
Florida
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious! And so easy!!
October 17, 2010
After spending many Thanksgivings scoring, boiling, and peeling fresh chestnuts, I was thrilled to find this deliciously easy alternative. It is the perfect ingredient in my chestnut stuffing; every one of them is fresh and delicious!
Review 14 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shawn
Ogden, UT
October 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great for cold nights by the Fire!
October 9, 2010
A lot easier than doing them from scratch, and every single chestnut is delicious and perfect!
Review 15 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
La Mesa,CA
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Chocolate Chestnut Mousse Torte
December 27, 2009
I used the chestnuts to make Martha Stewart's Chocolate Chestnut Mousse Torte and the worked wonderfully. Two jars made two torte when I doubled the recipe in each. Everyone loved the torte.
Review 16 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barb45
Golden, Colorado
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful and convenient
December 27, 2009
This was the first time that I have purchased these chestnuts. I put them in a dressing and they were a hit!!!
Review 17 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lindepat
Washington State
December 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Very Best
December 18, 2009
The Whole Chestnuts were delicious and gave my Thanksgiving Dressing a special extra touch. I will be buying these again and again.
Review 18 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babsandmark
Olean, New York
December 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Whole Chestnuts
December 18, 2009
Only the best from Williams-Sonoma.....these chestnuts are second to none, go well in turkey stuffing and numerous other holiday dishes. And, they are not just for the holidays, can be used in many other non-holiday recipes too.
Review 19 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2468
PA
December 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
would use them in my stuffing's
December 17, 2009
used chestnuts in a stuffing. I also had them plain. they are very good plain . i tryed to reorder them again but could not find them in your products.
Review 20 for Steamed Whole Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peni
CT
December 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderfully easy chestnuts
December 16, 2009
This is a great addition to any kitchen!
How much time, money and effort I've wasted in roasting and opening my own chestnuts, only to find them loaded with a fungus, nastily colored or undercooked.
These chestnuts are in a jar, use as much as you need and then refridgerate the rest to be used at a later date!
A wonderful WS product.
page1 2 next