This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste

Steak au poivre is a true taste of Paris. A favorite on bistro menus, it's traditionally seasoned with aromatic peppercorns to imbue the meat with a spicy complexity. To help you prepare this French classic, we've created an easy-to-use paste with all the right flavors. Our recipe combines a hint of garlic and allspice with a quartet of cracked peppercorns: black tellicherry, pink, green and white. 8.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
Review 1 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amonos
,Branchburg, NJ
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Seasoning for steaks
December 28, 2012
Always use this on my steaks - it adds such a wonderful flavor - always have a jar on hand. :)
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DinnerTime
,Bethesda
,MD
December 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy and Fantastic
December 12, 2012
This is a great product. The flavor is fresh and strong. So easy to use with great results.
The only issue is that I order it on line and the jar seems to leak a bit during the shipping.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: jar leaks during shipping
Review 3 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Gabriellelovesfood
Long Island, NY
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Nothing special
July 12, 2011
It just tastes like cracked peppercorns, no other flavor.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KulaCook
Kula, Hawaii
April 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thoroughly Nasty
April 22, 2011
The seasoning paste is not a paste. It is a bunch of mid-quality cracked peppercorns in canola oil with perhaps a little bit of garlic. It does nothing good to a steak and should be avoided.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients
Review 5 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GordonC
Long Beach, CA
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Craft Seasonings PERFECT
March 1, 2011
Craft Seasoning Paste and most all Craft products are top tier seasonings. Always the best flavors. Made me remember Paris!
Review 6 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
donnabean
Buffalo Grove, IL
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Steak au Poivre Sauce
June 25, 2010
This product had adequate taste but it just didn't add enough to the meal to be worth the hefty price tag.
Review 7 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winowoman
Henderson County, NC
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wow! Superb steak seasoning
June 25, 2010
I attended one of the great technique classes at my local Williams-Sonoma and was introduced to this spicy seasoning. It is terrific and I am a pepper lover who really appreciates good pepper. Now I can have one of my favorite steaks at home with a flavor that surpasses most steakhouses. Some friends who have tried it have asked for a sample to take home. The heat can be adjusted by using just a little or more on one or both sides. Definitely a staple in my spice reportoire. Williams-Sonoma has never disappointed me with their fine products.
Review 8 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FOODADDICT
Naples, Florida 34104
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
June 25, 2010
This is a fantastic seasoning for steak, roasts and hamburgers.
It is very robust and a little goes a long way.
The peppery flavor lasts through the cooking and gives every bite an exciting
taste.
The price is right and the paste lasts a long time.
FOODADDICT
Review 9 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sassy4alltimes
Fallon, NV
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Steak Au Poivre
June 25, 2010
This is the best seasoning paste I have ever used on steaks. The seasoning adds so much flavor to a steak; pleasing to the palate. I would recommend this all my friends and already have.
Review 10 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kasia
Plantsville, CT
January 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Quick and Easy Steak Marinade
January 5, 2010
I tried it for the first time making Filet Mignon New Years Day. It gave plenty of flavor and if you like spicy this certainly added some spice. Too much for my almost 3 years old but great for the adults.
Review 11 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joeye
Henderson, NV
December 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Saved the rib roast
December 28, 2009
On X-Mas day I was tasked with bringing a rib roast and a NY roast for X-Mas dinner, I follow the instructions and cooked the roasts on the grill on low for around 5 hours. The roast were not of the best quality, however this seasoning made both roast awesome! Enjoyed the slow pepper kick finish.
Review 12 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shoehoard
West Haven, CT
November 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
So tasty!
November 2, 2009
I bought this on a whim a few months ago and I'm so glad I did. What a wonderful spice for steaks. I coat the steaks liberally with this seasoning. After they are cooked, I add Wegman's garlic and cheese butter for a final touch. The combination is heavenly.
When I don't want to grill in cold temps, I'll take a thinner cut steak, slice it into strips, coat in Steak au Poivre and stir fry the meat until just slightly pink. Top with the garlic cheese butter and dinner is ready in a matter of minutes. Just ordered my 2nd jar today.
Review 13 for Steak au Poivre Seasoning Paste
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vonlauer
Greenbrae, CA
September 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Yummy without the mess!
September 8, 2009
My husband and I are big fans of Steak au Poivre, but not fans of the cleanup that usually occurs after hammering down the peppercorns when making the paste/sauce from scratch. WS comes through again with this wonderfully convenient and tasty seasoning paste!