Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. The large center spike of this pan radiates heat through the center of a chicken or other poultry for remarkably even cooking. 1 1/4-qt. cap. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Graphite color selection features a multicoat enameling to create a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops, including induction. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
11 of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,New york
,Ny
August 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful but Flawed
August 15, 2015
Stab products are beautiful and do a great job. I don't understand,though, why Staub doesn't advise brushing oil on whatever surface to really make it nonstick. Staub out of the box is NOT nonstick if you don't oil the surface you will end up with a baked on caramelized mess that will not come off. This has happened twice to me, destroying the item. You know the cost of discarding Staub
Pros: Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oldsmar
,Fl
June 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST Chicken Ever
June 12, 2015
This is one of the very best purchases I've made. This roaster makes the best chicken I've ever had. I just use olive oil, inside and out, and loads of lemon -pepper. 450 degrees for 15 minutes and then turn down the oven to 350 degrees. cook about 15 minutes per pound. Oh my....it is delicious. The pan cleans up easily too. We have roast chicken almost every week now. Use a roasting chicken, not a fryer, for best results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Size
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MI
May 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely love it!
May 29, 2015
I used this for the first time tonight and absolutely loved the pan. I roasted at 425 for 1 hour. Used truffle salt and pepper on the outside and inside of bird. Stuffed with half a lemon. The flavor was amazing. Skin was crispy and the meat was tender. I put the bird on upside down following the pictures in Staubs recipe. I can see myself roasting a chicken at least once a week. Going to experiment with different herbs next time. It was super quick and easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Falls Church
,VA
April 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does a great job!
April 28, 2015
I don't roast a lot of chickens, but thought I would give this roaster a try (WS stands behind everything it sells and I knew I could return it if I didn't like it). I've used it twice, and it turned out a perfectly roasted chicken each time. I picked a very basic Thomas Keller recipe, calling only for salt and pepper, and at the end, some thyme. I trussed the chicken (just over 4#), roasted it at 450 degrees for just over an hour, let it rest for 15 minutes, and it was done to perfection--crisp skin, very flavorful, both white and dark meat done and moist. Fits perfectly in the oven on the lower middle shelf. No problems with cleanup. Couldn't be happier with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jacksonville
,Fl
April 11, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
was the best chicken that I have every eaten
April 11, 2015
I love this Cast Iron Roaster my chicken was perfect, easy to use and most of all easy to clean.
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Port Charlotte
,FL
January 2, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it--My go-to chicken roaster
January 2, 2015
I have had this item now for approximately 3 years and love it. When I have company over and cook chicken on the Staub roaster, I have always had rave reviews. My method of roasting: Preheat Staub roaster on oven shelf @ 375 degrees. Wash chicken (or brine it if you have time) -- rinse and pat dry with paper towels. Season with kosher salt & pepper, place chicken over the "spike" and roast until done. Note that the gravy comes out scrumptious. I have never had a spill-over or any negative issues with this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bogalusa
,LA
January 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantabulous!
January 9, 2014
I could not wait to get this based on another review about the WS Herbs de Provence. Wow! Used the herbs liberally. Instructions came in my booklet. With the neck placed on the skewer I sprinkled the large upper cavity generously with the herbs. Fantastic taste and drippings made delish gravy for mashed potatoes. Use every week or two. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
June 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-15points
6of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a Keeper
June 5, 2013
1. No roasting instructions included, just Staub publicity. I would like information on what size chicken can be roasted and a chart on cooking time based on weight of the chicken.
2. Shallow basin can't hold much liquid and could spill easily when taken from an oven.
3. Center post is not really tall and getting chicken to stand straight would be difficult.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CookinNorCal
SF Bay Area, CA
Posted December 10, 2013
Top 50 Contributor
You used it?
With all due respect, it appears from the wording in your review that you have not used this roaster. I have. As regards #2about the size of the basin, it is more than adequate for collecting the chicken drippings; it also can hold a small amount (1/2 C+/-) of aromatic liquid such as wine or beer for "steam-roasting", as well as veggies such as root vegetables. For easy removal for oven, I just use it in a small baking sheet...no problems. As regards #3, chickens, game hens and even small ducks sit just fine. As regards your point about the minimal instructions: mine came with some basic ones, and I went online to learn more. FYI Chef Hubert Keller did an excellent episode using this pan on his KQED show which inspired my purchase and it is a great vertical roaster. Use it, then review!
+3points
3of 3found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Louisville
,KY
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Pan!
November 28, 2012
Not exactly a "pan", this roaster is so pretty (I bought the gray) and cleans up very well. My chickens turn out so good. I rub olive oil or butter over chicken first, then use WS Herbs de Provence, and it cooks up so fast due to the center spike. My teenage son's favorite way of having his chicken cooked.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Northeast
,MO
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great way to roast chicken!
October 20, 2012
I have this pan in black and love the way it roasts chicken. I always use the Dry Brine on the chicken the day before roasting so the bird has a lot of flavor. Heat the pan in the oven while it is preheating so the pan is hot. Note that I place the chicken on the roaster upside down, as shown by Staub. This is the opposite of what people are used to with beer can chicken but it is the best way to get the dark meat done without drying out the breast meat. A little basting with the juices that collect in the pan is all that's needed. As others have noted, there is really not any room to put veggies in the bottom of the pan so take that into account if that's important to you. I won't use any other pan for roasting chicken from now on.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,fl
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
8of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very disappointing
September 18, 2012
Results from the Staub roaster are no better than from any stainless roasting pan
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Chandler
,AZ
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok, but not worth the price
August 28, 2012
I saw an equivalent (or what I thought was the same item until I used it the first time) in a similar magazine. Since we have a local Williams-Sonoma I went right out and purchased this item. The first mistake was thinking I could roast vegetables in the bottom of the base (as you could with the similar item I saw). It is not wide enough for this.
Also, any spices that you rub on outside does not soak into the chicken. So, the chicken is flavorless. Chicken turned out well cooked in a short amount of time and all the drippings are in the bottom of the pan; very healthy. However, for the price of the roaster, I could use a beer can for the same effect. We don't use it very often.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store, small
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Jose
,CA
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like it!
February 8, 2012
I used it in my Italian brick oven. Can tell how done the bird is by watching the drips if fat roll off the bottom of the bird. When the drips slow the bird is done.
Th ebird cooks pretty evenly. Bird was very moist and tender.
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Laguna Beach
,Ca
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition to my Kitchen
February 7, 2012
This really does a great job of roasting chicken. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design