Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster

The large center spike of this pan radiates heat through the center of a chicken or other poultry for remarkably even cooking. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Graphite color selection features glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllieB
,Bogalusa
,LA
January 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantabulous!
January 9, 2014
I could not wait to get this based on another review about the WS Herbs de Provence. Wow! Used the herbs liberally. Instructions came in my booklet. With the neck placed on the skewer I sprinkled the large upper cavity generously with the herbs. Fantastic taste and drippings made delish gravy for mashed potatoes. Use every week or two. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FromaDecentCook
June 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a Keeper
June 5, 2013
1. No roasting instructions included, just Staub publicity. I would like information on what size chicken can be roasted and a chart on cooking time based on weight of the chicken.
2. Shallow basin can't hold much liquid and could spill easily when taken from an oven.
3. Center post is not really tall and getting chicken to stand straight would be difficult.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CookinNorCal
SF Bay Area, CA
Posted December 10, 2013
Top 50 Contributor
You used it?
With all due respect, it appears from the wording in your review that you have not used this roaster. I have. As regards #2about the size of the basin, it is more than adequate for collecting the chicken drippings; it also can hold a small amount (1/2 C+/-) of aromatic liquid such as wine or beer for "steam-roasting", as well as veggies such as root vegetables. For easy removal for oven, I just use it in a small baking sheet...no problems. As regards #3, chickens, game hens and even small ducks sit just fine. As regards your point about the minimal instructions: mine came with some basic ones, and I went online to learn more. FYI Chef Hubert Keller did an excellent episode using this pan on his KQED show which inspired my purchase and it is a great vertical roaster. Use it, then review!
+3points
3of 3found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busybeard
,Louisville
,KY
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Pan!
November 28, 2012
Not exactly a "pan", this roaster is so pretty (I bought the gray) and cleans up very well. My chickens turn out so good. I rub olive oil or butter over chicken first, then use WS Herbs de Provence, and it cooks up so fast due to the center spike. My teenage son's favorite way of having his chicken cooked.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AliceG3398
,Northeast
,MO
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great way to roast chicken!
October 20, 2012
I have this pan in black and love the way it roasts chicken. I always use the Dry Brine on the chicken the day before roasting so the bird has a lot of flavor. Heat the pan in the oven while it is preheating so the pan is hot. Note that I place the chicken on the roaster upside down, as shown by Staub. This is the opposite of what people are used to with beer can chicken but it is the best way to get the dark meat done without drying out the breast meat. A little basting with the juices that collect in the pan is all that's needed. As others have noted, there is really not any room to put veggies in the bottom of the pan so take that into account if that's important to you. I won't use any other pan for roasting chicken from now on.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
megge
,fl
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very disappointing
September 18, 2012
Results from the Staub roaster are no better than from any stainless roasting pan
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JWatts
,Chandler
,AZ
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok, but not worth the price
August 28, 2012
I saw an equivalent (or what I thought was the same item until I used it the first time) in a similar magazine. Since we have a local Williams-Sonoma I went right out and purchased this item. The first mistake was thinking I could roast vegetables in the bottom of the base (as you could with the similar item I saw). It is not wide enough for this.
Also, any spices that you rub on outside does not soak into the chicken. So, the chicken is flavorless. Chicken turned out well cooked in a short amount of time and all the drippings are in the bottom of the pan; very healthy. However, for the price of the roaster, I could use a beer can for the same effect. We don't use it very often.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store, small
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjv1
,San Jose
,CA
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like it!
February 8, 2012
I used it in my Italian brick oven. Can tell how done the bird is by watching the drips if fat roll off the bottom of the bird. When the drips slow the bird is done.
Th ebird cooks pretty evenly. Bird was very moist and tender.
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRogers
,Laguna Beach
,Ca
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition to my Kitchen
February 7, 2012
This really does a great job of roasting chicken. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design