Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster

The large center spike of this pan radiates heat through the center of a chicken or other poultry for remarkably even cooking. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Graphite color selection features glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllieB
,Bogalusa
,LA
January 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantabulous!
January 9, 2014
I could not wait to get this based on another review about the WS Herbs de Provence. Wow! Used the herbs liberally. Instructions came in my booklet. With the neck placed on the skewer I sprinkled the large upper cavity generously with the herbs. Fantastic taste and drippings made delish gravy for mashed potatoes. Use every week or two. Love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FromaDecentCook
June 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a Keeper
June 5, 2013
1. No roasting instructions included, just Staub publicity. I would like information on what size chicken can be roasted and a chart on cooking time based on weight of the chicken.
2. Shallow basin can't hold much liquid and could spill easily when taken from an oven.
3. Center post is not really tall and getting chicken to stand straight would be difficult.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CookinNorCal
SF Bay Area, CA
Posted December 10, 2013
Top 25 Contributor
You used it?
With all due respect, it appears from the wording in your review that you have not used this roaster. I have. As regards #2about the size of the basin, it is more than adequate for collecting the chicken drippings; it also can hold a small amount (1/2 C+/-) of aromatic liquid such as wine or beer for "steam-roasting", as well as veggies such as root vegetables. For easy removal for oven, I just use it in a small baking sheet...no problems. As regards #3, chickens, game hens and even small ducks sit just fine. As regards your point about the minimal instructions: mine came with some basic ones, and I went online to learn more. FYI Chef Hubert Keller did an excellent episode using this pan on his KQED show which inspired my purchase and it is a great vertical roaster. Use it, then review!
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busybeard
,Louisville
,KY
November 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Pan!
November 28, 2012
Not exactly a "pan", this roaster is so pretty (I bought the gray) and cleans up very well. My chickens turn out so good. I rub olive oil or butter over chicken first, then use WS Herbs de Provence, and it cooks up so fast due to the center spike. My teenage son's favorite way of having his chicken cooked.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AliceG3398
,Northeast
,MO
October 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great way to roast chicken!
October 20, 2012
I have this pan in black and love the way it roasts chicken. I always use the Dry Brine on the chicken the day before roasting so the bird has a lot of flavor. Heat the pan in the oven while it is preheating so the pan is hot. Note that I place the chicken on the roaster upside down, as shown by Staub. This is the opposite of what people are used to with beer can chicken but it is the best way to get the dark meat done without drying out the breast meat. A little basting with the juices that collect in the pan is all that's needed. As others have noted, there is really not any room to put veggies in the bottom of the pan so take that into account if that's important to you. I won't use any other pan for roasting chicken from now on.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
megge
,fl
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very disappointing
September 18, 2012
Results from the Staub roaster are no better than from any stainless roasting pan
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JWatts
,Chandler
,AZ
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok, but not worth the price
August 28, 2012
I saw an equivalent (or what I thought was the same item until I used it the first time) in a similar magazine. Since we have a local Williams-Sonoma I went right out and purchased this item. The first mistake was thinking I could roast vegetables in the bottom of the base (as you could with the similar item I saw). It is not wide enough for this.
Also, any spices that you rub on outside does not soak into the chicken. So, the chicken is flavorless. Chicken turned out well cooked in a short amount of time and all the drippings are in the bottom of the pan; very healthy. However, for the price of the roaster, I could use a beer can for the same effect. We don't use it very often.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store, small
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjv1
,San Jose
,CA
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like it!
February 8, 2012
I used it in my Italian brick oven. Can tell how done the bird is by watching the drips if fat roll off the bottom of the bird. When the drips slow the bird is done.
Th ebird cooks pretty evenly. Bird was very moist and tender.
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRogers
,Laguna Beach
,Ca
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition to my Kitchen
February 7, 2012
This really does a great job of roasting chicken. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scully
,El Paso
,TX
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, great roaster
November 29, 2011
I love this roaster..; really good quality and easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Egnurlaup
,Orinda
,CA
September 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Okay, but heavy!
September 29, 2011
Works very well and typical Staub quality. The dawback is its 5lb weight. Add to that a 5-6lb chicken and you have a 10-12 lb hot load to carry around.
Gotta tell you...the 16 oz beer can of your choice still works incredibly well...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Killiguin
,North Prairie
,WI
September 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nothing better
September 22, 2011
This chicken roaster is by far the best way to roast yor chicken. Even if you are not a cook of any accomplishment you can use this! It makes for a wonderfully roasted chicken..no fail. Try it on the grill, even better! Everyone should have one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hills
Texas
August 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WOW! New Favorite Pan!
August 22, 2011
We received this as a shower gift and I roasted my first chicken ever yesterday with it. It was amazing. The pan has a nice weight to it and holds heat very well.
It is almost idiotproof, season chicken, place chicken onto pan, bake chicken.
I seasoned the chicken with olive oil and salt, pepper and onion powder inside and out. Roasted it for 10 minutes of 450, dropped it down to 350 for 40 minutes, and back up to 450 for 10 minutes. Let it rest for 15 minutes. filled the bottom with veggies and let them roast too! Yum! Easy clean up after it cooled but was still a tad bit warm.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hendogirl
Henderson, NV
June 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So worth it!
June 15, 2011
I wasn't in the market for a chicken roaster and I'm usually not a fan of specialized kitchen equipment but in this case, I made an exception. This roaster makes it so easy to roast a chicken. The chicken comes out evenly cooked, juicy and ALL of the skin is super crispy. I also like that it doesn't spatter all over the oven. The juices just run down the chicken and make it moist and flavorful. You can't make pan sauce in this roaster but the spouts make it easy to pour the juices into another pan to make sauce or gravy. Its small enough to conveniently fit in the oven but it can hold a rather large bird (the first chicken I roasted was almost 6 pounds). Clean up was easy too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StarterCook
Miami Florida
May 14, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Roasted Chicken Addiction
May 14, 2011
I am no cook, baker or candle stick maker - just a career driven woman with a "roasted chicken addiction" - all I can say is DITTO to all the good things the other reviews have to say - this is the super duper BEST!!!!
PS. . I bought golf club instead of a new stove and I still think this is the BEST!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, roasted chicken for dummies
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KCrossland
Nashua, NH
May 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect roast chicken every time
May 11, 2011
I have had this for several months now and I use it at least once a week to roast a chicken. It is my easy - no fail - chicken roaster. Juicy chicken, crisp skin and happy diners every single time. I will never roast a chicken in a regular roaster again and wish there was a supersized version for turkey's! (Hello Staub, can you hear me?)
For me, I just wash and dry the chicken, lube it with a little bit of butter under the skin, sprinkle and pat the outside with spices (salt, pepper, onion powder, granulated garlic, italian seasoning) and into a 350 degree oven for an hour to an hour and a half depending on the size of the chicken. When it comes out of the oven, I put it on a platter, and tent it with foil while the side dishes finish. Perfect every time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jhus
Providence RI
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best chicken roaster
May 10, 2011
I got this for Christmas and have used it countless times. It is the easiest way to roast a crispy chicken with very little prep. We call it the "chicken impaler" at our house. Throw some baby potatoes in the bottom of the dish which will be basted by the chicken juices as they cook. My cupboards were already full of stuff so yes, I did think about the necessity of getting something that only cooks chickens, but I assure you, you won't regret it. Most useful kitchen tool I've purchased in years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design, best chicken roaster
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kimberley910
Playa Vista, CA
April 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Holy Grail of Roasting Chicken
April 27, 2011
Wow! Just wow! This is the best chicken roaster I have ever used! I tried roasting a chicken on my All-Clad Stainless Steel roaster about a year ago, which resulted in complete failure. The reviews of this product looked good, so I gave it a shot. Despite the fact that it did not come with an instruction manual, I used a roast chicken recipe and cooked the most tender, delicious with crispy skin on the outside chicken I have ever had. The meat literally would fall off of the bone it was so tender and this was after about 75 minutes in the oven. I put carots, onions, celery and apples in the lip portion with chicken stock and white wine. I rubbed the chicken with olive oil and garlic (no marinade time) and after 75 minutes at 415 degrees - perfection. Just make sure to heat up the roaster in the oven when you turn the oven on. Enjoy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, delicious
Cons: no instruction manual
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosl
Southern California
March 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect chicken
March 25, 2011
The best, easiest roasted chicken ever, and the carcass goes into soup the next day. Highly recommend for busy people, who don't have time to cook. This does it all for you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TroyBoy
Hayward, CA
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have roaster!
March 20, 2011
This is the perfect chicken roaster. The skin will brown evenly (depending on your oven) and the meat will fall off the bone. Plus, the chicken does not cook in it's own oil mess as with a traditional horizontal roasting pan. I usually cook a medium chicken for about 1 1/2 - 2 hours at 325, and bring temp up to 400 for 10-15 minutes. I like my chicken well done. Then don't forget to let stand for 15 min. This Staub piece cleans up in a snap. A must have! Love it!
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Vertical Chicken Roaster
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJofLA
Los Altos, CA
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the best cooking utensils in my kitchen!
January 25, 2011
I purchased this roaster after reading other's claims of its performance. After receiving it, I immediately went to the market and purchased a nice, 6 lbs. bird. I followed the roasting instructions provided, adding a rosemary and garlic rub. To my amazement, this was the most juicy chicken I have ever roasted. The breast meat was so juicy that juice was visible while slicing the meat, The outside was a 'roasted crispy' texture and was delicious. I would highly recommend this roaster!
page1 2 next