Staub Cast-Iron Saucepan

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Slow-simmer sauces, melt butter, make oatmeal or reheat soups with this versatile saucepan. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Color selections feature multicoat enameling to create a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface for better browning. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Dishawasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
3 of 3(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Saucepan
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seguin
,TX
January 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If there's a perfect saucepan, this is it
January 20, 2015
My Staub 3 qt. saucepan arrived yesterday. It's a lovely pot, functional and elegant, with a shiny basil majolica finish on the outside.
For its maiden voyage, I made garam masala blackeyed peas. Performance wise, the lid is designed in such a way that the Staub leaked a lot less steam than my other enameled cast iron pots do. Nothing dribbled down the sides. Nothing stuck, even after the peas thickened.
The rough inner surface that has such a great reputation for browning had me a bit worried about cleaning, but it was easy. After a short soak, I only needed a soft sponge to get the food residue off. There's no reason it shouldn't last a lifetime and more, with reasonable care. Using this pot is a pleasure and I never felt like I was just "paying for the name" - a lot of care and craftsmanship goes into this product. I'll definitely be getting more Staub.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Chesapeake
,Va
Chesapeake va
April 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please read and offer help!!
April 3, 2014
I love the staub fry pan! Its great and w/ oil u r good 2 go! I am trying to get away from non stick as I am tired of having to buy them. I need help though with this one. I bought it but I'm scared 2 use it! I understand with the fry pan that I have to use oil, it's a simple concept to me bc I am cooking meat so pretty simple2 understand. This sauce pan though. I don't know how to use it. What about if I just wanted 2 heat some milk? Or if I wanted to just open up a can of soup to heat it up? I mean, I wouldn't put oil in it first.... Right? So wouldn't the milk, soup, stick & burn?im confused on this issue. I have always used non stick so I have never had 2 think about it but now I'm using staub & I don't know what 2 do when it comes 2 liquids or foods that you wouldn't use oil or butter first. If anyone could please leave me comments on how to proceed I would b grateful! Oh, r the spray oils bad for ur pans? I have heard they are.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Stelz
Seguin, TX
Posted January 24, 2015
Use it, it's a great saucepan!
The care instructions that came with my saucepan recommend applying a small amount of oil "before using to enhance the properties of the special black enamel". It's a recommendation, not a must - I don't think you'll ruin your pan or void your warranty if you don't oil every single time.
With a frying pan, it's good to build up seasoning, but with a saucepan, you don't need all that oil. And you can cook with acidic things like tomatoes, wine and lemons that you don't want in a seasoned pan.
I don't think anything will stick or burn if you keep an eye on it. If it does, just soak the pan and it should come right off.
But what's really cool about cast iron is that often, when things are almost ready, you can turn the heat off and the pan holds enough heat to finish the job - with no scorching!
I don't use nonstick either, just cast iron, enameled cast iron and stainless. I use the stainless for heating water (though I've got my eye on the Staub teapot!) and making pasta, and the iron for everything else. You'll do fine without the nonstick. :)
Some of the ingredients in spray oils *might* be bad for pans. Olive or coconut oil are a safe bet and healthy, too.
0points
Customer avatar
SuSu
Asheville, NC
Posted May 19, 2014
Top 25 Contributor
Response to Aceholly
May I suggest that you use just a little extra virgin olive oil at all times to keep your Staub seasoned? The Staub directions do not indicate that you need to do this; however, it works so well for me...hopefully it will work well for you. When you are ready to use, simply wipe off the small amount of oil that you have placed in the pan. I have the Staub cocottes and this is what I do. In fact, I am getting ready to order the 3 qt sauce pan and will do the same with it. Good luck!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Saucepan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Henrico
,VA
Richmond, VA
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this saucepan!!!!
November 29, 2013
I just started buying Staub about a year ago. I love cooking in my pots and frying pans, but this saucepan has quickly become my favorite piece. The shape seems a bit unusual, but it fits perfectly on the burner, holds plenty of liquid, maintains heat beautifully, and cleans up in a snap. I made incredible gravy yesterday and did not have to worry about it scorching in the pan.
Can't recommend this highly enough!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design