Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.

Cast iron's unparalleled ability to retain heat makes this oven a great choice for slow cooking hearty stews and soups as well as braising and roasting meat and poultry. It pairs an extra-wide cooking surface with sides high enough to contain liquids for braising and simmering. The pan's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops, including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices directly back down on top of the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob on is made of stainless steel. Includes both a whimsical "cochon" knob and a standard one. 12 1/2" diam.; 6" high; 17 lb. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.95 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bergen
,Garden Valley
,CA
Northern California
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for so many things!
April 8, 2014
I really love this pan, sure it weighs a ton, but it's worth it's weight! It's beautiful to look at and really performs. We are convinced that every single thing we've made in this pan (and the oval cocotte I bought first) somehow tastes better than made in other pans in the past! This is a great size for stews, soups, roasting, braising, a bit larger than my oval.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenLove
,Madison
,ME
Maine
February 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best in my kitchen!
February 5, 2014
Thanks to an amazing husband and a mild Williams-Sonoma addiction, I have a very well equipped kitchen but he Staub was a purchase I put off for years. I purchased one in graphite for myself and one in red for my daughter-in-law- pictured below. I thought it would great fun to exchange recipes because we both love to cook.
I chose graphite because I have white cabinets, italian marble counter tops and stainless steel appliances The piece is much more attractive than the pictures due to the depth of the finish and looks great in that setting
So far I've made Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic and Flemish Beef Stew. Both could only be described as perfection.
The high temperature at which we can brown meat in this Cocotte is impressive. Yet, a few minutes later, it caramelize onions that are a thing of beauty-then into the oven with that wonderfully heavy lid with the self basting design. No hot spots and exceptionally even browning. It's just a dream to work with.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, looks amazing, ws backs the purchase, ws customer service
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunshineLadybird
,Punta Gorda
,FL
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
As Beautiful as Effective for Moister Meat
November 29, 2013
I have wanted a Staub or Le Crueset French oven for years. I was concerned about the weight for storing the pot but decided I could just leave it on top of the stove all the time because it is so beautiful, particularly when we saw the pig and the rooster knobs. We chose the Staub because the non-staining black interior, overall finish, and the bumps on the interior lid design, and slightly lower price differentiated it from Le Creuset (that are also excellent products). If you don't want to leave it on your stove, put it on your counter to enjoy the beauty. The colors are amazing. The pot is worth the price and I just wish I had gotten it years ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
odbrusov
,New York
,NY
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING!! GET ONE NOW!
November 21, 2013
This is my new favorite piece of cookware in my kitchen. Its wonderfully versatile and just makes everything so delicious. I waited for a sale to purchase, to put my husband at ease. When my brand new beautiful green Cocotte arrived I was ecstatic! It browns meat perfectly. Trust me, you will not regret your purchase! I also love the look much much better than Le Creuset.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: none!!
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AspenCPA
,Aspen
,CO
Colorado
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Size
September 23, 2013
This cast iron oven is the perfect size for most any use. You can braise a large roast, a couple legs of lamb, or an entire large chicken. The heat distribution is excellent, and the interior enamel coating cleans easily. The color is perfect, a muted red, and the lid fits nicely. Slight caution - this pot is heavy (which in reality is a plus) !!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jana36
,Montgomery
,Al
July 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good pot but not 12 1/2 in. Diameter
July 18, 2013
I am a huge staub fan. I started with a le cruiser piece but didn't like e way the inside scratched so easily. Plus wasn't a huge fan of their colours. When I saw the blue staub pot sitting in my williams Sonoma store I fell in love and bought one. I loved it . Use it a lot more than I thought I would. I then bought the 5 3/4 coq a vin pot . I bought this one because I needed a wider pot and the 12 1/2 width sounded just right. However when I got it did not measure up. The width at the top is about 11 in. And the base is smaller. More around 10-10 1/2 in. I was very disappointed so will be returning this since it basically gies me the same floor space as the coq a vin. Again, my only gripe is e size is smaller than noted in description, otherwise quality and performance of staub is excellent.
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
admc
,albuquerque
,nm
July 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful and functional
July 2, 2013
I now own 3 Staub products, 2 cocottes and one cocotte in the shape of a pumpkin.
This round wide cocotte with the "piggy" on top is my 3rd.
Fist, Staub products are of the highest quality enameled cast iron available.
The use of the dark matte interior does tend to self season over time as the item gets used more often. The cocotte cleans well either by hand or dishwasher.
I appreciate the bumps inside the lid as that does make meats more moist.
All knobs are high quality metal, no plastic.
The playful animal knobs make a fun conversation piece at dinner and do make the presentation French. These knobs are very well made and are easy to hold for removing the lid.
All Staub colors are beautiful and add to your presentation as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, artistic appearance, animal knobs
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaneS
,Alexandria
,VA
Alexandria, VA
May 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I used this for Easter
May 3, 2013
and loved it. It comes with 2 lid knobs. The pig, shown, and a plain one to use while cooking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarefootWannaBe
,Edwardsville
,IL
April 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite New Pot!
April 2, 2013
The quality of this pot is so impressive. I knew it would be good, but when I opened the box I was bowled over by it's weight, beautiful color and design. The pot comes with both a pig and standard handle which are very cute and gives you options for cooking/serving. The design for self basting and heavy material is perfect for creating delicious meals. Le Creuset was previously my favorite heavy cookware, but I think Staub is even better. You won't be disappointed if you purchase this pot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AltitudeCooker
,Evergreen
,CO
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I cook without this?
March 26, 2013
I love this Staub cocette more than I can say! I use it three or four times a week. I bought it thinking I wasn't sure how to use a Dutch oven, and am not sure I do now, but I have used it for so many other dishes that I hadn't anticipated. I have browned porkchops and then braised them in sauce, cooked chicken parmesan, and several of my pasta dishes which turned out better than ever before, and even tried cooking my stir fry! The pan heats so quickly, browns so wonderfully, and holds the heat so well that you are able to cook on low to medium at most. It is also nice and deep so that cooking batches of pasta or stews are no problem. I can't say enough about how wonderful this cocette is, and may even try to use it in a traditional way one of these days by trying a roasted chicken or beef bourguignone! Oh and it is gorgeous to look at. I got the basil and the color is deep and rich and the cute pig on the top lid is quite the coversation piece!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosyv
,San antonio
,Tx
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pot to make stews
March 5, 2013
Love this pot!!! Great for slow cooking and it look great too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodForFriends
,Jamestown
,TN
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for Baking
December 27, 2012
Baked Cornish Hens they turned out absolutely beautiful. Very tender and a golden brown on breast and drumsticks.
Easy to clean:)
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
susagibs
,Boise
,ID
June 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useful Cookware
June 7, 2012
This pot is a perfect size and shape for me. I can use it for braising or for oven roasting. I love Staub cookware and this is a great addition. I have a very large cocette for cooking for crowd and this new piece is perfect for 2-4 people.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knittingdoc
,Carol Stream
,IL
April 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Staub!!
April 13, 2012
This is my first Staub, but have similar style pot in a different brand. The Staub was great from the first try. No stick. Even cooking, Nice simmer. I like the wide pot, but I might have to also get the regular cocotte.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, sale price
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatyP
,TX
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely pan
April 4, 2012
I've had this staub for about 2 weeks & have made a fancy (wine included) pot roast & swiss steak. Not ground breaking recipes mind you but they turned out wonderful. The 4 qt. size is great for my husband & I because he loves to take leftovers for lunch. I really went back & forth about 2 qt. vs 4 qt. & am glad I went with the 4 qt. because I feel we could feed 4-6 with this size pot, if needed. I like the wide size for browning meat. Clean up has been very easy with just a soak of water/dish soap after the pan is cooled. I will be adding staub pieces to my cookware as I'm very pleased with this brand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clark
,Lewiston
,NY
lewiston NY
March 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Self Basting
March 14, 2012
One of the best basting dutch ovens available on the market today. it's rigged cover design self bastes as your food cooks.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wmamabear
,Chaska
,MN
March 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Pot for Making My French Dishes
March 14, 2012
We just received it a short while ago, but my first dish in it was Beef Bourguignon, which turned out wonderfully. I'm looking forward to other such dishes.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JTama
,Honolulu
,HI
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was great!!
January 4, 2012
This is an awesome product! Only used it once so far, but it was easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LBRNY
,New York
,NY
January 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pot for everything
January 3, 2012
My 2nd Staub. It is so fantastic, nothing sticks and it looks good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brighid
,Live Oak
,Fl
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If I Had Only One Pot, This Would Be the One!
December 18, 2011
I already owned two of the Staub 4 quart cast-iron pots when I ordered this one. I loved their size and they were constantly in use. The regular pot was perfect for the Hearth Breads I make several times a week, as well as the soups and stews that are a part of our almost daily menu. The need for a third pot soon became readily apparent. I was surprised to note that my 3rd Staub Cocotte was a WIDE one, an asset for browning meat or vegetables because of the slightly larger base. Browning anything in a Staub pot creates a flavor, texture and aroma unsurpassed by any other cooking utensil. These beautiful Staub cast-iron pots do not show any discoloration and are virtually indestructible. Do not hesitate to buy this particular model, for you are likely to find that it will always been in use. Because I have difficulty in lifting large cast-iron utensils, the 4-quart size is perfect for my husband and me, yet still cooks up plenty of food for leftovers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight