Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Pairing an extra-wide surface with sides high enough to contain liquids for braising, this oven is ideal for roasting meat and slow cooking stew. 6-qt. cap. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Multicoat enameling creates a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface for better browning. Lid knob on is made of stainless steel. Includes both a whimsical "cochon" knob and a standard one. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
27 of 27(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aubrey
,TX
March 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite oven roasting pot
March 22, 2016
I love this pot! It's perfect for browning on top of stove then finishing the dish in the oven. It's not only functional but attractive as well. Because of the weight I leave it out on the stove top so I don't have to store it. I have it in Sapphire blue and love the color. Staub makes a wonderful product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Prescott
,AZ
March 3, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
STAUB Round Wide
March 3, 2016
I just counted! I now own 13 Staub pieces in my Staub collection (addiction). I love every one of them and sold off all my Le Crueset pieces in favor of Staub. Did not like the light color interiors of LC and the lighter weight of LC. This cookware is amazing! I own both the 4 qt and the 6 qt versions of this particular piece. For those of you that are storage space challenged, Enclume makes an 8 tier hammered steel pot stand that will hold all your Staub cookware in one 20" x20" space. Well in my case, not all. I do nest my oval au gratin dishes on the pot stand, but they are designed to nest together. The Colbalt Blue is my very favorite color, it's gorgeous!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: none
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lake Forest
,IL
January 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Love Love this stuff
January 13, 2016
I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he never stops using it. Its great for soups and sauces. I did a small roast in it the other day. It is self seasoning and only gets better with use. The Self Basting Lids are tried and true and work perfectly.
Staub is much more functional and usable than LC. I was never a fan of the enameled interior that LC has. They are more run of the mill than Staub. Most people have no idea who or what Staub is.
I have quite a few pieces and have just added more with the After Christmas Sales. Only problem I face is adequate storage space because I don't stack.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, functional cocotte!
October 22, 2015
Love, love, love Staub. And the cochon finial is a nice, sturdy handle.
Bought it in basil, a rich, dark green. The pictures don't do it justice.
Very convenient that I can brown, then slow cook in the oven. One pot meals work for me - especially when the results are perfection.
Wonderful bonuses that it looks so good on the table and that it keeps the food hot.
Great addition to my multi-color Staub cookware collection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Bradford
,MA
May 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Red is Really Brown
May 23, 2015
I received this dutch oven and the color was wrong, which is why I'm only giving it 4 stars. It's really brown and not red, though the picture and description are red. I'm so disappointed!! Other than the color issue, it's a very heavy and a very well made cocotte. I'm heartbroken that I have to return it! I was hoping to exchange it for a different color but all of the Staub colors are too dark for my kitchen. If their colors work for you, this is a really beautiful and well made dutch oven.
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Brighton
,Co
April 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm in Love!
April 21, 2015
I have several Le Creuset dutch ovens in different sizes and colors. I was about to buy another and decided to go with the Staub 6 qt. this time. Best decision I have ever made. The color and design is incredible, the inside is black instead of white. This really cooks evenly and the cleanup is easier than Le Creuset. Don't get me wrong, I love my LC, but this Staub is my new favorite. I have a 3 1/2qt LC, a 7qt LC, and a 10 and 13 LC. I think I'm set with my sizes now. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Fairfield
,CT
February 12, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weighs a Ton
February 12, 2015
Difficult to store. Weighs a ton.
But I love, love, love it!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Georgetown
,Ke
January 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
go to pot in the kitchen
January 13, 2015
I recvd this for christmas . what a wonderful gift from hubby. It is the best item and most beautiful in the kitchen. I call it the wonder pot. It creates wonderful one pot meals. Looks gorgeous hanging on the above coubterr pot rack too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Garden Valley
,CA
Northern California
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for so many things!
April 8, 2014
I really love this pan, sure it weighs a ton, but it's worth it's weight! It's beautiful to look at and really performs. We are convinced that every single thing we've made in this pan (and the oval cocotte I bought first) somehow tastes better than made in other pans in the past! This is a great size for stews, soups, roasting, braising, a bit larger than my oval.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Madison
,ME
Maine
February 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best in my kitchen!
February 5, 2014
Thanks to an amazing husband and a mild Williams-Sonoma addiction, I have a very well equipped kitchen but he Staub was a purchase I put off for years. I purchased one in graphite for myself and one in red for my daughter-in-law- pictured below. I thought it would great fun to exchange recipes because we both love to cook.
I chose graphite because I have white cabinets, italian marble counter tops and stainless steel appliances The piece is much more attractive than the pictures due to the depth of the finish and looks great in that setting
So far I've made Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic and Flemish Beef Stew. Both could only be described as perfection.
The high temperature at which we can brown meat in this Cocotte is impressive. Yet, a few minutes later, it caramelize onions that are a thing of beauty-then into the oven with that wonderfully heavy lid with the self basting design. No hot spots and exceptionally even browning. It's just a dream to work with.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, looks amazing, ws backs the purchase, ws customer service
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Punta Gorda
,FL
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
As Beautiful as Effective for Moister Meat
November 29, 2013
I have wanted a Staub or Le Crueset French oven for years. I was concerned about the weight for storing the pot but decided I could just leave it on top of the stove all the time because it is so beautiful, particularly when we saw the pig and the rooster knobs. We chose the Staub because the non-staining black interior, overall finish, and the bumps on the interior lid design, and slightly lower price differentiated it from Le Creuset (that are also excellent products). If you don't want to leave it on your stove, put it on your counter to enjoy the beauty. The colors are amazing. The pot is worth the price and I just wish I had gotten it years ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING!! GET ONE NOW!
November 21, 2013
This is my new favorite piece of cookware in my kitchen. Its wonderfully versatile and just makes everything so delicious. I waited for a sale to purchase, to put my husband at ease. When my brand new beautiful green Cocotte arrived I was ecstatic! It browns meat perfectly. Trust me, you will not regret your purchase! I also love the look much much better than Le Creuset.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: none!!
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aspen
,CO
Colorado
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Size
September 23, 2013
This cast iron oven is the perfect size for most any use. You can braise a large roast, a couple legs of lamb, or an entire large chicken. The heat distribution is excellent, and the interior enamel coating cleans easily. The color is perfect, a muted red, and the lid fits nicely. Slight caution - this pot is heavy (which in reality is a plus) !!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Montgomery
,Al
July 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good pot but not 12 1/2 in. Diameter
July 18, 2013
I am a huge staub fan. I started with a le cruiser piece but didn't like e way the inside scratched so easily. Plus wasn't a huge fan of their colours. When I saw the blue staub pot sitting in my williams Sonoma store I fell in love and bought one. I loved it . Use it a lot more than I thought I would. I then bought the 5 3/4 coq a vin pot . I bought this one because I needed a wider pot and the 12 1/2 width sounded just right. However when I got it did not measure up. The width at the top is about 11 in. And the base is smaller. More around 10-10 1/2 in. I was very disappointed so will be returning this since it basically gies me the same floor space as the coq a vin. Again, my only gripe is e size is smaller than noted in description, otherwise quality and performance of staub is excellent.
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,albuquerque
,nm
July 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful and functional
July 2, 2013
I now own 3 Staub products, 2 cocottes and one cocotte in the shape of a pumpkin.
This round wide cocotte with the "piggy" on top is my 3rd.
Fist, Staub products are of the highest quality enameled cast iron available.
The use of the dark matte interior does tend to self season over time as the item gets used more often. The cocotte cleans well either by hand or dishwasher.
I appreciate the bumps inside the lid as that does make meats more moist.
All knobs are high quality metal, no plastic.
The playful animal knobs make a fun conversation piece at dinner and do make the presentation French. These knobs are very well made and are easy to hold for removing the lid.
All Staub colors are beautiful and add to your presentation as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, artistic appearance, animal knobs
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Alexandria
,VA
Alexandria, VA
May 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I used this for Easter
May 3, 2013
and loved it. It comes with 2 lid knobs. The pig, shown, and a plain one to use while cooking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Edwardsville
,IL
April 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite New Pot!
April 2, 2013
The quality of this pot is so impressive. I knew it would be good, but when I opened the box I was bowled over by it's weight, beautiful color and design. The pot comes with both a pig and standard handle which are very cute and gives you options for cooking/serving. The design for self basting and heavy material is perfect for creating delicious meals. Le Creuset was previously my favorite heavy cookware, but I think Staub is even better. You won't be disappointed if you purchase this pot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Evergreen
,CO
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How did I cook without this?
March 26, 2013
I love this Staub cocette more than I can say! I use it three or four times a week. I bought it thinking I wasn't sure how to use a Dutch oven, and am not sure I do now, but I have used it for so many other dishes that I hadn't anticipated. I have browned porkchops and then braised them in sauce, cooked chicken parmesan, and several of my pasta dishes which turned out better than ever before, and even tried cooking my stir fry! The pan heats so quickly, browns so wonderfully, and holds the heat so well that you are able to cook on low to medium at most. It is also nice and deep so that cooking batches of pasta or stews are no problem. I can't say enough about how wonderful this cocette is, and may even try to use it in a traditional way one of these days by trying a roasted chicken or beef bourguignone! Oh and it is gorgeous to look at. I got the basil and the color is deep and rich and the cute pig on the top lid is quite the coversation piece!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San antonio
,Tx
March 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pot to make stews
March 5, 2013
Love this pot!!! Great for slow cooking and it look great too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Wide Cocotte, 6-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jamestown
,TN
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for Baking
December 27, 2012
Baked Cornish Hens they turned out absolutely beautiful. Very tender and a golden brown on breast and drumsticks.
Easy to clean:)
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
page1 2 next