Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte

Cast iron's unparalleled ability to retain heat makes this oven a great choice for slow cooking homemade chili or a hearty stew. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a textured surface that results in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices directly back down on top of the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil, Graphite and Emerald pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.912 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
34 of 34(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BionicBear
July 20, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HELP PLEASE !
July 20, 2014
I love the 5.5Qrt Cocette I just bought.
BUT, I NEED HELP to choose either of 2 sets [2 separate deals, at about same price]: a 9qrt cocotte [round] and 12" frypan; OR a 7qrt round cocotte, 10" frypan, 12" grill pan, 1.25qrt cocotte.
This first are the 2 individual items I wanted, but then I saw the 4 item deal [2nd deal] and wondered if I would be foolish not to get that instead, as price almost same for the lot.
...I don't know what a 1.25qrt would be useful for, as so small. I love the 5.5qrt cocotte I already own, but think I might need a bigger one. Can't work out if 7qrt or 9qrt more useful. I thought 12" better for my family of 4, but the 4 pce deal might be worth settling with a 10". Can people give me feedback, I'm so torn: am I better with the 4 piece deal, or the 2 I was originally going to get. Our shops don't sell them for me to see them in person, and it's so hard to judge size and use from online pictures.
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cshieh
,Jersey City
,NJ
June 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love my Staub!
June 10, 2014
I’ve always been a fan of cast iron cookware. After owning a Lodge bare cast iron skillet (absolutely love it) that food just browns and tastes better, I decided to invest in a enamel cast iron, so I can cook tomatoes in it. When it comes to choosing between Le Creuset or Staub, Staub just looks so much more appealing to me. The self-basting spikes in the lid collect steam and drop back to the meat like rainfall! Also the Staub knob is already oven-proof nickel-plated steel, unlike the LC’s phenolic knob, which is only oven-proof to certain extend, and I am just not as comfortable having it in the oven. Would have to purchase the stainless knob to replace if buying a LC. Everything cooked and browned beautifully. The heavy lid traps all the moisture in without leaking (which will eventually stain the exterior). I am so happy with my first purchase (sapphire 4qt cocotte) that I went ahead to purchase another graphite gray 3.75qt! This is only the beginning of my Staub collection!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpstat
April 12, 2014
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding quality and vibrant colors
April 12, 2014
I have four of these cocottes ( 2 3/4, 5, 9, 13 qt). I use 2 3/4 and 13 qt the most. To my surprise 13 qt is being used regularly. Heat retention is outstanding. Nothing can be compared to Staub evenly distributed heat for larger pots. I use 13 qt cocotte for egg plant caviar and fruit preserves making lots of those at a time to can in Kilner clip top jars. That lasts for a few weeks for my family until the next batch. A 2 3/4 qt cocotte is a perfect size for soups for 2 people. I am really happy with Staub. Outstanding quality and vibrant colors.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Design
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SueSue2
New York
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, if you need and use it
March 10, 2014
I purchased the Staub 5 1/2 quart round cocotte and it does everything it promises. It seems to be the right size for most everything. I especially like that the interior is dark and the lid fits tightly and has the well placed "bumps". It's so well made, I'm sure I'll pass it on to one of my neices. It is very heavy like the other reviewers mentioned, especially when full with food. But, there's a reason I've gone 30 years of marraige without a dutch oven....I just don't cook the type of food that requires one. I tend to bake, saute, and pan fry our food for just the 2 of us. And my saucepans do a fine job with spaghetti sauce and gravies, etc.
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrooklynKitchen
,Brooklyn
,NY
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth every penny
February 1, 2014
The 7 qt. round cocotte was on my Christmas list but I waited until I saw sale at local WS store in Jan. Have cooked several soups and roasted chicken in it so far - use it several times a week. What can I add to the raves here? My recipes have never tasted so good - incredible flavors and chicken is super moist. Don't wait - spend the money! You'll have a chef at your side in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FogCityReviewer
San Francisco, CA
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub 9 Quart Cocotte - Red
January 24, 2014
This is my second Staub purchase. The first was the grill pan which is awesome.
I purchased the cocotte a month ago and there is no doubt I will have years of great meals from it. It's expensive but the quality and performance are worth it.
I read several reviews where people questioned the Williams-Sonoma exclusive red color. The red is not the same as "grenadine" or "cherry red" that other stores carry. The Williams-Sonoma red is an orange-red; earthy red; rusty red. The color will look different in different light, like the Grand Canyon, and looks much better in my kitchen, day or night, than in the store.
Should you buy Le Creuset or Staub? Do what I did. But pieces of each brand. You can't go wrong.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sapgrrl
November 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where have you been all my life???
November 12, 2013
I bought the 2.75 quart round cocotte after much soul-searching and shopping around, and I could not be more pleased. Within a week of it's arrival I used it 5 times to make biryanis, soups, and pastas. It does a wonderful job of browning, braising, and simmering while being beautiful and easy to care for. I am definitely coming back to buy more pieces. Thank you, Williams Sonoma for making such wonderful products available to us with your superior pricing and service!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, inspiring
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu
,Asheville
,NC
Asheville, NC
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
November 5, 2013
I have had this cocotte for about four months. I absolutely love this for cooking chili, soup and delightful French food (based on the recipes in the Staub welcome book enclosed with your cocotte). The cocotte retains heat beautifully so you can cook on a low heat...never go above medium. No need. I don't like to stir so I never have to worry about burning my food. The cocotte cleans up amazingly well. Do not use abrasive anything on this cocotte. It just takes a few minutes to soak in mild detergent and then use a plain sponge to clean. I always use a little olive oil to season prior to cooking. I purchased the 5.5 quart basil. I leave it on my cooktop so I can enjoy its beauty. It's my favorite cookware!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jimmyt
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 27, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The gold standard for soups and stews
October 27, 2013
I use this pot for beef stews and vegetable soups all the time. The heavy cast iron puts a nice brown on meats and because it's enameled it is great for soups with tomato content.
Highly recommended, get the largest size you can so you can make enough for leftovers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Shape
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CoolLanie
,Cool
,Ca
August 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost perfect
August 29, 2013
The grill pan is great..well, almost. The clean-up is difficult because of the raised grill lines. They are difficult to clean in between. Otherwise, I love the pan
Pros: Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
s82v
Fort Worth, TX
Posted November 12, 2013
The OXO Panini Brush William Sonoma sells works perfectly for the grill pan. It drove me batty I couldn't get it as clean as I wanted without a toothbrush. It also works fantastic on the Belgian waffle irons.
 
My Recommendations
 
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MTodd
,North Canton
,Oh
June 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for slow brazing dishes
June 3, 2013
Purchased the Staub to replace our Le Creuset pot we had for 30 years. Having had both I prefer the Staub because the inside black enamel finish does does not stain and is easy to clean.
We have found the pot hold its temp and is great for both stove top and oven.
Pros: black enamel does not stain
Cons: pot handles will get hot on stove top so take care
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodieJane
,Boston
,MA
April 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub is the best cocotte
April 19, 2013
I love my 4 qt. round Staub cocotte and use it to prepare everything from meatballs to chili to anything braised. It is especially good for braising because the small knobs on the lid act as basters by letting the moisture that builds up on the lid fall back onto the food, so you don't have to waste time constantly checking on and basting the meat -- also why I prefer Staub over Le Creuset. It's very sturdy and I know it will last a lifetime. I'm just saving for a larger model, as the 4 qt. isn't big enough for large batch cooking. The sapphire blue color is beautiful!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12Alexis
,Boston
,MA
March 3, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice addition to my cooking arsenal.
March 3, 2013
I've been eyeballing this sapphire blue round cocotte for months now, so I finally decided to take it home . We've had it for about a year now. What a fantastic purchase! It braises beautifully! I also use it for almost everything, roasting chicken, even proofing bread! My husband is a chef and we love to cook at home this is a wonderful addition to our mauviel pots and pans. Top quality, nice heavy weight, even heat spread, great heavy lid, and a super easy cleanup believe it or not. Now if my oven and induction top could cleanup this easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
February 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A good buy
February 18, 2013
I own several Le Creuset Dutch ovens but needed a 9 quart for a party. My WS did not have a 9 quart round LC in stock so I thought I'd give the Staub a shot. A plus is that the Staubs are less expensive than LC.
The emerald green is beautiful. The dark matte interior did take me a bit to adjust to since I was so used to the other dutch ovens. Overall the Staub coquette performs well. I think its simply a preference between the sand color interior of the LC (which does stain a bit over time but doesn't bother me as it reminds me of the fabulous meals made in it), or the dark matte interior of the Staub. Both are heavy and should count towards workout points!
I love both brands so no favoritism either way and both are authentic, made in France companies.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Color, Size
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EddySal
,Monroeville
,PA
Glassboro, NJ
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like it. (2.75q)
January 29, 2013
Perfect size for side dishes and I want another. Great for rice, pasta for 2-3 people, beans, veggies, etc. Like all cast iron you need to give it some time to heat up but once heated up cooks evenly.
It is heavy if you need to strain pasta. Cleans easily but difficult to maneuver in the sink.
Fit and finish is outstanding.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homecook274
,washington
,DC
January 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely the best!
January 28, 2013
Love my new Staub Round Cocotte. What an incredible piece of cookware.....I have owned my new Staub for about a month and have made beautiful sauces, stews, chili, and chicken dishes. It is truly a work-horse in the kitchen. The clean-up is a snap. I bought the 7 quart emerald green...beautiful! It will last a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebwt
,Richmond
,VA
Richmond, VA
January 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow and WOW!
January 19, 2013
In over 40 years of cooking, I have NEVER used anything as wonderful as these cocottes. Great heat conduction, excellent browning, oven to table, and easy-peasy clean-up. I received a 4 qt. oval for Christmas and have already made amazing chicken fricassee, boeuf bourguignon, and braised lamb. The new 7 qt. round is on the stove now making beef stock and will do chili tomorrow.
Heavy? Yes. Expensive? Yes. But you will NOT regret this purchase. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NOLADave
,New Orleans
,LA
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best pot ever in the history of pots!
January 17, 2013
First, I was born and raised in New Orleans and I know my food. Second, I love to cook. Third, I have an abundance of cookware; mostly aluminum and some copper. I have had up until now only one iron piece; an iron skillet; a must for any kitchen. I wanted to make larger pots of gumbo, red beans, roasts, stews, etc. because I like to have folks over for dinner and I LOVE leftovers!!! I bought a Staub 13.25qt. Cocotte. It was nearly $400 so easily the most expensive pot in the kitchen for me. I love this pot. I've only had the pot about a month. I use it every week. It browns better, holds heat better, is a breeze to clean (but when full can easily be 25-30#) and makes everything I thought was great before even better. I will buy more of these pots and throw out all of the others that I have collected through the years. I'll have to do it slowly for financial reasons....but it will be done!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DirectorDomesticOps
,San Antonio
,TX
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will last longer than me....
January 1, 2013
We needed a larger dutch oven (oops, I mean Cocotte) so we purchased the 9 qt. version. I can't imagine this fabulous pot ever wearing out, or needing to be replaced. The finish is beautiful and seems to clean up much better than LC (you know who I mean) - which I've purchased dozens of their pots, but I do think Staub is a more substantial product with easier clean-up. Turns out remarkable dishes - Love it!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mel10
,Alpharetta
,GA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub: beautiful quality, easy care
January 1, 2013
I bought this cocotte as a gift because I love the one I bought for myself. It's absolutely gorgeous, browns meat better than anything I've ever tried (including Le Cruset), functions perfectly for roasting, cleans up easily without scrubbing, and can go from oven to table. I highly recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, oven to table, browns meat beautifully
page1 2 next