Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Heavy lids to seal in moisture paired with heat-retaining cast iron make this oven ideal for slow cooking homemade chili or a hearty stew. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Color selections feature multicoat enameling to create a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a textured surface that results in better browning. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices directly back down on top of the food for more even basting. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.936 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
47 of 47(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Big Bear City
,CA
August 9, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Practical as well as gorgeous!
August 9, 2016
This is a great cooking pot. And a big plus is that clean up is easy! It looks so good...I keep it on my stovetop. I have other Staub products & they have all lived up to the Staub reputation.
Pros: Color, Design, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Quality, Size
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
April 9, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Investment
April 9, 2016
The Staub Dutch Oven is the most expensive pan that I have ever purchased and I'm extremely happy with it. It is not only a beautifully crafted oven, but it cooks amazing. Everything that I have made in it has come out very tender & tasty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Cons: expensive
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,McLean
,Va
February 18, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super for slow roasting and brazing
February 18, 2016
For 55 years I have used Cast iron pots and Dutch ovens. I still use my Griswald cast iron skillet and Dutch oven. I love the 13 quart size of the Staub cast-iron cocotte. I love to double the recipe to eat one and freeze the other (or to give a sick friend). It is easy to clean up and to care for..
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Asheville
,NC
New York, NY
December 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cocette on the Market
December 5, 2015
I own both the Le Creuset and Staub cocettes and as much as I love my 7 1/4 LC, I feel the Staub is even better. The Staub lid has bumps which allow the steam to drip back down to the food quicker than a flat lid. This gives you constant self basting and keeps the food moist. The bottom has a rough texture which allows for more fond when you are searing and browning so you get more of those yummy extra flavors to create even more depth of flavor to a slow cooked dish. It is heavy and I don't necessarily like the fact that the interior is black which makes it hard to see if you got everything clean.....but these are little issues. I get a lot of flavorful meals out of this pot and the color options are beautiful to boot.
Pros: Durable, Design, Quality, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Colorado Springs
,CO
December 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub 5.5 Quart Round (Black)
December 1, 2015
I bought this Staub 2 weeks ago and I already went back and bought its oval cousin. The 5.5 quart size works great for my family of 3. I have gone out-of-my-way to cook different foods in it and all have been successful. The lids DO rock a slight bit. I researched and found that is a design aspect of the pot. Both of my Staubs have the same behavior, and they both seal just fine. For instance, earlier this week I boiled water for pasta...not a steam was given! Follow the instructions which say to lightly oil the pot before use. I use Olive Oil, not EVOO. Warm the pot up slowly. Add oil to brown meat. Nothing sticks. I use a plastic bristle brush to clean it out and then hand wash like normal for a clean pot. I recommend purchasing in whatever size you decide on! I went with black because the entire pot was the same color, but the colored versions are works of art.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Honolulu
,HI
November 9, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite soup and stew pot
November 9, 2015
I love the size of this round cocotte. Very functional for someone who loves soups. I also have the braiser which I also love. Treasures of my kitchen. Also just purchased this round cocotte as an xmas gift for the sis and in-law.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Ramon
,CA
October 17, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
KITCHEN JEWELS
October 17, 2015
I am glad to be asked to review my purchase of 3 dark blue 2.75 quart Staub Dutch ovens.
I final-proof and bake my round bread loaves in Dutch ovens to retain moisture, thus saving on having to buy a very expensive (and probably messy) steam oven.
Versus splitting my double-loaf dough between two larger Lodge combi-cookers, these 3 Staubs make slightly taller, personal-sized loaves that cook more evenly than in the Lodge cast-iron ovens. These Staubs are much easier to handle and clean than the Lodges and become absolute kitchen jewels if left out on the counter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kelseyville
,CA
July 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Pot!!
July 26, 2015
This cocotte is a wonderful addition to my kitchen collection. It's nice and heavy and holds in the flavors beautifully of foods .I have made lamb stew and chicken cacciatore with great results. Plus it's a beautiful piece for serving, I got the midnight blue and it's gorgeous. I would highly recommend the Staub.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Katy
,TX
May 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great heavy Duty Pot
May 26, 2015
Good looking, fine quality and got a good price from Williams Sonoma. It is heavy so don't recommend this to people with strength issues in the arms and/or hands. Rated this difficult to store only because it is a very large 9-1/2 quart Pot with Lid so you need a lot of storage space in your kitchen.
Pros: Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oklahoma City
,OK
March 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Little Dutch Oven
March 1, 2015
I bought the 4 quart cocotte in cherry when it was on sale for black Friday. Its probably one of the best cookware pieces I own. Prior to purchasing this piece I didn't own a dutch oven and now I use it all the time. I have an electric stove and it works great. While it is extremely heavy it cooks my food extremely well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,AZ
February 17, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Cast-Iron
February 17, 2015
I received the Sapphire Blue 5.5 quart Cocotte as a gift a couple weeks ago. It is my favorite piece to cook with now! Not only is it a beautiful piece, the food turns out excellent and the cleanup is so easy. I find myself purposely choosing recipes that require a dutch oven just so I can use it.
The 5.5 quart was the perfect starting piece for me. It is very versatile. I can't wait to start adding more Staub to my cookware collection.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CityLiving
Chicago, IL
Posted October 19, 2015
Staubs are addictive
Your last statement is so true. Cooking in a Staub is such a joy you want to cook everything in them. Then you start looking for excuses to buy more. I started off with 1 oval cocotte last Thanksgiving, and now I have 3 cocottes, 4 mini cocottes, and the roasting pans. All gorgeous!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Geneva
,Il
October 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cute Cocotte
October 7, 2014
Love the color (saffron), love the quality, ease of use and clean-up.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Athens
,GA
September 21, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love My 5.5Qt Cocotte
September 21, 2014
I purchased this item a few months ago and I love it!!! It holds heat extremely well. I can boil a stew or Gumbo at very low temperatures. I have seared meat in it in preparation for a stew. It is practical and beautiful!!! I don't regret choosing Staub over Le Creuset. I can't wait to add more pieces.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 20, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HELP PLEASE !
July 20, 2014
I love the 5.5Qrt Cocette I just bought.
BUT, I NEED HELP to choose either of 2 sets [2 separate deals, at about same price]: a 9qrt cocotte [round] and 12" frypan; OR a 7qrt round cocotte, 10" frypan, 12" grill pan, 1.25qrt cocotte.
This first are the 2 individual items I wanted, but then I saw the 4 item deal [2nd deal] and wondered if I would be foolish not to get that instead, as price almost same for the lot.
...I don't know what a 1.25qrt would be useful for, as so small. I love the 5.5qrt cocotte I already own, but think I might need a bigger one. Can't work out if 7qrt or 9qrt more useful. I thought 12" better for my family of 4, but the 4 pce deal might be worth settling with a 10". Can people give me feedback, I'm so torn: am I better with the 4 piece deal, or the 2 I was originally going to get. Our shops don't sell them for me to see them in person, and it's so hard to judge size and use from online pictures.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Charon
Georgia
Posted September 21, 2014
My comment is late. I am sure you made a decision by now. I'll add my two cents anyway. I would choose the two piece deal. I also already have a 5.5Qt. I recently made a Gumbo in it and it was filled to the brim. This is ok as I was preparing it for just my husband and I. I decided I needed a bigger cocotte to prepare stews and Gumbos when I have guests over. I also need a 12" fry pan as my 9" Le Creuset is only big enough to sear two pieces of small pork chops. I say all this to point out that the larger cocotte and fry pan comes in handy. I don't think a 1.25Qt is useful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jersey City
,NJ
June 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
13of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love my Staub!
June 10, 2014
I’ve always been a fan of cast iron cookware. After owning a Lodge bare cast iron skillet (absolutely love it) that food just browns and tastes better, I decided to invest in a enamel cast iron, so I can cook tomatoes in it. When it comes to choosing between Le Creuset or Staub, Staub just looks so much more appealing to me. The self-basting spikes in the lid collect steam and drop back to the meat like rainfall! Also the Staub knob is already oven-proof nickel-plated steel, unlike the LC’s phenolic knob, which is only oven-proof to certain extend, and I am just not as comfortable having it in the oven. Would have to purchase the stainless knob to replace if buying a LC. Everything cooked and browned beautifully. The heavy lid traps all the moisture in without leaking (which will eventually stain the exterior). I am so happy with my first purchase (sapphire 4qt cocotte) that I went ahead to purchase another graphite gray 3.75qt! This is only the beginning of my Staub collection!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
April 12, 2014
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding quality and vibrant colors
April 12, 2014
I have four of these cocottes ( 2 3/4, 5, 9, 13 qt). I use 2 3/4 and 13 qt the most. To my surprise 13 qt is being used regularly. Heat retention is outstanding. Nothing can be compared to Staub evenly distributed heat for larger pots. I use 13 qt cocotte for egg plant caviar and fruit preserves making lots of those at a time to can in Kilner clip top jars. That lasts for a few weeks for my family until the next batch. A 2 3/4 qt cocotte is a perfect size for soups for 2 people. I am really happy with Staub. Outstanding quality and vibrant colors.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Design
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New York
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, if you need and use it
March 10, 2014
I purchased the Staub 5 1/2 quart round cocotte and it does everything it promises. It seems to be the right size for most everything. I especially like that the interior is dark and the lid fits tightly and has the well placed "bumps". It's so well made, I'm sure I'll pass it on to one of my neices. It is very heavy like the other reviewers mentioned, especially when full with food. But, there's a reason I've gone 30 years of marraige without a dutch oven....I just don't cook the type of food that requires one. I tend to bake, saute, and pan fry our food for just the 2 of us. And my saucepans do a fine job with spaghetti sauce and gravies, etc.
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Brooklyn
,NY
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth every penny
February 1, 2014
The 7 qt. round cocotte was on my Christmas list but I waited until I saw sale at local WS store in Jan. Have cooked several soups and roasted chicken in it so far - use it several times a week. What can I add to the raves here? My recipes have never tasted so good - incredible flavors and chicken is super moist. Don't wait - spend the money! You'll have a chef at your side in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
San Francisco, CA
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub 9 Quart Cocotte - Red
January 24, 2014
This is my second Staub purchase. The first was the grill pan which is awesome.
I purchased the cocotte a month ago and there is no doubt I will have years of great meals from it. It's expensive but the quality and performance are worth it.
I read several reviews where people questioned the Williams-Sonoma exclusive red color. The red is not the same as "grenadine" or "cherry red" that other stores carry. The Williams-Sonoma red is an orange-red; earthy red; rusty red. The color will look different in different light, like the Grand Canyon, and looks much better in my kitchen, day or night, than in the store.
Should you buy Le Creuset or Staub? Do what I did. But pieces of each brand. You can't go wrong.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Round Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
November 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where have you been all my life???
November 12, 2013
I bought the 2.75 quart round cocotte after much soul-searching and shopping around, and I could not be more pleased. Within a week of it's arrival I used it 5 times to make biryanis, soups, and pastas. It does a wonderful job of browning, braising, and simmering while being beautiful and easy to care for. I am definitely coming back to buy more pieces. Thank you, Williams Sonoma for making such wonderful products available to us with your superior pricing and service!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, inspiring
page1 2 3 next