Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan

Staub's do-it-all pan lives up to its name, providing the ultimate cooking vessel for an impressive variety of favorite foods. Making a beautiful transition from the stovetop or oven to your dining table, this ultra-versatile pan is great for everything from slow-simmering soups, stews and chili to braising meats, poultry and vegetables. Or use it without the lid for stir-frying, deep-frying, sauteing or baking casseroles. Glossy multi-coat enameling ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Heavy glass lid lets you monitor cooking-and seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob is made of nickel-plated brass. Includes wooden cooking chopsticks, curved wooden spatula and a half-moon-shaped stainless-steel rack. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebwt
,Richmond
,VA
Richmond, VA
August 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan!
August 12, 2014
I'm perplexed by the criticisms of this pan. It has all of the quality that I expect from Staub and is wonderful for braises (when a cocotte is too large), deep frying, and rice dishes like paella and arroz con pollo that need a wider cooking surface.
I have never been disappointed with a Staub product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JBSeattle
,Seattle
,WA
June 22, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
June 22, 2014
This is my first and probably the last staub.
It's very pretty however I tried it today with scramble eggs.... very very disappointed - it's almost impossible to clean it...I would not recommend it.
Pros: Color, Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drrayeye
,Souith Pasadena
,CA
June 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Legend Continues
June 15, 2014
Staub seldom has had a smash hit product in the market place like this.
As other commentators have noted, it's not quite a true wok, but it has worked well in my first experiments with stir fried vegetables. I didn't use the half moon rack or the chopsticks, but the stirrer did the job just as well as the other tools that I own.
It works better for this task than the All Clad d5 10" fry pans that I've used in the past for this sauteeing, and the glass lid may have the edge over the stainless domed lid I use on my fry pans, though visibility through the glass lid may not be as much an advantage as I had supposed.
You might quibble about the accessories, but the pan itself is indistinguishable in quality from the other major Staub and LC pots and pans that I own.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JM49
,New York
,NY
June 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A disappointing product.
June 11, 2014
This is a "Staub" product in name only. It is clearly a lighter, cheaper second line trying to capitalize on the esteemed Staub brand. The only thing Staub about the pot is the pretty packaging. I returned this item.
Cons: returned
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rebwt
Richmond, VA
Posted August 12, 2014
Huh?
I cannot understand your criticisms. This pan has all the quality of my other Staub pieces (2 fry pans, 2 cocottes, and a saucepan). It may feel lighter because of the different shape and the glass lid, but I find it totally up to expected Staub quality.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RooksterCookster
,Houston
,TX
May 16, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, love, love it!
May 16, 2014
I received the blue Perfect Pan as a wedding gift and am in love with it. As far as the color goes, the photo does not do it justice. It truly is a beautiful pan/wok.
I tested it out last night by making my husband's favorite (goulash). It caramelized the sausage and onions perfectly and unlike my other pan, it didn't stick to the pan at all. It's also very easy to clean up. All I did was soak it a bit in hot water and soap, and ta da...done! It's also dishwasher safe, which is always a plus.
Though I haven't had this pan for long, by the look and feel of it, I know it'll last a lifetime. I can't wait to test it out on some fried rice or maybe a roast.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bergen
,Garden Valley
,CA
Northern California
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan!
April 8, 2014
It's beautiful, a great size, works like a wok, but made some great fajitas in it last night too! Cleans up easy, simply add some water, put the lid on it, bring to a boil and in 30-40 minutes wash it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Legalknitter
,Chicago
,IL
April 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty Close to Perfect
April 2, 2014
I would give this 4.5 stars if I could; it is pretty close to perfect. For decades I had a Calphalon 4 qt "chefs pan" that was perfect for recipes that involve a combination of browning and simmering, or where something deeper than a skillet was needed. I always said it was the one pan I would take while fleeing a zombie apocalypse. Sadly, that pan finally wore out. Although this one is a little more "wok-like" than my old pan (the company does call it a wok but it's a little gentler in shape than a true wok, to my mind), it comes the closest to my old beloved pan of any I've found so far. Maybe I will even end up loving it more? Classic Staub quality. Bring on the zombies!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Stkevin
Utah
Posted August 19, 2014
Staub and Zombie Apocalypse
Thanks for your review. If you're wondering what pan to take with you if you flee a Zombie Apocalypse, however, I would suggest investing in a Staub fry pan with a handle. Use the handle to swing it at the Zombies. It will be a lot easier to swing effectively than the Staub Perfect Pan and it will do a lot more damage than the Calphalon. Even Zombies who favor Le Creuset will quickly develop a healthy respect for Staub.
Seriously, I haven't invested in the Perfect Pan because I am afraid it will end up replacing (to some extent) my Staub 12 inch fry pan (Saffron) and my Le Creuset 9 inch fry pan (Indigo). I like looking at these pans when I cook almost as much as I like to cook. Is it so versatile that your other pans go unused? Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoanLS
,Bluffton
,SC
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love This Pot
February 28, 2014
I have wanted a wok for many, many years. I am glad I waited because today I bought this pot and I absolutely love it. It matches the Staub paella pan and will be useful for other things besides stir frying. Used it for dinner tonight. Wonderful! And cleanup was a breeze. Directions say to heat the pot for 5 minutes on medium before adding oil. I did that & everything worked out beautifully. Also I think the steel rim on the lid is not flimsy. It is fine and beautiful to boot. Thank you, Staub.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CecilC
,Minneapolis
,MN
February 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
15of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pan, but requires proper techniques
February 17, 2014
This pan is great for making pasta sauces. It gives the meat I brown a nice, golden brown exterior, and the "fond" forms a great base for a rich sauce. I don't need to worry about non-stick coating falling off if I cook my sauce for hours since this pan has no coating. I've done 1 stir-fry in it and love the results -- golden brown meat, crispy vegetables, the way a proper Chinese stir-fry should look. A non-stick pan usually leads to soggy meat and vegetables.
With that said, this pan does have quite a learning curve. The pan has to be hot before adding oil. Heat up the pan by boiling 2 cups of water in it. After the water boils, wait till the handles of the pan are hot to the touch. Pour the water away, wipe it dry, and add oil in it. Use MORE oil than you typically use in a non-stick. Wait till the oil is hot before adding ingredients. This should minimize sticking. Anything starchy is likely to stick; don't use this pan for fried rice or chow fun unless you use a lot of oil.
Pros: Durable, Weight, great cast iron pan that retains heat well, great for browning braising and stir-fry
Cons: takes time to learn how to use it properly, like all cast iron it takes time to heat up, can stick
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kingofcool
San Francisco
Posted June 4, 2014
No water before stir frying
You do not have to boil water, empty, and dry the pan before heating the oil in it.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheGablesInn
,Santa Rosa
,CA
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Pan
February 1, 2014
This pan is perfect when a dutch oven is just too big. And it has incredible versatility.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappiestCook
,Clovis
,CA
Tx
January 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I lovvvvve it
January 29, 2014
I bought this pan to replace my skillet, which I have been using for stir fry, I needed something deeper. This product is perfect to use as wok or just every day pan. It is 12 inches across, fits nicely in my sink, any bigger wont fit and will be hard to wash. The quality of the pan is top notch as you would expect, the lid though is a hair cheap looking, the metal rim is thin, just doesn't feel as good as the pan itself. However I think the price is pretty good, so I am ok with it. I have been cooking in the pan every day since I bought it, I just love the design of the pan, the curvature of the side make it so easy to stir, since I do a lot of stir fry, this is really good. Best of all, it doesn't stick, I was actually expecting more sticking, but if you bring the heat to medium (slowly), once the pan is hot, add your oil, then add whatever you want to cook, it won't stick, I cook eggs in it, no sticking. I am so happy with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HappiestCook
Posted February 27, 2014
A Re-evaluation
I want to write another review after one month of use. I am down grading my initial 5/5 rating to a 3.5/5. And here is my reasoning.
This pan is very very good to use as a braiser, whenever I cook something requires initial browning and then slow simmering, this pan performs wonderfully. However the great disappointment comes when I stir fry, which is my primary reason for buying this pan. It heats up sooooooo slow, and my food never gets that "breath of wok" effect. Seems like everything steam in there, and a lot of times I found my food over cooked since it retain heat so well. This thick cast iron with enamel is not responsive to heat change, not good to use as a wok. I really wanted to like this pan, the size is perfect for just two of us, no seasoning required, easy to clean and so beautiful to look at. But in the end I can not make good stir fry in it, and I am disappointed. So if you want a braiser, I still recommend this, but if your primary propose is wanting to stir fry, than I don't recommend this pan. Hence the 3.5/5
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Perfect Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NC57
,Raleigh
,NC
January 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
19of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
January 25, 2014
This pan is more a wok than a "perfect pan." It comes with wok accessories as well! It is much steeper on the sides than it appears online. It holds less than I had hoped. While the quality is up to Staub's standard, I really did not need a second wok. I wanted an everyday pan that was versatile enough to bridge between a saute pan and a larger frying pan. This isn't it. If you use your wok as your everyday pan, this may work for you, but otherwise I would look at in a store before buying online.
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: Size, Shape
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MaddyC
Jersey Shore
Posted February 2, 2014
Shaped to fit on stovetop
I have high-end cast iron cookware in many shapes and sizes -- but I don't have a wok. Would love to have this utilitarian piece that enables stovetop braising, stir-frying or in-oven braising. Because its footprint is burner-sized, it ensures even cooking on a stove top. Not everyone has the luxury of a large oven, so this piece is a great multi-purpose option. I would love to use it to braise baby spareribs pre-rubbed in cocoa,cinnamon and ancho in a beer-spiked mole. Mmmm!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)