Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte

Cast iron's unparalleled ability to retain heat makes this oven a great choice for slow cooking hearty stews and soups as well as braising and roasting meats and poultry. It pairs an extra-wide cooking surface with shallow sides that enhance the browning of food. The oval shape is ideal for longer cuts of meat and for small poultry such as chickens, quails and Cornish hens. The pan's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops, including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices directly back down on top of the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob is made of nickel-plated brass. 14" x 9" x 5 3/4" high; 13.4 lbs. 4-qt. cap. Made in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bergen
,Garden Valley
,CA
Northern California
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I'm in love!
April 8, 2014
Always wanted a pan like this and finally bought it! Loved it so much that I immediately sent one to my sister. She loves it too! They cook amazingly, are beautiful enough to serve out of and will last a lifetime....or maybe more?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hotbug
,Gresham
,OR
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this pan
December 1, 2013
Great size for a small family, well made and great addition to my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,jackson
,nj
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have for browning!
November 21, 2013
While I'm normally a Le Creuset gal, I gave this Staub pot a try and I must say, I want more. I got amazing browning with it, it's become my go to pot for chili. The colors are gorgeous and clean up is quick.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JerseyTomato
,Spring Lake
,Nj
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Size, Beautiful Product
September 15, 2013
Using this as a Dutch oven. This, like all Staub products is beautiful, easy to clean, cooks perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scholargypsy
,AL
July 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile Pot
July 28, 2013
This Staub cocotte is simply excellent! Great aesthetic and great function--looks good and cooks good. What more could you want?!
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChrisOfOregon
,Eagle Point
,Or
June 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent - Easy cleaning
June 13, 2013
An excellent and beautiful heavy duty pot. Great for country ribs on a bed of onions. Easy to make, easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
E30M3Speedy
,Philadelphia
,PA
June 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Every Penny
June 5, 2013
I first saw Staub cookware in a local kitchen store and the looks took my breath away; unfortunately, so did the price. Since I already own le Creuset and it seemed to do the same job, I convinced myself I didn't need it. Then I saw the graphite color. It is GORGEOUS. When Williams-Sonoma put their cookware on sale, I decided to bite the bullet and buy the oval Cocotte--which was a size I did not already have. The first meal I made was an eye round roast. Oh my God was I wrong about not needing this. I got a fabulous sear and was then able to make an incredible gravy (from a cut of meat that does not typically make great gravy)--it was ALL the pan. The next attempt was Ina Garten's chicken with mushrooms, which is kind of a braised dish--PERFECT and it cleaned up in snap. I am now saving for other sizes. Oh, and the graphite is THE color to get--so elegant! I will never understand why my local WS store does not carry this color.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Circe
,Philadelphia
,PA
May 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sold on Staub
May 30, 2013
This is a really great pot. As the reviews have said, the food remains juicy and flavorful. I have electric cooking, and food tends to cook too fast, but with Staub, those worries have vanished. I made the chicken chausseur from the booklet that comes with pot -- It was perfect.
Only complaint is that pot is a little small, and so I ordered the Memorial Day special round cocott- 6 qt. I'm throwing away other pots.
I had a little problem with sticking recently, and so will apply oil after cleaning as some reviewers suggest.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uniqueurbane
,Los Angeles
,CA
March 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A perfect buy
March 28, 2013
This will become my 'go-to' cookware when it comes to braising chicken and making stews. The even heating assured uniform cooking, the lid seals in the moisture, so the chicken was tender and flavorful, and the color and design makes it such a standout product in the kitchen. Very pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judyanne
,Chicago suburbs
,Il
Chicago area
March 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
March 8, 2013
Have several Staub dutch ovens in different sizes and they all perform terrifically. Many recipes I used to cook on the stove top I now use the Staub pots in the oven which eliminates the risk of scorching and cooks gently for delicious tender results. Use the one pot for the entire process -braising, cooking, serving. The pot is very easy to clean (by hand), and a light coat of oil when I put it away helps insure a long life.
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hottee
,Chicago
,IL
February 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent pot
February 23, 2013
I love my oval 4 qt cocotte it came much sooner than I thought it would it is great for cooking almost anything this is the perfect size for side dishes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betty4598
,La Plata
,MD
February 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this!
February 1, 2013
First of all, it's an absolutely beautiful pot! I got it in basil which is a gorgeous deep spruce green with several layers to the color. I've cooked chicken and beef in the pot a few times so far using my friend's balsamic rosemary mixture. Everything was delicious and the flavors of the vegetables are intense after roasting in this pan. My goal was to end my dependency on frozen dinners and this is the perfect solution because cooking couldn't be easier, with more satisfying results. This is my first ever dutch oven, and I'm so glad I got a good one. Easy to clean and really not too heavy. This shape and size is a Williams Somona exclusive and I like that it browns meat well and that it will allow placement of a lot of food in a single layer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing, Gorgeous Cocotte!
December 22, 2012
When I opened the package today, I was happily stunned by the beautiful Basil color. The basil color is a very deep green, and has a beautiful glossy finish. Just absolutely GORGEOUS in every way! I coated the inside with a little coconut oil, and I heated up some soup. The pot is a stunner, and it performs beautifully on the stove. My food tastes better when using a staub pot. I now have 5 in my collection.. I love the "wide"oval shape, as there is more surface area. I also got a great price over the Holiday Season, it came quickly and in perfect condition. Thank you Williams Sonoma!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Wide Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KpWI
,chippewa falls
,wi
October 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub 4 qt, perfect
October 15, 2012
Did a bunch of research and decided on Staub. I am glad I did! I bought the 4 qt cocotte in saphire. First use and perfectly done ground beef with vegetables, seasoning and taco sauce. Nothing stuck! Put the covered pan in the oven and everything came out perfect..adore this! Now I want more Staub!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Versatile, Shape