Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Perfect for baking hearty gratins, crisps and casseroles, this French favorite is designed to deliver a crispy brown crust atop an evenly cooked dish. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil, Graphite and Emerald color selections feature a multicoat enameling to create a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with a low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Horsham
,PA
May 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Golden Brown Mac-N-Cheese
May 9, 2013
Staub cast iron is the best, growing up with a mom that had a Staub, I've eaten so many meals out of I had to put Staub on my Wedding Registry. I revived this Gratin Dish as a wedding gift. I've made scalped potatoes(My Great Grandma Bunnell's recipe) and Mac-N-Cheese(My Great Grandma Huggin's recipe) in this pan. Both dishes browned-up perfectly and cleaned out like a dream.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, perfect browning
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Paso Robles
,CA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Gratin Dish Ever
January 1, 2013
I absolutely love this. So far I've made both potatoes au gratin and cauliflower au gratin. Both turned out beautifully. I notice that this dish seems to help the food brown evenly, and it keeps warm for a long time, probably due to the cast iron core in Staub pans. I cannot recommend all Staub pans enough... they are first rate and beautiful as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ham Lake
,MN
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Second Gratin Baking Dish
December 31, 2012
I bought the Staub Oval Gratin Baking Dish last year. Loved it so much, I bought a second one for myself. I've made au gratin potatoes as well as cobblers in this dish. It is wonderful for smaller serving sizes. Love Staub products!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good, I bought one for my mother too
May 15, 2012
I have both sizes of these gratin dishes. They are wonderful for side dishes that you want to stay warm. I like them so much, I bought a set for my mother for Mother's Day. She is delighted and the fact that they stack within each other for storing is nice.
Pros: Durable, Color, Shape
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,LaGrange
,il
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another beauty
May 9, 2012
hot dips, appitizers, gratins, shrimp dishes. cold dips.great for entertaining, but also for the rich entree's
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Worcester
,MA
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my go-to baking dish
February 13, 2012
I love Staub's combination enamel and cast iron for all my gratins, mac and cheese, small roasts, brown bettys and other casseroles. The 11-inch size is perfect for 4-6 people. The cast iron promotes uniform cooking giving foods a beautiful even browning. The enamel makes for easy clean-up. Plus, the Staub has a classic elegant design that goes from stove top to oven to table with flair.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Camarillo
,Ca
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition
January 2, 2012
This is a wonderful addition to my staub cookware. It's the perfect size for 2 - 4 people. If you are entertaining more, you might want to consider the larger size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design