Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish

Perfect for baking hearty gratins, casseroles and apple crisps, this cast-iron French favorite is adept at coaxing crispy brown crusts or toppings. Its rich enameled finish and elegant design allow it to travel straight from oven to table. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil, Graphite and Emerald color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DarkDreamingDoll
,Horsham
,PA
May 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Golden Brown Mac-N-Cheese
May 9, 2013
Staub cast iron is the best, growing up with a mom that had a Staub, I've eaten so many meals out of I had to put Staub on my Wedding Registry. I revived this Gratin Dish as a wedding gift. I've made scalped potatoes(My Great Grandma Bunnell's recipe) and Mac-N-Cheese(My Great Grandma Huggin's recipe) in this pan. Both dishes browned-up perfectly and cleaned out like a dream.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, perfect browning
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
madcook
,Paso Robles
,CA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Gratin Dish Ever
January 1, 2013
I absolutely love this. So far I've made both potatoes au gratin and cauliflower au gratin. Both turned out beautifully. I notice that this dish seems to help the food brown evenly, and it keeps warm for a long time, probably due to the cast iron core in Staub pans. I cannot recommend all Staub pans enough... they are first rate and beautiful as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JuliaT
,Ham Lake
,MN
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Second Gratin Baking Dish
December 31, 2012
I bought the Staub Oval Gratin Baking Dish last year. Loved it so much, I bought a second one for myself. I've made au gratin potatoes as well as cobblers in this dish. It is wonderful for smaller serving sizes. Love Staub products!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bth94131
,San Francisco
,CA
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good, I bought one for my mother too
May 15, 2012
I have both sizes of these gratin dishes. They are wonderful for side dishes that you want to stay warm. I like them so much, I bought a set for my mother for Mother's Day. She is delighted and the fact that they stack within each other for storing is nice.
Pros: Durable, Color, Shape
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patts
,LaGrange
,il
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another beauty
May 9, 2012
hot dips, appitizers, gratins, shrimp dishes. cold dips.great for entertaining, but also for the rich entree's
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
passion4food
,Worcester
,MA
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my go-to baking dish
February 13, 2012
I love Staub's combination enamel and cast iron for all my gratins, mac and cheese, small roasts, brown bettys and other casseroles. The 11-inch size is perfect for 4-6 people. The cast iron promotes uniform cooking giving foods a beautiful even browning. The enamel makes for easy clean-up. Plus, the Staub has a classic elegant design that goes from stove top to oven to table with flair.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bloomingdalekid
,Camarillo
,Ca
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition
January 2, 2012
This is a wonderful addition to my staub cookware. It's the perfect size for 2 - 4 people. If you are entertaining more, you might want to consider the larger size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design