Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Perfect for baking hearty gratins, crisps and casseroles, this French favorite is designed to deliver a crispy brown crust atop an evenly cooked dish. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil, Graphite and Emerald color selections feature a multicoat enameling to create a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with a low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MD
January 6, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub Gratin Baking Dish
January 6, 2016
Absolutely love this gratin baking dish. I have been baking all my vegetables in it. At first I thought it was too small (the 11"); but there are only two of us at home now; but I baked a whole bunch of carrots to take to dinner at my daughter's and it fit them all. I am thinking of getting one more gratin dish; the larger one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Shape, attractive
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Steeler Country
,PA
December 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You can't go wrong here
December 26, 2015
This cast iron baking dish is fantastic. Its a versatile dish. Can be used for making gratin recipes, roasted vegetables, breakfast casseroles, baked fish and more. The cast iron creates a nice crunchy crust. Its a beautiful dish that can be served from oven to table. I have the garnet color and I bought the blue one for my daughter. So chic and clean-up is EASY too!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MT
November 23, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent For Reheating In The Toaster Oven
November 23, 2015
I have all three sizes of Staub Gratin dishes. They are beautiful, have a nice heft without being overly heavy and clean up well.
The 2 smaller sizes fit and work well for baking and reheating leftovers in the Toaster oven. The larger size is great for baking potato dishes and smaller whole squash in the oven.
To store... I cut a piece of 5/8" packing foam and used it between each dish when nesting them together. This helps keep them from rubbing and holds each high enough to see each of the three colors. Now they look great on top of the refrigerator and are very accessible.
Great quality in a throw away world.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,marengo
,il
November 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another quality product from Staub
November 22, 2015
I ordered the gratin baking dish in graphite which is very attractive. I baked two servings of potatoes gratin filling the dish about 1/4. I feared the dish may be too big but the potatoes cooked evenly and did not burn. The dish cleaned easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sequim
,WA
Puallup, WA
September 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
September 27, 2015
This is a lovely looking completely functional pan. It delivers on all Staub promises and more.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Size, Shape
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Horsham
,PA
May 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Golden Brown Mac-N-Cheese
May 9, 2013
Staub cast iron is the best, growing up with a mom that had a Staub, I've eaten so many meals out of I had to put Staub on my Wedding Registry. I revived this Gratin Dish as a wedding gift. I've made scalped potatoes(My Great Grandma Bunnell's recipe) and Mac-N-Cheese(My Great Grandma Huggin's recipe) in this pan. Both dishes browned-up perfectly and cleaned out like a dream.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, perfect browning
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Paso Robles
,CA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Gratin Dish Ever
January 1, 2013
I absolutely love this. So far I've made both potatoes au gratin and cauliflower au gratin. Both turned out beautifully. I notice that this dish seems to help the food brown evenly, and it keeps warm for a long time, probably due to the cast iron core in Staub pans. I cannot recommend all Staub pans enough... they are first rate and beautiful as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ham Lake
,MN
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Second Gratin Baking Dish
December 31, 2012
I bought the Staub Oval Gratin Baking Dish last year. Loved it so much, I bought a second one for myself. I've made au gratin potatoes as well as cobblers in this dish. It is wonderful for smaller serving sizes. Love Staub products!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good, I bought one for my mother too
May 15, 2012
I have both sizes of these gratin dishes. They are wonderful for side dishes that you want to stay warm. I like them so much, I bought a set for my mother for Mother's Day. She is delighted and the fact that they stack within each other for storing is nice.
Pros: Durable, Color, Shape
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,LaGrange
,il
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
another beauty
May 9, 2012
hot dips, appitizers, gratins, shrimp dishes. cold dips.great for entertaining, but also for the rich entree's
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Worcester
,MA
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my go-to baking dish
February 13, 2012
I love Staub's combination enamel and cast iron for all my gratins, mac and cheese, small roasts, brown bettys and other casseroles. The 11-inch size is perfect for 4-6 people. The cast iron promotes uniform cooking giving foods a beautiful even browning. The enamel makes for easy clean-up. Plus, the Staub has a classic elegant design that goes from stove top to oven to table with flair.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Camarillo
,Ca
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition
January 2, 2012
This is a wonderful addition to my staub cookware. It's the perfect size for 2 - 4 people. If you are entertaining more, you might want to consider the larger size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design