Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin

Celebrating the traditional French poultry dish with its sculptured rooster handle, this pot is the ideal size and shape for braising chicken. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices directly back down on top of the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil, Graphite and Emerald pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. Includes both nickel-plated rooster handle and standard knob. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
25 of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpstat
April 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have for poultry
April 11, 2014
If you cook poultry this is a must have item. Coq Au Vin was one of the first Staub items I purchased (and I have many). Initially my husband commented on how expensive it was. However, he was amazed at how tender and wonderful a duck stuffed with apples came out of Coq Au Vin. Afterwords he did not object getting other Staub cast iron pieces.
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ColoradoExplorer
,CO
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does everything you hope it will and so much mo
April 9, 2014
After thinking and reading numerous reviews and comparisons with LeCreuset products, I finally took the plunge and purchased the 5-3/4 qt Coq Au Vin. I only wish I hadn't waited.
Exceptional quality - exceptional results. Cleaning is easy, browns beautifully and I love the black interior. Never leaves a residue, always looks like new.
I couldn't wait to use it. Its maiden voyage was Ina Garten's Company Pot Roast - a total and complete hit. Followed by French-style Chicken and Stuffing by America's Test Kitchen; and countless other dishes from Pasta sauce to my Quinoa Mixed Grill. Every meal has been simply outstanding.
Admittedly, the first week, it sat proudly on my Viking stove. It was like getting getting a golden ticket... but now I keep it safe and sound, stored. Its a workhorse and gets used numeous times a week.
Will last a lifetime!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Standards
,Fort Worth
,TX
Fort Worth, TX
January 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this versatile pot.
January 14, 2014
My family and I thoroughly enjoy the meals I prepare in this lovely oven. The meat browns beautifully and the vegetables are tender. You can cook various meat dishes, stews, and chilis. It is a solid investment for the kitchen. I purchased the Emerald Green and it looks beautiful sitting on my stove top with the rooster finial. I highly recommend it for the discerning cook!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LacyL
St. Petersburg, FL
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ooooh la la!
November 3, 2013
I LOVE this coquette! Obvious quality and just adorable with the petit coq as the handle. I bought it to match my red Viking stove, so it is always on display, not stored, and makes a great presentation! PERFECT for Julia Child's Coq au vin recipe, but also for anything else for which you need this size pot...soup, stew, a roast etc.
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marie29
,Rochester
,Ny
October 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE this pot!
October 9, 2013
I bought this mostly because I knew it would look wonderful on my new stove (and it does!), and if it did nothing else, I would still have been thrilled with it.
When I tried actually cooking with it, I was delighted. I have several Le Creuset pans, which I have enjoyed, but this is my new favorite. I have braised chicken, made soup, and baked lasagna in this pot so far, and it will be the first one I reach for from now on.
Foods brown more easily in the Staub pot, and it cleans up better, with no staining as can happen in my Le Creuset. I still enjoy Le Creuset, but will be looking into more Staub the next time I need a new pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blubug
,Pensacola
,FL
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Center of Attention
March 1, 2013
This pot sits on the stove like a royal member of my kitchen and it should! It is the most versital cooking utensil I own. I can make a chicken, roast, pot of dumplings, vegetable dish...you name it. It cooks in less times, holds the moisture and juices and the flavor s are better. It is beautiful sitting right in the middle of my dining table during the meal. Clean-up is a breeze afterwards....just wash, dry, apply a thin coat of olive oil inside and it is waiting on me for it's next appearance. It is never hidden or put away but sits on my glass top stove as a decoration. I plan to add other members of its family soon and as a family tradition, grown children are receiving as presents of these pieces "at their requests"!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, reduces cook time
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovesToCook27
December 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If I could only have one pan, this would be it!
December 13, 2012
I use this pan a few times a week and use it for EVERYTHING!
It is perfect for making something ahead of time and putting in the oven on a low temp to be kept warm until dinner.
I have made Coq Au Vin to taco meat in this and I am always thrilled.
The only time I prefer another pan is if I am making a very large recipe and need a larger pan.
For most everyday meals for a family of 5, this is definitely large enough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for Coq Au Vin
May 17, 2012
Love this pan. Not only is it excellent for the classic chicken dish, it is also perfect for lamb shanks and other odd shapes of meat where braising is required. I got this pan in a set WS offered along with the grill pan and a medium size Dutch oven. I couldn't be more pleased with Staub quality and this pan makes cooking and serving any dish a little more special.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patts
,LaGrange
,IL
April 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the teaser
April 13, 2012
this was my first staub. I had never heard of the brand. the coq was featured, loved the look and bought it. Now I can't stop. I have five ovens and the little saucepot. I am going to W-S today to get both of the fry pans.
I cook everything in these pots.
one problem I have, there is always some immovable white marks on the bottom of the pan that i cannot get off. My solution has been to rub a little oil on the bottom and store with a light coating of oil. Does anyone else have a solution for this white stain? I use barkeepers friend, it does not help.
LOVE my staub.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catardif
,Orange
,ca
April 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of the Best!
April 6, 2012
Whew! I carried this to my car all the way across the mall, but it was worth the effort. Made the ‘Coq Au Vin’ by Chef Paul Bocuse, Collonges au Mont d’Or (France) first, and it was simply divine! Since I truly do not like Crock Pot meals, this is saying something! Actually, cooking in this lovely Staub pan is MUCH easier, as you can do most of the work in it from the get go. Only the final touch of frying the bacon, mushrooms and onions as last minute toppings or additions required a separate pan. I suppose I could have ‘cheated’ and done them first in the Cocotte, but they would not have been hot… The Staub Coq Au Vin looks wonderful on the table, and the blue is so pretty with my Delft collection. Love the rooster knob, but you ‘get’ a round one in the box, just in case you don’t like the feel of it, or you think cooking something other than chicken would require a neutral knob. 
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mommyj
,Morris Plains
,NJ
New Jersey
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must Have for Cooking
January 23, 2012
Great cookware. I have every piece and love cooking with Staub. They make a quality product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sambadoll
,Orlando
,FL
Orlando, FL
October 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We're gonna have a lifetime together
October 16, 2011
I agonized (more or less) for months as to whether to buy this pot, since I already have a 3.5qt Le Creuset. I ended up buying the larger bc of the capacity, and blue had no shipping unlike runner up, Basil. Its inaugural dish was coq au vin. It heated very quickly to brown. The lid was tight so that I couldn't smell the mirepoix in the fridge. It basted nicely in the oven (though I wonder if it matters). I was unafraid of staining unlike my Creuset. And it's just so darn pretty! It has a rooster! Will it make your food taste that much better than a less expensive brand? I doubt it. But I do expect this to be an heirloom piece that I will cook for my children one day and maybe pass it on to them. Also, the WS associate told me to treat it like uncoated cast iron and allow it to season. I'll have to research that. My Creuset is still my everyday bc its size fits my household of 2. However, I'd recommend Staub over Creuset at this point, though they're both lovely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PapaJim
,Caldwell
,TX
Caldwell, Texas
September 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best For Its Purpose
September 22, 2011
I am an experienced cook who grew up around the restaurant business. Cast iron pans and ovens have played a role in my kitchen. Recently I have returned to enameled cast iron and to oval ovens. The enameling hasbeen improved and cooks and cleans better than past products I have used.
Staub's oval oven works very well for roasting chicken and for slow-cooking oblong shapes of tougher cuts of other meats. The pan's shape minimizes the need to add water or stock (which can dilute flavor) but allows the room to include vegetables around the meat.
Even-heating cast iron can take high heat for proper browning of cuts of meat while holding heat for a controlled simmer to finish cooking. The enamel enables one to cook with aciditic elements like wine, tomatoes, vinegar or fruit to build a sauce. Staub'sbrilliant enamel glaze makes for a 'tableside' presentation of the finished dish.
My family thinks my dishes made in this oven have 'never tasted better.' That works for me!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Weight
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefKC
NYC, NY
August 1, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply a great pot.
August 1, 2011
I bought the red -- not only is it beautiful, but it does it all. Browns meats beautifully, cooks evenly, can go from stove-top/oven to table-top, cleans easily. It's used in my home kitchen a few times a week. Prefer Staub over Le Creuset.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bilmot
Stillwater, NJ
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub oval oven
June 7, 2011
From cooking pasta to braising a roast, the Staub oval oven performs beautifully. It has great heat retention, goes from stovetop to oven to table, and looks great! The basil color is deep and rich.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiversityCooking
Long Island, NY
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My Pot - Healthy Cooking
May 20, 2011
I received this pot from my husband for Mother’s Day. I have used this pot faithfully everyday for a family of 5. It is the best pot for my Spanish cooking along with recipes that I have tried from WS. It browns all the meat beautifully and the color of the meats is beautiful, but even better is the taste that makes a difference. I have made a recipe from WS Slow-cooked chicken with herbed biscuits with some healthy moderations and it was delicious. Everything I have made in this pot is yummy!. I also like it does not stain on the inside like my Le Creuset which changed color on the inside. But what I like the best is I can cook with no additional oil or use my WS “Oil Mister” and spray a little oil and nothing sticks – Healthy Spanish Cooking or any other dish the healthy way!!!! Love this pot and will definitely be adding another one and giving this one as a gift as my children are already claiming first dibs – excellent to pass on to your future generations of cooks!!!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agkingsmill
Southeast United States
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everything is yummy!!!
February 3, 2011
I received this coq au vin pot as a Christmas gift from my husband! I have love, love, loved it! I am waiting to cook a traditional coq au vin with a rooster, which is near impossible to locate in my area... in the mean I time have made beef and barley soup (delicious!), chili, chicken w/ vermouth and veggies... and more! All plate lickin' yummy!
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chapa
northeast
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great addition to my cooking arsenal!
January 13, 2011
I purchased my Staub in November and have used it so far every week. I love the stove top to oven to table to refrigerator flexibility. Owning this pot has improved my cooking skills and has helped me to expand my cooking repertoire. And added benefit is how wonderful the house smells while a soup or roast is slowly cooking.
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
overdone
Madison,WI.
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Staub
January 7, 2011
I got this work of art for christmas and love it. Love the quality as much as the looks. Makes delicious meals.
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tessa33
Oyster Bay, New York
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pan!
December 27, 2010
This is my second Staub Pan. I bought this one because I wanted one that is larger than my smaller round one and can fit an over roaster chicken. This pan can hold the largest chicken and slow cooks extremely well.
page1 2 next