Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin

Celebrating the traditional French poultry dish with its sculptured rooster handle, this pot is the ideal size and shape for braising chicken. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices directly back down on top of the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil, Graphite and Emerald pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. Includes both nickel-plated rooster handle and standard knob. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpstat
April 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have for poultry
April 11, 2014
If you cook poultry this is a must have item. Coq Au Vin was one of the first Staub items I purchased (and I have many). Initially my husband commented on how expensive it was. However, he was amazed at how tender and wonderful a duck stuffed with apples came out of Coq Au Vin. Afterwords he did not object getting other Staub cast iron pieces.
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ColoradoExplorer
,CO
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does everything you hope it will and so much mo
April 9, 2014
After thinking and reading numerous reviews and comparisons with LeCreuset products, I finally took the plunge and purchased the 5-3/4 qt Coq Au Vin. I only wish I hadn't waited.
Exceptional quality - exceptional results. Cleaning is easy, browns beautifully and I love the black interior. Never leaves a residue, always looks like new.
I couldn't wait to use it. Its maiden voyage was Ina Garten's Company Pot Roast - a total and complete hit. Followed by French-style Chicken and Stuffing by America's Test Kitchen; and countless other dishes from Pasta sauce to my Quinoa Mixed Grill. Every meal has been simply outstanding.
Admittedly, the first week, it sat proudly on my Viking stove. It was like getting getting a golden ticket... but now I keep it safe and sound, stored. Its a workhorse and gets used numeous times a week.
Will last a lifetime!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Standards
,Fort Worth
,TX
Fort Worth, TX
January 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this versatile pot.
January 14, 2014
My family and I thoroughly enjoy the meals I prepare in this lovely oven. The meat browns beautifully and the vegetables are tender. You can cook various meat dishes, stews, and chilis. It is a solid investment for the kitchen. I purchased the Emerald Green and it looks beautiful sitting on my stove top with the rooster finial. I highly recommend it for the discerning cook!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LacyL
St. Petersburg, FL
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ooooh la la!
November 3, 2013
I LOVE this coquette! Obvious quality and just adorable with the petit coq as the handle. I bought it to match my red Viking stove, so it is always on display, not stored, and makes a great presentation! PERFECT for Julia Child's Coq au vin recipe, but also for anything else for which you need this size pot...soup, stew, a roast etc.
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marie29
,Rochester
,Ny
October 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE this pot!
October 9, 2013
I bought this mostly because I knew it would look wonderful on my new stove (and it does!), and if it did nothing else, I would still have been thrilled with it.
When I tried actually cooking with it, I was delighted. I have several Le Creuset pans, which I have enjoyed, but this is my new favorite. I have braised chicken, made soup, and baked lasagna in this pot so far, and it will be the first one I reach for from now on.
Foods brown more easily in the Staub pot, and it cleans up better, with no staining as can happen in my Le Creuset. I still enjoy Le Creuset, but will be looking into more Staub the next time I need a new pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blubug
,Pensacola
,FL
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Center of Attention
March 1, 2013
This pot sits on the stove like a royal member of my kitchen and it should! It is the most versital cooking utensil I own. I can make a chicken, roast, pot of dumplings, vegetable dish...you name it. It cooks in less times, holds the moisture and juices and the flavor s are better. It is beautiful sitting right in the middle of my dining table during the meal. Clean-up is a breeze afterwards....just wash, dry, apply a thin coat of olive oil inside and it is waiting on me for it's next appearance. It is never hidden or put away but sits on my glass top stove as a decoration. I plan to add other members of its family soon and as a family tradition, grown children are receiving as presents of these pieces "at their requests"!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, reduces cook time
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LovesToCook27
December 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If I could only have one pan, this would be it!
December 13, 2012
I use this pan a few times a week and use it for EVERYTHING!
It is perfect for making something ahead of time and putting in the oven on a low temp to be kept warm until dinner.
I have made Coq Au Vin to taco meat in this and I am always thrilled.
The only time I prefer another pan is if I am making a very large recipe and need a larger pan.
For most everyday meals for a family of 5, this is definitely large enough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for Coq Au Vin
May 17, 2012
Love this pan. Not only is it excellent for the classic chicken dish, it is also perfect for lamb shanks and other odd shapes of meat where braising is required. I got this pan in a set WS offered along with the grill pan and a medium size Dutch oven. I couldn't be more pleased with Staub quality and this pan makes cooking and serving any dish a little more special.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patts
,LaGrange
,IL
April 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the teaser
April 13, 2012
this was my first staub. I had never heard of the brand. the coq was featured, loved the look and bought it. Now I can't stop. I have five ovens and the little saucepot. I am going to W-S today to get both of the fry pans.
I cook everything in these pots.
one problem I have, there is always some immovable white marks on the bottom of the pan that i cannot get off. My solution has been to rub a little oil on the bottom and store with a light coating of oil. Does anyone else have a solution for this white stain? I use barkeepers friend, it does not help.
LOVE my staub.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
catardif
,Orange
,ca
April 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best of the Best!
April 6, 2012
Whew! I carried this to my car all the way across the mall, but it was worth the effort. Made the ‘Coq Au Vin’ by Chef Paul Bocuse, Collonges au Mont d’Or (France) first, and it was simply divine! Since I truly do not like Crock Pot meals, this is saying something! Actually, cooking in this lovely Staub pan is MUCH easier, as you can do most of the work in it from the get go. Only the final touch of frying the bacon, mushrooms and onions as last minute toppings or additions required a separate pan. I suppose I could have ‘cheated’ and done them first in the Cocotte, but they would not have been hot… The Staub Coq Au Vin looks wonderful on the table, and the blue is so pretty with my Delft collection. Love the rooster knob, but you ‘get’ a round one in the box, just in case you don’t like the feel of it, or you think cooking something other than chicken would require a neutral knob. 
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Coq Au Vin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mommyj
,Morris Plains
,NJ
New Jersey
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must Have for Cooking
January 23, 2012
Great cookware. I have every piece and love cooking with Staub. They make a quality product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight