Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte

The oval shape and cast-iron construction of this oven make it ideal for roasting a chicken. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops, including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices back down on the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. 7-quart: 14 1/2" x 11 1/2" x 6" high, 7-qt. cap., 18.3 lbs. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patts
,La Grange
,IL
March 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I want to redo my review
March 20, 2014
I wrote a review a few years ago. Had a problem with white stains inside. Barkeepers friend cleans the stains up perfectly.
Now, since then I have purchased just about every size pot, both round and oval. I have also bought all the other pans etc that Staub makes. The fry pan, griddle, casseroles. I can't stop!!! Use most of them regularly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AP82
August 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful piece of art, perfect size
August 8, 2013
With items like these, you don't want to go out for dinner. You want to enjoy cooking with it at home. I use this for boeuf bourguignon and bean soups.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HootieHoo
,Nashville
,TN
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, Love, Love my new Staub Oval Pot
May 22, 2013
This is absolutely the best pot for cooking long ears of corn. We had a family gathering and I cooked 12 ears with room to spare. Kept them warm all through lunch!
Home run with this one! Of course I can't wait to cook a large roast in it! It's the best!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SophieP
spotsylvania va
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for braising or stewing
April 15, 2013
I have several of these pots in various sizes. They are my go to pot for slow cooking in the oven. You do have to be careful how you clean them though. The exterior WILL scratch if you use a harsh scrubber
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coffeebean32
,Sandusky
,OH
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a Lovely meal
January 17, 2013
This is great, I have used it for several dishes including whole and pieced chicken, roast and who knows what else. Cooks great and looks great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gangie
,Memphis
,Tn
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pot now
October 27, 2012
I have been wanting this pot for a while and so glad I finally got it! Cooks evenly and you can put anything in it and the food comes out wonderful. Great investment!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knstarsfan
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Choctaw, OK
October 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why have I not purchased Staub sooner?
October 26, 2012
I did not realize what I was missing in my kitchen until I bought this cocotte. Now I find myself trying to find more and more things to cook in it!
The self-basting lid is awesome. Which is one of the reasons I went with Staub over le creuset. Used on stovetop and in the oven with perfect results.
Love Love Love It! Want, Need, Will Get MORE!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchendaddy
,Houston
,Tx
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Required Kitchen tool
April 12, 2012
You have to get this pot. I had no idea food had anything to do with the pot it was cooked in....but no more. I want more Staub pots in my kitchen, seriously. I have used it in the oven, the stovetop, in the fridge then back in the oven for a warming leftovers. The Basil color is awesome. I own all-clad pots, almost all of them...I think I like Staub better. Wish I had tried one sooner. the oval shape is great for use as a roasting pot.
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzyQcooks
,Aberdeen
,ID
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Ruin A Meal in This!!
January 23, 2012
We love our new Staub Oval 7 qt. Everything I have cooked in it has been wonderful! All my graniteware and cast iron dutch ovens have been disinherited...this is a keeper! I bought the larger size because you can always cook smaller in it, yet it can handle 2 chickens or a very large roast/brisket with ease. Handle carefully, it is heavy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, eye candy
Cons: Weight
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luap82099
,Yakima
,WA
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best cast iron cookware
January 4, 2012
I have the 7 qt in Basil and it is a thing of beauty. Both cooking and cleanup are very easy, just some soap and water. It is heavy though and maneuvering it around in a sink while trying not to chip it can be difficult. It's hard to mess up a dish that is cooked in a great cast iron pot like this. This Staub Cocotte is a piece that will be handed down to the children and grand children one day.
I have used other cast iron cookware with the glossy light colored interior and I prefer the Staub rough dark enamel interior since it will look newer longer and will not discolor over time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, looks beautiful
Cons: try not to chip
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PattyMac
MI
December 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Love Love!!!!!!!!!!!
December 20, 2011
The only negative thing I could say is that this pan is really heavy. But the graphite color is beautiful and the pan cooks roasts and chicken to absolute perfection. Never have I had chicken so tender as the chicken I cooked in this pan.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talon
Albuquerque
May 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dutch Oven
May 25, 2011
I traded the 7 quart for the 5 3/4 quart at the store after buying on line. Felt the 7 qt was too big. The 5 3/4 quart will handle a 5 lb chicken and 5 lbs of short ribs easily. Cooks as advertised and cleans up well
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ark03
Chicago
May 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Throw away your other pots
May 14, 2011
This is the first staub I have bought and I love it. I love cooking in it, my food is moist and delicious always. And I am not a good cook.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Topdown400
Parkland, FL
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Brisket Braise
March 21, 2011
I was given an All Clad slow cooker for a holiday gift. I cook for my family often. I already owned 2 slow cookers & although it was All Clad, i knew I could return it & get something I didn't have to work with yet. I watched an episode of Chuck's Day Off & he did a brisket recipe & cooked it in his dutch oven. I liked his idea & followed thru & it gave me a chance to break out this badboy. I got a 7 lb brisket & it fit easily. The recipe called for a 4 hr cook in the oven, I checked on it at 3 1/2 hrs. & with the seal this pot gets, the brisket was finished. The lid on the Staub seals like no other pot I have. In addition no condensation spills off it ... Clean up was a breeze as well -
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wendys5
Birmingham, Alabama
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This has gotten me cooking again!
February 21, 2011
My husband gave me this pot for Christmas. I was intimidated to use it at first and didn't start using it until mid January. I now use it for almost everything. I have put a roast or turkey breast in this pot before church for the last 5 weeks, now-and I haven't burned a thing! The heavy dutch oven cooks everything with such flavor, I can't go wrong. I have even made casseroles in this-I am now looking for my next piece of Staub!
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooking4warmth
North Pole, AK
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome product!
December 28, 2010
So I don't think shipping issues should warrant a bad review. My cocotte traveled all the way to Alaska with no issues. And now that it's here; we use it often. This is perfect for lots of meats. Pork, chicken, beef and venison; all have come out beautifully! We have several Staub products and they are all exceptional pieces. These will last many lifetimes if properly cared for. We have had our first Staub product for a few months now and use it weekly. No chips, no scratches in the the glaze, no issues at all.
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Goodeaters
Maine
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-26points
2of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would of been a nice pot
December 21, 2010
I am not sure if I would of bought this pot from the store if I would have had better luck.
I ordered three different pots and all of them came with the lid chipped and even the pot on the edges.
I would liek to be the first to chip my new EXPENSIVE things.
I was excited about it unti I found them all to be chipped.
So I have sent them all back and have none.
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pattq
LaGrange, IL
October 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the food is wonderful
October 5, 2010
I have made pulled pork twice and it is outstanding. My problem is the white staining on the interior. Nothing cleans it off. It is stained. I have read reviews stating that the interior seasons with use and improves. I will have to wait and see. It is hard to imagine that the straining will get better.
Again, the food prepared, roasted veg's, slow cooked pork, was amazing.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
CastIroner
Bellingham, WA
Posted February 18, 2011
Try Bar Keeper's Friend
Hey,
I had some staining too and tried Bar Keeper's friend and it worked very well all the staining is gone!
0points
Customer avatar
sambadoll
Orlando, FL
Posted December 8, 2010
Top 100 Contributor
Different edition?
Do you have an older Staub or perhaps a Le Creuset? I thought these have a black matte interior finish...
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JayneM
San Francisco, CA
August 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Multiuse Pot!
August 25, 2010
I love this Staub! It is big enough to handle a whole chicken or make soup. This piece can be used several different ways roasting, stewing, baking, slow cook, etc. It is a versatile piece for the kitchen!