Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. The oval shape, cast-iron construction and heavy lid of this oven make it ideal for roasting a chicken to tender perfection. 7-qt. cap. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite colors feature a multicoat enameling, which creates a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Matte Black selection features multicoat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. Specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Gaithersburg
,MD
August 15, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My first Staub and I'm hooked!
August 15, 2015
I researched Staub vs. Le Creuset before buying this Dutch oven. I eventually settled on Staub. This is my first Staub pot, but no longer my only one.
It has proven to be very versatile. Cast iron is not the best heat conductor, but as long as you preheat, you will still get excellent heat distribution. I have used it on the stovetop to brown racks of ribs that reached to the ends of the pot, where it hangs over the edge of the burner. The ends were just as well browned as the middle. I could not be happier!
It has also done me proud with soups, stews, chilies, and the like. In fact, I entered my home made habanero chili into a chili cocoon off recently, and ended up with people writing love notes to my chili. Which was cooked in this Dutch oven. And of course my chili won.
The weight is both a good and a bad thing. I am not very strong in the arms, so it gets heavy for me. But the heavy weight also means it can absorb and retain a lot of heat, which is a good thing!
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cleveland
,OH
March 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
if you're not sure- BUY IT!
March 11, 2015
I registered at WS for the sole purpose of the dutch ovens that they sell. I was torn between Staub and it's competitor; Le Creuset. After reading countless online reviews, I decided to register for this 7 qt cocotte in Graphite. I received so many beautiful items from my bridal registry, but this has to be at the top.
When I cook with this, nothing can compare. Everything I have made in this turns out beautifully. I cannot give this product enough praise! I want more Staub products now! I am so glad I registered for this item- it may be pricey- but I hope it lasts my entire life! So glad to have such a high quality item added to my kitchen. If you are on the fence, click purchase! it's worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,PALO ALTO
,Ca
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cast Iron Cookware
November 28, 2014
I must have dozen Stuab cocottes in all shapes in sizes - beehived interior and smooth. The black more than enamel interior doesn't rust or chip. The indented lid with drip nodes is great.
Like all good cookware, they're expensive but worth it. I've had most of mine for over 20 years. I tell my daughter it's better to buy one good piece of cookware than a set of cheap ones which you'll ultimately regret and waste your money on.
Pros: Durable, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,La Grange
,IL
March 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I want to redo my review
March 20, 2014
I wrote a review a few years ago. Had a problem with white stains inside. Barkeepers friend cleans the stains up perfectly.
Now, since then I have purchased just about every size pot, both round and oval. I have also bought all the other pans etc that Staub makes. The fry pan, griddle, casseroles. I can't stop!!! Use most of them regularly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beautiful piece of art, perfect size
August 8, 2013
With items like these, you don't want to go out for dinner. You want to enjoy cooking with it at home. I use this for boeuf bourguignon and bean soups.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Nashville
,TN
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, Love, Love my new Staub Oval Pot
May 22, 2013
This is absolutely the best pot for cooking long ears of corn. We had a family gathering and I cooked 12 ears with room to spare. Kept them warm all through lunch!
Home run with this one! Of course I can't wait to cook a large roast in it! It's the best!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spotsylvania va
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for braising or stewing
April 15, 2013
I have several of these pots in various sizes. They are my go to pot for slow cooking in the oven. You do have to be careful how you clean them though. The exterior WILL scratch if you use a harsh scrubber
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Sandusky
,OH
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a Lovely meal
January 17, 2013
This is great, I have used it for several dishes including whole and pieced chicken, roast and who knows what else. Cooks great and looks great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Memphis
,Tn
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite pot now
October 27, 2012
I have been wanting this pot for a while and so glad I finally got it! Cooks evenly and you can put anything in it and the food comes out wonderful. Great investment!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oklahoma City
,Ok
Choctaw, OK
October 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Why have I not purchased Staub sooner?
October 26, 2012
I did not realize what I was missing in my kitchen until I bought this cocotte. Now I find myself trying to find more and more things to cook in it!
The self-basting lid is awesome. Which is one of the reasons I went with Staub over le creuset. Used on stovetop and in the oven with perfect results.
Love Love Love It! Want, Need, Will Get MORE!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,Tx
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Required Kitchen tool
April 12, 2012
You have to get this pot. I had no idea food had anything to do with the pot it was cooked in....but no more. I want more Staub pots in my kitchen, seriously. I have used it in the oven, the stovetop, in the fridge then back in the oven for a warming leftovers. The Basil color is awesome. I own all-clad pots, almost all of them...I think I like Staub better. Wish I had tried one sooner. the oval shape is great for use as a roasting pot.
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aberdeen
,ID
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't Ruin A Meal in This!!
January 23, 2012
We love our new Staub Oval 7 qt. Everything I have cooked in it has been wonderful! All my graniteware and cast iron dutch ovens have been disinherited...this is a keeper! I bought the larger size because you can always cook smaller in it, yet it can handle 2 chickens or a very large roast/brisket with ease. Handle carefully, it is heavy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, eye candy
Cons: Weight
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Cocotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Yakima
,WA
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best cast iron cookware
January 4, 2012
I have the 7 qt in Basil and it is a thing of beauty. Both cooking and cleanup are very easy, just some soap and water. It is heavy though and maneuvering it around in a sink while trying not to chip it can be difficult. It's hard to mess up a dish that is cooked in a great cast iron pot like this. This Staub Cocotte is a piece that will be handed down to the children and grand children one day.
I have used other cast iron cookware with the glossy light colored interior and I prefer the Staub rough dark enamel interior since it will look newer longer and will not discolor over time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, looks beautiful
Cons: try not to chip
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo