Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.

Bring single servings of cobbler, macaroni & cheese or fruit crisps directly from the oven to the table with these mini cocottes. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Dozens of precisely placed bumps on the lid's interior funnel evaporated juices directly back down on top of the food for more even basting. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Lid knob on Red, Sapphire Blue, Basil and Graphite pieces is made of nickel-plated brass; lid knob on Black Matte is brass. Set of 3. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhillieFilly
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, California
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BUY THESE COCOTTES!
September 19, 2013
I purchased these over 2 years ago and love them! I purchased these in gray and had a difficult time choosing between the gray and the blue. You can't go wrong with either color. Every time I serve in these cocottes, people comment on them so positively! They are gorgeous and so well made; I agree with another reviewer that they are "just too cute" but they are also very sophisticated.
I have used them for various deserts, soups, individual sweet and savory bread puddings and also to make coddled eggs (two at a time). I even used them to serve french fries "straight up". They heat evenly and foods cooked or baked in them will hold heat after taken off the stovetop or oven. I have seen these used at French Laundry and other restaurants both in the U.S. and France. You will have these for a lifetime plus.... something to hand down to the next generation. You will not regret purchasing these cocottes as they are so versatile and so well made.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FloridaMom
,Windermere
,FL
Orlando, FL
December 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High Quality
December 29, 2012
Love these!! Cooking using these is perfect. They heat evenly....
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Color
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WFDDeac
,Lewisville
,NC
July 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
1of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as advertised
July 17, 2012
The color I ordered was black enamel. What I received was an over-sprayed, teal-colored enameled set, as evident by the bottom of the pots. Out of the box, it looked to have been spray-painted; certainly, it did not have the glossy enameled appearance. I returned them for credit.
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ZachFL
Posted March 31, 2013
I have purchased black Staub cocottes in Paris. While the finish is matte black, the bottom has a glossy, glazed appearance. Mine are almost a deep forest green on the bottom. Not black. But also most certainly not "teal." And the matte black finish does not at all look sprayed on.
0points
Customer avatar
TexasGoodCooking
Texas
Posted November 12, 2012
Sure Your Review for Staub??
I only comment because I have owned Staub pieces for many years. I have NEVER known them to have gloss black enamel nor teal.
I get that the reviewer states these were possible repaints (not factory) but they have given a low star rating when stating they ordered black enamel. To my knowledge, Staub doesn't carry black enamel finish (or ever has), only cocottes in black matte finish, along with other colors.
So I am wondering if this reviewer possibly gave a review for wrong item.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarylandSharon
,Baltimore
,Md
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful and easy Christmas morning breakfast
January 9, 2012
I used these mini rounds to make "Oeufs En Cocotte." Easy, delicious and the presentation in the individual pots was gorgeous. I sauteed some mushrooms and made a little spinach the night before. Christmas morning, I buttered each dish, put two tbsp of heavy cream on the bottom, added the mushrooms and some spinach (and a little chopped proscuitto for the meat eaters), cracked two raw eggs into each cocette, and topped with salt and pepper. Then I added two tbsps of cream on the top, put the lids on and popped them in the oven while we opened presents. Everyone raved over the eggs. They were beautiful, richly flavored and easy to do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: none
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mary0
,portland
,me
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too darling to resist
December 23, 2011
I had been eyeing these little darlings for a year before I decided I "needed" them for French onion soup and apple crisp. I finally brokered the deal when WS was having a sale and I could justify purchasing the two sets I would need serving for our family. They arrived nicely packaged and I left them out on my counters for a week just to look at them and smile at the precise detailing and fine workmanship. Everyone who sees them loves to pick them up, like little pets. Oh, and they do work great, both for the French onion soup with melted cheese top and for apple crisp - definitely raise the level of presentation and keep items warm at the table. I was a little concerned 8 oz. might be a little small, but turns out to be a great size for soup or dessert course. Also, washed up easily, that Staub finish is durable and cleanable.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maeve50
Plano, Texas
July 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Merci Staub!
July 30, 2011
These adorable pots are perfect for a couple of empty nesters. We can prepare individual servings of our favorite casserole dishes using our toaster oven saving time and electricity. Food prepared in Staub pots are delicious - full of flavor. The materials used to create these mini pots are of the highest quality. I look forward to purchasing more items from Staub in the future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerez
Washington
March 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like my oval mini's
March 9, 2011
Lets face it, this size is a challenge. But isn't cooking about challenge?
You'll love making special little dishes for guests with the mini's.
And if you have kids, they can make their own dishes, of, say beets, then maybe they will be adventurous eaters..
Potatoes, rice, veggies..deserts..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vous
Scottsdale, Arizona
February 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastique!
February 3, 2011
The French have done it again. The glaze is of incredible depth and beauty; but it's not just pretty it's a workhorse. I love being able to do individua servings in these near perfect little cocottes, which go beautifull from oven to table. I have served them filled with gratin potatoes as a side for coq au vin, and I have used them stuffed as a main dish for Belgian stew, They keep the food beautifully warm, while they add a touch of elegance even to a casual table top. Delightfuly charming, they bring a note of surprise and glee to my dinner guests, who love to open them and find what's for dinner. These Staub wash up beautifuly as well, just soak them to remove crusty food particles and store. I think next I'll try a dessert in them, perhaps a pot de creme or a berry cobbler. You must give them a try! Bon Appetite.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Mini Round Cocotte Set, 1/4-Qt.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dorian
Craftsbury, VT
December 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's About Presentation, People!
December 3, 2010
Want to serve individual macaroni and cheese, a potato au gratin, or a small scallop appetizer? If so, this is your elegant "restaurant-style" solution. Not only are these mini pots gorgeous, but they are durable and the best quality around. Vive La France!