Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan

The ridges on the bottom of this pan not only leave seared grill marks but elevate food, allowing fat to drip away. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Color selections feature glossy multi-coat enameling that ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Matte Black selection features multi-coat enameling with low-gloss matte finish. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. A spout on the pan's side eliminates spills when pouring liquids. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uraqt2
,Pine Grove
,CA
May 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just what I was hoping for!
May 22, 2014
This pan (12") is perfect for grilling on my glass top range. (Just follow directions re not sliding across the glass top.) The depth and design of the grill grid does an outstanding job of even cooking and color marking whatever I grill. Preheating is an absolute necessity. Cleanup takes a little patience. I find that using a power dissolver type of solution is very helpful in this regard. One thing to remember: no matter what claims are made re cast iron cleaning, it IS cast iron and for it to retain a "like new" appearance after use is not very realistic. This pan also rated #1 by a well known PBS cooking show host. Pricey,but well worth every dollar. A little heavy, but doable. I store mine in the oven.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TDRogue
,Bear
,DE
March 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grilling pan
March 21, 2014
I love cooking with cast iron and have been using it for years. As Staub makes the largest grilling pan I could find and was highly recommended by a cooking site, I went for it despite the reviews that it sometimes cracked. I received the pan recently and used it 4 times. I was very happy with the results. Great searing and those terrific looking grill marks. It was even pretty easy to clean. So last night while I was grilling steaks and chicken breasts and loving the way they looked and smelled, I walked to the oven to check on my baked potatoes. That is when I heard "the sound". I knew immediately that the loud pop meant the pan had cracked. It has never happened to any of my cast iron before, so I was really disappointed. It cracked all the way through from the center of the pan through the pour spout. I love this pan so I will return it for a replacement and see how it goes the second time around. If it wasn't for the crack defect, I would have easily rated this pan 5 stars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Fragile
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doberninja
,Summit
,NJ
March 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice break from Winter
March 19, 2014
I grill almost all my meals outside during decent weather. With Winter stormaggedon vortex apocolypse this year, I've been having withdrawls. I decided to try this and couldn't be happier. It will make your entire kitchen full of smoke if you do not have good ventilation but if that is not a concern, you will love this. You have to be mindful of temp shocks but that is with any cast iron. Cleaning has not been an issue but I make sure to spray it before I use it and don't use syrupy marinades, etc. 10" is perfect size for 1-2 people
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FogCityReviewer
,San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
July 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grill Pan
July 14, 2013
I have to have the right equipment in the kitchen to cook. I live in an urban condo with no outdoor space. I use this pan to grill steak on the stove. It works perfectly every time.
- heat the pan on med-high heat
- place prepped steak in the grill pan and cook - 2 min
- flip and cook - 2 min
- rotate 90 degrees, flip, and cook - 2 min
- flip and cook - 2 min
- place grill pan and steak in preheated 425 degree oven and finish - 4 min
- remove from oven and let sit - ~10 min
Perfect grill marks. Perfectly prepared. Every time.
Serve with salad, vegetables, bread. Open a bottle of wine, kiss your man, and enjoy dinner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MTodd
,North Canton
,Oh
June 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great results, hard to clean
June 3, 2013
Have the 12 inch. Love the results, but cleanup can be a chore because meat juices and marinates tend to burn to the pan while grilling. When the pan is cool I soak it for a couple of hours before cleaning. That helps, but it is still a pain to clean.
It is great for winter time grilling, but make sure you have good ventilation because it will generate smoke while grilling.
Pros: Durable, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AltitudeCooker
,Evergreen
,CO
April 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love/Hate This Grill
April 15, 2013
I want to love this pan as it is fantastic for grilling! My grilled chicken has never been juicier, cooks as quickly or has those wonderful grill marks as is consistently dilivered by this pan. On the other side, I hate how hard this grill is to clean. I oil it before use, don't cook on higher than medium, and have tried all the suggestions from other reviewers for cleaning, all with the same outcome--burned on marinade, burned on fat, burned on oil that won't come off without spending a very long time scrubbing. I have a Staub Cocotte that I use several times a week and it cleans easily! I tried the boiling water as suggested by another reviewer, tried soaking for 30 minutes in hot water and dish soap and finally I used a knife and the Bartender"s Friend that I have for my All Clad cookware! I gave this grill 4 stars for cooking abilities, but would give it one star for cleaning, and thus cannot recommend this for any friend!
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted March 9, 2014
Top 10 Contributor
I suggest Scanpan
I love and own Staub but recommend the Scanpan grill pan in this case because it grills nicely and is easy to clean. No, I don't work for Scanpan; I'm a Const. Engineerining Tech.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
March 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grill pan
March 18, 2013
Don't believe the bad reviews about Staub or LC grill pans. Are these difficult to clean? Potentially. If you avoid using sticky or sugary glazes/marinades your cleaning will be easier by 50%. Instead, glaze your meat only on the side that was down after you turned it. Than when you pull the meat, glaze the naked side while you are resting it. This tip came directly from Chef Bobby Flay. Just don't let the sticky glaze cook on the ridges.
While the meat is resting, when the pan has cooled down a little, slowly pour hot water so the ridges are submerged. This will help loosen the stuck on bits. Make sure the pan is slightly cooled or when the water hits, it will splatter all over.
I bought the Graphite colored, 12" grill pan and love it. It's heavy but cast iron is heavy. I don't know about problems with the "supposed" cracked pans mentioned on Internet reviews. I've never had a problem is all I can say. If you've been considering buying one, go for it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, not easy to clean but also not that hard to clean
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eguynow
,Atlanta
,GA
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cracked in half!
January 31, 2013
A friend bought this for me as a housewarming gift. The first one cracked in half on the first use, the second just a couple of months later. Not only that, but it sticks like glue to everything, and I've followed the manufacturers directions, I've tried seasoning it every which way and still sticks to everything. Not what I expect from a product of this price and from Staub!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SKSchindler
,San Antonio
,TX
November 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Grill Pan Basics
November 13, 2012
I suggest ordering the pan/press combo up front. You're going to need the press if you want to cook steaks/chops correctly. The secret to pan grilling: You need heat to sear adequately, but when using a grill pan, too much heat turns into a smoky kitchen.
Instead, we swap a weighted press for lower heat. Your grill pan should never be put on a High flame. Put the pan on the burner at medium heat for 2 minutes, throw on the steaks, drop on the press. You do not want the pan to smoke.
The best recipe for a 10oz. New York strip is: Pan on medium heat for 2 minutes. Season steak. Put steaks on pan, add press. Count to 150. Turn steaks. Count to 120. Turn steaks over, 90 degrees. Count to 60. Turn steaks over, 90 degrees. Count to 60. This produces a medium-rare steak.
As for those reviews that claim their Staub cracked, I'm amazed. I have a number of Staub pieces and I abuse them something terrible: right from fridge into pre-heated oven, etc. And, I have never even had the enamel chip.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AliceG3398
,MO
October 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grill pan!!
October 16, 2012
I have had my 12" pan for about six months and use it once a week on average. Does a great job grilling lamb chops, steaks or pork chops. Heats up well and makes nice grill marks. I love this pan and use it any time I want something grilled but don't want to bother with the outdoor gas grill. This is fast and easy with excellent results.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Weight
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ille
,TX
Grand Prairie, TX
April 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Product
April 5, 2012
I have not used this product yet. I ordered the 12 inch and should have ordered the 10 inch. I gave it to my daughter and she loves it. She prepared delicious and beautiful looking steaks and chicken breasts with it so far. I plan to purchase the 10 inch next week from a Williams-Sonoma store. The color (blue) is so beautiful. Unfortunately it is very heavy but that is to be expected. I own other Staub cookware and love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aexss
,San Jose, Costa Rica
March 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broke on the first use
March 9, 2012
Extremely dissapointed. In my convector kitchen at 3/4 power, the pan broke on the first five minutes of use,Unfortunatelly I live abroad and could not clain the guarantee.
Cons: Fragile
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beavertonite
,Beaverton
,OR
Oregon
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great item but could be better
January 9, 2012
I had lusted after this grill pan for almost a year before I bought it--love the looks of it (beautiful exterior blue) and it is very easy to clean. While it is undoubtedly great for larger cuts of meat, like ribs and such, it is a disappointment for steaks. By the time the meat is seared on one side and ready to flip, the temperature is up and it is time to remove for resting, so you never get those deep grilled marks or the color that are so coveted. All in all, I will stick with my former aluminum grill pan and oven combo for steaks and save the Staub for other grilling. A disappointment, but one I can live with.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size
Cons: not good for small items