Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. This ridged grill and press cooks both sides at once. Simply preheat the press, and then place atop the food for stunning results. 12" sq., 1 3/4" high. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Multicoat enameling creates a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel contains traces of quartz for added durability and a textured surface that results in better browning. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the pan requires no additional seasoning. Spout on pan's side facilitates draining liquids. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
msfondu
March 29, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cooks More Food- Fewer Batches-Delicious!
March 29, 2015
This is large enough to cook several chops, or 2 large steak strips. You can cook them on the stove top, but now I just heat the oven to high heat (with the grill inside), put the meat in and cook a few minutes on each side. (See Mark Bittman's easy steak recipe on You Tube.) Food prepared in this pan is always delicious. I don't have a problem with cleanup as others have stated. I just soak it in warm soapy water and later clean with a nylon scrubbie. As for storage, I wrap it in a heavy kitchen towel and stack with other wrapped pans. It won't scratch if stored that way. I also have a Le Creuset grill, but it is small & you can only cook for 2. The extra space on the 12 in. Staub helps me cook for more people. The next time I make chicken fajitas, I'll be able to grill at higher volume, with fewer batches than my LC. I just love this pan. PS Yes, it's heavy-- but worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJoe
,Hammondsport
,NY
September 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Grilling indoors? Yes!
September 11, 2013
I use my outdoor grill all year long, even in the snow. My purchase of a Staub Grill Pan & Press, 12" gives me perfectly grilled steaks right on my kitchen gas range. I was pleasantly surprised at the results the first time I grilled Strip Steaks indoors, grilled to perfectly rare perfection! I've since had the same results with Filet Mignon and Rib Eye steaks. Am VERY pleased with my purchase
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
,WI
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
9of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great apperance doesn't equal great function
January 16, 2013
Have used twice with marginal results - chicken breasts and Italian sausages (large links). The grill pan must be heated super hot as the food contacts only the ridges. When cooking semi-fatty food (sausages above) the dripping fat starts burning and creates a smelly, smoking mess. I heated the press in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes prior to use with the grill. Marginal searing from the top press. Cleanup of the grill is more time-consuming than indicated. Make sure you thoroughly clean to the bottom of the ridges - burned grease is really tenacious. I have other Staub casseroles and many Le Crueset pieces that I am quite pleased with but, for the price, this grill and press is not worth it.
Pros: Durable, Shape, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gerty
,Long Island
,NY
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
8of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed
January 2, 2013
Love to cook. I have 7 Staub pots and french ovens of different sizes and shapes and love them all, and use them a lot. This pan is a disappointment. The square shape makes it more difficult to store among majority of round pans, but I have a stainless square pan of the same size and was expecting that. The grill pan has a classy look, but: it is not balanced well, feels much heavier than even my huge Staub pots, I cannot pick it up by the handle with one hand. The food sticks to it and It was difficult to clean (I used it only once, to grill fish). I prefer my All-Clad non-stick grill pan.
Pros: classy look
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, food sticks
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
artemisrrs
,marshfield
,wi
October 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cooks tool
October 2, 2012
Love the pan! Wanted it for over a year, but had a hard time justifying the cost, finally bought it....should done it sooner! Great for all kinds of meat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Syndi
,Escondido
,CA
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfectly Grilled / Seared Food
June 26, 2012
I love my 12' Staub Grill Pan, but I especially LOVE my Staub Press. It's the heaviest I've found. It works great even on my outdoor grill. The Grill Pan cooks evenly and perfectly each and every time. Clean up is simple. This is my 1st Staub product, it will not be my last. A great investment and addition to my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Grill Pan & Press, 12"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ille
,Grand Prairie
,TX
Grand Prairie, TX
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Addition to my Cookware
April 12, 2012
I have not used this pan, it is too large for my husband and me. I gave it to my daughter and she loves it. She prepares steaks and chicken breasts in it that are absolutely delicious. I purchased the 10 inch at a Williams Sonoma store. I am very disappointed that no press is available for the smaller size. The press is actually what attracted me to this pan. Hope that dishes will turn out as well as my daughter's. Love the colors. I decided to my Staub cookware in different colors because I honestly can't decide which I like the best! :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store