Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan

Whether sauteing poultry or frying bacon, the textured surface of this pan browns beautifully and heats evenly. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Multi-coat enameling ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a deep, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
uraqt2
,Pine Grove
,CA
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect replacement for traditional cast iron!
October 6, 2014
My deceased husband loved cooking with cast iron. I just did not like the continuing maintenance for that particular cookware. This Staub 10" skillet is perfect for me and is a dream for sautéing, frying, browning and preparing sauces. It goes easily from stovetop into the over and is easy to clean and maintain. As with my other Staub cookware, I always heat slowly and increase heat gradually to achieve the desired cooking temp. The 10 inch size is not too heavy and I store it in the oven. I use this on a glass top range.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enigmachef
,IL
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional product
July 29, 2014
This pan is truly remarkable. Though the price tag can be a big intimidating, with a brand like Staub you really get what you pay for. The blue glaze is stunning, the pan is beautifully made, heavy but not burdensome. I use it on medium heat usually or lower, it heats up very quickly and evenly, a swipe of butter and fried eggs come off better than nonstick without all the chemical concerns! The lovely sear you get from the cast iron and the ease of use with the enamel have made this my go-to pan, I've used it nearly every day since it arrived! I'm getting rid of my nonstick griddle and the 12" of this pan should work perfectly to replace it as well!. Since it is so non-stick cleanup is a breeze, I have been babying it though and have yet to get it entirely back to the "perfect" finish it came with but I'm not too concerned about it :). Wood spatulas with this pan are perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heirloom cast iron - Pricey/Heavy but worth it!
June 14, 2014
I have thought long & hard between the Lodge & Staub fry pans, of course the price points are on different ends of the spectrum. Even though Lodge has finally come out with a pre-seasoned version less prep/maintenance you still need to be careful of rusting. This needs little or no maintenance no worries of rusting! I purchased during the 20% off cookware sale & purchased the 12" fry pan in blue! I have non stick & stainless fry pans but nothing beats cast iron! This in particular is basically maintenance free. I put boiling or hot water in it while cleaning up and even if it seems stained I used a little liquid bar keepers friend and voila ... Gone! it looked brand new! I do worry about the beautiful blue glaze being scratched but f it does it obviously won't affect the usage.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gatorlaw
,Atlanta
,GA
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superior Fry Pan
June 2, 2014
I have used high quality stainless pots and pans all my life. Just getting into cooking with cast iron and this fry pan was my first test of enameled cast iron. This pan put a beautiful sear on some lean pork tenderloin without smoking like crazy as stainless will do. My meat did not stick to the pan-but I did get the crunchy pieces in the pan needed to deglaze and make a lovely sauce for the meat. Clean up was ok-just put some water in the bottom of the pan and heated-then left on the stove top while cleaning rest of hte kitchen. After the pan cooled, it literally rinsed clean in the sink. This fry pan is really superior and I think it may only get better with use. The pan is also VERY beautiful! I got the oval 4 QT pan as well and they both look like works of art. While I have never used LC-I have seen it-let me tell you that in terms of looks Staub WINS! I cannot imagine any pan providing better performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IMHungry
,Clinton
,NY
May 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nonsticking?
May 27, 2014
Why only 3 stars? First of all the color and durability of the Staub products is amazing. The problem I am having with my pan is that this one is such a pain to clean. My wife and followed the guidelines for using it and still have problems. We coated it with oil, slow raise the heat when using it and never cook up 5 on the stove. We also have never ran it through a dishwasher, always hand washed and dried. When we make an egg scramble is it nearly impossible to clean. After the amount of money invested in the 12 pc. Staub I would expect better. Already looking to replace with a Calphalon set.
Pros: Quality, Color
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SandyToes
Posted November 14, 2014
Scrambled eggs are notorious for being one of the stickiest foods of all. Try boiling some water in your pan. This is basically deglazing with water. While the pan is on the heat, start scraping with a wooden spoon or spatula. With a little luck, the eggs will lift right off.
When the pan is clean and dry, re-oil it. That may help. Make sure the pan isn't too hot before adding the eggs, and use plenty of butter or oil until your pan becomes less sticky. Good luck!
0points
Customer avatar
Butterlover
Central Massachusetts
Posted July 18, 2014
Try deglazing
It cleans up far better than non-enameled cast iron if you deglaze everything. Not only does it clean up great (anything stuck on wipes right off) you get a little pan au jus with everything! I keep a bottle of Marsala and vermouth right on the counter for my enameled cookware. The fact that it's textured instead of super smooth like regular non-stick is that the texture allows for better browning, and if you deglaze you get the best of both worlds.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheLoveofStaub
,Baltimore
,MD
January 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Addition
January 30, 2014
I have been looking at this skillet and the LC skillet for some time. I purchased the LC because the pan was deeper and had a splatter screen thinking that it would make a difference. It didn't so I returned it for the Staub. Allow me to say, it cooks beautifully. I cooked some scrapple and before it was done, I was looking for a steak to cook. My first LOVE is Staub (graphite). I have three pieces and now my eyes are on the braiser. This cookware brand is such a great investment to the point that I rarely dine out now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beachpea
,Boxford
,MA
Greater Boston Aree
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Number #1 Fry Pan!
September 17, 2013
This is a wonderful fry pan! Love the weight, the color and the size. On the top or in the oven...very versatile! Put a Staub in your kitchen...you will not look back!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patlovie
,Washington
,DC
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best cast iron fry pan
May 15, 2013
We use this for just about anything. Very versatile. It is heavy and substantial but the heat distribution is great. Staub has a textured surface rather than smooth enamel of Le Creuset which makes it better for browning and also more nonstick which is very nice. It is very easy to clean as well. Much prefer Staub over Le Creuset.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mel10
,Atlanta
,GA
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, Easy Care, Nice Size
March 26, 2013
This little pan is fabulous in every way: it looks great (I love the blue), it cleans up easily, even when used to scramble eggs, and the smaller size is great (I also have the bigger one and love it, too). I wish it came in an even smaller size; I'd get that one too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
G413
,Grand Rapids
,MI
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub blew me away
January 30, 2013
Post-holidays I was in WS and discovered a Staub coccette on sale so made the investment . . . . I loved the look, the fact it goes from stove to oven to table to fridge, and the grey color looks impressive with my Juliska china. . . . my first attempt was a roast - the results blew me away! Then over New Years I made a lamb stew. Again, noticeably more tender, juicy, delicious than ever before . . . . with the juices the pan created from the roast, I made my best gravy ever. I immediately got online to buy an entire set . . . . equally impressed so far. Yes, it's a bit heavy, but it cleans up easily . . . . and if you want to take your cooking to the next place, Staub makes it happen! I've been raving so much, 3 friends have already joined in and bought some Staub pieces. We all love the colors too (grey, yellow and green between us) and the fact each piece is unique.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, superior results
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
juiliette
,Seattle
,Wa
Spokane, WA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good size & heavy
December 30, 2012
Sent as a gift, recipient really likes this cast iron skillet & the color is really nice.
Pros: Durable, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, Weight
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
warmpuppy
,camden
,de
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so far so good
December 30, 2012
I bought this pan because I could not get my regular cast iron to season and this was rated so high, It is very pretty (I got the red) and very heavy. I have cooked steaks in it and they came out well, and sauted' mushrooms and they also came out well. My only reason for giving 4 instead of 5 stars is that it has a gray mark on it that won't come off, from the sticker I guess. Nothing that I cooked stuck - but that darn residue will not come off. Other than that - a good purchase.
Pros: Durable, Color, Size
Cons: Weight
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
NomDPlume
Orange County, CA
Posted October 24, 2013
Remove sticker residue
Use Goo Gone (available at any hardware store, Target, etc.) to completely remove the sticker adhesive residue. Be sure to then completely remove the Goo Gone with a dry paper towel. Then soap & warm water. Rinse thoroughly and DRY IMMEDIATELY. (Water is the enemy of cast iron.)
Don’t forget to thoroughly season your pan with olive oil, and refresh the seasoning from time to time.
0points
Customer avatar
tptedge1
Knoxville, TN
Posted January 16, 2013
Goo Gone
We have several Staub products. Had the same issue with the leftover glue from the various labels Staub uses. My mother in law used this stuff called Goo Gone. Petroleum distillates and citric terpenes. Just put a small amount on a paper towel to gently moisten the needed area and use circular motion until it feels like the goo is gone. Use the dry side of the towel to wipe of residue then wash with warm/hot water and soap. Works for us everytime with no negative effects on the finish. Let us know if it works for you. Great pans for sure.
0points
Customer avatar
Brittys08
MT
Posted January 5, 2013
For the "sticky residue"
You could try spreading some mayo over the spot and let it set for about 15 min. then try scrubbing it off with a non-abrasive scrubbing pad. I do this when I need to remove residue from labels on my jars and it works perfectly! Works well for grease on the back of the stove top too. :-)
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NEhusker
,Lincoln
,Ne
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Wonderful
December 27, 2012
I love the pan. It cooks great on medium to medium low heat. It's definitly my go to pan. Thanks William Sonoma!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchnewbie
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love My Staub Fry Pan
September 16, 2012
Great for browning food. Easy to clean and no seasoning the pan required. Lovely color, I got the basil. The pan is heavy but it's expected since it's cast iron.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nolalady
,New Orleans
,La
June 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub is excellent
June 20, 2012
This was my 1st Staub purchase and I am extremely satisfied and continue to be very happy with all my Staub pieces. I only wish Staub made an 8 or 9 inch fry pan in addition to the 10 and 12 inch sizes.
Easy clean, quick and even heating. I have 5 pieces now: sautes, gratin and fry pan and use them every day. They still look brand new. I much prefer Staub to Le Creuset.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardengal12
,Mandevile
,La
May 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best pan I own!
May 10, 2012
I bought this pan after reading the reviews.
It is every thing and more that is written about it. I have been using a very old cast iron skillet. So time consuming to clean.
My new Staub was sooo easy!
I now have birthday gifts for my daughter and daughter-in-laws. Yea, I love this skillet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookinNorCal
,SF Bay Area
,CA
SF Bay Area, CA
May 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely awesome fry pan!!
May 1, 2012
I have a ton of All Clad fry pans (Copper Core, trad. Stainless, & oters), Lodge cast iron and Scanpan CTX premium non-stick fry pans. But I just bought the Staub 4qt wide cocotte and was so impressed with how it cooks that I bought both Staub fry pans...WS seems to be the only vendor for these, & at a fantastic price.
They cook AMAZINGLY! We eat alot of lean poultry: I got the most excellent sear/browning on skinless turkey tenders ( which I find hard to do as well/easily in any of my other pans), then a pan sauce with shallots, saffron, cream wine came together fantastically & perfectly. None of my other pans perform like these. They are quite amazing in cooking performance.
True, they are heavy like cast iron: I am a female, but that is not my issue; I like heavy
cookware. Highly recommend these...get 'em while you can!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: none
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrianC
,Las Vegas
,NV
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go To Pan
April 11, 2012
I've had the Staub fry pan for about 6 months now. I use it at least once a day and it looks like new. I was hesitant to purchase something that was not a true "non-stick". That has not been a problem at all...a little spray oil and fried eggs come out great. Even with careful use my previous quality non-stick pans would show wear after a while...so far the Staub looks like the day I bought it. I would recommend this pan to anyone who cooks a lot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NomDPlume
Orange County, CA
Posted October 24, 2013
Be careful what oil you spray with
Be careful what oil you spray with. Don’t use PAM to spray your pan - it will leave a residue that will eventually clog the pores of the enameled cast iron. Better to use pure (need not be ‘extra virgin’) olive oil.
Don’t forget to also thoroughly season your pan with olive oil, and refresh the seasoning from time to time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrsbode
,Valley Park
,MO
March 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
March 7, 2012
I received this fry pan as a Christmas gift. I Love Love Love it. I use it every day. Clean up is easy and it goes from the stove top to the oven with ease. It is a little heavy, especially when there is food in it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MinnesotaE
,Prior Lake
,MN
Minnesota
February 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best pan ever
February 25, 2012
My husband got me a different piece last year for Christmas and I liked it so much I asked for the 10" fry pan this year. It's fabulous.I use it at least a couple times a week. In reference to those who have sticking problems.... turn down the heat!!
When the recipe says med hi - go for med. I first tried it at higher temps and I too had sticking/burning. It cleaned up well but since turning the heat lower, things cook just as well without sticking. I used a seasoning that had maple in it recently and that did leave a burnt on residue. I added a little water and some dish soap and heated it on the stove and it cleaned right out with a non stick spatula. I hope I stay strong enough to use these forever.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, price