Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan

Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cast-iron cooking to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Whether you're sauteing poultry or frying bacon, the textured surface of this pan browns beautifully and heats evenly. Heavyweight enameled cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Multicoat enameling creates a glossy, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish that resembles fine ceramics. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops, including induction. Dishwasher safe. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Stockton
,CA
May 15, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and functional
May 15, 2016
This is a geirgoys pan that has prime realestate on my stove. I would recommend this to everyone. It is super easy to clean. I am going to have to start lifting weights though its no lightweight!! I love it though I burned some sausage in it and thought I ruined it....I put some hit water and 3 minutes later it all lifted off like it was never stuck. I am going to learn everything I can about cooking with cast iron because im a convert!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Quality, Color, Shape
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lindon
,Ut
April 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and functional
April 25, 2016
This is a beautiful piece of cookware. I used it yesterday for the first time, and I had no problems with food sticking. I cooked a pot of beans, and then used the fry pan to make refried beans. I had no sticking. The directions in the product booklet say to apply cooking oil before using the fry pan.Here's what I did, instead: using bare fingers (clean, of course), I applied a thick coating of Crisco all inside the pan and then used a clean cloth to wipe off the excess. This avoids paper towel shreds being left in the pan. Then I heated the pan very slowly, and added canola oil to fry the beans (I would love to use lard, but my heart wouldn't like that).They were delicious. I soaked the pan afterwards, and clean-up was no problem. For we empty-nesters, this fry pan is also the perfect size.
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Rochester
,NY
April 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
VERY DISAPPOINTING
April 25, 2016
This skillet is so very difficult to deal with. It does not perform like any other cast iron pan, and absolutely EVERYTHING sticks to it. It is impossible to clean, and takes so long to maintain that I simply avoid using it. There are less expensive products with greater ease of use, and if you really want the high end feel,Le Creuset gives you the look without the hassle. This thing is simply a disaster to own!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Montgomery
,AL
October 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than I expected!
October 7, 2015
I was looking to replace an old set of non stick cookware. I wanted something chemical free, durable and gas range friendly. I bought the 12" Staub fry pan to test out enameled cast iron and it has been great! Easy to use and clean. Goes from the cook top to the oven without issue. I've used it 4 times a week over the past 5 weeks and it still looks brand new. My only complaint is that the stickers they use can leave a residue that's hard to remove. WS porcelain and enamel cleaner removed it easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Color, Shape
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,VA
September 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frying Eggs
September 14, 2015
I'm disappointed that I cannot seem to fry a decent egg in this skillet. Is there something simple that I should do to achieve success. Right now, the egg just sticks horribly to the skillet!
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Rumpel
Atlanta
Posted December 20, 2015
How to fry eggs
Enamel coated iron is not optimized for cooking eggs, but you can do it perfectly, if you juggle everything just right. You can Google how to fry eggs in my cast-iron skillet. It is quite tricky the first time to get the temperature just right. I did it once and scrambled eggs came out beautifully with no sticking. But it was very difficult to get everything just right while you are multitasking (cooking) with other things going on. So I broke down and got a nonstick omelette pan for eggs only.
0points
Customer avatar
GinaLaLa
California
Posted November 18, 2015
Use a spray on cooking oil
I haven't ever cooked an egg with spraying my pan with good ol' "P@m". Eggs don't stick for me when I use it.
0points
Customer avatar
Barnmom
Richwood, Ohio
Posted November 7, 2015
Some help maybe with those eggs
Did you use any butter or oil to fry eggs?
Eggs will release from any pan when the proteins rearrange themselves during cooking. I have to check while the egg is cooking. Sometimes I get it right, sometimes wrong.
With repeated use, the pan should acquire some seasoning. Not sure of cleaning requirements here, but iron pans don't need cleaned with soap and water.
Good luck.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Toronto
,ON
August 17, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great everyday pan
August 17, 2015
This is my third piece of Staub and another satisfying product. I have used it in the oven and on the stove top. In my case a glass top! Cleaning has been easy. It gained a "patina" after cooking some sausage and onion, but after cooking some Beer glazed citrus chicken, the patina disappeared and it looks like new. I don't find it too heavy, but I have to remember to have the ove-glove nearby! Ouch!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Color
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Winnsboro
,TX
June 22, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Staub Cookware
June 22, 2015
The fry pan is the third piece of Staub that I've purchased from Williams-Sonoma - and I love every item. So easy to cook with, quick clean-up. I keep going back for more. The cast iron pieces are a little heavier than everyday cookware, but well worth the extra heft. Never dreamed that I would find cast iron with a non-stick interior. And it looks great for serving.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
Nyc
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New BFF
December 31, 2014
Best frypan forever! This pan quickly became the workhorse of my kitchen. A typical day for this pan is pancakes for breakfast, heating leftovers for lunch, and grilling a steak and onions for dinner. I've owned the pan now for a few months and the cooking surface still looks brand new. And remains nonstick. That's because I've followed the care instructions that came with the pan - heat not too high, and soak with soapy water immediately after use. I plan to have this pan forever!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, non toxic
Cons: no lid
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pine Grove
,CA
October 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect replacement for traditional cast iron!
October 6, 2014
My deceased husband loved cooking with cast iron. I just did not like the continuing maintenance for that particular cookware. This Staub 10" skillet is perfect for me and is a dream for sautéing, frying, browning and preparing sauces. It goes easily from stovetop into the over and is easy to clean and maintain. As with my other Staub cookware, I always heat slowly and increase heat gradually to achieve the desired cooking temp. The 10 inch size is not too heavy and I store it in the oven. I use this on a glass top range.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,IL
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional product
July 29, 2014
This pan is truly remarkable. Though the price tag can be a big intimidating, with a brand like Staub you really get what you pay for. The blue glaze is stunning, the pan is beautifully made, heavy but not burdensome. I use it on medium heat usually or lower, it heats up very quickly and evenly, a swipe of butter and fried eggs come off better than nonstick without all the chemical concerns! The lovely sear you get from the cast iron and the ease of use with the enamel have made this my go-to pan, I've used it nearly every day since it arrived! I'm getting rid of my nonstick griddle and the 12" of this pan should work perfectly to replace it as well!. Since it is so non-stick cleanup is a breeze, I have been babying it though and have yet to get it entirely back to the "perfect" finish it came with but I'm not too concerned about it :). Wood spatulas with this pan are perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waldwick, NJ
June 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heirloom cast iron - Pricey/Heavy but worth it!
June 14, 2014
I have thought long & hard between the Lodge & Staub fry pans, of course the price points are on different ends of the spectrum. Even though Lodge has finally come out with a pre-seasoned version less prep/maintenance you still need to be careful of rusting. This needs little or no maintenance no worries of rusting! I purchased during the 20% off cookware sale & purchased the 12" fry pan in blue! I have non stick & stainless fry pans but nothing beats cast iron! This in particular is basically maintenance free. I put boiling or hot water in it while cleaning up and even if it seems stained I used a little liquid bar keepers friend and voila ... Gone! it looked brand new! I do worry about the beautiful blue glaze being scratched but f it does it obviously won't affect the usage.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color
Cons: Weight
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superior Fry Pan
June 2, 2014
I have used high quality stainless pots and pans all my life. Just getting into cooking with cast iron and this fry pan was my first test of enameled cast iron. This pan put a beautiful sear on some lean pork tenderloin without smoking like crazy as stainless will do. My meat did not stick to the pan-but I did get the crunchy pieces in the pan needed to deglaze and make a lovely sauce for the meat. Clean up was ok-just put some water in the bottom of the pan and heated-then left on the stove top while cleaning rest of hte kitchen. After the pan cooled, it literally rinsed clean in the sink. This fry pan is really superior and I think it may only get better with use. The pan is also VERY beautiful! I got the oval 4 QT pan as well and they both look like works of art. While I have never used LC-I have seen it-let me tell you that in terms of looks Staub WINS! I cannot imagine any pan providing better performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Clinton
,NY
May 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nonsticking?
May 27, 2014
Why only 3 stars? First of all the color and durability of the Staub products is amazing. The problem I am having with my pan is that this one is such a pain to clean. My wife and followed the guidelines for using it and still have problems. We coated it with oil, slow raise the heat when using it and never cook up 5 on the stove. We also have never ran it through a dishwasher, always hand washed and dried. When we make an egg scramble is it nearly impossible to clean. After the amount of money invested in the 12 pc. Staub I would expect better. Already looking to replace with a Calphalon set.
Pros: Quality, Color
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SandyToes
Posted November 14, 2014
Scrambled eggs are notorious for being one of the stickiest foods of all. Try boiling some water in your pan. This is basically deglazing with water. While the pan is on the heat, start scraping with a wooden spoon or spatula. With a little luck, the eggs will lift right off.
When the pan is clean and dry, re-oil it. That may help. Make sure the pan isn't too hot before adding the eggs, and use plenty of butter or oil until your pan becomes less sticky. Good luck!
0points
Customer avatar
Butterlover
Central Massachusetts
Posted July 18, 2014
Try deglazing
It cleans up far better than non-enameled cast iron if you deglaze everything. Not only does it clean up great (anything stuck on wipes right off) you get a little pan au jus with everything! I keep a bottle of Marsala and vermouth right on the counter for my enameled cookware. The fact that it's textured instead of super smooth like regular non-stick is that the texture allows for better browning, and if you deglaze you get the best of both worlds.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Baltimore
,MD
January 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My New Addition
January 30, 2014
I have been looking at this skillet and the LC skillet for some time. I purchased the LC because the pan was deeper and had a splatter screen thinking that it would make a difference. It didn't so I returned it for the Staub. Allow me to say, it cooks beautifully. I cooked some scrapple and before it was done, I was looking for a steak to cook. My first LOVE is Staub (graphite). I have three pieces and now my eyes are on the braiser. This cookware brand is such a great investment to the point that I rarely dine out now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 15 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boxford
,MA
Greater Boston Aree
September 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Number #1 Fry Pan!
September 17, 2013
This is a wonderful fry pan! Love the weight, the color and the size. On the top or in the oven...very versatile! Put a Staub in your kitchen...you will not look back!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
May 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best cast iron fry pan
May 15, 2013
We use this for just about anything. Very versatile. It is heavy and substantial but the heat distribution is great. Staub has a textured surface rather than smooth enamel of Le Creuset which makes it better for browning and also more nonstick which is very nice. It is very easy to clean as well. Much prefer Staub over Le Creuset.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 17 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful, Easy Care, Nice Size
March 26, 2013
This little pan is fabulous in every way: it looks great (I love the blue), it cleans up easily, even when used to scramble eggs, and the smaller size is great (I also have the bigger one and love it, too). I wish it came in an even smaller size; I'd get that one too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 18 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Grand Rapids
,MI
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub blew me away
January 30, 2013
Post-holidays I was in WS and discovered a Staub coccette on sale so made the investment . . . . I loved the look, the fact it goes from stove to oven to table to fridge, and the grey color looks impressive with my Juliska china. . . . my first attempt was a roast - the results blew me away! Then over New Years I made a lamb stew. Again, noticeably more tender, juicy, delicious than ever before . . . . with the juices the pan created from the roast, I made my best gravy ever. I immediately got online to buy an entire set . . . . equally impressed so far. Yes, it's a bit heavy, but it cleans up easily . . . . and if you want to take your cooking to the next place, Staub makes it happen! I've been raving so much, 3 friends have already joined in and bought some Staub pieces. We all love the colors too (grey, yellow and green between us) and the fact each piece is unique.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design, superior results
Review 19 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Seattle
,Wa
Spokane, WA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good size & heavy
December 30, 2012
Sent as a gift, recipient really likes this cast iron skillet & the color is really nice.
Pros: Durable, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, Weight
Review 20 for Staub Cast-Iron Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,camden
,de
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so far so good
December 30, 2012
I bought this pan because I could not get my regular cast iron to season and this was rated so high, It is very pretty (I got the red) and very heavy. I have cooked steaks in it and they came out well, and sauted' mushrooms and they also came out well. My only reason for giving 4 instead of 5 stars is that it has a gray mark on it that won't come off, from the sticker I guess. Nothing that I cooked stuck - but that darn residue will not come off. Other than that - a good purchase.
Pros: Durable, Color, Size
Cons: Weight
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Trout507
Montgomery, Al
Posted October 7, 2015
WS porcelain and enamel cleaner
I had this issue to and I picked up Wiliams-Sonoma Porcelain and Enamel cookware cleaner and it worked like a dream!
0points
Customer avatar
NomDPlume
Orange County, CA
Posted October 24, 2013
Remove sticker residue
Use Goo Gone (available at any hardware store, Target, etc.) to completely remove the sticker adhesive residue. Be sure to then completely remove the Goo Gone with a dry paper towel. Then soap & warm water. Rinse thoroughly and DRY IMMEDIATELY. (Water is the enemy of cast iron.)
Don’t forget to thoroughly season your pan with olive oil, and refresh the seasoning from time to time.
0points
Customer avatar
tptedge1
Knoxville, TN
Posted January 16, 2013
Goo Gone
We have several Staub products. Had the same issue with the leftover glue from the various labels Staub uses. My mother in law used this stuff called Goo Gone. Petroleum distillates and citric terpenes. Just put a small amount on a paper towel to gently moisten the needed area and use circular motion until it feels like the goo is gone. Use the dry side of the towel to wipe of residue then wash with warm/hot water and soap. Works for us everytime with no negative effects on the finish. Let us know if it works for you. Great pans for sure.
0points
Customer avatar
Brittys08
MT
Posted January 5, 2013
For the "sticky residue"
You could try spreading some mayo over the spot and let it set for about 15 min. then try scrubbing it off with a non-abrasive scrubbing pad. I do this when I need to remove residue from labels on my jars and it works perfectly! Works well for grease on the back of the stove top too. :-)
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
page1 2 next