Staub Cast-Iron Braiser

Not only is this pan perfect for braising meats, but it can also go straight to the table with paella or jambalaya. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Multi-coat enameling ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a deep, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mpstat
April 11, 2014
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most used Staub
April 11, 2014
I have many Staub pieces from mini cocottes to a gigantic 13 qt cocotte. I found that some pieces are used more frequently then the others. Both braisers (2.75 ,and 4 qt) top the list for usage. I even bought a decorative fish knob for the smaller braiser to make it look pretty since it is being used so much. I use the smaller one for both cooking on a cooktop as well as baking upside down fruit desserts (it is perfect 9" diameter for baking needs). Very useful for a small family of 2-3 people.
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tsip
,Brownwood
,TX
Brownwood, TX
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you get one Staub, get this piece
December 28, 2013
I had always lusted after the staub or le creuset large roasting pans (the 6 qt. ovals, etc) and finally ordered one for Christmas. My husband, the sweet wonderful guy that he is, told me to order a second pot for myself. I ordered this one, not knowing how wonderful it would be. It is my all time FAVORITE pot. I use it all the time. I rarely use my big pot (other than roasting chicken, large hams, etc). This braiser is great for chilis, casseroles, roasts (the flat style roasts, etc, etc.) You will find it the most versatile dish in your kitchen. Spaghetti sauce, hamburgers, vegetable tians....LOVE IT!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, gorgeous!
Cons: Weight
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MelindaM20
,Ringgold
,GA
November 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful piece of cookware
November 11, 2013
I wanted this to use as a fry and saute pan to replace my old non stick fry pan. I've only cooked in it once so far and I made a sauce for lasagna. It cooked up beautifully and clean up was a breeze. I hope it performs as well when I fry okra in it for Thanksgiving which is why I only rated it a 4 as I haven't had the opportunity to use it a lot to know its potential. I was torn between the Basil or the Red. I really wanted the Grenadine but WS doesn't carry it any longer that I could find although other websites have the Grenadine. But, WS was offering 20% off one item which I used for this purchase so I opted for the red. However, I am very pleased with the red. It isn't as bright as shown on the website. I find it to be a a very deep red which is what I wanted; it's beautiful. Thanks, Mom and WS.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Shape, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Aceholly
Chesapeake va
Posted March 19, 2014
Top 100 Contributor
How did you make the sauce?
Hi, I am new to using this type of cookware. I have always used non stick, but am getting tired of my expensive pans that I am BABYING losing their non stick. Since i have always used non stick, I have never worried about using any oil until now, now that I have a Staub fry pan ( which I love ). I understand using oil in my fry pans because I have only been cooking chicken and ground beef so far, but what about when I want to cook other foods? To get to my point of my question, how did you make your sauce? This may seem like a really silly question to most of you, but what if I just want to open up a can of soup and heat it up? I mean..... I am not going to put oil or butter in the bottom of my sauce pan.... Right? Any help that anyone could give me on this would be great! I want to buy other Staub cookware, like the sauce pan, braiser (which I will use more for sautéing) but I don't know if foods that you don't cook or heat up without oil will stick since Staub is not a true non stick. What about if I wanted to just warm up some milk in the Staub sauce pan? Obviously I wouldn't use butter or oil, so wouldn't it stick? Sorry again, I know to many of you these questions might seem silly, but when you have always used true non stick cookware and are trying to merge to use a type of cookware that will last a lifetime but is not a true non stick, it's confusing. By the way, I might need to add that I can't use stainless steel cookware. I have tried so many times but everything sticks. I have really, really tried but I have ruined two very expensive pans trying to use them. So this is another reason why I am worried and want some help. I don't want to buy a Staub sauce pan and try to heat up some soup, milk, or make a sauce but have it burn and ruin my pan..... If there is anyway someone could add a comment to these questions I would be truly grateful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kessham
,Queens
,NY
Queens, NY
June 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gorgeous and Functional
June 27, 2013
I must admit that I'd been lusting after this Staub braiser for over a year. I passed over it last year when I needed a cast iron pot expressly for table top hot pot cooking. The Le Creuset Heritage Chef's Pot was my choice over the Staub for it's shape and it has stood the test of time as a soup and bean pot. It's a shame WS no longer carries it, so I'm very glad I snagged one. But I was finally able to satisfy my longing for the Staub 4 qt. braiser this spring when WS ran it's big cookware sale. It was a wise purchase. Perfect for braised chicken dishes and Indian curries. I recently did a large amount of braised green beans with coconut and it was perfect at braising in liquid and then boiling it off to leave the beans beautifully glazed and crisped in the coconut sauce. And so easy to clean. Did I mention how beautiful the royal blue is? Just stunning. Goes right to the table as a serving piece. I'm very, very happy with this wonderful piece of cookware!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JuliaT
,Ham Lake
,MN
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Size
December 31, 2012
This is a perfect size for my husband and me. I have a larger braiser that we use when we have company. But I prefer my Staub braiser. Besides meats & poultry, it's perfect for baked ziti or to use as a skillet. Love it!!! Also, I bought it in Basil - beautiful!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CGMEngineer
,Rapid City
,SD
November 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pot to Cook With
November 18, 2012
This is very quickly becoming my favorite pot to use. I ordered this and the 12" frying pan and they are very pleasurable to cook with. They cook well even on my apartment's cheap 70's Kenmore electric stove. I have cooked two chicken based vegetable dishes and I literally just leave the dishes to simmer. All the vegetables cook evenly. The lid's weight helps to create a great seal and helps everything come out nice and juicy.
On the note of sticking, my 12" has a very small amount of stuff stuck to the bottom because I cooked a lot of bacon one day and the fat got burnt in. It hasn't affected the taste and I'm certain that it will come out over time. The braiser doesn't have anything stuck to it. Just remember to heat the pots progressively, things might take a bit of time to cook but they come out great each time.
Pros: Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: not the easiest to clean
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ILoveBrisket
,Seattle
,WA
November 2, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, versatile cookpot
November 2, 2012
I love this pot! I have the 4qt braiser and use it all the time. I am a beginner cook and have been thrilled with how versatile and easy to use it is. I've had it for about a year and have braised many pork shoulders (for pulled pork and carnitas), used it for browning meat for spaghetti sauce, and even fried eggs in it! Because it is pretty wide (11 inches), I often use it instead of my 12 inch frying pan. It is surprisingly non stick and easy to clean. I put a little olive oil in it before cooking. Afterwards I put a little water in it after it's cooled and any stuck on food comes right off. Keep in mind that this braiser has the smooth interior, not the honeycomb bottom like others sold elsewhere, so you really can use it for frying. I have since purchased a few other Staub pieces -- I love them all, but this is still my favorite go-to pot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kazoo
,cincinnati
,oh
July 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a magic pot!
July 5, 2012
This has become our 'go to' pot for cooking nearly anything.....it never fails me! It cooks chicken dishes wonderfully, keeping the meat moist, cooking the vegetables well but not overly cooked......it's wonderful! It is definitely our favorite cooking dish, and now a favorite gift to give! Everyone should have one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 9 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nolalady
,New Orleans
,LA
June 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You'll use this for everything!
June 24, 2012
This is our go to pan for almost everything we cook. If I could only keep one pan this would be it. I own both the large and small Staub braisers and find that I can create virtually any recipe using one of these two pans. I bake, fry, poach, braise, seer, roast, saute....you name it.....using this braiser. I particularly how easily they clean up. I rub a tiny bit of canola oil on them after each use and they sparkle like new and they are pretty much nonstick. Great buy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 10 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patts
,LaGrange
,il
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub is the best
May 9, 2012
love staub. I have 9 pieces. This is great dinner for two size. I go to Staub first now. Rarely use my all clad. Nice for potato dishes or side dishes for larger gatherings.
I know I will be buying more.
I acutally like the weight, the lifting is good for you!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, nice for display
Review 11 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ille
,Grand Prairie
,TX
Grand Prairie, TX
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Magnifique!!!!!
April 12, 2012
This braiser is simply awesome. I use it 2 to 3 times per week and absolutely love it. Everything that I prepare in it turns out perfect - succulent, flavorful and presents very well. Well worth the price. I am sold on Staub. I've also bought the 12 and 10 inch grill pan. Love the colors!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 12 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dafjdf
,Orange County
,CA
Orange County, CA
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorites!!
April 12, 2012
I use this everyday for everything from eggs to meats to sauces to reheating pizza to braising. So versatile and wonderful. Between this braiser and my dutch oven I almost never use my all clad pans anymore.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: price
Review 13 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mercurio
,Tucson
,AZ
February 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
5of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
February 21, 2012
I have several Staub cookwares and am very pleased with the product line. I was disappointed that this piece did not have the signature spikes on the lid as my others. The video that is show as product advertisement demonstrated with this products demonstrates the spikes. My other braiser is smaller, it has a waffle pattern on the bottom of the pan, and this one did not. Nothing in the product information states the waffle bottom or spikes but then the only pitcher does not have a view of the inside of the pan or the bottom of the lid. I returned the product especially since the spikes are on all my other Staub cookware.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 14 for Staub Cast-Iron Braiser
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betsy35
,Middletown
,CT
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great litle braiser
January 2, 2012
This is a great pan. I was going to get the larger one, but it was sold out, and I'm glad. The small braiser is perfect for cooking veggies or meat for 1-3 people. Like all Staub cookware, it''s functional and attractive.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design