Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"

Perfect for baking hearty gratins and casseroles, this cast-iron French favorite is adept at coaxing crispy brown crusts or toppings. Staub's innovative enamel coating takes cooking with cast iron to the next level with improved performance, style and durability. Multi-coat enameling ensures strength and heat resistance and creates a deep, vibrantly colored "majolique" finish similar in appearance to fine ceramic for oven-to-table presentation. Resistant to rust, chipping and cracking, the coating requires no additional seasoning like some other cast-iron pieces. The specially formulated black matte interior enamel of each piece contains traces of quartz, giving it additional heat resistance and a rougher surface resulting in better browning. Included lid keeps dishes warm even after being removed from the oven. Extra-heavy lid seals in moisture for tender, flavorful results. The smooth enameled base is compatible with all cooktops including induction. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
Review 1 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cookie13
,Wichita Falls
,TX
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Knob Scratch
November 29, 2013
Love this dish but it did come with a scratch on the knob. Used it yesterday for dressing outside the Thanksgiving bird, a la Alton Brown. Removed the lid at the end to crisp the dressing surface. This dish is very handy to cook, then crisp the surface at the end. Don't need foil. Would buy it again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape
Cons: scratch on knob
Review 2 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJones
,Newport
,RI
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE LOVE LOVE
November 28, 2013
I just received this last week and I made my gourmet potatoes in it today. It helped me achieve a nice golden brown crust on the bottom and sides. I love this baking dish it was so easy to clean!!!! I just wish I came in the Sapphire Blue to match the rest of my Staub products.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Color
Review 3 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaisyNJ
,Central
,NJ
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best baking dish, and it has a lid!
January 26, 2013
I bought two of these at Christmas time: one for my sister and one for me. I couldn't be more pleased. I specifically wanted a non-stick pan to bake fish, and I wanted it to have a lid because I hate wasting tin foil.
I've used it a dozen times or so. I've baked fish, meat, and roasted vegetables in it. It cooks beautifully, and keeps the food nice and warm with the lid on. It washes easily, and finishes up looking brand new. The size is just what I wanted: a medium to larger size. Also the color is really, really good.
If I had to find one flaw I'd say I wished the handle on the lid was a bit larger, more like the Creuset handle. But that is a tiny criticism on a superb pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 4 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coffeebean32
,Sandusky
,OH
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile, Love
January 17, 2013
This dish is great, I have used it for baking chicken in sauces, stuffing, corn bread, use it for anything that fits its great every time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 5 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GeorgeT
January 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Baking Dish
January 12, 2013
This baking dish is as good as advertised. My food cooked evenly. It was a perfect dish to sit out for my dinner party. I loved that it had a top. Since it has a black interior, it doesn't show any stains. It also cleaned easily.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 6 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nolalady
,New Orleans
,LA
June 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very versatile, high quality
June 24, 2012
This is another great Staub product that I use often. Originally this pan was on back order so I considered purchasing one of the smaller gratin pans but am really happy I chose this larger and lidded version. It was worth the wait. I use it for baked fish, poultry and meat, potatoes and basically anything that goes in an oven! Really happy with the way it browns. The lid has not only added to the number of cooking options but it keeps food super hot for serving.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shoeboxquilts
Ranch in Central Texas
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Staub Oval Gratin
May 23, 2011
What a wonderful Staub piece! Like all Staub, the covered Au Gratin is wonderfully made, and a breeze to clean. I make au gratin potatoes in it, but in addition, I used it to keep frajitas, steak fingers and fried chicken warm while cooking for a crowd; I just put it on my griddle, or in a warming oven. I am thrilled with the quality of Staub products. They are worth every penny and so pretty they can go from chuck wagon to table. Thank you Williams Sonoma for making them available. I will add to my collection of Staub cookware at every opportunity. See Chef John Folse for outstanding cast iron recipes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, classic
Review 8 for Staub Cast-Iron Oval Gratin Baking Dish with Lid, 13"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MinnesotaE
Minnesota
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More than Gratin Great Pot
March 2, 2011
I love this pan. It was a gift and had hinted for a skillet type pan I could use for a variety of uses but puffed pancakes for sure. I love the black textured interior. It's easy to clean and if you over heat something when searing... it doesn't show! I've used it for oven puffed pancakes as well as for oven baked chicken. Great! Highly recommend.
I have a deep pot of another brand with a white interior which is nice for soups but it does have a discoloration in the bottom after a year of use.