This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)

Freshly brewed Starbucks(R) Caffe Lattes, espresso and brewed coffee are just a touch away. Our exclusive Verismo(TM) 585 System is the first single-cup machine that allows you to perfectly craft your favorite Starbucks(R) beverages at home, all with one machine in less than a minute. A range of preprogrammed functions also makes it easy to customize your perfect cup. Uses Starbucks(R) coffee and natural milk pods (sold separately) to automatically brew individual cups of coffee, espresso and Caffe Lattes. Swiss engineered high-pressure technology extracts the finest flavor from the coffee and creates sweet, creamy steamed milk. Creates 19 bars of pressure for a coffeehouse-quality crema atop every cup of espresso. Machine reaches brewing temperature in just 15 seconds. Brews espresso in 30 seconds and coffee in under a minute. Height-adjustable drip tray accommodates different cup sizes. Used pods automatically drop into built-in container that holds up to 30 used pods before disposal is needed. Custom temperature control button to suit your preference. Adjustable, programmable beverage size settings. Easy-to-read, user-friendly LED display. Internal water-filtration system. Large 118-fl.-oz. removable water tank. Integrated rinse cycle. Automatically shuts down after 5 minutes of inactivity. LED notifies you when it's time to add water, empty pod container, descale or change the filter. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
22 of 36(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
Review 1 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Rochester
,NY
October 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
14of 16found this review helpful.
Best Single Cup Coffee Maker Yet
October 2, 2012
I picked this up over the weekend and so far we are just thrilled with this coffee maker. The Verismo makes the hottest cup of coffee from a single cup machine we have ever tasted. The fact that it comes up to temperature and ready to brew in 15 seconds is just unbelievable.
The taste of both the Coffee and Expresso's are excellent and the Lattes are good to very good with perhaps a little too much of a milky taste but still good. Are they as good as Starbucks - well not quite but close.
For more info on this unit check out my video review on YouTube.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Speed
Cons: expensive
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Review 2 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RRaap
,Sarasota
,Fl
September 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent System
September 14, 2013
The Verismo 585 works extremely well. I am very satisfied!! I hope Starbucks creates flavor pods (i.e., pumpkin, etc)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Size, Speed, Design
Review 3 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SHARON041156
,california
July 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
had 2 of these sent both back
July 13, 2013
worst coffee maker ever, dirty little secret as soon as some weight is put in the glass the contacts come apart and the red water icon comes on, you must push the bottom back into place or the machine burns the coffee, the contacts are very easily separated if you are making a large drink. last time i cleaned the machine which was at least 1 month after use, the clean macine would not go away so, i returned the second one.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile, Size
Review 4 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
treesmiths
,Kayak Point
,WA
April 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Best coffee ever.
April 18, 2013
We used to have a Rialto, and were limited by the flavor range of the beans waiting to be ground. This machine has many different flavors available from Starbucks and from CBTL. The pods are expensive but the quality of drink is excellent. I have read some complaints about the milk pods flavor but it is a 2% powdered product. I prefer this machines larger reservoir (almost a gallon) and it also has a replaceable carbon filter.
The filter limits the amount of mineralization that can damage the machine long term, and it enhances the flavor of the drink with better tasting water
.
The sale price is what made the deal for me. We are making about 80 oz. of coffee a day
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: expensive pods
Review 5 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nonono
,Huntsville
,AL
April 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Great latte, BUT
April 10, 2013
The Verismo 585 makes great lattes but the process is not reliable. I often have to stop and repunch the pod. The drop-in is not always accurate. The machine itself is not level. One foot is shorter than the other three (annoying). It is quick, but I have to watch to make sure the pod has punched
because about one of four times it has not.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Speed, Assembly
Cons: Temperamental, not level
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rmbean
,Greeley
,CO
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Great for daily latte's! Easy to use.
January 3, 2013
I make lattes & americano's every day . I’m very pleased with the ease of use and capabilities of this machine. Some hints:
* If you like it hotter, rinse 2 or 3 times first to get it up to full temp.
* For a grande 16 oz. latte, try using one milk pod and one espresso pod - but push the button twice for each. The espresso is plenty strong enough.
* Make sure handle is straight up so your pod doesn't slip through - if it does, it's easy to retrieve, rinse off and put back in.
* The dried milk tastes a little different at first, but after a latte or two your tastebuds adjust. For me, the convenience of not needing fresh milk on hand is a winner.
* Decaf espresso is now available. Regular coffee comes out strong and bold too – tried both Christmas Blend & Verona.
* Acommodates many size cups, there's a removable section to use taller cups. Workable for most coffee & latte mugs.
* If it’s not working for you – review the instructions. Took a few days to learn.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile
Cons: Loud
Review 7 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoffeemanJr
,Houston
,TX
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
A Great Cup with Ease
January 2, 2013
It makes a great cup of coffee or latte. It is fast, easy and a smart design.
In reading some of these reviews, one person feels the size of the cup is limited. Limited to a quart maybe. We have no issue with any of the cups or mugs in our house. It's very versatile.
The water supply is huge so we don't have to fill it but every two or three weeks. And when done, the pods drop into a large catch bin that doesn't require emptying until 30 empties fill it up.
The temperature is very hot so no issue there. And unlike its predecessor, this one has a nice steady stream of liquid that doesn’t spatter. The outlet adjusts up and down to minimize this but it’s so steady it doesn’t seem to be any issue.
Now I'm sure there are people that are more discriminating in their tastes or perhaps like to spend 15 minutes each time they create a drink. But if you like a good cup of coffee or latte and like it done in one of the easiest ways possible with minimum fuss, this is a great unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 8 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sutterent12
,Davis
,Ca
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Great espresso small expensive coffee
January 1, 2013
Machine works great . My main complaint is the serving size and pod cost. The coffee pod serves maybe 4 ounces so for a vendi size serving takes maybe six pods which makes for a very expensive but tasty cup. It is cheaper for me to drive to Starbucks .We basically use it for an espresso and lattes which again are small but good. Don't buy unless you already have a traditional coffee machine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 9 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mholcomb
,San Diego
,CA
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Verismo 585 System by Starbucks
December 30, 2012
After looking for a single-serving coffee maker for a while, I decided on this one. I bought pike place pods and tried them in my new machine. The flavor is the same, but the coffee seemed just slightly watered down compared to what you would get in a Starbucks. However, I may just need to play with the settings. The sample espresso pods that come with the machine are great (I add a bit of milk and sugar to mine) and have been my favorite so far. They are fantastic.
As many have said, the milk pods do have a funny taste to them, very artificial. They also do not foam up like in a latte you would get in a store. I threw out the rest of the sample milk pods.
If you are looking to make lattes like you would find in a Starbucks store, this is NOT the machine for you. The Delonghi Lattissima Plus is a much better choice. However, if you are looking to make brewed coffee or espresso, I highly recommend it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed, Design, looks great
Review 10 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lynn2216
,PA
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Item came damaged
December 27, 2012
The item works fine and the coffee tastes as if you were at a Starbucks store. My only issue is that the water tank came damaged, but not enough to go through the trouble of sending it back. The bad news is it was a gift for someone else. It was more aesthetic than anything else so the recipient decided to just keep it. Other than that it was a great gift.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NotTellinYou
,Chicago
,IL
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
10of 15found this review helpful.
So so sad...
December 25, 2012
I have a Tassimo and have been waiting for the return of Starbucks to the the realm of single cup machines that make latte's. But unfortunately this isn't it! From the out of the box experience, bad design, to the way the machine itself is designed I am underwhelmed. I don't know where to begin on the physical limitations of the machine to accept to say that anything but the skinniest and shortest cup won't work even with the tray out. The fact the a standard coffee mug in 99% of American homes doesn't fit is a HUGE miss and design fail. But the real story is the coffee and in my case the latte which is why I bought this, and though all its troubles, have hung on the Tassimo. I have to say the taste is truly terrible, and I'm a daily Starbucks customer, and just wanted this to be even "good enough" but it's just terrible! I couldn't even finish it! So it's back to the Tassimo, which has it's own challenges, and the Verismo is getting returned to your store after the holiday.
Pros: Assembly
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Size, Taste, Design
Review 12 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Joseph36
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Just not hot enough
December 18, 2012
I wanted to like this item. Unfortunately after trying out three seperate Verismo 585 systems, I have come to the conclussion that they are all manufactured the same way. The manual says that the temperature of the water for coffee and espresso should be around 194 degrees f. That is not the actual temperature. My instant read thermometer is showing between 158 and 165 degrees f. The milk button is slightly cooler. So, I know I am measuring the temperature of the correct buttons. If you brew coffee and plan to add cream, your coffee will get luke warm very fast. I plan to return this item once I go through the pods I ordered. For now, I will continue to pop in the microwave to heat it up before adding cream. I would keep this if the temperature was even close to what the manual stated. 30 degrees difference is too much.
Cons: drinks are not hot enough
Review 13 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anony11
,Philadelphia
,PA
December 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Fantastic machine
December 9, 2012
I just don't understand the folks who are panning this machine. The 585 makes a fantastic cup of coffee that rivals the cup made by my local Barista. Plain and simple this is the best single cup coffee maker on the market. I have tried almost all of them and I would take this any day over the competitors.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 14 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
greengal
,Sacramento
,CA
Sacramento, CA
December 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Very Disappointed
December 8, 2012
I bought this machine and was initially very happy with it. However, after one month a cleaning light came on that could not be cleared. It also would stop in the middle of brewing to indicate you should empty the machine of pods when it was not full. I exchanged this machine for another after Starbucks recommended replacement. Once again after one month of use I got the same issues. Plus, there is not a lot of coffee choices, no decaf coffee, and you cannot yet purchase replacement water filters. Save you money and buy a different coffee maker
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Cons: Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 15 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pkh1955
,Oak Habor
,WA
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
I purchased my own Christmas present
December 7, 2012
We tussled over this purchase and then decided to go for it. The price was more than we wanted to spend but the package arrived today and my goodness it is fantastic.
It is plug it in and make coffee in less than 5 minutes. No assembly and the unit is very nice looking.
Heats FAST. Pull espresso shots and then make coffee and it tastes wonderful. I am wondering why I would ever have to go to my local Starbucks again.
It also makes the warm milk with the milk pod that you can add chocolate and make cocoa. Run the water only feature and instant hot water for tea. I cannot find anything negative to say about this wonderful espresso,coffe,tea and cocoa maker. Love it Love it Love it!
So worth the money. We looked at the smaller unit. It holds 30 oz of water and the 585 unit holds 118 oz of water. A better fit for us.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 16 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scott98
,Cumming
,GA
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Makes a great cup of coffee and fast
December 6, 2012
This Verismo 585 replaced a failing Keurig maker. What a difference! The water tank, much larger and the speed to get my cup of coffee in the morning is reduced way down. I like the pod holder, but it would be just as easy for me to take out and throw in the trash can. One con with this unit, it is a little louder. But other than that, extremely happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 17 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
redbicycle
,Cleveland
,TN
November 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
I am my own barista!
November 30, 2012
I've owned the 585 for over a month and I love it. Having owned a Nespresso system, the Verismo offers advantages: faster warm up, more user-friendly, easier to clean, accommodates different size cups , and I can buy a variety of capsules near home.
For espresso or coffee, there are no issues leaving the used capsules in the hopper. But not the milk pods. I think Starbucks is taking some flak over the milk - you have to clean out the used capsules right after using a milk pod or risk nasty spoiled milk residue, and the flavor of the milk leaves a little to be desired. I still think the milk pods are great concept that they will improve (flavor-wise) over time.
For best lattes, I use the Verismo milk frother/heater (separate purchase) with fresh skim milk. It's incredibly fast, easy, heats to the perfect temperature, and I don't have to empty milk pods.
Bottom line: I am a very satisfied owner of the Verismo V585.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design, easy to buy capsules
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Foley
,Greensboro
,NC
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Wish I had not bought this one
November 26, 2012
It is fraught with problems. The pods, which are expensive do not always pierce and then are unuable. The machine shows a pod container full light which stops coffee midstream, yet using another pod. There are 3 icons, seeming that you could make 3 different sizes but you cannot, you can only use the milk pods with the expresso, I have yet to make a full cup of coffee that was right- either too strong or too weak. I do not like it at all and will try to take it back. For $400, this is a mess!!!
Pros: Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 19 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Adub
,Tupelo
,MS
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Did Starbucks test with a focus group first??
November 23, 2012
Several kinks should have been worked out before putting this machine on the market. 1) The water tank/lid/handle keeps a mildew smell. 2) The red waste pan indicator light randomly comes on, mid-brew (which aborts brewing) or after the pan is emptied & reinserted (which prevents a new brew from starting). The WS rep was very helpful & sending a replacement machine. 3) The stagnant water that collects at the bottom of the waste bin/tray is disgusting. I would much rather just discard each pod after use, like the Keurig or Tassimo. 4) The "programmable drink size" was not what I thought it was. Can only change espresso shot from single to double. I was hoping to individualize cup size for coffee (small, med, large). 5) Limited coffee variety. Missing my all time fav, Sumatra blend.
Bottom line, I was just expecting/hoping $400+ to buy a higher quality, professional grade machine than this one turned out to be.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Speed, makes great coffee
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, no cup size option, limited coffee variety
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jscan
Posted December 5, 2012
espressso maker not a coffee pot
You are not going to have a full cup of coffee option, this machine was made to make espresso/latte's, not a cup of reg coffee. Buy a keurig for that. As for your other concerns, I would agree, they should have done extensive market testing first, but unfortunetly its a race to see who gets the quickest product out there to sell first. (quantity not quality)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Verismo(TM) 585 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mauijade
,Shorewood
,Wi
November 13, 2012
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
18of 20found this review helpful.
Not at all Happy/ 3 times!
November 13, 2012
I purchased this machine and trusted the WS quality. I was mistaken but not WS fault.
The first machine had 'issues'. The filter leaked some sort of silicone after 7 days. We took it back and WS was great about the return. I was foolish and insisted on trying another one this time did not put the filter in. The second machine lasted 7 days and the pump stopped! We then returned it for the smaller Verismo that leaks water! I called STB and they said that is common to just keep the handle raised. Wow for two hundred dollars? No Thank you!
I am back to the Nepresso! Do not even try to buy this machine until they fix all the problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, Loud, Size, does not work properly.
page1 2 next