This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)

Freshly brewed Starbucks(R) Caffe Lattes, espresso and brewed coffee are just a touch away. The Verismo(TM) 580 System is the first single-cup machine that allows you to perfectly craft your favorite Starbucks(R) beverages at home, all with one machine in less than a minute. Uses Starbucks(R) coffee and natural milk pods (sold separately) to automatically brew individual cups of coffee, espresso and Caffe Lattes. Swiss engineered high-pressure technology extracts the finest flavor from the coffee and creates sweet, creamy steamed milk. Creates 19 bars of pressure for a coffeehouse-quality crema atop every cup of espresso. Machine reaches brewing temperature in just 15 seconds. Brews espresso in 30 seconds and coffee in under a minute. Height-adjustable drip tray accommodates different cup sizes. Used pods automatically drop into built-in container that holds up to 10 used pods before disposal is needed. Automatically shuts down after 5 minutes of inactivity. 33.8-fl.-oz. removable water tank. 7 3/4" x 16" x 14" high.
Average Customer Rating:
2.605 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
18 of 43(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
Review 1 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
renren
,NT
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing Machine!
January 26, 2013
Totally in love with this machine. The coffee that comes out tastes just like Starbucks, it comes out nice and hot. I love that it is much smaller then others on the market and looks great on the counter top.
Two cons are it is a little loud, and you need to add water almost every time(I hit coffee twice per cup, its too strong otherwise).
All in all this machine is a great purchase and I would suggest it to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Loud
Review 2 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fitnessmom
,Arlington
,TX
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not Impressed
January 26, 2013
Was very excited to purchase the Verismo 580 system for my husband for Christmas, only to have my expectations crushed. Many times the pod drops all the way through, so I have to dig it out again. Not happy with the amount of coffee it produces, and many times I'm having to run the espresso button first, to get the reg cup light to come on to make a reg cup of coffee. My mom has already got rid of hers and bought the Keurig instead. Thinking of doing the same thing.
Review 3 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TommyK
,Brookeville
,MD
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Nothing like a Starbucks Latte
January 26, 2013
I would agree with many of the reviews, specifically:
1) The serving sizes are significantly smaller than a Starbucks "Tall", making the economics of the machine questionable
2) I found the taste to be awful. I thought perhaps the supplied coffee/milk pods were spoiled, so I bought fresh ones at starbucks. Its likely the milk pods, but that being the case, what's the purpose of this machine?
3) It is very loud, but had the lattes tasted good, it wouldn't have mattered.
I ended up returning it. You have to hand it W/S, their returns are about as easy as it gets.
Pros: Design
Cons: Loud, nothing like starbucks
Review 4 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DivaFred
,San Ramon
,CA
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Easy to use
January 7, 2013
I was hesitant in ordering the machine based upon the reviews but decided to take a chance. I agree the milk pods are not great tasting and have chosen to use the Verismo frother which works great. I haven't had any problem with wasted PODs - if the machine jams and it drops into the waste receptical just reach in and reinsert it - problem solved. I also run water through the espresso twice with no lack of taste.
Pros: easy to use, coffee and espresso quality compares to the store. Time saver since I no longer have to wait in long lines.
Cons: Small portion size, not as economical as portrayed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 5 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Zarastro
,Ny
,NY
January 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Terrible Disappointment
January 7, 2013
I was thrilled when Starbucks released this machine. The coffee was every bit as good as coffee brewed by a barista. Unfortunately, After just three months, the water pump has failed. The reliability of this machine is terrible, it should be recalled. Obviously, a great product concept that was not ready for prime time.
Cons: poor reliability
Review 6 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mscharlach
,Sacramento
,CA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Machine for the price!
January 3, 2013
I was really torn on whether or not to ask for a Nespresso or Verismo for Christmas. I ended wanted a Verismo. I like how it offered brewed coffee and espresso. The Nespresso only does espresso drinks. I got my Verismo for Christmas and couldn't be happier. I can get a great cup of coffee in the morning fast. My only negative about this machine is the milk pods, doesn't' taste that great. But I just order the Verismo milk frother. Overall I recommend this machine and it looks great on the kitchen counter!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: taste of milk pod
Review 7 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HiHoSteveO
,St Louis
,MO
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Machine!
December 30, 2012
This is a really nice coffee machine that makes everything you might want, and quick too. It is so simple to use and clean and the results are great! I like that it is compact and doesnt take up counterspace. Sure if you dont operate it correctly you may lose a pod or two, but geez, follow the instructions and it works perfect! I do wish the lattes were a little hotter but overall very satisfied with this little guy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HPham
,Chicago
,IL
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Blame Picky, User Error for Bad Reviews
December 27, 2012
Honesty, after reading the majority of negative reviews on the product, many of these issues may be due to user error and/or inexperience with the product.
Those who have issues successfully puncturing the pods- I'm not sure how that is possible, as this has never happened to me. i suggest pushing the lever in a swift motion and making sure it starts at a 90 degree position. going slow will only cause it to drop.
Those who complain it is overfilling their cups, clicking on the button again will stop the drip. Clicking on it again will continue it.
I believe many people who have issues with the taste may be more picky than I with how their coffee turns out to them. Quite frankly if this is the case, an instant coffee machine may not have been the right purchase with you to begin with.
As for the coffee taste:
It's delicious! For those who want great coffee in less time in the morning, this is for you. It is quick and easy, and the less thinking I have to do in the morning, the better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Speed, Assembly
Review 9 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CCRN
,Oviedo
,FL
December 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Latte at home, yummy!
December 27, 2012
I received this machine as a present. The milk is perfectly frothy. It makes a very pretty latte. It is loud, but that is due to the high pressure, as it only takes 15 seconds to froth milk for a latte. I am going to try this with the regular coffee pods. I just wish the there was a heat setting to make the coffee hotter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: Loud
Review 10 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rick11
,Chicagoland
,IL
Chicago / Northern Wisconsin
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Starbucks Big Miss!
December 25, 2012
I can't believe Starbucks released this machine. I thought I bought a lemon but after reading these reviews I can see mine is the norm. The biggest problem I have is the pods drop thru or get smashed inside the machine. I went to my local Starbucks and questioned the staff who quickly gave me a free box of espresso. One of the Managers showed me her trick to keep the pod on course. Her first try and the pod fell thru. A simple coffee machine like these all make ok brew, but there shouldn't be tricks or oddities of any type just straight forward coffee. I'm also a little disappointed with W.S. for letting this one thru.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Loud, High-Maintenance, Fragile, small cup, waste coffee
Review 11 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kmckim
,Ankeny
,Ia
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love it! Best cup of coffee
December 25, 2012
My husband couldnt wait to get started when it arrived...he says its the best cup of coffee, he doesn't want go out for coffee anymore!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: have to buy special pods
Review 12 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tomk88
,Waterbury
,Vt
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
More trouble then it is worth
December 21, 2012
This is one of the worst purchases I have made in years. It is way to hard to use, I'm going back to my old keurig which is much easier to use. This maker is to loud and to many steps to get a cup of coffee. Save your money.
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use, Speed, Temperamental, Loud
Review 13 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stefair
,Colorado
,Co
December 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
2of 7found this review helpful.
Do not buy
December 19, 2012
This machine is a pain in the neck. First of all it is so load. It will wake up your entire household in the morning for one cup of coffee. The pods are expensive. The machine leeks water all over the counter and I can't figure out why. You have to go through a crazy series of steps that often don't work. The pods often slip through the cradle and end up in the discard bin. I end trying to dig out the unused pod and trying to decipher which pod is used or unused. Frustrating. It also requires to to purge the machine before each new cup of coffee. I returned it. On the upside, it's an attractive machine.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Loud, High-Maintenance, leeks
Review 14 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cupOjoe
,Carlsbad
,CA
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Good single serve Americanos and Coffee
December 17, 2012
I've had the Verismo for about 1 week. I've only made Americanos and Xmas Blend coffees with this and have been extremely satisfied. The flavor is strong and delicious and close to what you would get at any Starbucks. The single serve is a bit on the small side, but that doesn't bother me since I don't need to drink 48 oz. of coffee each day. Just as long as I have 1 or 2 cups of delicious and strong coffee, then I am happy. I have yet to make a latte so I have not tried the milk pods ( I usually have regular coffee, Americano, or espresso only). I would highly recommend this product. It is well worth the money especially at the sale price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 15 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KJLE
,Los Angeles
,CA
December 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Stay away from this product
December 12, 2012
If you like sour 6-oz. lattes, this is the machine for you. These things taste NOTHING like a Starbucks latte or any other kind of latte you have ever had. And I've had my share of machine-generated lattes. And even if the lattes tasted good, the machine has problems. If you make a mistake in the order you push the buttons, it won't let you go back and reset. I tried to reset to "milk pod" several times, and the machine wouldn't let me do it, even after unplugging and replugging. And the size of the drink is absurd -- it fills half of a smallish coffee cup at best. But all these problems would have been something I could deal with if the end product was worth it -- and it's not. Yeech! Do yourself a favor and purchase a different machine.
Cons: Temperamental, Loud, poor quality product
Review 16 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MichaelVie
,Arlington
,VA
December 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
At least there is no line!
December 11, 2012
I bought the Verismo for work. It makes a good tasting latte, but the portion is small and does not heat the beverage up enough for my liking. There is also a sequence to follow and if you mess it up - you are out those pods, and you will have to restart. What I do like about it though are the milk pods for easy office storage w/o a fridge. I recommend filtered water and keep some close because the reservoir is small.
Pros: Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Cons: Loud, small portions
Review 17 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Patent2005
,Alexandria
,VA
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Great for Office
December 6, 2012
My husband gave this to me for use in my office. I can't keep fresh milk, so I thought the milk pods would be helpful. I agree the milk taste could be improved, but I bought syrups from Starbucks and am able to make great tasting drinks without leaving my desk. I have not had any problems with leaks or lost pods so I am not sure why that is happening for some. I tried the nespresso but did not like the flavor of the type I tried. That said I am very happy and can have good coffee all the time and need not drink the office crud.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Cons: Loud
Review 18 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jelloprints
November 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
I had better tasting powdered milk in Afghanistan
November 30, 2012
Easy machine to use. Makes your drink in seconds. Do not buy the milk pods. I had better powdered milk when I was in Afghanistan. It is very watered down and smells egg like. I use it for espresso shots only to make iced lattes. Does not turn out as good as the sbux store. Espresso Shots are 1.5 oz. At $1 each. I require 4 shots to wake up, so I might as well go to Starbucks. Shots are not that strong. With the cost of the pods, you are paying over $50 a pound for the coffee.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
rydell6
Pennsylvania
Posted December 30, 2012
Espresso Pods
I have to agree that I too had some trouble with this machine and also felt that at the cost it would be very wasteful since I like you enjoy a strong espresso coffee in the morning. I called the helpline on the manual and was told by a starbucks employee that the espresso pods can be run through a second time for a double shot of espresso. I tried this and it works, so I thought I would pass this info on to you. :) Hope this helps
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaKyle
,Seattle
,WA
November 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
4of 12found this review helpful.
Don't listen to the haters - Great machine!
November 16, 2012
I don't know how the other users are using this machine but they are dead wrong! The espresso shots are GORGEOUS and taste delicious for my Americano each morning. The brewed coffee tastes great. It's so easy to use and I've NEVER ONCE had it leak, lose a pod, a crushed pod, etc. I think its user error. I will concede that the milk does taste differently and I don't care for it personally. However, for Americanos and brewed coffee it is outstanding. I use it every single day and ditched my KCup machine for it. The one con I have is I wish they made a double shot the standard so I do end up going through two espresso pods per day.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Speed, Design
Review 20 for Verismo(TM) 580 System by Starbucks(R)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AGlimomom
,Batavia
,IL
November 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Very disappointed
November 11, 2012
When the Verismo was introduced, I loved the color choices and the slim design. I couldn't wait to get one, but I was so disappointed when I actually used it. It was incredibly messy! Water would leak out of the milk and other pods, so I had to remove the cup holder/pod catcher everytime I had a drink to clean it. I even put a bag in the pod catcher and milky water still leaked around the back and into the tray. (see photos) Directions don't mention that you have to "clean" it prior to each use, so I wasted several drinks and syrups because dirty water would dispense into my cup at the beginning of the cycle. The pods don't always puncture and some were crushed, so I had to look into the top of the machine to watch it puncture the pod or I would ruin my drink. I also wasn't able to use a travel cup because it doesn't fit under the spout even with the the first tray removed. Horrible product, not worth the money! Seems like the product was rushed to market and not tested properly.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Brad, Electrics BuyerNovember 19, 2012
Hi Dear AGlimomom,
I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Starbucks 580 Verismo System and I’d like to try to help improve your experience with the machine. I can tell from your pictures that your pods are not being punctured properly. This can occur if you don’t open the handle all the way before inserting a pod, if you close the handle too slowly, or if you stop or hesitate as you’re closing it. If you were trying to watch the pod get punctured, it sounds like you may have been closing the handle too slowly. Instead, open the handle all the way, insert the pod, and use just one swift, fluid motion to close the handle and your problem should be eliminated. Even when your pods are being punctured properly, it’s a good idea to rinse out the pod catcher on a daily basis because the used pods will be wet when they drop through.
Yes, you do need to run the rinse cycle before each use. This not only cleans the machine, but it warms it up to the right drink-making temperature. When brewing into your travel cup, the lower drip tray should accommodate most standard travel mugs sizes, but larger mugs may require that you remove the metal tray to fit your mug.
I hope this helps. We will also post full instructions and troubleshooting tips on the Use & Care tab of the product information above.
-Brad

page1 2 3 next