This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, a Jedi master chef used the Force to create dynamic kitchen gear known as "cupcake stencils." These amazing tools had the power to summon the images of famous galactic characters, causing them to appear atop a young Padawan's(TM) favorite dessert. Today, adventurous young bakers will have fun using our stencils to evoke legendary Star Wars(TM) personalities. Our set includes Star Wars logo, Darth Vader(TM), Yoda(TM) and a Stormtrooper(TM). Just pick your favorite character, lay the stencil on top of the cupcake, then sprinkle with cocoa, cinnamon or decorative sugars. When you remove the stencil, your design will magically appear. Stencils have a slightly domed shape that hugs the surface of a cupcake to guarantee sharp details. Thanks to the stencils' generous size, sprinkles settle only in the cut-out shape - and not on the outer rim of your cupcake. A lip on the outer edge of each stencil helps collect leftover sprinkles for neater work with less waste. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. (C) 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
8 of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
Review 1 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alprs
,Atlanta
,GA
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Does Not Work!!
August 28, 2012
This product does not work. I tried using this for cupcakes I made for my son's birthday, and they did not come out well. The picture makes it look so easy, but don't be fooled. This product is a waste of money.
Cons: does not work
Review 2 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BakingGirl37
,Wilmington
,DE
July 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Great idea, but a bust
July 8, 2012
I am an avid baker and thought these would be easy for me to use. I couldn't make them work at all. The powdered sugar and cocoa bled onto the icing and looked a mess. Don't waste your money.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: does't really work
Review 3 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cornflkgrl
,Bozeman
,MT
May 4, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Works great with Edible food spray!
May 4, 2012
I am a very amateur baker with a kid who is obsessed with Star Wars. I used these stencils with black edible decorating paper sugar sheets cut (with scissors) into small circles. I then placed the circle inside the stencil so there was no gap and sprayed with a silver edible spray. Then I placed the sprayed sugar sheet circle on top of a frosted cupcake that was spritzed with one tiny spritz of spray frosting (on top of the decorator icing..spritz is for moisture to help sugar sheet adhere) and chilled it so that It would adhere. Threw on some sprinkles. Worked GREAT! The cupcakes were a hit with the kids. Only thing I'd do differently is change up the frosting underneath because there was some minor discoloration, but that has nothing to do with the stencils. The stencils are great. I don't think I could have used them with powdered sugar like suggested use though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: wish they were less rounded
Review 4 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsRobinson
,Harrison
,ME
Harrison, Maine
March 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Simple, Clever, and Fun!
March 14, 2012
I would suggest you practice first to get used to how the different toppings react to the frosting (i.e. melting, etc.). Wait until the frosting is well dry (a baker friend recommended chilling the cupcakes in the fridge for a while first) before decorating, as the powdered sugar in particular melted into the frosting! The cocoa powder worked well the first time.
I tried spraying the bottom of the stencils so they wouldn't stick so much to the cupcakes, but its better NOT to do that. It makes the frosting damp, which can give you problems mentioned above.
This was so much simpler than the normal decorating process. And were BIG hits with all the kids at my boys birthday party!! It was a HUGE success! Highly recommended.
We complimented the cupcakes with Star Wars Cookie Cutters (from W-S) and Star Wars Sandwich Cutters (from W-S). It completed the Star Wars portion of the Star Wars/Lego party! Fantastic!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: not enough detailed usage tips with product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jennystar3
February 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Stencils are adorable but tricky
February 14, 2012
Wow are these stencils cute! However, I have found that they are a little tricky to use. I don't use fondant, so the icing on the cupcake tends to stick to the stencil, which isn't a BIG deal, but you just need to be careful when you pull the stencil away. I also found that my cupcakes were more rounded than the stencil, but this was fixed by adjusting the icing or pressing the stencil in a bit. I also found that less is more when it comes to powdering, because too much powdered sugar made it look blobby. Just dusting it on was just right. The cupcakes were a big hit with my SW friends!
Review 6 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChewyChewyCyd
,denver
,co
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
works best with sanding sugar!
December 10, 2011
LOOOOOVVVEEE the product! works well with sanding sugar because it does not dissolve!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
yay4snow
Posted April 30, 2012
How about your frosting?
Did you do what other comments have suggested by letting the frosting harden in the fridge first? And then use the sanding sugar?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Australia
,Perth Australia
,wa
November 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
0of 8found this review helpful.
Star Wars Stencil Set
November 18, 2011
Bought these when I was on Holiday in New York. Luved the stencils but unfortunatly I made 16 cupcakes last night using the stencil and all the dusting powder has disappeared into the icing and you can no longer see the design. Will now have to re-ice cupcakes and come up with a plan B. It's a shame as stencils look so cool on cupcakes.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MrsRobinson
Harrison, Maine
Posted March 14, 2012
Same problem here
I feel your pain. I had to do mine 3 times! But a friend of mine said to chill the cupcakes in the fridge for a bit (mine was overnight) so the frosting hardens/sets and then its much easier to stencil. I also did it last thing, before guests arrived.
The cocoa powder I used was fine, just the icing sugar was a problem. Someone also suggested some colored decorated sugar... more like crystals, but I haven't used that myself.
Hope you can still use them!
Heather
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DarthBaker
,Austin
,TX
Texas
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Decorate faster than a pod racer
October 12, 2011
I love these stencils. They work great for adding a quick special touch to cookies, cupcakes, pancakes, even sandwiches. Sprinkle cinnamon, powdered sugar, paprika, sprinkles or colored sugar etc. The one trick that makes the image really clear is to make sure the stencil is directly on the surface of whatever you are decorating. Another great addition to the other Star Wars baking tools.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USMCBRAT
,Columbus
,OH
September 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great gift for Star Wars fans
September 30, 2011
All of my grandkids are huge Star War fans, and having Star Wars cupcakes for a birthay party was a huge hit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bridge343
Charleston, S.C
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Not so great
August 29, 2011
We love the star wars cookie cutters, and pancake molds, even though they are super hard to use.... However, these are a joke!! Can't even see what the design is..... they are awful.... cocoa powder, powdered sugar, whatever you use, doesn't work... just don't waste your time/money....sorry star wars fans.....
Pros: would be super cool
Cons: don't work
Review 11 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kepy
Hagerstown, MD
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A Hit with the children.
August 5, 2011
The stencil set is an easy way to create Star Wars cupcakes and treats. We've used it on cupcakes and pancakes.
Very simple to use and a nice special touch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design
Review 12 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicagoMom1130
Chicago
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Not only for cupcakes!
August 3, 2011
These stencils are great. Made out of a semi-flexible plastic, they are suitable for use on any number of soft(er) surfaces: cupcakes, pancakes, brownies, cookies, etc.
We have used them with powdered sugar and cocoa powder, (finding that smoothing the powders over the stencils gives a better result), as well as cookie decorators' writing icing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sanibelfan
August 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Harder than it seems!
August 3, 2011
You absolutely need to chill the frosting on the cupcakes before using these. That extra step adds time and, for us, disappointment.
Review 14 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flwrs27
Peoria, IL
August 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Disappointing
August 2, 2011
I bought this for someone who loves cupcakes and Star Wars ... what a let down! No matter what way I tried to get the stencil to work, it either didn't get enough powdered sugar / cocoa in the lines, or too much. There is no way anyone will know what they are unless you tell them. Save your money.
Review 15 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kindaDisappointed
Colorado
July 26, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
powdered sugar doesn't stay white...
July 26, 2011
First off, definitely cool the cupcakes in the fridge so the stencil doesn't stick to the frosting. After that, things went wonderfully. The cupcakes turned out great and I was really excited to surprise my son the next morning. So I go look at the cupcakes a while later (they were on the counter) and all the cupcakes with powdered sugar have no design anymore. The confectioners sugar is now clear-ish. I am not sure if the frosting is butter cream or not... I need to call the store and find out. Maybe the type of frosting used is really important. If that is the case, this information needs to be stated on the package. I re-sugared them and put them in the fridge. Next morning... same thing. The design has turned from white to clear. :( My son helped me sugar them one last time (THIRD time) that morning before we took them to his school. half of them were clear again before we even got to school.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: doesn't work
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Azntiger
Philadelphia, PA
Posted July 28, 2011
That's not really the fault of the product.
Try "Snow White Topping Sugar" it won't dissolve or sanding sugars would be an easy touch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)