This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, a Jedi master chef used the Force to create dynamic kitchen gear known as "cupcake stencils." These amazing tools had the power to summon the images of famous galactic characters, causing them to appear atop a young Padawan's(TM) favorite dessert. Today, adventurous young bakers will have fun using our stencils to evoke legendary Star Wars(TM) personalities. Our set includes Star Wars logo, Darth Vader(TM), Yoda(TM) and a Stormtrooper(TM). Just pick your favorite character, lay the stencil on top of the cupcake, then sprinkle with cocoa, cinnamon or decorative sugars. When you remove the stencil, your design will magically appear. Stencils have a slightly domed shape that hugs the surface of a cupcake to guarantee sharp details. Thanks to the stencils' generous size, sprinkles settle only in the cut-out shape - and not on the outer rim of your cupcake. A lip on the outer edge of each stencil helps collect leftover sprinkles for neater work with less waste. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. (C) 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
Review 1 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alprs
,Atlanta
,GA
August 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Does Not Work!!
August 28, 2012
This product does not work. I tried using this for cupcakes I made for my son's birthday, and they did not come out well. The picture makes it look so easy, but don't be fooled. This product is a waste of money.
Cons: does not work
Review 2 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BakingGirl37
,Wilmington
,DE
July 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Great idea, but a bust
July 8, 2012
I am an avid baker and thought these would be easy for me to use. I couldn't make them work at all. The powdered sugar and cocoa bled onto the icing and looked a mess. Don't waste your money.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: does't really work
Review 3 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cornflkgrl
,Bozeman
,MT
May 4, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Works great with Edible food spray!
May 4, 2012
I am a very amateur baker with a kid who is obsessed with Star Wars. I used these stencils with black edible decorating paper sugar sheets cut (with scissors) into small circles. I then placed the circle inside the stencil so there was no gap and sprayed with a silver edible spray. Then I placed the sprayed sugar sheet circle on top of a frosted cupcake that was spritzed with one tiny spritz of spray frosting (on top of the decorator icing..spritz is for moisture to help sugar sheet adhere) and chilled it so that It would adhere. Threw on some sprinkles. Worked GREAT! The cupcakes were a hit with the kids. Only thing I'd do differently is change up the frosting underneath because there was some minor discoloration, but that has nothing to do with the stencils. The stencils are great. I don't think I could have used them with powdered sugar like suggested use though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: wish they were less rounded
Review 4 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsRobinson
,Harrison
,ME
Harrison, Maine
March 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Simple, Clever, and Fun!
March 14, 2012
I would suggest you practice first to get used to how the different toppings react to the frosting (i.e. melting, etc.). Wait until the frosting is well dry (a baker friend recommended chilling the cupcakes in the fridge for a while first) before decorating, as the powdered sugar in particular melted into the frosting! The cocoa powder worked well the first time.
I tried spraying the bottom of the stencils so they wouldn't stick so much to the cupcakes, but its better NOT to do that. It makes the frosting damp, which can give you problems mentioned above.
This was so much simpler than the normal decorating process. And were BIG hits with all the kids at my boys birthday party!! It was a HUGE success! Highly recommended.
We complimented the cupcakes with Star Wars Cookie Cutters (from W-S) and Star Wars Sandwich Cutters (from W-S). It completed the Star Wars portion of the Star Wars/Lego party! Fantastic!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: not enough detailed usage tips with product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Star Wars(TM) Cupcake Stencil Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jennystar3
February 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Stencils are adorable but tricky
February 14, 2012
Wow are these stencils cute! However, I have found that they are a little tricky to use. I don't use fondant, so the icing on the cupcake tends to stick to the stencil, which isn't a BIG deal, but you just need to be careful when you pull the stencil away. I also found that my cupcakes were more rounded than the stencil, but this was fixed by adjusting the icing or pressing the stencil in a bit. I also found that less is more when it comes to powdering, because too much powdered sugar made it look blobby. Just dusting it on was just right. The cupcakes were a big hit with my SW friends!