This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Stainless-Steel Third Pan

Our top-of-the-line stainless-steel pan is hands-down the best model of this commercial-quality pan available. Ideal for countless kitchen uses, it's the professional's choice for everything from breading and marinating foods to freezing ice cream. Premium commercial-quality design, materials and construction for peerless performance and durability. Constructed in the USA of a heavy-gauge, nonreactive 18/10 stainless steel. Provides uniform strength along the base, sides and edges for unrivaled performance and durability. Extra-deep sides contain generous quantities, preventing spillovers. State-of-the-art lugs guarantee stability when you stack several filled pans in the refrigerator or freezer. Flexible low-density polyethylene lid ensures safe, convenient storage. Oven safe without lid. Dishwasher safe. One pan and one lid are sold together as a set.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
13 of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
Review 1 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect for Homemade Frozen Treats
November 5, 2012
I purchased two of these because I wanted something made of heavy duty stainless steel with a tightly fitting lid to freeze my sorbets and ice creams in. These are perfect--professional quality with a lid that really protects the contents. Tip: Line the pan with foil so that it's form-fitting. When the ice cream is frozen, lift the whole thing out and use scallop edged biscuit cutters to cut out rounds for use in ice cream sandwiches. The WS Ice Cream Sandwich Cookies are perfect an easy, unusual treat.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
summerbreeze2
Los Angeles
August 18, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Stainless-Steel Third Pan
August 18, 2011
Received today. the third pan is nice but really need two which would be quite expen sive for a set.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Cons: need two
Review 3 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jjbaby
Sacramento, CA
August 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for storing Ice Cream
August 8, 2011
This pan is perfect for storing homemade ice cream. I purchased along with the cusinart ice cream maker. It is not difficult to remove like other reviewers stated. I just make sure to loosen from each corner.
Pros: Durable, Design
Review 4 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HollyMA
Boston, MA
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Too difficult to use
July 14, 2011
I agree with the other reviewer; the lid is WAY to difficult to remove. So imagine you are holding a freezing cold container full of ice cream trying to remove the lid. Your hands are starting to get numb and you even start cutting your fingers with the sharp edges of this container as you try in vain to remove the lid...I just threw away the lid and use alum foil instead. On the other hand, it's a nice container to harden the ice cream and keeps it a cold while scooping.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 5 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kraerosmith
New Hampshire
August 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
great pan!
August 24, 2010
I was looking for a pan to store homemade ice cream in, and almost didn't give this one a chance due to poor reviews stating when frozen the cover is difficult to remove. I bought it assuming I would return it...but I love it and want to buy another! The cover seals tight, which is a plus for marinading. I had no trouble getting the cover off right from the freezer. Just don't try to pry it off from the corners, which seems impossible. Grab the flaps in between each of the 4 corners that fastens underneath the pan...pop each one loose, then remove the cover. Easy!
Review 6 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharry
June 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Storage for Ice Cream
June 29, 2010
I finally found the perfect storage pan for my homemade ice cream with the stainless-steel third pan, although the name confused me! Love it!
Review 7 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SarahSal
Jupiter, FL
February 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
I wish I had purchased 2 more!
February 4, 2010
This pan is the perfect size for multiple tasks; I bought this initially to store homemade ice cream but have used it to bread meat, store prepped veggies, etc. The pan is very versatile & the plastic lid makes storage a snap. Since it is stainless-steel it cleans up in a breeze. I should have bought 2 more for 3-step breading.
Review 8 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
superbitz
Connecticut
December 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lid is extremely difficult to remove
December 5, 2009
Prior to making this purchase, I read the reviews. Some said that the lid was difficult to remove after being in the freezer. I thought to myself, "how bad could it be?" & ordered the pan. Difficult is an understatement! When the pan is frozen, the lid becomes more stiff than it already is at room temperature, the metal pan is freezing making it difficult to hold, and you can't squeeze your finger under the lid without injuring yourself. Poor design. It's really too bad, I really thought that this would be the perfect place to store my homemade ice cream.
Review 9 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchfan
Johnson City, TN
September 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect size!
September 2, 2009
This pan is the perfect size for my homemade icecream.
Review 10 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DELPHITEAM
Santa Rosa, CA
August 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lids very difficult to remove
August 4, 2009
Imagine one containing ice cream... and the top will not come without prying it off... hands get a little cold... to say the least.
Review 11 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maedler
Sierra Vista, AZ
May 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
great for homemade ice cream
May 17, 2009
I like to make homemade ice cream and hated to try and store them in prior used ice cream containers. Other storage containers were also either too tall or round to fit in my freezer unit with my other items. Read the reviews concerning the difficulty of some in trying to open the lid, but found that if the pan was out of the freezer for just a couple of minutes (while I got the bowls and scooper out) I had no problems.
Review 12 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thebaker
houston
May 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
High quality
May 8, 2009
Great product with the exception of the lid. The lid is super difficult to open, which can be quite frustrating. Other than that, the product is very well made, it looks professional and is very effective for storing ice cream.
Review 13 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mariotta
CA
January 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Lid is hard to take off!
January 25, 2009
I bought this so i could store my homemade icecream.
However, the lid is really difficult to take off....especially when you just to take it out of the freezer.
You have to wait about 45 minutes for the container to thaw out to make it easier to open.
I don't know what else to use to store my icecream..so i will keep using.
Review 14 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
teenie
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Too big for the job
September 4, 2008
The "Third Pan" was much larger and heavier than anticipated -- I actually purchased it for storing my homemade ice cream. It took up more room than I could spare in my refrigerator's freezer section, and the most frustrating part of all is that the lid fit so tightly, it was a spill-hazard anytime I tried to remove it! (Unless the ice cream, etc. was frozen.) I promptly gave it to my son. Well-constructed, but not what I wanted.
Review 15 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pkbsmith
Kendallville, IN
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Terrific & Versatile
September 4, 2008
Great product! These pans are wonderful for their intended purpose; curing or freezing homemade ice cream. But they are also great for marinating or breading meats and vegetables. The only problem I've had is; the lids seal so well that they can be hard to open out of the freezer.
Review 16 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lori
cool, CA
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
ice cream keeper
September 3, 2008
These pans are great for storing ice cream, they keep the ice cream nice and frozen.
Review 17 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BORRACHO
CENTRAL CALIFORNIA
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
GREAT FOR MARINATING
September 3, 2008
I USE THE PAN QUITE OFTEN
FOR MARINATING A CENTRAL
COAST CLASSIC- SANTA MARIA
STYLE "BEEF TRI-TIP" THE CONTAINER
IS USED TO MARINATE AND STORE
2 TRI TIPS FOR BBQS AND
IT CAN EASILY BE STORED ON A
REFRIGERATOR SHELF. THE LID KEEP
THE MARINATE FROM SPILLING AND
THE PANS CAN BE EASILY CLEANED.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!
Review 18 for Stainless-Steel Third Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DanaDNY
Pawling, NY
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great for ice cream
September 3, 2008
I purchased two, and have used them to hold my homemade ice cream this summer. Perfect for this use - they help the ice cream firm up quickly and make it very easy to serve ! And easy clean up too !