This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons

Modeled on the traditional Indian masala dabba (spice box), this stainless steel tin has a large, round container that holds seven removable bowls small enough to fit in the palm of your hand. Each one has a built-in leveler and holds a different essential spice that enables you to focus on cooking and forget about searching for spices. Consider using several boxes to organize spices by cuisine and streamline cooking; a box prepped for Indian cooking might include: cumin seeds, ground coriander, turmeric powder, red chile pepper, garam masala, kala namak and white table salt. Smart design keeps spices organized by cuisine. A double lid keeps spices fresh. To make accurate measuring easy, a half-moon 'catch' for leveling measuring spoons is built into every small bowl. Each spice box comes with seven removable spice bowls and two standard measuring spoons - a tablespoon and a teaspoon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
Review 1 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
surya
April 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Best Spice Box
April 22, 2014
We use this extensively in southern part of India!
It has spices we use on a daily basis for easy access, you can get a variety of sizes, but this one is big and holds a good amount of spices.
I don't have to replenish every week!
I have Cumin, Mustard, Peppercorns, Red Chillies, Urad Lentil and Chana Lentil.
I came back to get more for my folks in India, but its out of stock :(
Highly Recommend this.... for spice, loose tea, anything!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Review 2 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Retcop
,Indian River
,MI
November 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent grilling aide!
November 11, 2013
This is the perfect way to take your essential spices outside to your grill!!
Very attractive also and really impresses your guests.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 3 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ssjc
,Everett
,WA
August 31, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great spice box
August 31, 2013
This is made very sturdy, and is a great way to store frequently used spices. I love it. I am thinking of ordering a couple more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 4 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wendykins
,Pompano Beach
,FL
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great spice organizer
August 5, 2013
This spice container is great for traveling when cooking at other people's houses which I do frequently, or for organizing families of spices like for desserts or cookies.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Strength, Design
Review 5 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChicagoLoopCook
,Chicago
,IL
July 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for fragrant spices
July 14, 2013
I purchased this spice box for our spices that are particularly fragrant. The box is very well made and handsome. It does its job very well of keeping the spices air tight and our closet where I keep spices tidy without being overpowered with competing aromas.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
constantcooka
,Fullerton
,CA
April 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Stainless Spice Box
April 25, 2013
So disappointed! I will be returning this item. While the box is beautiful to look at, it does not close properly. The inner layer cover is not a tight seal. Also the spoons do not fit in the box. I had such high hopes for this box as the individual spice cups look great. They are made like a baking powder can where you can easily measure and skim off excess. However, it is a no go for me as it would be most annoying to clean up constantly from the spices shifting in the outer container.
Pros: Quality
Cons: does not close tight spoons do not fit anywhere
Review 7 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WinstonofThree
,IL
March 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Organized Spice
March 6, 2013
My kitchen was covered with various bottles of spices and I was always in search of the perfect combination. I purchased 3 spice boxes and have all of the miss matched bottles trimmed down to 3 organized flavorings. It sounds silly but, flavoring is now fun.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 8 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A1A1
Bay Area
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
2 questions for happy users
January 29, 2013
I'd like this product to work for me and am interested in the opinions of happy users regarding:
1: Where do you store the spoons? Any better way to get them inside than to put them upside down inside one container? Seems awkward.
2: More importantly, do you use only one set to store your (top 7, Indian, whatever your organizational choice) spices, or do you use multiple sets to contain more of your spice collection? If the latter (which is what I am interested in doing), does it become cumbersome trying to locate particular spices in amongst perhaps four or five of these container sets, as opposed to looking through labeled glass jars?
Review 9 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookinggadgetlover
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for Ethnic Cooking
December 30, 2012
I asked for and received my new spice box as a gift. It is well made, shiny and so practical for organizing the spices for my Indian adventures. I could see using it for baking and for other ethnic cuisines, it makes finding all the spices so convenient. I am very happy and the generous round boxes each hold at least a half cup of spices.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrLynn50
,Vero Beach
,FL
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Superb Product
December 13, 2012
This arrived in a timely manner beautifully packaged. Was larger and even nicer than I had anticipated. Would buy again in a heartbeat! A professional grade product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LiveTheGoodLife
,Colorado Springs
,CO
November 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Functional
November 17, 2012
Product is as advertised. Pros: easy to clean, keeps spices in relatively airtight space. Cons: the leveling lip of each bowl gets in the way of a good clean -- it would help if it was entirely removable.
Also, it would be nice if the measuring spoons would fit inside the outer lid on top of the inner lid, so everything would be kept together in one place.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Assembly
Review 12 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeffersonKitty
,Chardon
,OH
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great spice storage container
August 26, 2012
I love this spice container. It is high quality stainless stee. I purchased it to store aromatic Indian spices and wanted to keep my expensive spices fresh. This works wonderfully. The levelers are really nice to get accurate measurements without using your fingers which can be messy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: none
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JeffersonKitty
Chardon, OH
Posted December 20, 2012
just bought another one
I loved this spice tiffin so much, I just bought another one. It is such a great way to store spices you use often. I love opening it while I'm cooking and inhaling all the beautiful spice aromas. i love it. Can't say enough good about it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vinson
,oh
June 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
my spices organized
June 24, 2012
I want to say that I Love my Steel Spice Box. I received it as a Birthday gift from my children after I came home and told them about it, I actually saw it used at a cooking demonstration in Pittsburgh.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
Review 14 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
counterpoise
,Tucson
,AZ
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Indian Spice Box with double lid
May 29, 2012
an attractive, well-designed Indian spice box . . . larger scale and more durable metal than some spice boxes - a valuable kitchen tool
Review 15 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LucyJane
,Evanston
,IL
April 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Attention to Detail
April 17, 2012
I love my Spice Box. It's convenient, beautiful, and well made. Having the measuring spoons right there with the spices makes cooking a breeze. I am a big baker and can't wait to get a second box for my baking spices. They also make great gifts for wedding showers, house warming, or hostess gifts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 16 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kms9
,Casselberry
,FL
January 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
I JUST LOVE THIS !
January 30, 2012
I just received my Spice Tiffin this last week, and I am in love with it already! It arrived in perfect condition. It is going to make cooking even more enjoyable than it already is for me!
It is very well made and I am thrilled to have it in my kitchen! I will most likely get another one...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 17 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DKCA
,Chicago
,IL
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Probably need a couple more...
January 12, 2012
This is such a well made and nice looking product. As suggested in the product overview, we are using this one for Indian spices since there are so many of them required in most recipes and it's so nice not to have to search the cupboards for what we need. We will definitely get another for baking also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 18 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefJYH
,Chicago
,IL
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Best Gift EVER!!!!
January 9, 2012
I received this gift from a friend who knows I love to cook and who knows I have a very disorganized collection of spices. She thought this would be a great way for me to organize my spices and keep them within a quick reach of the stove. And she was right! There are seven metal bowls for spices. Each holds your average bottle of store-bought spices. There's a metal bar in each bowl that you can use to level off your spoon as you measure spices. BRILLIANT! The kit is well-constructed and looks great in any kitchen. And it's stackable, so if you need more than one container for spices, just get multiples.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 19 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chiquitaVT
,Burlington
,VT
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Sleek, easy-to-use and high-quality
January 4, 2012
I have been cooking Indian dishes off Anupy Singla's "Indian Slow Cooker" for about a year now, which means I accumulated more than a few types of spices in my pantry. I get spices from the bulk section of my local coop, and until my husband gave me this as a Christmas present, I was letting it slide and keeping all spices in the plastic bags... Now that I transferred them into the Spice Box, all the spices are within easy reach and neatly organized. I can see myself baking and cooking more often with this neat tool. LOVE it. (I am labeling each container using a piece of masking tape.)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Design
Review 20 for Stainless-Steel Spice Box With Spoons
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hoosier02
,Indianapolis
,IN
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Addition to the Kitchen!
January 4, 2012
My wife and I have recently started to get more into cooking (and have begun to purchase more and more spices to try to cook more ethnic foods). Due to our kitchen not having a lot of cabinet or counter space, the spice box is a great way to organize and store our spices. When we are looking to cook, we can grab the spice box out of the cabinet and put the whole box back when completed (which allows us to easily use the spices while cooking and not have a cluttered counter space). Overall, a cool product and I would highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
page1 2 next