Stainless-Steel Smoker Box

If you love the efficiency of gas grilling but long for the smoky flavor of charcoal, our smoker box is destined to become your favorite grilling accessory. Can be filled with aromatic wood chips or fragrant herbs for all kinds of smoky flavor infusions. Just soak your chips, place them in the base of the smoker box and then preheat the box on an outdoor grill. To smoke select foods, place ingredients on the perforated tray, set over the base on the grill and cover with the lid. To turn your entire closed grill into a smoker, remove the lid altogether. Made of heavy-gauge stainless steel. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
Review 1 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MinnyT
,Oceanside
,CA
July 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Purchase
July 27, 2012
We have now used our smoker several times and the result is awesome! Salmon and chicken breast turned out moist and flavorful. We could not be happier with our purchase. Looking forward to trying different wood chips and soaking techniques.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
vodkachica
,San Antonio
,TX
July 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Durability no bueno
July 2, 2012
I used this smoker box twice & then it had leaks at the bottom of the tray.
Cons: Quality, durability
Review 3 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emeraldgreen
,Kerrville
,Tx
June 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must for grilling
June 29, 2012
we really enjoyed the mesuite smoke taste.
Any one using an outside grill should have one.
Thanks,
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 4 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BIP407
Philadelphia
August 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great taste but does warp
August 3, 2011
I agree with the other reviews that the food tray and chip pan do warp when they get hot, making it difficult to put the cover back on during cooking, but that didn't hinder the smoking process, and it returns back to its normal shape when cooled. My food came out tasting wonderful. Very intense smoky flavor. Have not tried it with the lid off to smoke within the entire grill but look forward to trying it that way to see if a larger quantity of food will still obtain the smoky flavor.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: warps
Review 5 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharliesBMWQueen
North Billerica, MA
July 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have for the grill
July 29, 2011
So much easier and quicker than traditional smoker boxes, we love that the meat is placed directly over the hardwood. Pork, chicken and beef turned out absolutely wonderful.
It could be a bit bigger, but I'm not complaining!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Design
Review 6 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bartzilla
San Diego, CA
July 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Defective Engineering
July 22, 2011
Whatever you do, don't put this thing near heat or it will buckle and ruin all hopes you had about using this the way they advertise it.
With finer construction, this could be great. I just can't get over the fact that this warps under high temps.
It's unusable.
Cons: Strength, durability, Unreliable, buckles under high temps
Review 7 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fredtopia
Leesville, SC
July 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use it to smoke or cook.
July 11, 2011
This smoker is nicely made. I like the idea of being able to cook on it or use it to smoke the entire contents on the grill. I had to put it close to the burner while I smoked my pork butts while cooking at about 260 degrees for 12 hours. Looking forward to cooking on it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Strength
Review 8 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Obsessed
Denver, CO
July 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice product
July 5, 2011
This is a great product for smoking small quantities. We have tried burgers, boca burgers, steaks, and salmon and had excellent results with everything (yes, even boca).
The box does buckle which makes getting a deep smoky flavor hit or miss but it is still excellent and we are going to purchase a second box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: buckles with temp change
Review 9 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
watash
Stanwood Washington
July 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for small amounts
July 4, 2011
Do like the smoker a great deal but wish the food food tray didn't warp with the heat but it does go back to shape when cool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 10 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nanaba
Bainbridge Island, WA
June 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I want to buy a second one!
June 28, 2011
The size is fine for medium size servings but I like to cook on the weekend for the coming week. Think a second box will be more efficient. Obviously, I'm liking the results so far. Turned out some really good ribs and smoked salmon steaks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
troy
San Antonio, TX
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Consider the size
June 20, 2011
When i purchased this box i thought it was only a smoker for a gas grill. I had no idea you could put meat in it as well... what a surprise! If you just use if for a smoker with the lid off... it really does the job. However it will take up some space on your grill so consider the size. Since I have used it only once... i do not know how it will last on direct flame over time. I used it for the first time over direct flame and it held up very well. Now for cooking... again, consider the size before you buy. I put 4 medium size fish fillets on it and covered with the lid... that's about all it will hold. I can honestly say I have never smoked fish this well while remaining very moist. If you like your meat grilled or with a bit of crust... smoke it first and then place it on the grill to finish it off. Thus far... 5 stars for me!
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile
Review 12 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Niles
June 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Like a Charm!
June 4, 2011
I bought this a couple of weeks ago and have used it to smoke tofu, eggplant, Ahi, stuffed mushrooms, corn on the cob, and pork shoulder. You can either put items inside the box for an intense smoke flavor, or just spread them out over your whole grill and leave the lid of your barbeque closed. You still get a great smoke flavor even if you don't place items inside the box. This is an awesome product!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LRC61
st. louis
May 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice product
May 6, 2011
The smoker does a nice job, just wish it was a little bigger
Pros: Design, Weight
Cons: Size
Review 14 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BrentD
Pittsburgh
March 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoker box
March 27, 2011
I used the box for the first time today and the chicken breasts turned out smoky and moist. It does buckle but works great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LLoyd
Terre Haute, in
Posted June 11, 2011
Qucik question
You said that it buckled. Is holding up OK? Just curious. Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Stainless-Steel Smoker Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BabciSue
Midlothian, VA
October 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
When you want a small smoker
October 7, 2010
The stainless steel smoker box is just the right size to fit on a gas grill so you can smoke pork chops, ribs or a turkey breast. It is easy to use and gives you the flexibility to smoke small items for a small family.