Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes

Created by Sprinkles, the beloved cupcake shop that started in Beverly Hills, these mixes let you make the most popular varieties of Sprinkles' moist, flavorful cupcakes. Inside each package, you'll find the signature confectioners' "dots" that finish Sprinkles cupcakes so irresistibly. Each mix contains only premium all-natural ingredients such as Nielsen-Massey Madagascar Bourbon vanilla and the essence of fresh fruit. Chocolate cupcakes are made with dark Callebaut cocoa for deep, rich flavor; recipe for bittersweet chocolate frosting included. Red velvet cupcakes have the signature scarlet hue and are made with Callebaut chocolate for depth of flavor and generous amounts of butter for richness; recipe for cream cheese frosting included. Vanilla cupcakes, made with Nielsen-Massey Madagascar Bourbon vanilla, are fragrant and ethereal; recipe for vanilla frosting included. Banana cupcakes have a rich banana flavor and golden hue; recipes for vanilla and chocolate frostings included. Lemon cupcakes get their flavor and tang from fresh California lemons; recipe for lemon frosting included. Includes mix packet, frosting recipe and Sprinkles' signature modern "dots" for decorating each cupcake. 15-16.2 oz. (makes 12 cupcakes). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.802 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(268 Reviews) 268
188 of 268(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
Review 1 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EMPS
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavy and Flavorless Cupcake Mix
April 1, 2013
I bought this cupcake mix to bake and bring to Easter with my family. I like Sprinkles cupcakes and I thought I would be recreating them in my home.
As soon as I read the directions (located inside the box, so I saw it after I bought the mix) I knew there was a real chance these cupcakes could turn out really heavy and potentially dry. The recipe calls for the baker to cream the butter and then beat in the mix. After this step you slowly beat in the rest of the wet ingredients. This method leads to over beating, I did my best to not over mix the batter, but I knew as soon as I took them out of the oven they were going to be very, very dense.
The cupcakes were really dense, more like a pound cake than a traditional fluffy cupcake, thankfully they were not dry. But, the Vanilla mix was flavorless, just very, very sweet. I was very disappointed in the cupcake mix considering the price I paid for it and Williams-Sonoma reputable brand. I would not recommend this cupcake mix to anyone.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 2 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nelles
,Kansas city
,Mo
October 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst ever
October 10, 2012
Purchased the chocolate and it was terrible. Very dense and dry and as another reviewer stated, almost painful to swallow. If you mistakenly take these to a gathering before tasting them, you should pass them off as something your 5 year old whipped up in the kitchen. Otherwise you'll lose your 'baker' credibility.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor
Review 3 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
viewer
,Atlantic
,IA
May 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
over rated
May 24, 2012
I bought a Red Velvet Sprinkles cupcake mix at Williams and Sonoma and made them...big mistike,,,NO FLAVOR at all and SO much red food coloring that everything in thier path turns red (from the mixer to your toung). This comes from a lady that judges Cupcake Wars???? Very over rated and NEVER AGAIN.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, price, red food coloring
Review 4 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AkiC
April 3, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dense, Heavy & Inedible
April 3, 2012
I purchased the Red Velvet mix & made it last year. Cupcakes came out so dense & heavy, it was literally painful to swallow. The taste was fine, but texture was awful. I dumped the batch. I thought I might've overmixed it, so I decided to give it another try. Got the vanilla mix this time & decided to make Easter cupcakes for a potluck get-together. I followed the directions EXACTLY. To my disappointment, the cupcakes came out dense & heavy AGAIN! Although not as dense as the Red Velvet ones, it was still pretty bad. The taste was OK, but again the texture was heavy. I was so ashamed to serve it. No one said it was good, so I guess that meant it was bad! What a waste of $14. I'm sticking to the 99 cents boxed cake mixes from the supermarket. Easier & better results.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, dense
Review 5 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,San Jose
,CA
November 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasteless, disturbingly RED velvet cupcakes
November 5, 2011
When I started mixing the liquid ingredients into the dry, the batter quickly turned a violent looking, blood red. It had the consistency and color of tomato paste. Despite the unfortunate hue of the batter, it was tasty and milk chocolate in flavor. It left my mouth red.
As I started cleaning up, the intense red color of the batter smeared itself all over my mixer, counter, hands, and sink. I had to wipe down the counter 4 or 5 times before I stopped getting red smears. I would not recommend wearing white while baking or cleaning up after these cupcakes.
I tried a cupcake right out of the oven because I love warm, unfrosted cupcakes and was underwhelmed by the flavor of the cupcake. It didn't taste like much of anything. The texture was moist and of a good density.
Overall, this product does not live up to its steep price ($14.95! and all you get is the powered mix, the recipe, and the "modern dots"). The cupcakes are tasteless, disturbingly red, and a hassle to clean up after.
Pros: Texture, density
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, disturbingly red in color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CTownMom
SouthWest Missouri
Posted January 19, 2012
I agree and disagree!
I give these 5 stars. I agree the batter is very red, but what red velvet batter isn't? I mean you can make chocolate cake if you wish. But once baked they are not bright like the batter was, they turn out a gorgeous dark burgundy as true red velvet should. I also agree the powder from the mix does tend to fly out a bit and settle on the counter and mixer. When you wipe everything down, you WILL see red on your dish cloth, but man is it EVER worth it. My teenage daughter got us started with these, she's a red velvet freak! These are her very favorite, and we've made them probably 10 times now... they always turn out perfect. Made them for a meeting last night and everyone who had one raved and wanted the "recipe"! Don't be put off by the red in the red velvet process. They're excellent.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scissy
,philadelphia
,PA
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bake time Must be wrong
October 12, 2011
I just wasted $14.00 and am so mad. I purchased the Pumpkin mix and the directions said to bake until top springs back or 30 minutes. Way too long to bake a cupcake. I took it out after 21 minutes and the cupcake was burnt. Very disappointed.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Zellyfish
Sausalito, CA
Posted October 25, 2011
Hi. It's likely your oven.. I recently baked 3 dozen - one of each flavor and the timing was perfect, they came out beautifully.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CBaker
,Boca Raton
,FL
October 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How people like these is beyond me
October 8, 2011
I love to bake and decided to try these to bring along to a friends house because I didn't want to spend all day baking.
PRO: easy to bake. Directions are pretty clear. they looked cute.
CONS: it was the most awful tasting cupcake I have ever had. It was that bad. I was embarrassed I brought them along and in fact, threw the rest out before anyone else had a taste. Do yourself a favor, and save yourself some money- if in a pinch, buy the .99 box mix from your local grocery store.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SanMateoFoodie
San Mateo
April 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buyer Beware
April 10, 2011
Not worth the trouble & price. Battling red dye from traces of powder and batter in the kitchen. Decorative dot topper is inedible and packaged in a hollow plastic (!) tube. Really wanted to like this - batter was delish, but the cake just OK.
Pros: Texture
Cons: Disappointing, Difficult to Prepare, irresponsible packaging
Review 9 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Joyce100
Northeastern Pa.
March 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the money
March 25, 2011
I had purchase the banana cupcake mix, found it to be very tasteless. Nothing at all like banana, my 4 year old daughter even refused to eat them. Not worth the money spent on this mix.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 10 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bakingbritt
Devon, Pa
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worst mix ive ever used
March 10, 2011
I bought this mix as an easy mix for bake sale cupcakes. Thank god i made my boyfriend taste them before I bagged them up because they were terrible. They were flavorless, spongey, and just terrible. waste of money.
Review 11 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poundcakebaker
Atlanta, GA
June 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sprinkles Cupcake Mix
June 26, 2010
I mixed up a batch of red velvet cupcakes for a Christmas party - very easy but also very dry. A big disappointment.
Review 12 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KG1958
Tampa, FL
June 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rather dry & frosting too sweet
June 1, 2010
I bought a dk chocolate & red velvet. Both came out too dry, even though I followed the directions precisely. First I made the chocolate ones; the frosting (all your own ingredients) was way too sweet, so I knew to leave out some of the sugar in the frosting for the red velvet cupcakes. That frosting, at least, was good, but the cupcakes themselves were just awfully dry.
Review 13 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Laxy
Honolulu, HI
April 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dense and dry
April 6, 2010
Bought the vanilla mix because I had heard Sprinkles cupcakes are amazing. I found the baked cupcakes dense and dry. Would not buy again.
Review 14 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
baker20
Atlanta, GA
February 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Red Velvet Cupcakes
February 11, 2010
Someone in a baking demonstration (for another product) highly recommended this brand of cupcakes. So despite the inflated price tag, I decided to give it a try. Even though I followed the directions, the cupcakes were extremely dry. Luckily I had a second batch (making only 6 the first round). I reduced the temperature to 325 and shortened the bake time to about 17 minutes. Afterwards I immediately removed them from the pan (I used cupcake liners) and cooled them on a baking rack. They were more moist than the first batch. You will probably have to place the cupcakes in an airtight container -- Well, I forgot to do that :-( -- and all cupcakes dried out, resembling weights! To keep from throwing them out, I had to "soften" them by poking holes on the tops and brushing them with about 1 tbsp of warm simple syrup. Duncan Hines or a scratch recipe would have been better than all the time it took to salvage these expensive little desserts.
Review 15 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bakermom1
Parker, CO
February 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Red Velvet Sprinkles
February 6, 2010
Bought for $18 at Christmas. Kit only contains dry cake mix, directions and 12 penny sized candies. I had to add eggs, paper cups, butter, frosting. They ended up costing over $1 per cupcake and were not that good.Do not waste your money
Review 16 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SassyBaker
February 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Disappointed!!
February 3, 2010
I had heard good reviews about Sprinkles so I bought the vanilla and the red velvet cupcake mix. Don't waste your $...very dry and the red velvet stains your fingers in bright red. These mixes are pricey but you'd be better off buying 3-4 Duncan Hines/Betty Crocker mixes which are much better tasting. I bake from scratch so I know there's no comparison to a mix but thought I'd save some time using a mix.
Review 17 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
weare
PA
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nnnaaaa
January 21, 2010
Not impressed with the red velvet mix - dots are GROSS - extra steps - batter a little crumbly for my taste I like a moist cupcake, these were dry - and I felt not worth the $14!
Review 18 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cupcakegirly
Nebraska
January 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love cupcakes!
January 15, 2010
I LOVE cupcakes and Williams-Sonoma products, so when I saw these mixes I want to give them a try. I tried the Dark Chocolate and I thought it was turned out dry. I made it exactly as directed too! I also found it quite disturbing to use approx 1 lb. of butter for 12 cupcakes (or so the mix says) - especially to have the final product seem DRY!? I was actually able to make 13 regular size cupcakes and 12 miniatures out of 1 mix. I also think this 'quick mix' may be technique sensitive and for the money and time spent, I wish I would have just made homemade cupcakes. Oh well, at least I know I am no longer missing out.
Review 19 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lplines
Northern California
January 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not quite the real thing
January 15, 2010
As someone who loves the quality that is Williams-Sonoma and as someone who has tasted several Sprinkles cupcakes...these just didn't cut it for me. They were decent however no where near close to the absolute bliss that I have tasted when I buy an actual Sprinkles cupcake.
Review 20 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
New York, NY
January 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hugely disappointed with Red Velvet, Choco and Van
January 14, 2010
I bought all three flavors and tried all three at different times... each trying to improve the recipe from a very heavy, and dry result. No go... Don't buy these cupcakes. Go to the store if you like Sprinkles, but this mix is absolutely horrible!
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next