Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes

Created by Sprinkles, the beloved cupcake shop that started in Beverly Hills, these mixes let you make the most popular varieties of Sprinkles' moist, flavorful cupcakes. Inside each package, you'll find the signature confectioners' "dots" that finish Sprinkles cupcakes so irresistibly. Each mix contains only premium all-natural ingredients such as Nielsen-Massey Madagascar Bourbon vanilla and the essence of fresh fruit. Chocolate cupcakes are made with dark Callebaut cocoa for deep, rich flavor; recipe for bittersweet chocolate frosting included. Red velvet cupcakes have the signature scarlet hue and are made with Callebaut chocolate for depth of flavor and generous amounts of butter for richness; recipe for cream cheese frosting included. Vanilla cupcakes, made with Nielsen-Massey Madagascar Bourbon vanilla, are fragrant and ethereal; recipe for vanilla frosting included. Banana cupcakes have a rich banana flavor and golden hue; recipes for vanilla and chocolate frostings included. Lemon cupcakes get their flavor and tang from fresh California lemons; recipe for lemon frosting included. Includes mix packet, frosting recipe and Sprinkles' signature modern "dots" for decorating each cupcake. 15-16.2 oz. (makes 12 cupcakes). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.154 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
7 of 13(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
Review 1 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenaBee
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best cupcake mix I've tasted
December 30, 2013
I've had the red velvet cupcakes every year for my birthday since I was thirteen. Now I am about to turn eighteen and I've not been disappointed.
I'm a seventeen year old girl with average baking ability and have never had a problem with them being dense or dry. I follow the directions exactly and they're good every time.
As for the flavor, you have to wait until they cool to eat them. They're more flavorful after they've cooled. If you're frosting them, you'll have to wait for them to cool anyway. The cream cheese frosting recipe is amazing and that's coming from someone who is not too fond of frosting.
Now the color. You're buying RED velvet cupcake mix. It's going to be red. If you're not prepared to deal with the red color then don't buy RED velvet cupcakes.
The price is high but for a special occasion I say these cupcakes are worth it. My friends rave about them every year and fight over seconds.
Finally, they beat any other store-bought red velvet mix I've ever tried.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 2 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EMPS
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavy and Flavorless Cupcake Mix
April 1, 2013
I bought this cupcake mix to bake and bring to Easter with my family. I like Sprinkles cupcakes and I thought I would be recreating them in my home.
As soon as I read the directions (located inside the box, so I saw it after I bought the mix) I knew there was a real chance these cupcakes could turn out really heavy and potentially dry. The recipe calls for the baker to cream the butter and then beat in the mix. After this step you slowly beat in the rest of the wet ingredients. This method leads to over beating, I did my best to not over mix the batter, but I knew as soon as I took them out of the oven they were going to be very, very dense.
The cupcakes were really dense, more like a pound cake than a traditional fluffy cupcake, thankfully they were not dry. But, the Vanilla mix was flavorless, just very, very sweet. I was very disappointed in the cupcake mix considering the price I paid for it and Williams-Sonoma reputable brand. I would not recommend this cupcake mix to anyone.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 3 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cupcakeaholic
March 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The frosting is good...
March 25, 2013
A bit disappointed. I followed the directions to the letter and my cupcakes came out flat with bubbles in them. They're heavy, and I'm pretty sure they're not supposed to be that way as I am an avid cupcake maker. They didn't rise at all, and the tops came out a bit burnt on the edges and they shrunk away from my cupcake pans like crazy. On the one hand, I very much love the frosting recipe, despite the amount of butter and confectioners sugar; it's airy and delicious and sweet and I know i'll have a lot left over. Will probably use the frosting for the store bought mix i have in the cupboard...
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, Difficult to Prepare
Review 4 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KBake
,Knoxville
,TN
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun for Special Occasions!
February 14, 2013
I really like this cupcake mix! It is fun, and perfect for a special occasion. The fondant dots that come with it are really cute. I bought the Red Velvet mix for Valentine's Day, and they turned out great. I would definitely recommend using an electric mixer of some sort to mix the batter, otherwise I do not think these would turn out right. Another recommendation would be to follow the directions word for word. Make sure your eggs and milk are at room temperature. Also, I used my own recipe for the cream cheese frosting. A note about the cooking time: it says 20- 25 minutes for cooking time. Not true. I left mine in for 20, and, if I make these again (which I probably will), they will only be cooking for 19 minutes. I believe people who are having problems with texture have either over cooked or didn't mix properly. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is that the price is kind of ridiculous. You are paying for the name, and, honestly, not for an exceptionally decadent cupcake.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RaysMiss
,West Palm Beach
,FL
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
5 star Vanilla Cupcakes
February 3, 2013
I have only tried the vanilla cupcake mix, but by far this is the best cupcake I have ever baked from a mix. It's always a crowd pleaser and its not overly sweet.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 6 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kutiepie
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Red Velvet Cupcakes
November 23, 2012
I just finished making the red velvet cupcakes tonight and they are amazing. The cream cheese frosting is addictive. The cake part is moist and airy. By far the best red velvet cupcakes I've made. For those that were dissatisfied with their results, maybe you didn't follow the recipe correctly or you overcooked them.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nelles
,Kansas city
,Mo
October 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst ever
October 10, 2012
Purchased the chocolate and it was terrible. Very dense and dry and as another reviewer stated, almost painful to swallow. If you mistakenly take these to a gathering before tasting them, you should pass them off as something your 5 year old whipped up in the kitchen. Otherwise you'll lose your 'baker' credibility.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Amount, Flavor
Review 8 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mama2three
,Wayne
,PA
August 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok for special occasions
August 24, 2012
I baked the vanilla flavor and followed the icing recipe for the vanilla buttercream icing as well. First, I have to say that in addition to the $14 for the mix, you then spend a small fortune in butter- the two recipes use 3 sticks of butter! The cupcakes are not as sweet as I expected them to be. They have a unique taste and are rather dense- not light and fluffy. We ate them fresh and thought they were just ok. However, the following day, the cakes were much better. Worth a 5-star rating, actually. The icing recipe is sweet! It does have a nice vanilla flavor (I used bourbon vanilla extract) and it makes much more than is necessary to frost the 12 cupcakes, especially being as rich as it is. The little candy "dots" that come with the kit are absolutely gross.. I did say I would recommend them to a friend but only for a special occasion. Otherwise, I think there are other homemade recipes for both the cake and icing that are much better. I don't think I'd buy them again, though.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, pricey
Review 9 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
viewer
,Atlantic
,IA
May 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
over rated
May 24, 2012
I bought a Red Velvet Sprinkles cupcake mix at Williams and Sonoma and made them...big mistike,,,NO FLAVOR at all and SO much red food coloring that everything in thier path turns red (from the mixer to your toung). This comes from a lady that judges Cupcake Wars???? Very over rated and NEVER AGAIN.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, price, red food coloring
Review 10 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprisingly delicious & worth the $$
April 30, 2012
To be completely honest, I was skeptical of this product at first. Sprinkles isn't my most favorite retail cupcake, but I like them enough to try the WS Red Velvet mix. Honestly, they came out much better than I remember them tasting in the actual Sprinkles retail store. I followed the recipe exactly and I cannot remember having a better tasting RV cupcake EVER. They are the perfect texture & the icing is TO DIE FOR. I will definitely keep the recipe on hand for my own homemade carrot cake. This mixture yielded 16 cupcakes.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 11 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AkiC
April 3, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dense, Heavy & Inedible
April 3, 2012
I purchased the Red Velvet mix & made it last year. Cupcakes came out so dense & heavy, it was literally painful to swallow. The taste was fine, but texture was awful. I dumped the batch. I thought I might've overmixed it, so I decided to give it another try. Got the vanilla mix this time & decided to make Easter cupcakes for a potluck get-together. I followed the directions EXACTLY. To my disappointment, the cupcakes came out dense & heavy AGAIN! Although not as dense as the Red Velvet ones, it was still pretty bad. The taste was OK, but again the texture was heavy. I was so ashamed to serve it. No one said it was good, so I guess that meant it was bad! What a waste of $14. I'm sticking to the 99 cents boxed cake mixes from the supermarket. Easier & better results.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, dense
Review 12 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fletcher
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
March 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best cupcake mix ever!
March 29, 2012
I'm shocked to read any unfavorable reviews about Sprinkles Cupcake mixes.
Not to brag but I'm one of the best bakers I know. I can bake anything and well (I guess I am bragging but it's true!). Sprinkles mixes are fantastic. I haven't made the red velvet but I don't understand the red velvet craze anyway. I baked 3 batches of the lemon for a neighborhood party and all of the good cooks in the crowd loved them. The pumpkin are equally as wonderful.These mixes are heads above the grocery store mixes.I wish WS would carry these two flavors year round. I don't consider them seasonal. My fiends at my lake cabin cant wait for my lemon cupcakes every summer. Tip: Don't overcook.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: need more flavors at ws
Review 13 for Sprinkles Cupcake Mixes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DressageQueen
March 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mixed results
March 5, 2012
I received several of these as a gift. A reasonable baker, I still have no qualms using a mix, especially one from Sprinkles. For the most part, I am disappointed. The chocolate mix was very average, almost poor. They certainly didnt justify the price. Texture was mealy, taste held a chalky undertone, and they didn't rise much. They were edible, they held shape and they would hold up against an average cupcake mix at any store. Red Velvet - I agree with the reviewer who called the color disturbing. The texture was good, the rising was good, the taste was balanced, but lacking any richness in the cocoa. Cream cheese frosting recipe included was excellent. Lemon was never very good. Vanilla had better success with flavor, but I am not convinced they are worth the price. I doubt I will buy on my own. Overall, the products are fair, nothing more.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, Flavor