This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

WMF Spider Skimmers

Combining a shallow wire basket with a long handle, these tools are great for separating foods from their cooking liquids. Use it when you're lifting fried foods from hot oil or dumplings from simmering broth. The wire head has a shallowly curved bottom, so it's easy to reach deep into a pot or pan. Made from stainless steel for durability and easy care. Wide, shallow wire basket makes scooping easy, while large openings speed draining. Long stay-cool handle protects your hand from heat and splatters. Made of Cromargan, an exceptionally durable 18/10 stainless steel. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for WMF Spider Skimmers
Review 1 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauryn428
,Lexington
,SC
Lexington, SC
December 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Spider Skimmer
December 23, 2012
Perfect for taking hot items out of hot water! I use it a lot for when I am boiling eggs for deviled eggs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Love It. Very Sturdy.
June 16, 2012
It was time to replace my much used bamboo skimmer and was looking for something a bit more durable. This fit the bill. I have had it for awhile now. It holds up to hot and cold temps and the dishwasher perfectly. It is solid, yet light. Durably made. No signs of weakness or rust. I recommend this.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 3 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
May 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Sturdy and Cleans well!
May 26, 2012
This replaced an older spider with a wooden handle. That one worked just fine, but didn't use much. I thought this would be sturdier. I was not disappointed. Didn't realize how much I would actually use it! Also a nice addition to my crock with all of my other stainless utensils!
Review 4 for WMF Spider Skimmers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jasby
,The Villages
,FL
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Nicely made
January 24, 2012
The large skimmer is very large. Wish they had put the measurements in the description. I may have chosen the smaller one if I had known. Still I am happy with this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Size
Review 5 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
afamilychef
,Spearfish
,SD
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
GREAT DESIGN & EASY TO CLEAN
January 16, 2012
These skimmers work very well. They have good balance and the shape is just right for removing just about anything from the pot. They're easy to clean too - since they're all metal - very sanitary.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 6 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clp1953
,Russellville
,KY
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My Favorite Skimmer
December 28, 2011
The skimmer is the best at draining anything. The curved edges keep the food from dropping back into the liquid or oil when draining. I loved it so much that I bought this recent purchase for my sister as a Christmas present.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ridh
October 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great tool to lift fried food
October 26, 2011
Very sturdy and good quality skimmer. It does not wobble like some cheaper ones out there. It is pretty small so it is more suited to lifting deep fried food. I do use them to lift pasta or noodle and boiled veggies but for pasta or noodle you might need additional help of forks to lift them out properly. They are small and shallow so noodles tend to slip out of it. I guess the good thing with the small size is that they fit inside most pans and pots. Very happy with this item.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: a bit shallow- difficult to keep noodles contained
Review 8 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magz
San Jose, Ca
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great product!
June 13, 2011
So far I've only used this skimmer for pastas and love it. Wish I had bought this sooner. It only takes a couple of scoops to lift everything out of the pot, very efficient. It's also sturdy and well made so I imagine I will have this forever. And after seeing how easy it is to work with this tool I'm definitely making fresh tortillas chips soon.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
drharrison
Minnesota
Posted March 10, 2013
Did you get the large or small?
Magz, did you get the large or small skimmer, and what is the approximate measurement across? Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CityWoman
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
May 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love! Love! Love!
May 29, 2011
I searched and searched for an aesthetically pleasing skimmer. Mostly what I found was the typical bamboo handle stapled to a wire basket which didn't appeal to me at all. I should have known W-S would have what I was looking for. Not only is it absolutely gorgeous to look at but the extreme quality and functionality is right on. Love, love, love my W-S Spider Skimmer. This is definitely worth the price point.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
william1948
South Carolina
May 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Gets the Job Done
May 4, 2011
Very pleased with this skimmer. Good quality and good value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 11 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nkki
April 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Indespensible kitchen tool.
April 21, 2011
High Quality. Exactly what I ordered. I've waited a long time to afford this item and I am very pleased with quality.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Review 12 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stayathomecook
New England
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect tool for the job
February 7, 2011
Great for getting items out of hot oil (or even hot water). Nice long handle & easy clean up.
Review 13 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MESS
Greenville, SC
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Quality and very useful
January 12, 2011
My daughter-in-law asked for a Spider Skimmer for Christmas and I didn't even know what it was. I could not find it locally and ended up at this website. The product is excellent quality and was shipped immediately. I bought one for myself at the same time and I've really enjoyed using it.
Review 14 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BevH
Long Island, NY
August 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Skimmer
August 27, 2010
This skimmer is great because the handle is stainless steel, so it will be more durable than its wood-handled brother. It cleans up very easily. The only drawback is that the actual skimmer is too small for a large pot of, say, pasta, so I will be purchasing the larger version!
Review 15 for WMF Spider Skimmers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MsNita
New York
May 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
You need this in your kitchen.
May 27, 2010
I never thought that I would need this tool when cooking. I am addict to cooking shows and when I saw the many uses of this skimmer, it became a must have item for me. You will enjoy using it.
Review 16 for WMF Spider Skimmers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Myrtis
Angleton, Texas
May 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Spider Skimmer
May 25, 2010
I think the skimmer could be a little larger, but I think it works fine
Review 17 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aklady
Ninilchik Alaska
January 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
favorite multipurpose strainer
January 22, 2010
I am purchasing my second of these. I had one similar with a wood handle in the past. The wood handled ones eventually get loose on the handle. Unlike the wood version, this style can go in the dishwasher and comes out great, doesn't get loose either, the basket stays secure. I use this nearly every day and it still looks like new.This is handy for multiple uses, great for scooping pasta or veggies from a pot when a large strainer isn't needed.
Review 18 for WMF Spider Skimmers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GramT
Orlando, FL
January 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Excellent Kitchen Tool
January 16, 2010
The spider is one tool I have in my kitchen that I cannot live without. If I didn't have one I simply would have to stop cooking...