Spicy Chipotle Rub

Southwestern cooking has a sunny fiesta feel all its own-and so does our spicy New Mexico-style chipotle rub. Taking their name from the combined Aztec words for "chili" and "smoke," chipotle chilies are prized for their rich, smoky heat. Our seasoning rub blends these iconic chilies with brown sugar, roasted garlic and a medley of classic regional spices, including aromatic oregano, cumin and coriander. 3 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
17 of 21(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spicy Chipotle Rub
Review 1 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PJMcCormack
,Sayreville
,NJ
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this rub
July 28, 2013
Used to make pulled pork and chicken ,also for ribs. Family loved the great flavor.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 2 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Joanie123
,Detroit
,MI
May 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not spicy at all
May 2, 2013
I was disappointed. I thought it would give off a nice heat along with flavor, but it didn't. For the price I'd go to the grocery and get a chipotle pepper spice in the spice isle, it's much hotter.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 3 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sparky7
,Honolulu
,HI
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great rub for chicken!
April 30, 2013
We used this rub on grilled chicken legs for a party. They turned out great and were really easy to make! Guests liked them even better than the other batch I made using a celebrity chefs recipe that took a lot more time and ingredients.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
April 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was just ok....
April 12, 2013
Sorry but I didn't particularly like this rub. It wasn't spicy and I thought the smokey chipotle flavor was missing. I tried this a couple of times on chicken and pork but wasn't impressed.
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Flavor
Review 5 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
choppe18
,Pagosa Springs
,CO
September 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Such a versatile rub!
September 5, 2012
We tried this on popcorn in a ws store and loved it. We have since used it on chicken thighs w a tequila lime sauce and put it on edsmame for a great snack... Already have to buy more and plan on stocking up!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 6 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mariko
Tulsa, OK
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good stuff!
December 8, 2010
I use it on chicken breast (to make panini sandwich or top on linguini with red pepper + alfredo sauce). Good spice to keep in your kitchen.
Review 7 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AmbitiousChef
St. Louis, MO
August 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chipotle Rub EVER
August 19, 2010
This has to be the best chipotle rub ever. I just opened the can and aromas of the spices were just beautiful! I used it on Chicken breast and grilled it, it was delicious. However, i wish there was a lot more for the price.
Review 8 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marybeverly
Albuquerque, NM
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spicy Chipotle Rub
June 25, 2010
I started using this on chicken,but have used it on popcorn to scrambled eggs and everything in between. It will always be a main spice I use as long as they make it. Superb! Oh, yes, I also enjoy the Chili-Lime Rub w/sea salt. Excellent on fish and well, you know-everything! Hope you get this and enjoy both spices. And each spice tin lasts a long time!
Review 9 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristin871
Manteno, IL
June 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great seasoning
June 17, 2010
I used this on burgers for an added zing and it was great. Topped with avocado and a chipotle mayo, you got yourself a zesty burger!!
Review 10 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AppletonGourmand
Appleton, WI
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great on oven potatoes
June 16, 2010
Cubed potatoes and onions, drizzled olive oil over and added two cloves of whole garlic on a rimmed baking sheet, sprinkle this generously over and baked. I never can make enough!
Review 11 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NinaK
Baden, Switzerland
April 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite for sweet potato wedges
April 12, 2010
This rub tastes amazing on sweet potato fries or wedgies. Perfect combo of sweet and spicy.
Microwave the sweet potato untill soft. apx 7m on high. Cut into wedges. Mix with oil or for low fat version with egg whites.
Review 12 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bippy
June 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this stuff!
June 4, 2009
We are not big fans of a lot of heat but I rubbed this on a whole tenderloin, let it sit overnight in the fridge and wow! BBQ'd the roast and it was DELISH! Came back and ordered another 3 cans just to have during the summer and fall.
Review 13 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BBQers
Michigan
May 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty, but not enough rub for the price
May 21, 2009
The taste is great. However, why provide a cannister that is 3 times larger than the amount of rub? It is hard to know how much 3 oz. is, but one would assume that the cannister would be relatively full. I will tell you that 3 oz. fills less than a 1/3 of the cannister. Very disappointing for the price.
Review 14 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Atay
Alexandria, VA
May 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delish!
May 11, 2009
So much easier than trying to mix your own blend of spices. My husband and I used the blend for chicken and avocado paninis and it was perfect - plus there is an ample amount for several uses. This one's a winner!
Review 15 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
John818
Denver, CO
April 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty good but expensive
April 8, 2009
Delicious taste but I too was surprised at how little there is in the tin for the price. Still good but more rub would have equaled more stars.
Review 16 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MicheleS
Long Island, NY
April 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Smokey Rub
April 1, 2009
This rub has the perfect blend of goodness with the right amount of chipotle to give it that smokey flavor!
Enjoy on chicken and grilled vegetables. Just wonderful!!
Review 17 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steffani
Sugar Land, Texas
March 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
YUM!
March 24, 2009
Really good spice, great smell, and actually has a decent amount in the can..(thats a first!)
I just wish the taste was a bit stronger, BUT thats what the sauce is for..
I actually used this for the Chicken Panini's..Tasted great with some Chalula hot sauce! Definetly worth the $10.!
Review 18 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SpicyChicka
Norfolk, Va.
March 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Dip
March 13, 2009
I was in Mac Authur Center last night and tried this seasoning as a dip and I loved it so much I bought a can. I made the dip and brought it to work to share and everyone is raving about the dip. It is an awesome dip and I can not wait to try it on the grill as well.
Review 19 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love2Cook68
Wylie, Texas
March 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious
March 4, 2009
This was quick easy and delicious. I rubbed on chicken thighs and then grilled. The sesoning provided a delicious crust. I also added this to sour cream and used a dip. It was delicious alternative!
Review 20 for Spicy Chipotle Rub
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Isabel518
Brooklyn, NY
February 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spicey Chipotle Rub
February 26, 2009
I just bought this and am very pleased. It's great on strip steak and smells great. It's a great blend of spices.
page1 2 next