Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker

Down-to-earth simplicity meets high-tech in this intuitive coffee brewing system invented by George Sowden, a pioneering English design pioneer and cofounder of The Memphis Group in Milan. SoftBrew is based on a classic technique called cupping-the simple infusion method used by professional tasters to evaluate the world's finest coffees. The system combines a porcelain pot with a state-of-the-art filter that blocks all grounds larger than 150 microns. Coffee and hot water steep in the pot, releasing the coffee's nuanced complexity of unique flavors and aromas. Exceptionally simple way to brew a superior cup of coffee exactly the way you like it-and savor the purest flavors and aromas of freshly roasted coffee beans. The Softbrew method couldn't be simpler: just place the filter in the porcelain pot, put ground coffee into the filter, pour over hot water, stir and steep for about four minutes. Designed for optimal extraction of flavor and aroma, the filter's 160,000 microscopic holes make it fine enough to block all grounds larger than 150 microns-twice as fine as other coffee filters on the market. Oversized, micro-etched stainless-steel filter creates a desirable 'bloom' as the ground beans release their distinctive fragrances and flavors. Use any type of grind you like-fine, medium or coarse; the filter only allows passage of the finest grounds (known as "fines"), ensuring the richest, most full-bodied coffee. Porcelain pot retains heat so coffee stays hot longer, while its hollow handle stays cool to the touch.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
Review 1 for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Fresno
,CA
February 20, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Terrible quality product
February 20, 2016
Forget this, get a french press. Mine arrived with damaged filter. Still usable, but nowhere near as good as any of my other coffee devices.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,DC
December 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Coffee!
December 4, 2015
Just got my new Sowden this week. I debated between it, the French press, and fancier coffee brewers (the Cuisinart and the Breville with the built-in grinder) and I am thrilled with my decision. It is the smoothest cup of coffee that I've ever made at home, by far. It is easy to clean, looks nice in my glass cabinets and is large enough for dinner parties. Love it, love it, love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quiet, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Store, Assembly
Review 3 for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,fernandina beach
,fl
November 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Best coffee maker
November 8, 2015
I have owned this coffee maker for about a year now. I consider myself a coffee snob and i have owned a lot of coffee makers. The Sowden makes the best coffee ever.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 4 for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Wellsville
,NY
September 1, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Delicious coffee
September 1, 2015
The Softbrew Coffee Makers takes up less space on my countertop. Some reviews stated the coffee was full of grounds. If you let the Softbrew Coffee maker sit for a few minutes, the grounds sink to the bottom and stay there.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Southport
,NC
February 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Amazing Brew
February 21, 2015
"GREATEST CUP OF COFFEE"
I was looking for a Softbrew pot to have during a power outage so that I could still enjoy my morning coffee. Yes I had to heat water over the fire this time. I use Starbucks Sumatra coffee and it made an amazing pot of coffee. You get out what you put in. I would recommend this to everyone. This is now my 5 star coffee pot.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design
Review 6 for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
-16points
1of 18found this review helpful.
worst coffee maker
January 17, 2015
Do not buy this coffee maker. It makes the worst coffee imaginable. What a waste of money.
Cons: makes bad coffee
Review 7 for Sowden Softbrew Pour-Over Coffee Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Iowa City
,IA
January 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Just what I wanted
January 14, 2015
I read about this coffee pot in the Atlantic and he really sold me. I usually just make one cup of coffee but need to have good coffee when guests come. This worked so well at Christmas when I had guests. Love how it looks and the coffee is great. Clean up is easy and now I can make good coffee for more than one.