This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Southern Italian Braising Sauce

Sicilian cooks are famous for their agrodolce sauces, whose name comes from the Italian words for "sweet and tangy." Our version of the classic recipe begins with San Marzano tomatoes, red bell peppers, fennel and onions. We round out the flavor with sweet raisins and tangy red wine vinegar, adding capers and Picholine olives for a savory finish. The sauce is gently simmered for hours for authentic homemade flavor. Our versatile starter is a great way to get a memorable Italian meal on the table - pronto. Just combine this hearty sauce with chicken or lamb in a slow cooker or Dutch oven, then serve over freshly cooked pasta or polenta. It's also great with shrimp, highlighting the delicate seafood with rich, complex flavor. All-natural. 1 lb. 9 oz. (4-6 servings). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Southern Italian Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Southern Italian Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lonelybaker
,Piscataway
,NJ
July 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent!
July 28, 2014
Too bad it's no longer available... this is great stuff! It took 15 minutes to prep and, while I tidied up the house and myself in preparation for company, the meal was ready. It was delicious and complex and so very easy. Served with polenta and salad and everyone raved. I did add some white wine to "adult up" the flavor but even on its own this sauce is a great thing to have on hand. Bring it back, please!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Southern Italian Braising Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
suzanne1945
,Calabash
,No
July 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
SAUCE WAS JUST OK
July 13, 2013
I've used many of the sausces from WS and this is the only one I would not order again. Nothing really wrong with it but for the price there are several others I would prefer to buy.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing
Review 3 for Southern Italian Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngelaM
,Henderson
,NV
May 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Excellent!
May 11, 2013
I made this using browned chicken breasts in the oven and it was excellent with whole grain spaghetti and asparagus. Will prepare this again and again. It was so easy and so flavorful. One of the best meals ever!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Southern Italian Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SFCook
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco CA
September 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Very tasty sauce!
September 12, 2012
I agree with the other reviewer: this has a good balance of ingredients and flavors. I especially liked that it wasn't too salty, as some sauces are. I even served it to guests for a simple supper of chicken. I added some carrots and green beans for the final 30 minutes for a more complete meal; but it didn't need any additional herbs or spcies. It is perfect just out of the jar. Stocking up because sometimes these items are replaced by new products and I don't want to run out in the near future.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Southern Italian Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NextDoorFoodie
,Columbia
,SC
August 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Simple, delicious meal
August 31, 2012
This is one of my new favorite braising sauces. I've tried many of the W/S braising sauces and this has a great balance of sweet and savory. A perfect marriage of fennel, San Marzano tomatoes, olives, capers, red peppers, white wine and a sweet surprise of raisins. A definite "must try"! Completely dresses up a chicken dinner into a special meal. Saves time in the kitchen and the store if you were to purchase and prepare the sauce from scratch; all these ingredients would cost more than the price of the braising sauce. Perfect in a slow cooker or Dutch oven for an easy, one-pot dinner.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations