SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker

Quickly transform ordinary tap water into fresh sparkling water with this environmentally friendly soda charger. Enjoy the refreshing beverage on its own or as the base for cocktails or homemade sodas. Fun and easy to use: simply fill the reusable glass carafe with water, insert it into the Penguin and press the carbonating "beak." Customize carbonation to impart just the right amount of fizz. Eco-friendly alternative to store-bought water at a fraction of the price. Conserves energy and resources and reduces the use of plastic bottles. No batteries or electricity are required. Includes two dishwasher-safe 20-oz. glass carafes with fizz-preserving stoppers. Includes one refillable CO2 cylinders (carbonates up to 60 carafes). Hazmat regulations prohibit shipment to HI and AK
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
Review 1 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JudeC
,Rehoboth
,MA
October 10, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Refreshing sparkling water!
October 10, 2014
Some initial frustration that my hands are not quite big enough to grasp the front end of the water maker to open it. That part is an awkward design for those of us with arthritis. Had to practice several times to get the hang of it. The bottom half of the water maker where the glass bottle fits is heavy and well made. Rest of the machine is plastic. The glass bottles are very nice though smaller than I had imagined. I like knowing where the water I drink daily is coming from. Now I know it is from our well that is routinely checked and maintained. Cheers to great tasting sparkling water!
Pros: Easy to Store, Appearance
Cons: awkward to grasp open
Review 2 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carraj42
September 16, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is a great machine - dislike the cost
September 16, 2014
Love the product, they need to work on how long it takes to ship, and the cost.The soda machine has gone up $20.00 since a month ago.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinaMarieEsq
,Ridgewood
,NJ
March 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent soda maker
March 3, 2014
This is a great soda machine and I was originally skeptical about purchasing a SodaStream because I am so loyal to my store purchased bottles. I particularly like that the containers are glass rather than plastic and they keep nicely in the fridge with the tight sealing caps. We substantially cut down on the amount of sparkling water we purchase. The CO cartridge lasts fora a reasonable amount of time as well, highly recommend.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Size, Appearance
Review 4 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessalani
,South
,FL
July 27, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My other favorite kitchen gadget/small appliance
July 27, 2013
We love our Penguin! It's simple to operate once you get coordinated with the locking mechanism. No electricity needed so it sits anywhere. It fits on our counter under the cabinet when closed, we just pull it forward to use.
Like grilling, guys like to use it too! We bought extra carafes so we can make several bottles at once. We refill and chill the water in fridge till all need carbonation. Occasionally we add drops of the natural flavoring in our drinking glass.
Made at least 50 bottles of water and are still on our first CO2 charger. We like that you can bring empties to WS store to exchange for refill - half price.
Our groceries are much lighter now and we feel better not having all those bottles to recycle.
My husband and I drink a lot of sparkling water. A golf buddy raved about his new Sodastream. I wanted to avoid plastic so looked at the glass carafe models. Only this one (as of today) offered metal where the bottle carbonation occurs.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, convenience, no power source needed
Review 5 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
April 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never Buy Fizzy Water Again!
April 28, 2013
I have owned my Penguin for over three years, and it is still going strong. Gone are the days when I had to purchase bottle after bottle of mineral water and haul it home. My reverse osmosis water makes the best sparkling water I have ever tasted. The glass bottles are elegant, too. I also own another Soda Stream that makes larger plastic bottles, and both have been well worth the investment.
Review 6 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BerkshireRick
,Berkshire County
,MA
February 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Over 2 years - great customer service!
February 23, 2013
Purchased the Penguin just over 2 years ago as a Christmas Present and have been enjoying this unit. The recent purchase of a new style glass carafe bottle has a round top with a screw on cap. The original bottle had a hexagon top with a cap that slid on the top before it could be secured. This new bottle was a hit or miss when it came to charging it with CO2 and it would leak rendering the bottle ineffective.
Sodastream sent me out a brand new Penguin and at no charge. If there is any better customer than this, please let me know! Our Penguin was out of warranty. WOW!
Pros: 2yrs old - excellent customer service, works exaclty as advertised, goodbye soda bottles!
Review 7 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SHOPPER650
,San Francisco
,CA
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
6of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT THAT GREAT
January 29, 2013
I was so excited to get this and so disappointed when I finally got it and used it. I don't understand all the rave reviews as it is awkward to use. Opening the canister was a struggle, no matter how hard you push down on it, then the lid eventually glides up. The actual 'glide' is the only thing that seems to be in 'sync'. If you drink a lot of fizzy bottled water like I do, the level of carbonation isn't really achievable compared to store bought carbonated beverages. Also, if you're used to grabbing your water out of the fridge, you need to keep available cold bottles of water in the fridge on hand to carbonate. I also did not consider the whole process of replacing the CO2 cartridges! It can get costly. It's just easier to buy my sparkling water and lug it home than to deal with carbonating my own, but maybe that's just me.......
Pros: it looks cute on the kitchen counter
Cons: too task consuming
Review 8 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfran
,Terre Haute
,IN
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Husband Loves It
January 11, 2012
I purchased the Penguin style for my husband for Christmas based on the reviews and they were right on the money. My Husband loves it!! It not only looks great on our bar but it makes great tasting soda water as well.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 9 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
novicefoodchemist
,Chicago
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Functional, beautiful money-saver
January 11, 2012
I believe that my purchase of the Penguin has already paid for itself in the money that I have saved from not purchasing sparkling water (in one month alone)! The ability to vary the level of carbonation is a great feature as are the glass carafes (vs. plastic with other models).
I would highly recommend this product to everyone and if someone is considering purchasing this product, to consider purchasing extra carafes (especially if they like having extra COLD bubbly water around).
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Appearance, practical
Review 10 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peans
,KS
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Much Fun!
January 11, 2012
I purchased this as a gift for my husband, for Christmas as he's been wanting one for years. He was thrilled and has been making soda non-stop. Every time someone visits us he has to make them a soda so he can show off the penguin.
It's really important to follow the directions for adding syrup to the carbonated water: tilt the carafe and SLOWLY pour the syrup in. If you don't it will end up all over the counter, floor, walls, etc. (we learned this the hard way).
Other than it being very large and not fitting under the overhead cabinets we love it.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 11 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kjm3205
,Glen Allen
,VA
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, Love, Love!
January 2, 2012
I purchased 2 years ago and we use this daily. It is large but we use so frequently we leave it out on our counter. It is one of my favorite purchases. It is a bit pricey but durable and we have had no issues with it in 2 years of regular use. I highly recommend!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size