SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker

Quickly transform ordinary tap water into fresh sparkling water with this environmentally friendly soda charger. Enjoy the refreshing beverage on its own or as the base for cocktails or homemade sodas. Fun and easy to use: simply fill the reusable glass carafe with water, insert it into the Penguin and press the carbonating "beak." Customize carbonation to impart just the right amount of fizz. Eco-friendly alternative to store-bought water at a fraction of the price. Conserves energy and resources and reduces the use of plastic bottles. No batteries or electricity are required. Includes two dishwasher-safe 20-oz. glass carafes with fizz-preserving stoppers. Includes one refillable CO2 cylinders (carbonates up to 60 carafes).
Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 158
151 of 158(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
Review 81 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bvgilmom
Kennebunk, ME
January 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
January 4, 2010
This was worth the money. It is so easy to use, great for the environment, and affordable. My whole family is enjoying it even though it was originally a gift for my husband.
Review 82 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TinaP
Wolcott, New York
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Penguin's the Bomb!!!
January 2, 2010
Excellent product. if you like carbonated or 'sparkling' water...you will love this. i actually bought it for my husband,but my 17 year old daughter has taken it over. They make spritzers too. Highly recommend.
Review 83 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dumpling
Bellingham, WA
December 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
March of the Penguin!
December 29, 2009
Wow, this penguin water carbonator isn't just whistling Dixie (and yes, it whistles) this product makes the most delicious fresh carbonated water at a fraction of the price. I purchased this penguin a few months ago and, not only it is a cute kitchen accessory, it has paid for itself some time ago. We love our penguin!
Review 84 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kspak
Cincinnati, OH
December 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We think it's terrific!
December 28, 2009
Bought this as a family gift for Christmas. We go through a lot of sparkling water and I thought this would save on cans, bottles, and cost. The water tastes wonderful . . .even tap water is good. I love the glass bottles and it does hold the fizz for quite some time outside of the bottle. I keep chilled water in the refrigerator, then fill the carafes as needed, so there's always plenty on hand. Since we haven't given it a long test, I may be back to change my review, but right now I'm keeping my fingers crossed that this is will last.
Review 85 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jefferson
Vienna, VA
December 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun and frugal.
December 28, 2009
My family got me the penguin for Christmas, and we've used it quite a bit already. The whole family likes sparkling water, and we had been buying it by the case, so I'm glad to eliminate that expense. I've also been able to make my own soda by making infused simple syrups. Very easy to do and inexpensive, plus I know exactly what my kids are drinking. Homemade ginger ale has been wildly popular so far. It would be nice if the carafes were bigger. I understand that the manufacturer offers larger plastic bottles, but we like the elegance of the carafes. My wife also likes the fact that she can make less-carbonated water.
Review 86 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ifixfx
Casper, WY
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Straight forward & no trash!
December 27, 2009
Nicely carbonates the water and the bottles fit easily in the refrigerator. It is nice to save money and not create trash. I've used it for almost 2 months daily.
Review 87 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gsdonn
San Francsico
November 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So easy even my 6 year old can use it!
November 2, 2009
Same comments as lots of folks. A must have if you are a big sparkling water drinking house -- no waste is great, no lugging is great. Taste is great -- esp with a lemon or lime squeezed in. My 6 year old is in charge of making sure we always have some in the fridge and he loves making it....that is how easy it is. We do go through the carafes pretty quickly...really just 2 large glasses of water in them. But, I realize the machine would have to be bigger if it made more. Might buy 2 more carafes. We probably make 4 / day and our 1st cartridge lasted 3 weeks. For $15 that is a great deal! I'm going to give a couple as Christmas gifts this year!
Review 88 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WestOliveCook
West Olive, MI
October 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift
October 31, 2009
Bought this as a gift for my sister-in-law in NYC, and it's a great improvement over lugging sparkling water through the streets and up to an 11th floor apartment! She says it was the "perfect gift."
Review 89 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BethFtLauderdale
Ft. Lauderdale
October 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product, great for environment
October 25, 2009
I have long felt guilty about the heaps of recycling we create with our Pellegrino habit. This is great as you can adjust the carbonation level and the little lids on the carafes keep the carbonation very well. My local store said I can exchange filters there; so far this is perfect!
Review 90 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bhiga
Oregon
October 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
6 months, 4 carbonators, still loving it!
October 21, 2009
It's been 6 months since I bought my Penguin, and I've gone through 4 carbonators. I'm still loving it.
Not sure about the reviewer that WS no longer "carries" the carbonators - my local store was out of replacement carbonators for a while, but they put me on the wait list 2 or 3 weeks ago, got a call from them, and just returned home with 2 replacement carbonators!
You do have to be careful to tightly seal the cap on the carafes, but they hold the fizz in quite well - at least a week for me, which is far longer than a bottled soda would last.
I don't use my Penguin quite as often as when I first got it, as I'm not drinking as much soda, but I still use it at least once a week. It's great for all sorts of drinks. My wife and I enjoy carbonated Kool-Aid along with the Sodastream mixes.
Review 91 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JWKEllison
Royal Oak, MI
October 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous!
October 18, 2009
I bought our Penguin last year as a family gift. I thought if we could make passable sparkling water at home - easily and quickly - we could cut down on all the negatives associated with buying it pre-bottled. We made our first bottle and never looked back!
We use our Penguin several times a day, every single day, and have never had a problem. It's easy to use, easy to maintain, and well worth every penny I spent.
I have recommended the Penguin several times to friends and just posted a link to my facebook page. Thanks for a stellar product!
Review 92 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cocopuffs
Northern Virginia
October 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product!
October 3, 2009
My kids weren't big juice drinkers, but now their favorite drink is half juice, half carbonated water. Even vegetable juice! The carbonator is easy to use. I highly recommend this product.
Review 93 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoseMcT
San Francisco, CA
October 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite new kitchen item
October 2, 2009
The Penguin Water Carbonator has been a great addition to our kitchen. The positve: It's really easy to use and in the long run will save money on buying carbonated water. It also reduces waste because of the reuseable glass water bottles.
The negative: It is pretty large for our small area but would be fine in a normal sized kitchen.
Review 94 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sk8cch
Potomac, MD
September 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Product- try with Torani Syrups!
September 26, 2009
Got this machine about a month ago. I use it ALL of the time. Very easy to use. If you are interested in syrup options, I would recommend Torani syrups (available at World Market- which for me happens to be right across the street from my local W-S :-)) There are plenty to try, and they are available in regular and sugar-free (made with Splenda!) varieties. Another option is adding Propel powder packets- carbonated Propel is great. :-) I highly recommend this machine- we literally do not buy soda at all any more. And to go from 2-3 "fridge cases" of diet coke per week to zero is pretty good, any way you look at it.
Review 95 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lisaFurnari
Boca Raton, Florida
September 23, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
1of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Worst
September 23, 2009
I thought this was going to be a fabulous product- my family uses a lot of club soda (especially for making egg creams) no matter what I do the fizz does not stay in the bottle- I believe the cap does not keep the fizz fresh- what a colossal waste of money- do not buy!
Review 96 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
service1
Fort Myers, Florida
September 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
co2
September 19, 2009
My Penguin is a great product in our home. We were spending a great deal on bottled sparkling water & now that is now taking care of with my Penguin. Co2 cartridge Are @ the local Williams-Sonoma store & assured me there are no problems getting replacements.
Review 97 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mhbk
ny
September 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
6of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great gadget but getting refills is impossible
September 17, 2009
Now that William-Sonoma no longer carried the refill cartridges necessary to keep making soda with this machine, it would be foolish for anyone to buy it. Getting refills from the SodaStream company is next to impossible--you can see complaints all over the internet.
They take forever, they have no customer service and you never know when some weird man is going to ring your bell and have your carbonators. Mine would buzz me at like 9 pm on a Sunday, months after I had given up, then I would have to find the empties and deal with him. Once I was having a party and he just walked into my house with some guests and wandered around. That was the last straw.
I gave up and my Penguin just sits there. Don't buy this, you will end up in the same boat.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MNSOTA
Wisconsin
Posted January 31, 2011
Exchange through SodaStream is easy
Not sure the last time you placed a CO2 exchange with SodaStream directly, but my last two exchanges have been easy and painless. I live in the middle of nowhere, so I have to go the exchange route.
I simply call them directly. I have had kind and helpful customer service whenever I've called. Considering that I work for a clothing company that prides themselves in providing top notch customer service, I know a thing or two in that department. Trust me, if I felt theirs was poor, I would say so.
When setting up the exchange, they instruct me simply to place my empties outside my door, and the delivery company will pick them up when they drop off the full ones.
I highly suggest you give SodaStream another change.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 98 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatieSunshine
Overland Park, Kansas
August 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST Tonic/Sparkling H2O
August 28, 2009
This is an awesome & fun machine that makes the BEST sparkling and Tonic waters. I've also make various cola's. Easy to use!!
Review 99 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RZollner
Bayside, CA
August 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My husband Loves his Penguin
August 28, 2009
I bought this as a birthday present for my husband - he absolutely loves it. For someone who has everything, I think this was one of the best gifts I have given him. He uses this for his cocktails. We are going to order some other mixes for it and try them!
Review 100 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VThomas
NC
August 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick Sparkling Water
August 9, 2009
We love this! It is attractive on the counter, but best of all, it quickly turns our tap water into sparkling, carbonated water. Works just as promised.
prevpage 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 next