SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker

Quickly transform ordinary tap water into fresh sparkling water with this environmentally friendly soda charger. Enjoy the refreshing beverage on its own or as the base for cocktails or homemade sodas. Fun and easy to use: simply fill the reusable glass carafe with water, insert it into the Penguin and press the carbonating "beak." Customize carbonation to impart just the right amount of fizz. Eco-friendly alternative to store-bought water at a fraction of the price. Conserves energy and resources and reduces the use of plastic bottles. No batteries or electricity are required. Includes two dishwasher-safe 20-oz. glass carafes with fizz-preserving stoppers. Includes one refillable CO2 cylinders (carbonates up to 60 carafes).
Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 158
151 of 158(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
Review 1 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinaMarieEsq
,Ridgewood
,NJ
March 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent soda maker
March 3, 2014
This is a great soda machine and I was originally skeptical about purchasing a SodaStream because I am so loyal to my store purchased bottles. I particularly like that the containers are glass rather than plastic and they keep nicely in the fridge with the tight sealing caps. We substantially cut down on the amount of sparkling water we purchase. The CO cartridge lasts fora a reasonable amount of time as well, highly recommend.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Size, Appearance
Review 2 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessalani
,South
,FL
July 27, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My other favorite kitchen gadget/small appliance
July 27, 2013
We love our Penguin! It's simple to operate once you get coordinated with the locking mechanism. No electricity needed so it sits anywhere. It fits on our counter under the cabinet when closed, we just pull it forward to use.
Like grilling, guys like to use it too! We bought extra carafes so we can make several bottles at once. We refill and chill the water in fridge till all need carbonation. Occasionally we add drops of the natural flavoring in our drinking glass.
Made at least 50 bottles of water and are still on our first CO2 charger. We like that you can bring empties to WS store to exchange for refill - half price.
Our groceries are much lighter now and we feel better not having all those bottles to recycle.
My husband and I drink a lot of sparkling water. A golf buddy raved about his new Sodastream. I wanted to avoid plastic so looked at the glass carafe models. Only this one (as of today) offered metal where the bottle carbonation occurs.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, convenience, no power source needed
Review 3 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
April 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never Buy Fizzy Water Again!
April 28, 2013
I have owned my Penguin for over three years, and it is still going strong. Gone are the days when I had to purchase bottle after bottle of mineral water and haul it home. My reverse osmosis water makes the best sparkling water I have ever tasted. The glass bottles are elegant, too. I also own another Soda Stream that makes larger plastic bottles, and both have been well worth the investment.
Review 4 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BerkshireRick
,Berkshire County
,MA
February 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Over 2 years - great customer service!
February 23, 2013
Purchased the Penguin just over 2 years ago as a Christmas Present and have been enjoying this unit. The recent purchase of a new style glass carafe bottle has a round top with a screw on cap. The original bottle had a hexagon top with a cap that slid on the top before it could be secured. This new bottle was a hit or miss when it came to charging it with CO2 and it would leak rendering the bottle ineffective.
Sodastream sent me out a brand new Penguin and at no charge. If there is any better customer than this, please let me know! Our Penguin was out of warranty. WOW!
Pros: 2yrs old - excellent customer service, works exaclty as advertised, goodbye soda bottles!
Review 5 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SHOPPER650
,San Francisco
,CA
January 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
6of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT THAT GREAT
January 29, 2013
I was so excited to get this and so disappointed when I finally got it and used it. I don't understand all the rave reviews as it is awkward to use. Opening the canister was a struggle, no matter how hard you push down on it, then the lid eventually glides up. The actual 'glide' is the only thing that seems to be in 'sync'. If you drink a lot of fizzy bottled water like I do, the level of carbonation isn't really achievable compared to store bought carbonated beverages. Also, if you're used to grabbing your water out of the fridge, you need to keep available cold bottles of water in the fridge on hand to carbonate. I also did not consider the whole process of replacing the CO2 cartridges! It can get costly. It's just easier to buy my sparkling water and lug it home than to deal with carbonating my own, but maybe that's just me.......
Pros: it looks cute on the kitchen counter
Cons: too task consuming
Review 6 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfran
,Terre Haute
,IN
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Husband Loves It
January 11, 2012
I purchased the Penguin style for my husband for Christmas based on the reviews and they were right on the money. My Husband loves it!! It not only looks great on our bar but it makes great tasting soda water as well.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 7 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
novicefoodchemist
,Chicago
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Functional, beautiful money-saver
January 11, 2012
I believe that my purchase of the Penguin has already paid for itself in the money that I have saved from not purchasing sparkling water (in one month alone)! The ability to vary the level of carbonation is a great feature as are the glass carafes (vs. plastic with other models).
I would highly recommend this product to everyone and if someone is considering purchasing this product, to consider purchasing extra carafes (especially if they like having extra COLD bubbly water around).
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Appearance, practical
Review 8 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peans
,KS
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Much Fun!
January 11, 2012
I purchased this as a gift for my husband, for Christmas as he's been wanting one for years. He was thrilled and has been making soda non-stop. Every time someone visits us he has to make them a soda so he can show off the penguin.
It's really important to follow the directions for adding syrup to the carbonated water: tilt the carafe and SLOWLY pour the syrup in. If you don't it will end up all over the counter, floor, walls, etc. (we learned this the hard way).
Other than it being very large and not fitting under the overhead cabinets we love it.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Appearance, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 9 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kjm3205
,Glen Allen
,VA
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, Love, Love!
January 2, 2012
I purchased 2 years ago and we use this daily. It is large but we use so frequently we leave it out on our counter. It is one of my favorite purchases. It is a bit pricey but durable and we have had no issues with it in 2 years of regular use. I highly recommend!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 10 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Triggerr
,Los Angeles
,CA
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome!!!
November 6, 2011
I bought this as a birthday gift for my husband. We were spending so much money on bottled sparkling water from the grocery store that I knew it would save us money. The design is great and doesn't take much room on the kitchen counter. My husband loves it and the sparkling water tastes fantastic! You can have a little amount of sparkle or lots!!!
Review 11 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,ausitn
,tx
September 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Handy, healthy and fun
September 20, 2011
This really works! I cannot believe how long the water stays carbonated compared to bought bottles! I just poured a glass from the carafe that has been in the fridge at least a month. I LOVE that I can control the amount of carbonation. If it were only an inch shorter so it would slide between the counter and upper cabinets.....
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 12 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drjlanc
Sun City Center FL
July 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everything I expected
July 29, 2011
Very easy to use and eco-friendly. I won't be recydling as many bottles or lugging them home. The soda syrup is easy to store and yet keep several varieties on hand. I don't know yet how economical it will be, but I am experimenting with making my own soda syrups for exotic flavors. It's a bit larger than I anticipated.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance
Cons: Size
Review 13 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aloe
Dallas, TX
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast, easy, convenient!!
July 12, 2011
My life has been made so much easier ever since I got this Soad Stream carbonator! Buying and recycling so many bottles of water was wasteful - and expensive! The penguin is the answer - fast, efficient and wonderful water - makes many drinks more interesting - iced tea, juice, even by itself with lime. Well worth the $$!
Pros: Quality, Appearance
Cons: no way to measure what's left in the canister
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
carolannirish
Huntington Station, NY
Posted November 20, 2011
Penguin Soda Water Maker
I keep an extra canister on hand so I never run out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LacyL
St. Petersburg, FL
June 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Penguin is the Cat's Meow
June 24, 2011
I procrastinated because of the price, but luggnig the last load of Perrier water home in the Florida heat convinced me to buy the Penguin. It's my new kitchen favorite!! No electricity, looks good, the glass carafe is elegant, and the water is fun to make and great to drink. Not only is this an easy and good looking product, but it takes only seconds to fizz a bottle of water. I do think it should come with a spare cartridge, I just ordered two from the company, so you will never be out of fizzy water when it's time to exchange the cartridge. GREAT product, as you would expect from WS.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance
Review 15 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmomma
June 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
absolutely LOVE this
June 4, 2011
i am a sparkly water kind of girl.. so i had been eyeing this type of product for some time. my last visit to the michigan avenue store was a huge success (due to an extremely helpful store manager). he gave me a full demo.. which sold me immediately! clean, quick, PERFECT sparkle water. i use it almost everyday and all my guests are in awe of the ease of use. LOVE it!!
Review 16 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JasElba
Montgomery Co, MD
May 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Gift Ever
May 12, 2011
I purchased this for Father's Day 2010 for my husband and he L-O-V-E-S it. I do not think I can ever top this gift. We use it every day and my children refer to the soda water as "spicy water".
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Appearance
Review 17 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DGuenthner
Angel Fire, NM
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sparkling Water
May 10, 2011
We love our new sparkling water 'penguin' We go through lots of water and this is a great way for variety...very easy for my daughter and her friends to use. Only drawback is we don't live near a city so have to plan for co2 canisters or pay for shipping!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance
Cons: Difficult to Store, needing canisters if you don't live near ws
Review 18 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gary51
dallas, Tx
April 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Penguin carbonator
April 16, 2011
Easy to set up, easy to use. Carbonation lasts for a while. Have enjoyed it
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Size
Review 19 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WaterLover10
Denver, CO
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love this!
February 25, 2011
I got one of these for the house because we are trying to drink less pop. I loved it so much that I had to buy one for the office!
Review 20 for SodaStream Penguin Sparkling Water Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CowgirlCook
Oklahoma
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Inefficient design wastes CO2
February 21, 2011
I really like the SodaStream concept and finished results.
However, I'm going through the gas canisters like crazy. Others state that you should get 60 or so servings from a small canister, but I've gotten less than half of that. Less than three weeks after setting my Penguin up, I'm having to change the canister (this is after using it approximately 7 times a week).
When pressing on the lever, I can actually feel gas seeping out.
I initially went with the Penguin because of the glass bottles, but I haven't put them in the dishwasher frequently enough to make up for the waste/poor design. If a person used the soda mixes a lot I could see having a dishwasher safe bottle making up for the waste, but that's not my situation.
Overall, I am a fan of the SodaStream concept, but not sold on this model. I will be exchanging it for the other design that Williams-Sonoma carries and hoping for better results.
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next